DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 11/18/2024. Claims 1-12 are
pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
3. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, in line 3, “complying with IEEE 802.11,” should be replaced by “complying with Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US
2024/0049266 Al, hereinafter “Lee”) in view of SHIRAKAWA et al. (US 2023/0199825 Al, hereinafter “Shirakawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses:
A communication device comprising (electronic device 101 in a network environment 100 may communicate with an external electronic device, Lee: Fig. 1, [0061]):
at least one memory that stores a set of instructions (program 140 may be stored in the memory 130 as software. the memory 130 of FIG. 1) for storing instructions for the operation of the electronic device 101, Lee: Fig. 2, [0065], [0086]): and
at least one processor that executes the instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the communication device to perform operations comprising (the processor 304 may process various wireless control functions so as to communicate with one or more wireless networks according to one or more wireless technologies. Lee: [0088]-[0090]):
receiving, from another communication device by wireless communication, a setting request to request provision of a communication parameter used for connection to a wireless network (receive, from an external electronic device through the communication module, a configuration request frame including identification information identifying an enrollee access point (AP) to configure the external electronic device as the enrollee AP, Lee: Fig. 10, [0014]);
wherein the transmitted setting response includes the communication parameters in a form in which upon receiving the setting response (DPP configuration response frame including configuration information for configuring the enrollee AP 905 as an AP in operation 1020. the DPP configuration response frame may include second channel information indicating a frequency band in which the electronic device 101 may establish a connection while operating as the enrollee STA, Lee: Fig. 10, [0200], [0209]),
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
deciding priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the other communication device; and
transmitting, to the other communication device based on the decided priorities, a setting response to the setting request,
the other communication device can specify the priorities for the respective communication parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
deciding priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the other communication device (Whether the traffic is a very high priority traffic or non-very high priority traffic in a low layer may be determined based on a required specification for the communication traffic from an application (or a service) located in the higher layer using inter-layer cooperation with the higher layer. The radio communication apparatus 1-1 compares a required value of the low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition of the radio communication apparatus 1-1 with a required value of the low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition included in the low delay transmission priority right request from the radio communication apparatus 2-1, determines whether to accept the request from the radio communication apparatus 2-1, and transmits a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2) to the radio communication apparatus 2-1, Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0111], [0119]-[0120]); and
transmitting, to the other communication device based on the decided priorities, a setting response to the setting request (transmits a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2) to the radio communication apparatus 2-1, Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0120]-[0121]),
the other communication device can specify the priorities for the respective communication parameters (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 checks low-delay transmission priority right acquisition information included in a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2), Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0120]-[0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify deciding priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the other communication device, transmitting a setting response to the setting request, and specifying the priorities of the other communication device for the respective communication parameters from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the setting response includes information representing the priorities for the respective communication parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
wherein the setting response includes information representing the priorities for the respective communication parameters (The low-delay transmission priority right response may include low-delay transmission priority right acquisition information indicating whether to allow the radio communication apparatus 2-1 to transmit the frame, Shrakawa: [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify the setting response which includes information representing the priorities for the respective communication parameters from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the setting response includes information that associates each communication parameter constituting the communication parameters with a corresponding priority.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
wherein the setting response includes information that associates each communication parameter constituting the communication parameters with a corresponding priority (The low delay transmission priority right response may include low delay transmission priority right acquisition information indicating whether to allow the radio communication apparatus 2-1 to perform frame transmission through exercising of the low-delay transmission priority right and may further include low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition information to be allowed for the radio communication apparatus 2-1, Shrakawa: [0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify the setting response which includes information that associates each communication parameter constituting the communication parameters with a corresponding priority from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in the setting response, information representing a second communication parameter lower in priority than a first communication parameter is stored after information representing the first communication parameter of high priority.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
wherein in the setting response, information representing a second communication parameter lower in priority than a first communication parameter is stored after information representing the first communication parameter of high priority (The priority right order performed by the radio communication apparatus 2-2 may be different from the priority right order performed by the radio communication apparatus 2-1. the radio communication apparatuses 2-1 and 2-2 may be notified of a change in low-delay priority right by including the information related to the low-delay transmission priority right, the priority right order, and the priority right parameters in the low-delay transmission priority right change notifications, Shrakawa: Fig. 13, [0144]-[0146]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify information representing a second communication parameter lower in priority than a first communication parameter is stored after information representing the first communication parameter of high priority from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee further discloses:
wherein in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on security methods of the respective communication parameters (the responder indicates a DPP device for responding to initiation of the DPP authentication protocol by the initiator, and one of the configurator and the enrollee may be the responder. the enrollee STA 810 may perform an IEEE 802.11 association operation based on the IEEE 802.11 standard with the enrollee AP 800. In operation 823, the enrollee STA 810 may be associated with the enrollee AP 800 by using authentication and key management (AKM) corresponding to a network key, Lee: [0110], [0186]):
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee further discloses:
wherein the communication parameters are communication parameters for connecting to wireless networks formed by different access points of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standard (the enrollee STA 810 may perform Wi-Fi scanning, for example, an IEEE 802.11 scanning operation based on the IEEE 802.11 standard. the enrollee STA 810 may transmit a peer discovery request frame including a connector attribute to the discovered enrollee AP 800, Lee: Fig. 8, [0185]), and
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on dates and times when configuration information is provided to respective access points corresponding to the communication parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on dates and times when configuration information is provided to respective access points corresponding to the communication parameters (The invalidation may be temporary, and the low-delay transmission priority right may be validated again after elapse of a specific period of time. the radio communication apparatus 2A may receive control information indicating a change in low-delay transmission priority right from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, and the priority may be lowered, Shrakawa: [0116], [0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify priorities for the respective communication parameters which are decided based on dates and times when configuration information is provided to respective access points corresponding to the communication parameters from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on expiration dates of the respective communication parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
wherein in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on expiration dates of the respective communication parameters (the radio communication apparatus 2A may receive control information indicating the low-delay transmission priority right invalidation from the radio communication apparatus 1-1 and the low-delay transmission priority right may be invalidated. the radio communication apparatus 2A may receive control information indicating a change in low-delay transmission priority right from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, and the priority may be lowered, Shrakawa: [0116], [0118], [0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify priorities for the respective communication parameters which are decided based on expiration dates of the respective communication parameters from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the operations further comprise obtaining capability information about a communication capability of the other communication device, and
in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on the obtained communication capability of the other communication device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise obtaining capability information about a communication capability of the other communication device (The low-delay transmission priority right identification information may be disposed in the PHY header. the radio communication apparatus 1-1 can also calculate the radio medium occupancy rate of the frame transmitted by each radio communication apparatus 2A through exercising of the low-delay transmission priority right, Shrakawa: [0113]-[0114]), and
in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on the obtained communication capability of the other communication device (The low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition information may include, for example, a value related to calculation of the radio medium occupancy rate such as the number of transmissions of a frame transmitted through exercising of the low-delay transmission priority right per certain period of time and a radio medium occupancy time per certain period of time. In addition, information related to a field (such as IoT and robot control, for example) to which an application (or a service) that requests the low-delay transmission priority right belongs may be included, Shrakawa: [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify the operations obtaining capability information about a communication capability of the other communication device, and priorities for the respective communication parameters which are decided based on the obtained communication capability of the other communication device from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improving link quality and reducing co-channel interference with neighbor terminals/TRPs/cells (Shirakawa: [0586], [0695]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee further discloses:
wherein the communication device performs communication complying with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standard (When the peer discovery response frame is received from the enrollee AP 800, the enrollee STA 810 may perform the IEEE 802.11 authentication operation based on the IEEE 802.11 standard with the enrollee AP 800 in operation 819. In operation 821, the enrollee STA 810 may perform an IEEE 802.11 association operation based on the IEEE 802.11 standard with the enrollee AP 800, Lee: Fig. 8, [0185]-[0186]),
the setting request is a DPP Configuration_ Request frame complying with the Device Provisioning Protocol (DPP) standard of version 2.0 or subsequent version (when both the enrollee and the configurator use the DPP of a specific protocol version, for example, protocol version 2 or higher and the DPP configuration operation between the configurator and the enrollee is successfully, the configurator may request the enrollee to provide feedback on an attempt to use a configuration applied to a DPP configuration object received through the successful DPP configuration operation. the enrollee STA 2605 may transmit a DPP configuration request frame to the electronic device 101, Lee: Fig. 26, [0188], [0257]), and
the setting response is a DPP Configuration_ Response frame complying with the DPP standard of version 2.0 or subsequent version (when both the enrollee and the configurator use the DPP of a specific protocol version, for example, protocol version 2 or higher and the DPP configuration operation between the configurator and the enrollee is successfully, the configurator may request the enrollee to provide feedback on an attempt to use a configuration applied to a DPP configuration object received through the successful DPP configuration operation. the electronic device 101 may transmit a DPP configuration response frame corresponding to the DPP configuration request frame to the enrollee STA, Lee: [0188], [0258]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses:
A control method of a communication device, comprising (method performed by an electronic device is provided, Lee: [0015], [0277]):
receiving, from another communication device by wireless communication, a setting request to request provision of a communication parameter used for connection to a wireless network (receive, from an external electronic device through the communication module, a configuration request frame including identification information identifying an enrollee access point (AP) to configure the external electronic device as the enrollee AP, Lee: Fig. 10, [0014]);
wherein the transmitted setting response includes the communication parameters in a form in which upon receiving the setting response (DPP configuration response frame including configuration information for configuring the enrollee AP 905 as an AP in operation 1020. the DPP configuration response frame may include second channel information indicating a frequency band in which the electronic device 101 may establish a connection while operating as the enrollee STA, Lee: Fig. 10, [0200], [0209]),
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
deciding priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the other communication device; and
transmitting, to the other communication device based on the decided priorities, a setting response to the setting request,
the other communication device can specify the priorities for the respective communication parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
deciding priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the other communication device (Whether the traffic is a very high priority traffic or non-very high priority traffic in a low layer may be determined based on a required specification for the communication traffic from an application (or a service) located in the higher layer using inter-layer cooperation with the higher layer. The radio communication apparatus 1-1 compares a required value of the low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition of the radio communication apparatus 1-1 with a required value of the low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition included in the low delay transmission priority right request from the radio communication apparatus 2-1, determines whether to accept the request from the radio communication apparatus 2-1, and transmits a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2) to the radio communication apparatus 2-1, Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0111], [0119]-[0120]); and
transmitting, to the other communication device based on the decided priorities, a setting response to the setting request (transmits a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2) to the radio communication apparatus 2-1, Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0120]-[0121]),
the other communication device can specify the priorities for the respective communication parameters (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 checks low-delay transmission priority right acquisition information included in a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2), Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0120]-[0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify deciding priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the other communication device, transmitting a setting response to the setting request, and specifying the priorities of the other communication device for the respective communication parameters from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses:
A control method of a communication system including a first communication device and a second communication device, the method comprising (the DPP presence announcement frame may be used to signal, to the electronic device 101 corresponding to the configurator, that the external electronic device 710 is ready to participate in DPP exchange, Lee: Fig. 7, [0166]):
causing the first communication device to transmit, to the second communication device via wireless communication, a setting request to request provision of a communication parameter for connection to a wireless network (the responder may transmit a DPP configuration request frame, and the configurator may transmit a DDP configuration response frame responding to the DDP configuration request frame, Lee: Fig. 7, [0152], [0173]);
causing the second communication device to receive the setting request from the first communication device by wireless communication (receive, from an external electronic device through the communication module, a configuration request frame including identification information identifying an enrollee access point (AP) to configure the external electronic device as the enrollee AP, Lee: Fig. 10, [0014]);
causing the first communication device to receive, from the second communication device, the setting response to the setting request (In operation 735, the electronic device 101 having received the DPP configuration request frame may transmit a DPP configuration response frame responding to the DPP configuration request frame to the external electronic device 710, Lee: Fig. 7, [0174]); and
causing the first communication device to try connection to a wireless network based on communication parameters included in the setting response (the enrollee having received the DPP configuration response frame may discover the AP to which the enrollee is to connected based on the DPP configuration object included in the DPP configuration response frame, and may attempt to connect to the discovered AP, Lee: [0190]),
wherein the setting response transmitted from the second communication device includes the communication parameters in a form in which upon receiving the setting response (DPP configuration response frame including configuration information for configuring the enrollee AP 905 as an AP in operation 1020. the DPP configuration response frame may include second channel information indicating a frequency band in which the electronic device 101 may establish a connection while operating as the enrollee STA, Lee: Fig. 10, [0200], [0209]),
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
causing the second communication device to decide priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the first communication device;
causing the second communication device to transmit a setting response to the first communication device based on the decided priorities;
the first communication device can specify the priorities for the respective communication parameters, and
in the try connection to a wireless network in the first communication device, connection to the wireless network is tried using the communication parameters in descending order of the priorities for the respective communication parameters out of the communication parameters included in the setting response.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shirakawa teaches:
causing the second communication device to decide priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the first communication device (Whether the traffic is a very high priority traffic or non-very high priority traffic in a low layer may be determined based on a required specification for the communication traffic from an application (or a service) located in the higher layer using inter-layer cooperation with the higher layer. The radio communication apparatus 1-1 compares a required value of the low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition of the radio communication apparatus 1-1 with a required value of the low-delay transmission priority right utilization condition included in the low delay transmission priority right request from the radio communication apparatus 2-1, determines whether to accept the request from the radio communication apparatus 2-1, and transmits a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2) to the radio communication apparatus 2-1, Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0111], [0119]-[0120]); and
causing the second communication device to transmit a setting response to the first communication device based on the decided priorities (transmits a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2) to the radio communication apparatus 2-1, Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0120]-[0121]),
the first communication device can specify the priorities for the respective communication parameters (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 checks low-delay transmission priority right acquisition information included in a low-delay transmission priority right response (11-2), Shrakawa: Fig. 11, [0120]-[0122]), and
in the try connection to a wireless network in the first communication device, connection to the wireless network is tried using the communication parameters in descending order of the priorities for the respective communication parameters out of the communication parameters included in the setting response (FIG. 12 illustrates an example of a priority right table in a case that the number of priority right orders is five, and in this case, it is assumed that the priority right order 1 has the highest priority while the priority right order 5 has the lowest priority. the priority right order may be changed by designating a relative value based on the priority right order that is currently being performed, Shrakawa: Fig. 12, [0134], [0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shirakawa in order to further modify causing the second communication device to decide priorities for respective communication parameters to be provided to the first communication device, causing the second communication device to transmit a setting response to the first communication device based on the decided priorities, and the first communication device which can specify the priorities for the respective communication parameters, and connection to the wireless network is tried using the communication parameters in descending order of the priorities for the respective communication parameters out of the communication parameters from the teachings of Shirakawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improve high-reliability communication and low delay communication in the IEEE 802.11 standard (Shirakawa: [0030]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shirakawa and in
further view of Smadi (US 2014/0241182 Al, hereafter “Smadi”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Shirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Lee further discloses:
wherein the communication parameters are communication parameters for connecting to wireless networks formed by different access points complying with IEEE 802.11 (the enrollee STA 810 may perform Wi-Fi scanning, for example, an IEEE 802.11 scanning operation based on the IEEE 802.11 standard. the enrollee STA 810 may transmit a peer discovery request frame including a connector attribute to the discovered enrollee AP 800, Lee: Fig. 8, [0185]), and
Lee in view of Shirakawa does not explicitly disclose:
in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on radio field intensities of respective wireless networks corresponding to the communication parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Smadi teaches:
in the deciding, priorities for the respective communication parameters are decided based on radio field intensities of respective wireless networks corresponding to the communication parameters (the mobile device receives signal strengths of the received signals from the access points of the first wireless network (e.g. RSSI, or RSSI and SNR), and prioritizes the selection of the access points based on the previously stored ranking as well as the current received signal strengths, Smadi: [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee and Shirakawa in view of Smadi in order to further modify priorities for the respective communication parameters which are decided based on radio field intensities of respective wireless networks from the teachings of Smadi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the mobile device prioritizes the selection of the access point that is associated with the lowest frame error rate, if the signal strength from that access point is greater than a signal strength threshold (Smadi: [0090]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
BANG et al. (US 2022/0353135 Al); See Fig. 7, [0160]-[0168].
Fang et al. (US 2022/0361193 Al); See Fig. 1, [0045]-[0052].
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467