DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment dated 16 May 2025, in which claims 4, 28-30, 37, 38, 52, 61-63 have been amended, and claims 2-3, 5-27, 31-36, 39-51, 53-60, 64-67 have been cancelled, is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4, 28-30, 37-38, 52, 61-63 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1, 4, 28-30, 37-38, 52, 61-63 are examined herein.
Priority
The instant application is a Continuation of International Application No. PCT/US2023/021846, filed on 11 May 2023, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/341,068, filed on 12 May 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 July 2025 is acknowledged and considered.
Claim objection
Claim 52 is objected to because the text “wherein the compound has the structure: […], […], or […].” could read --wherein the compound is selected from: […], […], and […]. –
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30, 38, 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 is drawn to the compound of claim 1 [….] having a structure of Formula Ic-1
. Yet claim 1 does not recite diastereoisomers or enantiomers of a compound of formula I. As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for Formula Ic-1 of claim 30, in claim 1.
The same analysis applies to claim 38, and to claim 52.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claims 1, 61-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is drawn to a compound of formula (I)
where R4 is, for example, H, and p is, for example, 0. This is confusing because the default substituent is hydrogen.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 1, 4, 28-30, 61-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is drawn to a compound of formula (I)
where
.
It is noted that R2x and R2y are, for example, H, or C1-6 alkyl.
It is also noted that R2a is present in the following groups as part of R2:
.
It appears that claim 1 recites that R2a and R2x (or R2y), combined with the atoms they are attached to, form a 4 to 6 membered heterocycloalkyl; based on the definitions of R2a, it seems that such a heterocycloalkyl contains N, or -O-CO-N-, or -SO2-N-, or -SO-NH-N- as part of the heterocycloalkyl ring, with substituents as defined by R2. It is unclear what is meant by “having 0 to 2 additional heteroatoms each independently N, O or S, substituted with 0 to 3 C1-6 alkyl”, given that the substituents on the heterocycloalkyl ring formed are already defined by R2a and R2.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of inhibiting LRRK2 in a cell with a compound of formula (I),
does not reasonably provide enablement for the claimed treatment of a LRRK2-associated disease or condition with a compound of formula (I), as recited by claim 63. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, have been described in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir.1988). The court in Wands states, “Enablement is not precluded by the necessity for some experimentation, such as routine screening. However, experimentation needed to practice the invention must not be undue experimentation. The key word is ‘undue’, not experimentation’” (Wands, 8 USPQ2sd 1404). Clearly, enablement of a claimed invention cannot be predicated on the basis of quantity of experimentation required to make or use the invention. “Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single, simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations” (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). Among these factors are: (1) the nature of the invention; (2) the breath of the claims; (3) the state of the prior art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the relative skill of those in the art; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary.
While all of these factors are considered, a sufficient amount for a prima facie case is discussed below.
(1) The nature of the invention and (2) the breadth of the claims:
Claim 63 is drawn to a method of treating a LRRK2-associated disease, said method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an 3effective amount of a compound of formula (I).
Thus, claim 63, taken together with the specification, implies that a compound of instant formula (I) can treat any LRRK2-associated disease in a subject in need thereof.
The claims are far broader than the disclosure.
(3) The state of the prior art and (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art:
The genus of LRRK2-2associated diseases to be treated encompasses a very large number of diseases; each disease has different symptoms, different etiology, different mechanism and different treatment.
Wallings et al. (Biochemical Society Transactions 2019, 47, 1581-1595, cited in PTO-892) teach (Abstract) that mutations in the leucine-rich-repeat kinase 2 (LRRK2) gene are associated with familial and sporadic cases of Parkinson’s disease but are also found in immune-related disorders such as inflammatory bowel disease, tuberculosis and leprosy. LRRK2 is highly expressed in immune cells and has been functionally linked to pathways pertinent to immune cell function, such as cytokine release, autophagy and phagocytosis.
Wallings teaches (page 1582) that the increased kinase activity of LRRK2 mutants has been linked to the pathological function of LRRK2 in disease. However, when considering different diseases, cell types, and mutations, the role of LRRK2 kinase activity may not be quite as simple as originally thought (Table 1).
Wallings teaches (page 1584, first paragraph) that leprosy is a LRRK2-associated disease. However, results evaluating the association of LRRK2 variants with leprosy susceptibility have been inconsistent.
Wallings further teaches (page 1584, third paragraph) that LRRK2 in tuberculosis and other bacterial infections LRRK2 has been implicated in several bacterial infections. There are contrasting reports between the effects of kinase inhibition on different bacterial infections, with LRRK2 kinase inhibition enhancing the restriction of some bacteria or increasing susceptibility to infection for others.
Wallings teaches (page 1584, last paragraph, page 1585, first two paragraphs) that, with regards to LRRK2, genetic variances and mutations in the LRRK2 gene have been demonstrated to increase the risk of developing PD in both CD (Crohn’s disease) and UC (ulcerative colitis) patients. The role of LRRK2 kinase activity in IBD is still unclear. The down-regulation of LRRK2 was previously shown to enhance the susceptibility to dextran sulfate sodium salt (DSS)-induced colitis, suggesting a loss of LRRK2 activity may increase the risk for inflammation in the gut. However, in a mouse model of DSS-induced colitis, overexpression of the Lrrk2 gene causes increased severity in colitis, which was ameliorated with LRRK2 kinase inhibitors. From this data, it is still not clear if the role of LRRK2 in IBD is due to a loss- or gain-of-function.
Wallings teaches the role of LRRK2 in autophagy (Table 2), and teaches (page 1590) that LRRK2 could control different cellular pathways (or modulate the same pathway differentially) based on the expression of LRRK2 activators and partners and the complexes formed in a cell-type-specific manner. Wallings teaches that despite the crucial role autophagy and the lysosome play in regulating different aspects of the innate and adaptive immune systems, mechanistic insight into how LRRK2’s role in autophagy and lysosome function impacts inflammatory pathways in immune cells remains unknown, and is an important area for further research.
Wallings teaches (page 1590, under Concluding remarks) that additional research is required in order to establish the involvement of LRRK2 in inflammatory pathways in different immune cell types. Specifically, further research is required to unveil the cell-type dependent manner in which LRRK2 kinase activity regulates these different cellular pathways. LRRK2 kinase inhibitors have been discussed for their potential therapeutic effects in diseases such as PD where aberrant LRRK2 kinase activity is apparent. However, a loss of LRRK2 kinase activity may lead to an increased risk of infection and inflammation in the periphery. Therefore, such malignant side effects would need to be taken into consideration if such inhibitors were to be therapeutically beneficial.
Wallings teaches (page 1590-1591) that a large percentage of the research aiming to understand LRRK2 enzymatic function has focused on its kinase activity. However, there is still uncertainty about the contribution of GTPase activity to cellular toxicity in immune cells. Although many model organisms with interesting phenotypes have been developed based upon familial mutations in the GTPase domain of LRRK2, mechanistic insight into the contribution of GTPase activity is so far lacking.
Wallings teaches that the enzymatic core of LRRK2 is surrounded by protein–protein interaction domains. The G2385R mutation, which is located in the WD40 domain of LRRK2, is a risk factor for PD.
Wallings teaches (page 1591) that there are discrepancies in the literature highlighting cell-type dependent effects of LRRK2 on immune cell function. Future research will benefit from a direct comparison between immune cells and identifying bona fide substrates of LRRK2 in different cell types and under different immune conditions.
Thus, based on the teachings of Wallings, more research is needed in order to better understand the complexity of mechanisms in LRRK2-associated diseases and to develop treatment/ therapeutic approaches for said diseases.
Further, in view of the varying mechanisms of the different LRRK2-associated diseases, a skilled artisan would view that it is unlikely that the claimed method would be useful for treating the full scope of LRRK2-associated diseases encompassed by instant claim 63. Furthermore, as the etiology of the different LRRK2-associated diseases differs from one condition to another, it is unlikely that a skilled artisan would view that the instantly claimed method comprising administering a compound of formula (I) of the instant application, could be used to treat the full scope of LRRK2-associated diseases, as in claim 63.
Karami et al. (Journal of Translational Medicine 2025, 23, 754, cited in PTO-892) teach recent advances in targeting LRRK2 for Parkinson’s disease treatment. Karami reviews LRRK2 gene in sporadic Parkinson’s disease, or in idiopathic PD, the LRRK2 pathologies, as well as the role of LRRK2 in the immune system. Importantly, Karami teaches (page 12 of 25) the need to evaluate small organic molecules LRRK2 inhibitors in relevant animal models of disease, in order to establish efficacy in treating disease.
Further, Karami teaches that LRRK2 is not only expressed in the brain; it can also be expressed in the kidneys, the lungs, and the immune cells. So, the safety of LRRK2-targeted drugs should be investigated in preclinical and clinical trials. Karami teaches (page 12 of 25, right column, last two paragraphs) that LRRK2 knock-out rats and mice showed adverse effects in the kidneys and lungs.
In is noted that, as of May 2026, BIIB122 (DNL151), an investigational small molecule inhibitor of LRRK2 (leucine-rich repeat kinase 2), did not slow the progression of Parkinson’s disease versus placebo, in phase 2b clinical trials. A Phase 2a study evaluating the small molecule inhibitor in carriers of a pathogenic LRRK2 variant is planned (Biogen Press Release, May 21, 2026, Biogen and Denali Therapeutics Provide Update on Phase 2b LUMA Study of BIIB122 (DNL151) in Early-Stage Parkinson’s Disease, cited in PTO-892).
(5) The relative skill of those in the art:
The level of skill in the art is that of the authors of the references cited to support the examiner’s position (MDs, PhDs, or those with advanced degrees and the requisite experience in drug discovery research).
(6) The amount of direction or guidance presented and (7) the presence or absence of working examples:
A disclosure should contain representative examples which provide reasonable assurance to one skilled in the art that the compounds of formula (I) are effective in treating any LRRK2- 2associated disease.
The specification has provided guidance for the LRRK2 inhibitory activity of the compounds of the invention in an in vitro assay (Table 8).
No compound of instant formula (I) has been evaluated in any animal model of disease.
As such, the specification does not provide any data regarding the ability of the compounds of the invention to treat any LRRK2- 2associated disease.
(8) The quantity of experimentation necessary:
Considering the state of the art and the high unpredictability in the art, the breadth of the claims, and the lack of guidance provided in the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to practice the invention commensurate in scope with instant claim 63.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2021/0317118, cited in PTO-892).
Zhang (US 2021/0317118) teaches (page 19, [0294], last compound, left column) the following compound:
, which is a compound of formula I of instant claim 1
for which the following definitions apply:
ring A is a C4-cycloalkyl; m = p = 0; R3 = Br (halogen); R2x = R2y = R2y = H; n = 1;
R2 is -N(R2a)C(O)OR2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = t-Bu (C4 alkyl).
Zhang also teaches (page 19, [0294], second compound, right column) the following compound:
, which is a compound of formula I of instant claim 1
for which the following definitions apply:
ring A is a C4-cycloalkyl; m = 0;
R4 is -N(R3a)(R3b), where R3a = R3b = H; p = 1;
R3 = Br (halogen);
R2x = R2y = R2y = H; n = 1;
R2 is -N(R2a)C(O)OR2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = t-Bu (C4 alkyl).
As such, a compound of instant claim 1 is anticipated by Zhang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 61, 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurley et al. (WO 2013/007768, cited in PTO-892), in view of Galatsis et al. (US 2017/0073343, cited in PTO-892).
Hurley (WO 2013/007768) teaches (claim 16, pages 177-178) the following compounds:
which are direct homologs -CH2-CN vs. -CN of compounds of formula I of instant claim 1
for which the following definitions apply:
ring A is a C6-cycloalkyl; m = 1; R1 = -CN;
p = 0; R3 = H;
R2x = R2y = H; n = 0;
R2 is -N(R2a)SO2R2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = methyl (C1 alkyl) (first compound above); or
R2 is - N(R2a)( R2b) where R2a = H = R2b (second compound above); or
R2 is -N(R2a)C(O)OR2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = methyl (C1 alkyl) (third compound above).
The compounds above disclosed by Hurley are also direct homologs -CH2-CN vs. -CN of compounds of formula (Ia) of instant claim 4
, for which the following definitions apply:
ring A is a C6-cycloalkyl; m = 1; R1 = -CN;
R4 = H; R3 = H;
R2x = R2y = H; n = 0;
R2 is -N(R2a)SO2R2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = methyl (C1 alkyl) (first compound above); or
R2 is - N(R2a)( R2b) where R2a = H = R2b (second compound above); or
R2 is -N(R2a)C(O)OR2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = methyl (C1 alkyl) (third compound above).
Hurley also teaches (page 3, lines 4-5) pharmaceutical compositions, as in instant claim 61, comprising the compounds of the invention and a pharmaceutical excipient.
Hurley teaches (page 98, lines 5-6) that the compounds of the invention are effective to treat, for example, Alzheimer’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease, which are diseases associated with LRRK2 of instant claim 63, as taught by Galatsis (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to synthesize a direct structural homolog -CN vs. -CH2-CN of the compounds above disclosed by Hurley, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting homologs retain therapeutic effect, namely efficacy in treating Alzheimer’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease, of the compounds taught by Hurley.
In the absence of unexpected results, stereoisomers are considered obvious variants of each other. "Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties". In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
As such, claims 1, 4, 61, 63 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 4, 61, 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurley et al. (WO 2013/007768, cited in PTO-892), in view of Galatsis et al. (US 2017/0073343, cited in PTO-892).
Hurley (WO 2013/007768) teaches broadly ([0052], page 16, also claim 19) the following compounds of formula I,
where
X is CH (page 65, line 19);
Y is CR5 (page 65, line 19), where R5 is, for example,
and wherein -R1-R2-R3 taken together is, for example (pages 66-80):
(page 76, last line)
.
The genus above disclosed by Hurley overlaps with the instant compounds of formula I
, for which the following definitions apply:
ring A is a C3-6-cycloalkyl; or a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl having 1 heteroatom selected from N, O and S; unsubstituted (m = 0), or substituted (m = 1) with R1 = -CN, alkyl, or =O;
R4 = H; R3 = H;
R2x = R2y = R2z = H; n = 0, or 1;
R2 is -N(R2a)SO2R2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = methyl (C1 alkyl), or cyclopropyl (C3 cycloalkyl); or
R2 is -N(R2a)C(O)OR2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = methyl or ethyl (C1-2 alkyl); or
R2 is -N(R2a)C(O)R2b, wherein R2a = H, R2b = methyl or t-butyl, or cyclobutyl, or methoxymethyl (C1 alkyl, C4 alkyl, C4 cycloalkyl, or C2-6 alkoxyalkyl).
Hurley also teaches (page 76, last line) that -R1-R2-R3 taken together is, for example,
.
Hurley exemplifies (page 81, lines 3-5) the following compounds:
.
Hurley also discloses (pages 88, 89) the following compounds:
, where substituent R is not specifically disclosed, yet it corresponds to H, =O, -CN, -CH2-CN, or -CH2-CH2-CN, based on the list of
-R1-R2-R3 disclosed on pages 66-80.
Hurley also teaches (page 3, lines 4-5) pharmaceutical compositions, as in instant claim 61, comprising the compounds of the invention and a pharmaceutical excipient.
Hurley teaches (page 98, lines 5-6) that the compounds of the invention are effective to treat, for example, Alzheimer’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease.
Hurley does not teach a method of treating a disease associated with LRRK2 with the compounds above, as in instant claim 63.
Galatsis teaches (Abstract) that Alzheimer’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease are diseases associated with LRRK2, as in instant claim 63.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hurley and Galatsis to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have synthesized a compound from the genus taught by Hurley, as described above, with a reasonable expectation that such a compound is effective to treat Alzheimer’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced substituent
in any of the three specific compounds taught by Hurley
, with
or with any other substituent -R1-R2-R3 disclosed by Hurley
, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting compound retains therapeutic effect, namely is effective to treat Alzheimer’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease, which are LRRK2 associated diseases.
As such, claims 1, 4, 61, 63 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 4, 28, 29, 30, 61-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappie et al. (WO2018/163030, cited in IDS).
Chappie teaches (page 5) broadly the following compounds as LRRK2 inhibitors
, where
R3 is, for example, -CN, or halogen, or C1-3 alkyl optionally substituted with halogen;
R2 is, for example, 6-membered heterocycloalkyl containing a heteroatom which is oxygen, the heterocycloalkyl being optionally substituted with, for example, C1-3 alkyl;
R1 is, for example, a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl which contains 1 to 2 heteroatoms each independently selected from N, O or S, wherein the 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl is optionally substituted with 1 to 4 R8 which is, for example, C1-C3 alkyl.
Chappie teaches that the compounds of the invention and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, as in instant claim 61, are effective to inhibit LRRK2 in a cell, as in instant claim 62, and effective to treat a LRRK2-associated disease, as in instant claim 63.
Chappie teaches (page 39) the following compound
.
Chappie specifically teaches (example 16) the following compound:
, which is a compound 4.8 in which R1 is
; and
wherein substituent R3 in Chappie corresponds to R4 = -CN in instant claims 1, 4, 28;
substituent R2 in Chappie corresponds to ring A being a 6-membered heterocycloalkyl having O as ring heteroatom, substituted (m= 1) with R1 = C1 alkyl, in a compound of instant claims 1, 4, 28;
and where substituents R3 and R2 in Chappie are the same as in Formula Ic of instant claim 29, and the stereochemistry of substituent R2, namely (2R,4R)-2-methyltetrahydropyran-4-yl, is the same
as in instant claim 30.
Chappie also exemplifies other R1s, namely
(Example 7),
(Example 9),
(Example 10),
(Example 12).
Chappie does not exemplify a compound 4.8 above where R1 is a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl which contains 1 heteroatom which is N, wherein the 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl is optionally substituted with C1-C3 alkyl.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Chappie to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have synthesized a compound from the genus of compound 4.8 taught by Chappie, where R1 is a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl which contains 1 heteroatom which is N, wherein the 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl is optionally substituted with C1-C3 alkyl, because
Chappie teaches that substituent R1 is a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl which contains 1 heteroatom selected from N, O or S, wherein the 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl is optionally substituted with 1 to 4 R8 which is, for example, C1-C3 alkyl, and
Chappie exemplifies R1 as a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl which contains 1 heteroatom which is O.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced the R1 which is a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl which contains 1 heteroatom which is O (in compound Example 16 Chappie, or in compounds Examples 7, 9, 10, 12 in Chappie) with R1 which is a 4 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl which contains 1 heteroatom which is N, optionally substituted with alkyl, to arrive at a compound of the instant invention, with the expectation that such a compound that belongs to the genus of Chappie will retain therapeutic effect as LRRK2 inhibitor, effective to treat a LRRK2 associated disease.
As such, claims 1, 4, 28, 29, 30, 61-63 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4, 28-30, 38, 52, 61-63 are rejected.
Claim 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629