Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 14, and 16-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-11, and 14-15 of copending Application No. US 20260131584 A1 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that claims 1-5, 14, and 16-17 are included in and can be gleaned from claims 1, 7-11, and 14-15 of the reference application and claim 18 is included in and can be gleaned from claim 15 (of which depends on claim 14) of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “An example disclosed herein” in line 1 should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, line 10, “disnegaged” should read ---disengaged---.
In claim 19, line 2, acronym “RFID” should be defined. For example, “RFID” should recite ---radio frequency identification---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 5 recites “a media roll” – however line 3 already set forth “a media roll” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional media roll. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “the media roll”.
Claim 17, line 2 recites “a media roll” – however line 3 of claim 16 already set forth “a media roll” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional media roll. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “the media roll”.
Claims 2-15 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNestry (US11148446B2) in view of Bunch (US2585999A).
Regarding claim 18, McNestry discloses a media roll (32; Figure 3), comprising: a roll core (31), comprising a plurality of internal teeth (66) disposed about an internal circumference of the roll core (31), wherein each internal tooth of the plurality of internal teeth (66) includes a first tooth face (left side face of tooth 66) opposed to a second tooth face (right side face of tooth 66), the first tooth face defined in a first plane (plane parallel and flushed to left side face of tooth 66) and the second tooth face defined in a second plane (plane parallel and flushed to right side face of tooth 66), and a web of media (33), wound about the roll core (31), but fails to teach such that the first plane and the second plane intersect at a point that is located at a distance from a radial center of the roll core greater than a radius of the internal circumference of the roll core.
Bunch teaches a similar roll core and further teaches such that the first plane (1P; see Bunch annotated Figure 7 below) and the second plane (2P) intersect at a point (P) that is located at a distance from a radial center of the roll core (315) greater than a radius of the internal circumference of the roll core (315). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media roll of McNestry to include the internal tooth faces as taught by Bunch in order to ensure devices lock onto the surfaces of the internal teeth to reduce wear and prevent slippage.
Bunch, Annotated Figure 7
Regarding claim 19, McNestry discloses wherein the web of media (33) is comprised of media elements selected from a group consisting of labels and printable media (Column 1, lines 1-39).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 16 would be allowable over the prior art if the double patenting rejection outlined above is successfully overcome by filing a terminal disclaimer.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1 and 16 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing the spindle having a slot; wherein a portion of the arm is configured to extend through the slot of the spindle and into the hollow cylindrical profile; a biasing member, configured to bias the arm into the roll hold position.
Inakoshi (US5853254A) is the closest prior art and further teaches media cartridge comprising: a housing (11; Figure 4C), comprising: a spindle (66; Figure 5B) configured to rotatively support a media roll (60; 70; Figure 5A), the spindle having a hollow cylindrical profile; a media roll (60; 70) comprising: a roll core (61), the roll core configured to rotate about the spindle, the roll core comprising a plurality of internal teeth (76) disposed about an internal circumference of the roll core; and a web of media (R), wound about the roll core; and a roll stop assembly (64, 68; 73, 78; Figure 4B) configured to transition between a roll hold position and a roll release position, comprising: an arm (68; 78), rotatively coupled to the housing, the portion of the arm comprising an embossment (protruded ends) comprising at least an external tooth (engaging protrusion tips of arms 68;78), but fails to teach the spindle having a slot; wherein a portion of the arm is configured to extend through the slot of the spindle and into the hollow cylindrical profile; a biasing member, configured to bias the arm into the roll hold position, wherein, when in the roll hold position, the external tooth of the embossment of the arm engages with at least one of the plurality of internal teeth of the roll core, blocking the media roll from rotating about the spindle; and wherein the roll stop assembly is configured to transition from the roll hold position to the roll release position by rotating the arm such that the external tooth disengages from the at least one of the plurality of internal teeth; wherein, when in the roll release position, the external tooth is retracted away from the plurality of internal teeth, such that the media roll is rotatable about the spindle.
Misawa (WO03072366A1) teaches a similar media cartridge and further teaches wherein, when in the roll hold position, the external tooth (221; Figure 11) of the embossment of the arm (215) engages with at least one of the plurality of internal teeth (207; teeth internal to the core) of the roll core (202; 203; Figure 9), blocking the media roll (b) from rotating about the spindle (spindle 66 of Inakoshi); and wherein the roll stop assembly (207, 215, 221) is configured to transition from the roll hold position to the roll release position by rotating the arm such that the external tooth disengages from the at least one of the plurality of internal teeth (Figure 11); wherein, when in the roll release position, the external tooth is retracted away from the plurality of internal teeth (Figure 12), such that the media roll is rotatable about the spindle, but fails to teach the spindle having a slot; wherein a portion of the arm is configured to extend through the slot of the spindle and into the hollow cylindrical profile; a biasing member, configured to bias the arm into the roll hold position.
Claims 2-15 would be allowable because they are dependents of claim 1.
Claim 17 would be allowable because it is a dependent of claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654