DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation “the blower is integrated into the heat pump system” in ll. 1 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned in what manner the blower is integral with the heat pump system, wherein the blower is a part of the system. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “the blower is integrated into the heat pump system” will be interpreted as – the blower is a part of the heat pump system --.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitation “actuating a check valve” in ll. 3 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned how the check valve is being actuated, wherein a check valve is a passive fluid control device. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “actuating a check valve” will be interpreted as – actuating a valve --.
Regarding Claim 20, the limitation “within a threshold distance” in ll. 2 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned what constitutes a threshold distance or rather how long is the threshold. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “within a threshold distance”” will be interpreted as – within a distance --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matonog (Translation of WO2008037896A2), hereinafter referred to as Matonog.
Regarding Claim 1, Matonog discloses a heating and cooling system comprising:
a heat pump system (shown in figure 16, “The invention relates to a thermodynamic device of the heat pump or air conditioning system type”); and
a heat exchange system (3) including:
a Phase Change Material unit (shown in figure 24a) housing a PCM (“Heat storage materials that can be used for the manufacture of the heat exchange and storage blocks according to the invention are composites consisting of a porous graphite matrix and of paraffin as described in the publication entitled "Paraffin/porous-graphite matrix composite as a high and constant power thermal storage material" by Xavier Py, Governeds Olives and Sylvain Mauran (International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer 44 (2001) 2727-2737)”) and a first refrigerant line (20) extending through the PCM unit (shown in figures 16 and 24) for the PCM to exchange heat with refrigerant in the first refrigerant line (shown in figures 16 and 24, see intended use analysis below),
the refrigerant received from a compressor (1) of the heat pump system and returned to the heat pump system (shown in figure 16); and
a first water line (being the portion of the line (25) that passes through the block (3)) extending through the PCM unit (shown in figures 16 and 24) for the PCM to exchange heat with water in the first water line (s shown in figures 16 and 24, see intended use analysis below).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “for the PCM to exchange heat with refrigerant in the first refrigerant line” and “for the PCM to exchange heat with water in the first water line”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 4, Matonog further discloses a second water line (being the portion of the line (25) that passes through the heat exchanger (15)) fluidly connected to the first water line (shown in figure 16) and configured for heat exchange (“The heat exchanger or exchangers heating or cooling the space are water exchangers 15, 17 connected directly to the medium-temperature exchange and storage block 3”) with ambient air surrounding the second water line (“Devices intended for heating and/or air conditioning using water as transfer fluid 15: The current devices which can be used in the context of the present invention are fan-convectors, water-air exchangers for heating or cooling fresh air and the heating-cooling floor with water circulation” and “a second heat load (such as a floor heating, a radiator, a fresh air heating exchanger, a fan coil)”); and a blower configured to blow the ambient air for secondary heating or cooling (see previous annotation regarding the “fan coil” and “convector fan”). It is noted that Matonog teaches the second water line being fluidly connected with the water heat exchanger (15), wherein said water heat exchanger is a fan coil unit or convector fan that comprises a fan.
Regarding Claim 5, Matonog further discloses the blower (see rejection of Claim 4 above, wherein the blower is taught by the fan coil unit of Matonog) is integrated into the heat pump system (see rejection of Claim 4 above, wherein the fan is a part of the system).
Regarding Claim 6, Matonog further discloses the first water line and the second water line form a loop (shown in figure 16), the heat exchange system further comprising: at least one of a circulating pump to circulate the water in the loop (“9 / water pump and expansion tank”).
Regarding Claim 7, Matonog further discloses the heat exchange system further comprises: a cold-water inlet for feeding cold water to the first water line (shown in figure 16, wherein the inlet introduces water emanating from the water heat exchanger (15) to be heated by the compressor) and a hot-water outlet for retrieving hot water from the first water line (shown in figure 16, wherein the outlet delivers heated water to the water heat exchanger (15)).
Regarding Claim 8, Matonog further discloses a conditioning unit (4) including a fluid line (24) and a second refrigerant line (being the portion of the line (20) that passes through the block (4)) shown fluidly connected to the heat pump system (shown in figure 16), the fluid line and the second refrigerant line proximal to each other for heat exchange between a fluid in the fluid line and the refrigerant in the second refrigerant line (shown in figures 16 and 25).
Regarding Claim 10, Matonog further discloses a method comprising:
circulating refrigerant from a compressor (1) of a heat pump shown in figure 16, “The invention relates to a thermodynamic device of the heat pump or air conditioning system type”) through a heat exchange system (3);
storing heat from the refrigerant in a phase change material (shown in figure 24a) of the heat exchange system as latent heat (“the heat is stored by using solid/liquid phase-change materials which make it possible to store the heat in latent form”); and
heating water in a water line (being the portion of the line (25) that passes through the block (3)) extending through the phase change material of the heat exchange system (shown in figures 16 and 24) using the latent heat stored in the phase change material (see annotation above regarding latent heat exchange).
Regarding Claim 13, Matonog further discloses drawing heated water from the water line to a second water line (being the portion of the line (25) that passes through the heat exchanger (15)); heating ambient air surrounding the second water line using the heated water (“Devices intended for heating and/or air conditioning using water as transfer fluid 15: The current devices which can be used in the context of the present invention are fan-convectors, water-air exchangers for heating or cooling fresh air and the heating-cooling floor with water circulation” and “a second heat load (such as a floor heating, a radiator, a fresh air heating exchanger, a fan coil)”); and distributing the heated ambient air (see previous annotation). It is noted that Matonog teaches the second water line being fluidly connected with the water heat exchanger (15), wherein said water heat exchanger is a fan coil unit or convector fan that comprises a fan.
Regarding Claim 14, Matonog further discloses detecting a secondary heating condition (“Electronic regulation 21: It receives the information (pressure, temperatures, operating instructions) and controls the various elements of the system (compressors, expander, pumps, fans)”); and in response to detecting the secondary heating condition, actuating a circulating pump (9, “Electronic regulation 21: It receives the information (pressure, temperatures, operating instructions) and controls the various elements of the system (compressors, expander, pumps, fans)”) to draw the heated water from the water line to the second water line (“The regulation of the machine controls the pressure and temperature parameters in order to optimize the efficiency of the system by remaining within the reliable operating range. The regulation takes place on the compressor 1, the position of the electronic pressure reducer 5 and the activation of the circulation pumps 9”).
Regarding Claim 15, Matonog further discloses circulating the refrigerant (shown in figure 16) from the heat pump through a conditioning system (4); and absorbing heat from a fluid in a fluid line of the conditioning system by the refrigerant (“When the circulation pump is activated, the heat will be stored in two exchange and storage blocks: on the one hand, the low-temperature block 4 to ensure the superheating of the suction gases of the compressor and create stored energy in the event of demand from the compressor”).
Regarding Claim 16, Matonog further discloses cooling the refrigerant prior to circulating the refrigerant through the conditioning system (4, shown in figure 16, wherein heat is removed from the refrigerant at least in the high temperature block (2)).
Regarding Claim 17, Matonog discloses a heat exchange system comprising:
a housing (shown in figure 24a);
a refrigerant line (20) extending through the housing (shown in figures 16 and 24), the refrigerant line configured to receive refrigerant circulated from a heat pump system (shown in figures 16 and 24); and
a fluid line (being the portion of the line (25) that passes through the block (3)) extending through the housing (shown in figures 16 and 24), the fluid line configured to contain a fluid (shown in figures 16 and 24); and wherein
the refrigerant line and the fluid line are configured for a heat exchange between the refrigerant and the fluid (see intended use analysis below, shown in figures 16 and 24).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “the refrigerant line and the fluid line are configured for a heat exchange between the refrigerant and the fluid”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 18, Matonog further discloses a phase change material (“Heat storage materials that can be used for the manufacture of the heat exchange and storage blocks according to the invention are composites consisting of a porous graphite matrix and of paraffin as described in the publication entitled "Paraffin/porous-graphite matrix composite as a high and constant power thermal storage material" by Xavier Py, Governeds Olives and Sylvain Mauran (International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer 44 (2001) 2727-2737)”) stored in the housing (shown in figure 24); and wherein the heat exchange between the refrigerant and the fluid occurs via heat exchange with the phase change material as an intermediate (shown in figure 24).
Regarding Claim 19, Matonog further discloses the refrigerant line and the fluid line each extend through the phase change material (shown in figure 24).
Regarding Claim 20, as best understood, Matonog further discloses the refrigerant line (20) and the fluid line (being the portion of the line (25) that passes through the block (3)) are configured to be disposed within a threshold distance of each other (shown in figure 24) to enable the heat exchange between the refrigerant and the fluid (shown in figure 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matonog (Translation of WO2008037896A2) as applied in Claims 1, 4-7, 10 and 13-20 above and in further view of Taras (US PG Pub. 2024/0068714A1), hereinafter referred to as Taras.
Regarding Claim 2, although Matonog states, “In cooling mode, the set of two valves allows short-circuiting the medium-temperature block 3. The heat stored therein remains available for domestic hot water”, Matonog fails to disclose a heat recovery valve configured to selectively direct the refrigerant from the compressor to bypass the heat exchange system and return to the heat pump system in response to detecting a bypass condition.
Taras, also drawn to a thermal energy storage device with a heat pump, teaches a heat recovery valve (120h) configured to selectively direct the refrigerant from the compressor (114) to bypass the heat exchange system (140) and return to the heat pump system (shown in figure 2B) in response to detecting a bypass condition (“the controller is operable to selectively control the flow refrigerant through the thermal energy reservoirs (e.g., to place the thermal energy reservoir in one of the charging or discharging modes) or to selectively bypass the thermal energy reservoirs (e.g., to place the thermal energy reservoir into the holding mode) based on various operational criteria in the HVAC system 100. In some embodiments, the controller uses a historic heating/cooling demand curve and/or weather forecasts to identify when the HVAC system 100 is most active, and may charge the thermal energy reservoirs in anticipation of high-use times. Additionally, the HVAC system 100 may monitor the temperatures of temperature holding materials in the thermal energy reservoirs and temperatures of the conditioned and un-conditioned environment (including an icing status of the cold heat exchanger) to assess when to use the thermal energy reservoirs in the charging, discharging, or hold modes” ¶35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Matonog with a heat recovery valve configured to selectively direct the refrigerant from the compressor to bypass the heat exchange system and return to the heat pump system in response to detecting a bypass condition, as taught by Taras, the motivation being to maintain a desired temperature of the thermal storage material for “increased operational capacity of the HVAC system, thereby allowing the improved HVAC system to provide greater heating ability on colder days and greater cooling ability on hotter days” ¶8.
Regarding Claim 3, a modified Matonog further teaches detecting the bypass condition is based on at least one of: a PCM charge signal or a temperature measurement of the PCM (“the HVAC system 100 may monitor the temperatures of temperature holding materials in the thermal energy reservoirs and temperatures of the conditioned and un-conditioned environment (including an icing status of the cold heat exchanger) to assess when to use the thermal energy reservoirs in the charging, discharging, or hold modes” ¶35 of Taras).
Regarding Claim 11, although Matonog states, In cooling mode, the set of two valves allows short-circuiting the medium-temperature block 3. The heat stored therein remains available for domestic hot water”, Matonog fails to disclose detecting a bypass condition; and directing the refrigerant from the compressor to bypass the heat exchange system and return to the heat pump.
Taras, also drawn to a thermal energy storage device with a heat pump, teaches
detecting a bypass condition (“the controller is operable to selectively control the flow refrigerant through the thermal energy reservoirs (e.g., to place the thermal energy reservoir in one of the charging or discharging modes) or to selectively bypass the thermal energy reservoirs (e.g., to place the thermal energy reservoir into the holding mode) based on various operational criteria in the HVAC system 100. In some embodiments, the controller uses a historic heating/cooling demand curve and/or weather forecasts to identify when the HVAC system 100 is most active, and may charge the thermal energy reservoirs in anticipation of high-use times. Additionally, the HVAC system 100 may monitor the temperatures of temperature holding materials in the thermal energy reservoirs and temperatures of the conditioned and un-conditioned environment (including an icing status of the cold heat exchanger) to assess when to use the thermal energy reservoirs in the charging, discharging, or hold modes” ¶35); and directing the refrigerant from the compressor (114) to bypass the heat exchange system (140) and return to the heat pump (shown in figure 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Matonog with detecting a bypass condition; and directing the refrigerant from the compressor to bypass the heat exchange system and return to the heat pump, as taught by Taras, the motivation being to maintain a desired temperature of the thermal storage material for “increased operational capacity of the HVAC system, thereby allowing the improved HVAC system to provide greater heating ability on colder days and greater cooling ability on hotter days” ¶8.
Regarding Claim 12, Matonog discloses the bypass condition is based on at least one of: a PCM charge signal, a temperature measurement of the PCM (“the HVAC system 100 may monitor the temperatures of temperature holding materials in the thermal energy reservoirs and temperatures of the conditioned and un-conditioned environment (including an icing status of the cold heat exchanger) to assess when to use the thermal energy reservoirs in the charging, discharging, or hold modes” ¶35 of Taras).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matonog (Translation of WO2008037896A2) as applied in Claims 1, 4-7, 10 and 13-20 above and in further view of Bruzi et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0072527A1), hereinafter referred to as Bruzi.
Regarding Claim 5, in addition to Matonog, Bruzi, also drawn to a heat pump system with thermal storage, teaches a blower (41) is integrated into the heat pump (“The well-known ventilation-air conditioning devices with a heat pump blow the cooled or heated fresh air to individual building rooms by means of a network of ventilation ducts and ventilators” ¶2) system (shown in figure 27, wherein the blower (41) provides airflow for exchanging heat with the heat store (111)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Matonog with the blower being integrated into the heat pump system, as taught by Bruzi, the motivation being to decrease the envelope of the system, to minimize installation components or to simplify the installation of the system.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matonog (Translation of WO2008037896A2) as applied in Claims 1, 4-7, 10 and 13-20 above and in further view of Kimura et al. (US PG Pub. 2015/0308700A1), hereinafter referred to as Kimura.
Regarding Claim 9, Matonog fails to disclose a first directing valve configured to direct the refrigerant from the heat pump system to the second refrigerant line; and a second directing valve configured to return the refrigerant to the compressor after the second refrigerant line.
Kimura, also drawn to a heat pump system with thermal storage, teaches a first directing valve (140) configured to direct the refrigerant from the heat pump system to a second refrigerant line (shown in figure 1, being the line connected with heat exchanger (41)); and a second directing valve (110b) configured to return the refrigerant to the compressor (101) after the second refrigerant line (shown in figure 1, wherein the refrigerant passes through the refrigerant-heat medium heat exchanger (41) or the bypass passage (141) upstream of the compressor (101)). Kimura further states, “whether to allow the refrigerant to flow into the bypass pipe 141 is controlled. In addition, opening and closing are switched together with the hot-water supply expansion means 119, and thereby a refrigerant passage is switched between a passage to the refrigerant-heat medium heat exchanger 41 and a passage to the bypass pipe 141” ¶32.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Matonog with a first directing valve configured to direct the refrigerant from the heat pump system to the second refrigerant line and a second directing valve configured to return the refrigerant to the compressor after the second refrigerant line, as taught by Kimura, the motivation being to regulate a temperature of the heat exchanger thereby regulating heat transfer based upon system requirements .
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matonog (Translation of WO2008037896A2) as applied in Claims 1, 4-7, 10 and 13-20 above and in further view of Sakaguchi et al. (USP 11852379B2), hereinafter referred to as Sakaguchi.
Regarding Claim 9, Matonog fails to disclose a first directing valve configured to direct the refrigerant from the heat pump system to the second refrigerant line; and a second directing valve configured to return the refrigerant to the compressor after the second refrigerant line.
Sakaguchi, also drawn to a heat pump system with thermal storage, teaches a first directing valve (B1) configured to direct the refrigerant from the heat pump system (shown in figures 5-6) to a second refrigerant line (13b); and a second directing valve (B2) configured to return the refrigerant to the compressor (11) after the second refrigerant line (shown in figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Matonog with a first directing valve configured to direct the refrigerant from the heat pump system to the second refrigerant line and a second directing valve configured to return the refrigerant to the compressor after the second refrigerant line, as taught by Sakaguchi, the motivation being to provide for a bypass of the heat exchanger.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matonog (Translation of WO2008037896A2) as applied in Claims 1, 4-7, 10 and 13-20 above and in further view of Alley et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0375280A1), hereinafter referred to as Alley.
[AltContent: textbox (Second Refrigerant Line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fluid Line)]
Alley Figure 17B
Regarding Claim 8, in addition to Matonog, Alley teaches a conditioning unit (s1) including a fluid line (shown in annotated figure 17B) and a second refrigerant line (shown in annotated figure 17B) shown fluidly connected to the heat pump system (shown in figure 17B), the fluid line and the second refrigerant line proximal to each other for heat exchange between a fluid in the fluid line and the refrigerant in the second refrigerant line (shown in figure 17B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Matonog with a conditioning unit including a fluid line and a second refrigerant line fluidly connected to the heat pump system, the fluid line and the second refrigerant line proximal to each other for heat exchange between a fluid in the fluid line and the refrigerant in the second refrigerant line, as taught by Alley, the motivation being to allow for a more flexible conditioning system that is capable of isolating or utilizing multiple heat exchangers for “greatly increased heating and cold storage” (see abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, a modified Matonog further teaches a first directing valve (v1a) configured to direct the refrigerant from the heat pump system to the second refrigerant line (shown in annotated figure 17B); and a second directing valve (VCa) configured to return the refrigerant to the compressor after the second refrigerant line (shown in figure 17B).
Conclusion
/PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763