DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is in response to amendments/arguments filed on January 20, 2026. Applicant has amended Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 – 11. Claims 1 – 11 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
Previous title objections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
Previous 112f interpretations are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
The previous 112b rejections stand. Applicant did not correct either issue.
With regards to previous prior art, applicant amended Claim 1 to include the clutch and the brakes are driven by a shared hydraulic line with a hydraulic pressure gradually increased to increase a first torque in the clutch to engage the output shaft with the input shaft and to decrease a second torque in the brake to disengage the output shaft from braking, when engaging the fracturing pump, and then elevated to prevent clutch slippage, arguing that Zhang and Bottomley do not teach this feature. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 1 of Bottomley teaches a hydraulic pump (31) which acts to actuate the brake and clutch via a common line (34) to a solenoid valve (35). Bottomley teaches that, when unpressurized, the springs (26) for the brake are operable against a piston to urge the brake to an “on” condition (Col. 3, Line 20), i.e. the brake is engaged to prevent transfer of torque from the input shaft to the output shaft, whereas the compression springs (17) for the clutch urge the clutch into a non-drive position, i.e. disengaged (Col. 3, Line 4) to prevent transfer of torque from the input shaft to the output shaft. As the hydraulic pump activates and directs fluid to the solenoid valve to increase pressure, the clutch gradually engages while the brake gradually disengages, thereby increasing the torque in the clutch and decreasing the torque in the brake (Col. 3, Lines 50 – 57). At some point, the pressure is such that the brake is completely disengaged while the clutch is fully engaged to prevent slippage. Previous grounds of rejection stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 9, Line 3 recites the other clutch brake assembly. The metes and bounds of the claim are unascertainable because the other clutch brake assembly lacks antecedent basis. No other clutch brake assembly has been introduced up to that point. Art will be applied under the interpretation that it refers to a second clutch brake assembly. Examiner suggests amending to a second clutch brake assembly. The second instance in Line 5 was corrected to a second clutch brake assembly. Given that this would be the second instance in Claim 9, examiner suggests amending this instance to the second clutch brake assembly.
Claim 11, Line 6 recites the brake clutch assembly. The metes and bounds of the claim are unascertainable because it is unclear whether this is the same as the clutch brake assembly referred to in the other claims. Art will be applied under the interpretation that it is the same component. Examiner suggests applicant maintain consistent terminology across the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – US 2022/0090476) in view of Bottomley (US 4456109).
With regards to Claim 1:
Zhang discloses a fracturing device (Figure 9), comprising an engine (gas turbine 12), a clutch assembly (transmission mechanism 3, see Paragraph 108), a brake assembly (Paragraphs 111 – 112) a fracturing pump (fracturing pump 2), and an input and output shaft (Paragraphs 66, 108, Figure 9) wherein the clutch assembly receiving an input shaft from the engine (Paragraph 66) and an output shaft penetrates out of the clutch assembly to be connected to the fracturing pump (Paragraphs 108, 109).
Zhang does not teach a combined clutch-brake assembly or the details and control thereof. Bottomley (Figures 1, 2) teaches a transmission coupling including a combined clutch-brake assembly for connected an input shaft (5) to an output shaft (6). Bottomley teaches the clutch brake assembly comprises a housing (4), the input shaft (5), the output shaft (6), a clutch (clutch 11) and a brake (brake 22); the output shaft is rotatably installed in the housing (see Figure 1 and abstract); the clutch and the brake are respectively disposed at two sides in an axial direction of the clutch brake assembly, and are sheathed on the output shaft (as shown in Figure 1, clutch 11 and brake 22 are sheathed on shaft 6 on two opposite axial sides of the housing 4); one end of the input shaft is connected with the engine (“input shaft 5”, see also Col. 1, Lines 29); the other end of the input shaft penetrates into the housing and is respectively connected with the clutch which is connected to one end of the output shaft (as shown in Figure 1, other end of shaft 5 corresponding to extension 19 connected to clutch 11); and the other end of the output shaft penetrates out of the housing to be connected with the driven apparatus (“output shaft 6”). Figure 1 of Bottomley further teaches a hydraulic pump (31) which acts to actuate the brake and clutch via a shared hydraulic line (34) to a solenoid valve (35). Bottomley teaches that, when unpressurized, the springs (26) for the brake are operable against a piston to urge the brake to an “on” condition (Col. 3, Line 20), i.e. the brake is engaged to prevent transfer of torque from the input shaft to the output shaft, whereas the compression springs (17) for the clutch urge the clutch into a non-drive position, i.e. disengaged (Col. 3, Line 4) to prevent transfer of torque from the input shaft to the output shaft. As the hydraulic pump activates and directs fluid to the solenoid valve to increase pressure, the clutch gradually engages while the brake gradually disengages, thereby increasing the torque in the clutch and decreasing the torque in the brake (Col. 3, Lines 50 – 57). At some point, the pressure is such that the brake is completely disengaged while the clutch is fully engaged to prevent slippage. MPEP 2143B teaches it is obvious to substitute known elements for one another in order to yield predictable results. In this case, a clutch-brake assembly is known in the art to connect an engine with a driven mechanism, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang by replacing the unknown type of clutch and brake assembly with the clutch-brake assembly of Bottomley, with the control arrangement taught in Bottomley, while yielding the predictable result of selectively transferring torque from the input shaft to the output shaft and selectively braking the output shaft.
With regards to Claim 7:
The Zhang modification of Claim 1 teaches the engine comprises a gas turbine engine (turbine engine 12, Figure 9 of Zhang) and a first reduction gear box (deceleration mechanism 16);
the gas turbine engine is connected with the first reduction gear box (Figure 9, Paragraph 66 of Zhang);
the first reduction gear box is connected with the clutch through the input shaft (clutch is part of the transmission mechanism 3, see Paragraph 108 of Zhang, which receives as an input the output of the deceleration mechanism 16); and
the gas turbine engine is a gas turbine single-shaft engine or a gas turbine double-shaft engine (single given that only load shown is the fracturing pump 2, see Paragraph 66, 109, and 127 of Zhang).
Claims 2 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – US 2022/0090476) in view of Bottomley (US 4456109), further in view of Conroy et al. (hereafter “Conroy” – US 3971461).
With regards to Claim 2:
The Zhang modification of Claim 1 teaches the clutch comprises a clutch outer gear portion (portion of output shaft 6 from which clutch plates 21 extend, Figure 1 of Bottomley), a clutch friction plate set (clutch plates 20, 21, Figure 1 of Bottomley) and a clutch inner gear portion (portion of input shaft 5 from which clutch plates 20 extend, Figure 1 of Bottomley) sequentially disposed in a radial direction of the clutch brake assembly;
the clutch friction plate set is respectively connected with the clutch inner gear portion and the clutch outer gear portion (as shown in Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the clutch further comprises a clutch actuator (piston ring 15, Figure 1 of Bottomley) and a first elastic reset element (compression spring 17, Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the clutch actuator and the first elastic reset element are positioned between the clutch outer gear portion and the clutch inner gear portion (as shown in Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the clutch actuator is connected with the clutch friction plate set (Col. 2, Lines 65+ of Bottomley);
the first elastic reset element is connected with the clutch actuator (Col. 2, Liens 65+ of Bottomley); and
the clutch actuator is configured to drive the clutch friction plate set to slide in an axial direction of the clutch brake assembly so that the clutch is in an open or closed state (Col. 2, Lines 65+ of Bottomley).
Bottomley does not explicitly teach sleeves that are sheathed on the input and output shafts. Conroy (Figure 1) teaches a similar clutch-brake assembly including an input shaft (10) and an output shaft (12). Instead of forming the clutch plates on the shaft itself (as Bottomley appears to do, although there is no discussion of it), Conroy teaches a clutch inner gear sleeve (drum 14) and clutch outer gear sleeve (drum 16) that are connected to and sheathed on the input shaft and output shaft, respectively, and connecting the clutch plates onto the sleeves. Conroy teaches similar inner and outer sleeves (22, 20) for a brake mechanism, the sleeves connected to the output shaft and a stationary housing, respectively. This facilitates repair/replacement/maintenance of the clutch plates and brake plates, which would no longer be directly connected to the shafts. Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang and Bottomley by adding inner and outer clutch sleeves that hold the clutch plates and brake plates in order to yield the predictable results described above.
With regards to Claim 3:
The Zhang modification of Claim 2 teaches the clutch friction plate set comprises a plurality of first clutch friction plates (plates 20, Figure 1 of Bottomley) and a plurality of second clutch friction plates (plates 21, Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the first clutch friction plates and the second clutch friction plates are sequentially disposed in a crossed manner in the axial direction of the clutch brake assembly (see Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the first clutch friction plates are connected with the clutch inner gear sleeve (see Figure 1 of Bottomley, as per modification with Conroy to add sleeve 14);
the second clutch friction plates are connected with the clutch outer gear sleeve (see Figure 1 of Bottomley, as per modification with Conroy to add sleeve 16); and
the clutch actuator is configured to drive the first clutch friction plates and the second clutch friction plates to slide in the axial direction of the clutch brake assembly (see Figures 1, 2 of Bottomley and Col. 3, Lines 49+).
With regards to Claim 4:
The Zhang modification of Claim 2 teaches the brake comprises a brake inner gear sleeve (portion of housing 4 from which brake plates 24 extend in Figure 1 of Bottomley, modified to include a sleeve as shown via drum 20 in Figure 1 of Conroy) a brake outer gear sleeve (portion of output shaft 6 from which brake plates 23 extend in Figure 1 of Bottomley, modified to include a sleeve as shown via drum 22 in Figure 1 of Conroy) and a brake friction plate set (plates 23, 24, Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the brake inner gear sleeve is fixedly connected with the housing (see Figure 1 of Bottomley and Figure 1 of Conroy);
the brake outer gear sleeve is sheathed on the output shaft (see Figure 1 of Bottomley and Figure 1 of Conroy);
the brake friction plate set is respectively connected with the brake inner gear sleeve and the brake outer gear sleeve (see Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the brake further includes a brake actuator (piston 27, Figure 1 of Bottomley) and a second elastic reset element (compression spring 26, Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the brake actuator and the second elastic reset element are positioned between the brake inner gear sleeve and the brake outer gear sleeve (as shown in Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the brake actuator is connected with the brake friction plate set (Col. 3, Lines 11+ of Bottomley);
the second elastic reset element is connected with the brake actuator (Col. 3, Lines 11+ of Bottomley); and
the brake actuator is configured to drive the brake friction plate set to slide in an axial direction of the clutch brake assembly so that the brake is in an open or closed state (Col. 3, Lines 11+ and 62+ of Bottomley).
With regards to Claim 5:
The Zhang modification of Claim 2 teaches the brake friction plate set comprises a plurality of first brake friction plates (brake plates 24, Figure 1 of Bottomley) and a plurality of second brake friction plates (brake plates 23, Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the first brake friction plates and the second brake friction plates are sequentially disposed in a crossed manner in the axial direction of the clutch brake assembly (see Figure 1 of Bottomley);
the first brake friction plates are connected with the brake inner gear sleeve (see Figure 1 of Bottomley, as per modification with Conroy to add sleeve 20);
the second brake friction plates are connected with the brake outer gear sleeve (see Figure 1 of Bottomley, as per modification with Conroy to add sleeve 22); and
the brake actuator is able to drive the first brake friction plates and the second brake friction plates to slide in the axial direction of the clutch brake assembly (Col. 3, Lines 11+ and 62+ of Bottomley).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – US 2022/0090476) in view of Bottomley (US 4456109), further in view of Yater et al. (hereafter “Yater” – US 4739865).
With regards to Claim 6:
The Zhang modification of Claim 1 teaches the clutch brake assembly further comprises an oil passage (oil lines 36, 37, Figure 1 of Bottomley); and
the oil passage communicates with the brake and/or the clutch (see Figure 1 and Col. 3, Lines 25 – 47 of Bottomley).
Bottomley does not explicitly teach the oil passage penetrates through the housing, instead teaching the oil passages and the control valve (35) contained within the housing. However, placing the pump outside the housing and having the oil passages penetrate the housing is known in the art. Yater (Figure 1) teaches a similar clutch-brake assembly including clutch plates (55) and brake plates (70). Yater teaches actuating either the clutch or brakes via passages (46, 47) penetrating a housing (10), wherein the control valve (180) is located outside the housing. Locating the control valve and pump outside the housing facilitates maintenance of these components. Given the teachings of Yater, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang and Bottomley by relocating the pump and control valve outside the housing such that the oil passage penetrate the housing in order to yield the predictable results described above.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – US 2022/0090476) in view of Bottomley (US 4456109), further in view of Livezey (US 3503278).
With regards to Claim 8:
The Zhang modification of Claim 1 does not explicitly teach the fracturing device further comprises an auxiliary engine; one side of the auxiliary engine is connected with the brake through the output shaft; and the other side of the auxiliary engine is connected with the fracturing pump. Livezey (Figure 1) teaches a drive system including a turbine (30), a clutch brake assembly (122, 132), a pump (22), an output shaft (main shaft 12), and an auxiliary engine (motor 52); one side of the auxiliary engine (via gear 76) is connected with the brake through the output shaft (gears 76, 84, 82 to main shaft 12); and the other side of the auxiliary engine (via gear 58) is connected with the pump (via gears 58, 70, 72, 88, and 86). Use of an auxiliary engine allows for improved operational availability to maintain operating the pump while the turbine is offline. Furthermore, the recited arrangement is known in the art and allows for a desired speed output to the pump based on gear ratios chosen. Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang and Bottomley by adding an auxiliary engine and associated gearboxes in order to yield the predictable benefits described above.
With regards to Claim 9:
The Zhang modification of Claim 8 teaches the auxiliary engine comprises a second reduction gear box (gears 76, 84, 82, Figure 1 of Livezey), an adjustable-speed driving motor (motor 52, Figure 1 of Livezey) and a clutch and brake assembly (clutch 90, brake 73, Figure 1 of Livezey); the adjustable-speed driving motor is connected to the second reduction gear box through clutch and brake assembly (as shown in Figure 1 of Livezey); and the second reduction gear box is respectively connected with the output shaft and the pump (as shown in Figure 1 of Livezey).
The Zhang modification does not teach that the clutch and brake assembly of Livezey is a second clutch-brake combination assembly. However, Bottomley teaches such an assembly, as laid out in the rejection of Claim 1. As discussed in the rejection of Claim 1, MPEP 2143B teaches it is obvious to substitute known elements for one another in order to yield predictable results. In this case, a clutch-brake assembly is known in the art to connect an engine with a driven mechanism, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang and Bottomley and Livezey by replacing the clutch and brake assembly of Livezey with a combined clutch-brake assembly as shown in Bottomley while yielding the predictable result of selectively transferring torque from the input shaft to the output shaft and selectively braking the output shaft.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – US 2022/0090476) in view of Bottomley (US 4456109), further in view of Zhang et al. (hereafter “Li” – CN 110485983) and Zhang et al. (hereafter “Cui” – CN 209799942 U).
With regards to Claim 10:
The Zhang modification of Claim 1 does not explicitly teach the fracturing device further comprises a gear box, and the gear box is disposed in parallel to the clutch brake assembly; one side of the gear box is connected with the first reduction gear box; and the other side of the gear box is connected with the fracturing pump. Li (Figure 1) teaches a similar system including a gas turbine (7), a fracturing pump (9), and a first reduction gear box (8). Li appears to teach another gearbox connected directly to the fracturing pump, but does not discuss it. Cui (Figures 1, 3, 10, 11) teaches a similar system including a fracturing pump (4) having a gear box (10) with parallel grade reduction (36, 37) including gears (41 – 43) connected to the fracturing pump and separate gears (39, 40) having a parallel shaft connected to a driving shaft. MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods. Li appears to teach a dedicated reduction box for the fracturing pump. Zhang explicitly teaches a dedicated reduction box for the fracturing pump, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang and Bottomley by adding a gear box as shown in Cui connected to the fracturing pump between the clutch-brake assembly and the fracturing pump in order to yield the predictable result of adjusting output speeds as desired.
With regards to Claim 11:
The Zhang modification of Claim 1 does not explicitly teach the fracturing pump comprises a second reduction gear box, a third reduction gear box and a fracturing pump in sequential connection; the second reduction gear box is positioned at one side near the clutch brake assembly; and the fracturing pump is positioned at one side far away from the brake clutch assembly. Li (Figure 1) teaches a similar system including a gas turbine (7), a fracturing pump (9), and a first reduction gear box (8). Li appears to teach another gearbox connected directly to the fracturing pump, but does not discuss it. Cui (Figures 1, 3, 10, 11) teaches a similar system including a fracturing pump (4) having a gear box (10) with parallel grade reduction (36, 37) including a first gear box having gears (41 – 43) connected to the fracturing pump and another gear box having separate gears (39, 40) having a parallel shaft connected to a driving shaft. MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods. Li appears to teach a dedicated reduction box for the fracturing pump. Zhang explicitly teaches a dedicated reduction box for the fracturing pump, the dedicated gear box having two separate gear boxes, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang and Bottomley by adding gear boxes as shown in Cui connected to the fracturing pump between the clutch-brake assembly and the fracturing pump in order to yield the predictable result of adjusting output speeds as desired.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/Laert Dounis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
Saturday, February 7, 2026