DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408 in view of Lof; Henrik Tobias et al. US 20140310779 (hereinafter Lof).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408 teaches all the limitations of the instant application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408. Claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408 teaches all the limitations of the instant application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408. Claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408 teaches all the limitations of the instant application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408 does not teach; however, Lof discloses: the requested transformation is further based on compliance with the criterion for the use of the first dataset (Lof: para. 69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify U.S. Patent No. 11,645,408 with the teaching of Lof to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to ensure authorized use of system resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11-13, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRUBE; GARY W. US 20110161679 (hereinafter Grube) in view of FATTAL MATAN BINYAMIN et al. WO 2018234980 (hereinafter Fattal).
As per claim 1, Grube teaches: A method comprising: receiving, by a processing system including a processor, a request from a requesting system to access a first dataset ( a processing module receiving a data retrieval request…The method continues with the processing module decoding the threshold number of encoded data slices (a first and a second dataset), wherein the request indicates second metadata of a second dataset (“The request may include one or more of a slice name(s), a requester ID, a command, an access policy update, a data object ID, a source name, a data type, a data size indicator, a priority indicator, a security indicator, and a performance indicator” Grube: para. 83 ) and a requested transformation based on the first dataset and the second dataset (“The slicer 79 transforms the encoded data segment 94 into EC data slices in accordance with the slicing parameter from the vault for this user and/or data segment” Grube: para. 83),
and
wherein first metadata of the first dataset indicates a criterion for use of the first dataset (The request may include a command, a user ID, a data object name, a data type, a data size, a priority indicator, a security indicator, a performance indicator, operational parameters, time delay to DS units information, and other metadata pertaining to the data object (e.g., use of the first dataset). Grube: para. 131);
Grube does not teach; however, Fattal discloses: generating, by the processing system, a first data block including the first metadata and a second data block including identification data for the requesting system, the second metadata, and an indication of compliance with the criterion for the use of the first dataset (the system records metadata associated with the request (e.g., a session identifier, the time of the request, and/or the network address from which the request was sent… and also records, in a log file, various parameters of the request, such as the name of the user who submitted the request, the client hostname, the time of the request, whether the request was approved (an indication of compliance with the criterion for the use of the first dataset), and, for an access request or authorization request, the name of the requested resource…(Fattal: page 8, lines 10-17) For example, upon the server identifying that the request originated from a particular user, the server may look up (e.g., in a database) supplementary information, pertaining to the user, that is not included in the request, and then record this supplementary information in the log. (For example, the server may look up, and then record, a full name of the user, contact information for the user, information pertaining to the user's previous requests, or the user's level of seniority…(Fattal: page 28, lines 2-7).
modifying, by the processing system, a cryptographically signed record to include the first data block and the second data (suggesting that the information in the first data block and second data block is typically signed (Fattal: page 21, lines 3-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Grube with the teachings of Fattal to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to validate the detail of the access request.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Grube teaches: providing, by the processing system to the requesting system, access to the first dataset (Grube: fig. 11, block 120).
As per claim 11, this claim defines a device that corresponds to method of claim 1 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Grube teaches: first metadata of the first dataset indicates a criterion for use of the first dataset
(The request may include a command, a user ID, a data object name, a data type, a data size, a priority indicator, a security indicator, a performance indicator, operational parameters, time delay to DS units information, and other metadata pertaining to the data object (e.g., use of the first dataset). Grube: para. 131);
wherein the generating the requested transformation is compliant with the criterion (Grube: fig.11, block 120).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Grube teaches: the operations further comprise receiving the first metadata of the first dataset, wherein the request is received from the requesting system (Grube: fig. 11).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Grube teaches:
receiving a compliance verification indicating the compliance (Grube: para.52).
As per claim 16, this claim defines a device that corresponds to method of claim 7 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 7. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 7.
As per claim 18, this claim defines a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising executable instructions that corresponds to method of claim 1 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated herein. Grube teaches:
receiving the first metadata indicating a criterion for use of a first dataset, wherein the generating the requested transformation is compliant with the criterion (Grube. Fig. 11, blocks 110, 120 and para. 54).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grube in view of Fattal and further in view of Lof; Henrik Tobias et al. US 20140310779 (hereinafter Lof).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Lof discloses: the requested transformation is further based on compliance with the criterion for the use of the first dataset (Lof: para. 69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grube and Fattal with the teaching of Lof to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to ensure authorized use of system resources.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Lof discloses: receiving the first metadata associated with the first dataset (Lof: para. 69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grube and Fattal with the teaching of Lof to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to ensure authorized use of system resources.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grube in view of Fattal and further in view of Darcy; Jerry US 20170169065 (hereinafter Darcy).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Darcy discloses: verifying, by the processing system, a source of the first dataset, wherein the verifying the source includes validating identification data of the source, and wherein the first metadata indicates the identification data for the source (Darcy: para. 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grube and Fattal with the teaching of Darcy to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to provide reliable data.
Claims 5, 6, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grube in view of Fattal and further in view of SEO; Young-Jun et al. US 20160099938 (hereinafter Seo).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Seo discloses: verifying, by the processing system, the requesting system, wherein the verifying the requesting system includes validating the identification data of the requesting system. (Seo: para. 95).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Seo discloses: the request indicates the identification data for the requesting system (Seo: para. 95).
As per claim 14, this claim defines a device that corresponds to method of claim 5 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 20, this claim defines a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising executable instructions that corresponds to method of claim 5 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 8-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grube in view of Fattal and further in view of Beringer, Joerg US 20040122696 (hereinafter Beringer).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Beringer discloses: the processing system is configured to control access to datasets in a dataset exchange environment (the system provides a collaborative environment: Beringer: para. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grube and Fattal with the teaching of Beringer to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to enhance the utility of the system.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Beringer discloses: the first metadata indicates an availability requirement of the first dataset, wherein the availability requirement indicates one or more criteria for use of the first dataset (Beringer: para. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grube and Fattal with the teaching of Beringer to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to create a secure access to system resources.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein. The combination of Grube and Fattal does not teach; however, Beringer discloses: receiving, by the processing system, a compliance alert indicating that the transformation based on the first dataset and the second dataset violates a privacy limitation of the availability requirement of the first dataset, wherein the privacy limitation indicates a level of privacy required by transformations based on, at least, the first dataset (Beringer: para. 29).
As per claim 17, this claim defines a device that corresponds to method of claims 9 and 10 and does not define beyond limitations of claims 9 and 10. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claims 9 and 10.
Conclusion
/GHODRAT JAMSHIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493