DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 3/3/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1, 9, 13, and 17, amended on 3/3/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, 13, 17, and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the claim objection, the argument filed on 3/3/2026 is persuasive. As a result, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Regarding the drawing objection, the argument filed on 3/3/2026 is not persuasive. In the Remarks, the Applicant stated that “The Applicant hereby amends step 4202 of FIG. 8 to include explicit references to the "streaming access point", "sampleA", and "sample." A replacement sheet for FIGs 6-8 is included herewith. Amended step 4202 is supported at least by paragraphs [0128] and [0131] of Applicant's Specification as originally filed. Thus, no new matter is contained in these amendments.” [Paragraph 9 on page of the Remarks]. However, these statements are not correct. It is noted that step 4202 in the amended Fig. 8 includes “Determine an EDRAP sample, wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded provided that the required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for referencing when decoding the EDRAP sample and the subsequent samples, wherein when a media track has a track reference of type 'aest', for each EDRAP sample, denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track that has a same decoding time as sampleA.” However, regarding step 4202, paragraph [0087], as well as paragraph [0128], only includes, “Determine an EDRAP sample, wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded provided that the required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for referencing when decoding the EDRAP sample and the subsequent samples.” According to paragraphs [0087] and [0128], step 4202 does not include “wherein when a media track has a track reference of type 'aest', for each EDRAP sample, denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track that has a same decoding time as sampleA.” In addition, according to paragraphs [0131], the description “wherein when a media track has a track reference of type 'aest', for each EDRAP sample, denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track that has a same decoding time as sampleA” does not belong to step 4202. Hence, the drawing amendment of Fig. 8 contents new matters. As a result, the drawing objection is maintained.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, the argument filed on filed on 3/3/2026 is persuasive. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “streaming access point”, “sampleA”, “sampleB” must be shown or the feature(s) must be canceled from the claims 1-20. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denoual (US Patent 12,088,860 B2), (“Denoual”), in view of ISO/IEC et al. (ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020), (“ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020”), and in view of ISO/IEC et al. (ISO/IEC m58901), (“ISO/IEC m58901”).
Regarding claim 1, Denoual meets the claim limitations as follows:
A method for processing visual media data (a method for encapsulating a video bit-stream in an ISOBMFF track comprising samples) [col. 3, line 15-16], comprising: determining (the step of determining) [col. 10, line 7] an extended dependent random access point (EDRAP) sample ((considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 37-39]; (samples 1201 to 1203 are DRAP samples (and also EDRAP samples since a DRAP sample is also an EDRAP sample)) [col. 49, line 1-3; Fig. 12]), wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; Please also read col. 50, line 46-57 for more explanations] and an output order can be correctly decoded (when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded) [col. 48, line 32-36) provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) (Note: First, Denoual teaches that a SAP can be marked as a sync sample (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) [col. 49, line 51-54; Fig. 12]. Second, Denoual teaches that a SAP can be used as a preceding sync sample. Hence, Denoual discloses this limitation (random access in a bit-stream can also be done at other samples than sync or partial sync samples provided that the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples. This indication is the object of the 'drap' and 'edrp' sample groups) [col. 49, line 16-25]) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 44-47; col. 50, line 46-57]; and performing a conversion ((encodes) [col. 6, line 21]; (decoding) [col. 52, line 44-45] ; (encapsulated) [col. 6, line 1-3]) between the visual media data and a media data file (The server encodes the sequence of pictures into media data (i.e. bit-stream) using a media encoder (e.g. video encoder), and encapsulates the media data in one or more media files or media segments 230 using encapsulation module 205. Encapsulation module 205 comprises at least one of a writer or a packager to encapsulate the media data) [col. 6, line 21-27; Figs. 2, 13] based on the EDRAP sample (HEVC or VVC defines DRAP (Dependent Random Access Point) pictures as pictures that only refer to the associated intra random access point (IRAP) picture for inter prediction, and when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded. The ISO Base Media File Format standard is considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 29-39; col. 53, line 6-26; Fig. 13]; (DRAP and EDRAP samples may be signaled in ISO Base Media Files (or segments) with 'drap' and 'edrp' sample group, respectively) [col. 48, line 47-50] - Note: Please see Figure 13 for an illustration of video media data are encapsulated in the media file).
In the same field of endeavor, ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020 further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest SAP sample of type 1, 2, or 3 preceding the ED RAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020: Section 10.11.1, page 200].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC 14496-12 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC 14496-12’s standard.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
In the same field of endeavor, the ISO/IEC m58901 also discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (This sample group is similar to the DRAP sample group as specified in subclause 10.8; however, it enables more flexible cross-RAP referencing. An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the ED RAP sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference. The initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group. For example, if the 32nd sample in a file is an initial sample consisting of an I-picture, the 48th sample may consist of a P-picture and be marked as a member of the ED RAP sample group, thereby indicating that random access can be performed at the 48th sample by first decoding the 32nd sample (ignoring samples 33-4 7) and then continuing to decode from the 48th sample. NOTE: ED RAP samples can only be used in combination with SAP samples of type 1, 2 and 3. This is in order to enable the functionality of creating a decodable sequence of samples by concatenating the preceding SAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample with the EDRAP sample and the samples following the EDRAP sample in decoding order and in output order. A sample can be a member of the ED RAP Sample Group only if the following conditions are true: The ED RAP sample references only the closest preceding initial sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the ED RAP sample. The EDRAP sample and all samples following the ED RAP sample in decoding order and output order can be correctly decoded when starting decoding at the EDRAP sample after having decoded the closest preceding SAP sample of type 1, 2 or 3 marked as such by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group and after having decoded the zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample) [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC m58901 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC m58901’s spec.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC m58901 will enable more flexible cross-RAP referencing [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23].
Regarding claims 2, 10, 14, and 18, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 9, 13, and 17. Denoual further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the required preceding SAP or EDRAP samples (the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples. This indication is the object of the 'drap' and 'edrp' sample groups) [col. 49, line 16-25] consist of one or more of a set of samples starting from a closest preceding SAP sample of type 1, 2, or 3 in decoding order (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) [col. 49, line 51-54; Fig. 12], denoted as closestSapSample (the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 44-47; col. 50, line 46-57], and including all EDRAP samples between closestSapSample and the sample in decoding order (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the ED RAP sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47].
Regarding claim 7, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Denoual further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the conversion comprises (encodes) [col. 6, line 21] generating the media data file from the visual media data (The server encodes the sequence of pictures into media data (i.e. bit-stream) using a media encoder (e.g. video encoder), and encapsulates the media data in one or more media files or media segments 230 using encapsulation module 205. Encapsulation module 205 comprises at least one of a writer or a packager to encapsulate the media data) [col. 6, line 21-27; Figs. 2, 13].
Regarding claim 8, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Denoual further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the conversion comprises (encodes) [col. 6, line 21] parsing the media data file into the visual media data ((For example, using the reference types in previous example, a file parser (de-encapsulation module 215) is able to determine that a RAP sample with a reference_type equal to 3 indicates that the parser has to extractonly the APS NAL units for the reference sample) [col. 52, line 10-14]; (HEVC or VVC defines DRAP (Dependent Random Access Point) pictures as pictures that only refer to the associated intra random access point (IRAP) picture for inter prediction, and when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded. The ISO Base Media File Format standard is considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 29-39; col. 53, line 6-26; Fig. 13] - Note: Denoual discloses the ISOBMFF that is used to pack media data into a standard format to be decoded into media data by decoders).
Regarding claim 9, Denoual meets the claim limitations as follows:
An apparatus (the present invention can be embodied as computer readable code for provision to a programmable apparatus on any suitable carrier medium) [col. 4, line 58-60] for processing video data (for encapsulating a video bit-stream in an ISOBMFF track comprising samples) [col. 3, line 15-16] comprising: a processor (a computer device) [col. 15, line 10-14]; and a non-transitory memory (memory) [col. 15, line 56] with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to (The central processing unit 704 is adapted to control and direct the execution of the instructions or portions of software code of the program or programs according to embodiments of the invention) [col. 15, line 50-62]: determine (the step of determining) [col. 10, line 7] an extended dependent random access point (EDRAP) sample ((considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 37-39]; (samples 1201 to 1203 are DRAP samples (and also EDRAP samples since a DRAP sample is also an EDRAP sample)) [col. 49, line 1-3; Fig. 12]), wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; Please also read col. 50, line 46-57 for more explanations]; (when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded) [col. 48, line 32-36) provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) (Note: Denoual teaches that a SAP can be marked as a sync sample (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) [col. 49, line 51-54; Fig. 12] and SAP can be retrieved as a preceding sync sample (random access in a bit-stream can also be done at other samples than sync or partial sync samples provided that the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples. This indication is the object of the 'drap' and 'edrp' sample groups) [col. 49, line 16-25]) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 44-47; col. 50, line 46-57]; and perform a conversion ((encodes) [col. 6, line 21]; (decoding) [col. 52, line 44-45] ; (encapsulated) [col. 6, line 1-3]) between the visual media data and a media data file (The server encodes the sequence of pictures into media data (i.e. bit-stream) using a media encoder (e.g. video encoder), and encapsulates the media data in one or more media files or media segments 230 using encapsulation module 205. Encapsulation module 205 comprises at least one of a writer or a packager to encapsulate the media data) [col. 6, line 21-27; Figs. 2, 13] based on the EDRAP sample (HEVC or VVC defines DRAP (Dependent Random Access Point) pictures as pictures that only refer to the associated intra random access point (IRAP) picture for inter prediction, and when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded. The ISO Base Media File Format standard is considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 29-39; col. 53, line 6-26; Fig. 13]; (DRAP and EDRAP samples may be signaled in ISO Base Media Files (or segments) with 'drap' and 'edrp' sample group, respectively) [col. 48, line 47-50] - Note: Please see Figure 13 for an illustration of video media data are encapsulated in the media file).
In the same field of endeavor, ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020 further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest SAP sample of type 1, 2, or 3 preceding the ED RAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020: Section 10.11.1, page 200].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC 14496-12 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC 14496-12’s standard.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
In the same field of endeavor, the ISO/IEC m58901 also discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (This sample group is similar to the DRAP sample group as specified in subclause 10.8; however, it enables more flexible cross-RAP referencing. An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the ED RAP sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference. The initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group. For example, if the 32nd sample in a file is an initial sample consisting of an I-picture, the 48th sample may consist of a P-picture and be marked as a member of the ED RAP sample group, thereby indicating that random access can be performed at the 48th sample by first decoding the 32nd sample (ignoring samples 33-4 7) and then continuing to decode from the 48th sample. NOTE: ED RAP samples can only be used in combination with SAP samples of type 1, 2 and 3. This is in order to enable the functionality of creating a decodable sequence of samples by concatenating the preceding SAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample with the EDRAP sample and the samples following the EDRAP sample in decoding order and in output order. A sample can be a member of the ED RAP Sample Group only if the following conditions are true: The ED RAP sample references only the closest preceding initial sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the ED RAP sample. The EDRAP sample and all samples following the ED RAP sample in decoding order and output order can be correctly decoded when starting decoding at the EDRAP sample after having decoded the closest preceding SAP sample of type 1, 2 or 3 marked as such by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group and after having decoded the zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample) [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC m58901 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC m58901’s spec.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC m58901 will enable more flexible cross-RAP referencing [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23].
Regarding claim 13, Denoual meets the claim limitations as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory) [col. 15, line 56] storing instructions that cause a processor to (CPU 704 is capable of executing instructions from main RAM memory 708) [col. 15, line 55-56]: determine (the step of determining) [col. 10, line 7] an extended dependent random access point (EDRAP) sample ((considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 37-39]; (samples 1201 to 1203 are DRAP samples (and also EDRAP samples since a DRAP sample is also an EDRAP sample)) [col. 49, line 1-3; Fig. 12]), wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; Please also read col. 50, line 46-57 for more explanations]; (when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded) [col. 48, line 32-36) provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) (Note: Denoual teaches that a SAP can be marked as a sync sample (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) [col. 49, line 51-54; Fig. 12] and SAP can be retrieved as a preceding sync sample (random access in a bit-stream can also be done at other samples than sync or partial sync samples provided that the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples. This indication is the object of the 'drap' and 'edrp' sample groups) [col. 49, line 16-25]) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 44-47; col. 50, line 46-57]; and perform a conversion ((encodes) [col. 6, line 21]; (decoding) [col. 52, line 44-45] ; (encapsulated) [col. 6, line 1-3]) between the visual media data and a media data file (The server encodes the sequence of pictures into media data (i.e. bit-stream) using a media encoder (e.g. video encoder), and encapsulates the media data in one or more media files or media segments 230 using encapsulation module 205. Encapsulation module 205 comprises at least one of a writer or a packager to encapsulate the media data) [col. 6, line 21-27; Figs. 2, 13] based on the EDRAP sample (HEVC or VVC defines DRAP (Dependent Random Access Point) pictures as pictures that only refer to the associated intra random access point (IRAP) picture for inter prediction, and when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded. The ISO Base Media File Format standard is considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 29-39; col. 53, line 6-26; Fig. 13]; (DRAP and EDRAP samples may be signaled in ISO Base Media Files (or segments) with 'drap' and 'edrp' sample group, respectively) [col. 48, line 47-50] - Note: Please see Figure 13 for an illustration of video media data are encapsulated in the media file).
In the same field of endeavor, ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020 further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest SAP sample of type 1, 2, or 3 preceding the ED RAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020: Section 10.11.1, page 200].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC 14496-12 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC 14496-12’s standard.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
In the same field of endeavor, the ISO/IEC m58901 also discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (This sample group is similar to the DRAP sample group as specified in subclause 10.8; however, it enables more flexible cross-RAP referencing. An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the ED RAP sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference. The initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group. For example, if the 32nd sample in a file is an initial sample consisting of an I-picture, the 48th sample may consist of a P-picture and be marked as a member of the ED RAP sample group, thereby indicating that random access can be performed at the 48th sample by first decoding the 32nd sample (ignoring samples 33-4 7) and then continuing to decode from the 48th sample. NOTE: ED RAP samples can only be used in combination with SAP samples of type 1, 2 and 3. This is in order to enable the functionality of creating a decodable sequence of samples by concatenating the preceding SAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample with the EDRAP sample and the samples following the EDRAP sample in decoding order and in output order. A sample can be a member of the ED RAP Sample Group only if the following conditions are true: The ED RAP sample references only the closest preceding initial sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the ED RAP sample. The EDRAP sample and all samples following the ED RAP sample in decoding order and output order can be correctly decoded when starting decoding at the EDRAP sample after having decoded the closest preceding SAP sample of type 1, 2 or 3 marked as such by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group and after having decoded the zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample) [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC m58901 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC m58901’s spec.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC m58901 will enable more flexible cross-RAP referencing [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23].
Regarding claim 17, Denoual meets the claim limitations as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (memory) [col. 15, line 56] storing a media data file (are stored within the metadata part of the encapsulated file) [col. 18, line 44-45] which is generated by a method (a method for encapsulating a video bit-stream in an ISOBMFF track comprising samples) [col. 3, line 15-16] performed by a video processing apparatus (the present invention can be embodied as computer readable code for provision to a programmable apparatus on any suitable carrier medium) [col. 4, line 58-60], wherein the method comprises:determining (the step of determining) [col. 10, line 7] an extended dependent random access point (EDRAP) sample ((considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 37-39]; (samples 1201 to 1203 are DRAP samples (and also EDRAP samples since a DRAP sample is also an EDRAP sample)) [col. 49, line 1-3; Fig. 12]), wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; Please also read col. 50, line 46-57 for more explanations]; (when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded) [col. 48, line 32-36) provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) (Note: Denoual teaches that a SAP can be marked as a sync sample (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) [col. 49, line 51-54; Fig. 12] and SAP can be retrieved as a preceding sync sample (random access in a bit-stream can also be done at other samples than sync or partial sync samples provided that the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples. This indication is the object of the 'drap' and 'edrp' sample groups) [col. 49, line 16-25]) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 44-47; col. 50, line 46-57]; and performing a conversion ((encodes) [col. 6, line 21]; (decoding) [col. 52, line 44-45] ; (encapsulated) [col. 6, line 1-3]) between the visual media data and a media data file (The server encodes the sequence of pictures into media data (i.e. bit-stream) using a media encoder (e.g. video encoder), and encapsulates the media data in one or more media files or media segments 230 using encapsulation module 205. Encapsulation module 205 comprises at least one of a writer or a packager to encapsulate the media data) [col. 6, line 21-27; Figs. 2, 13] based on the EDRAP sample (HEVC or VVC defines DRAP (Dependent Random Access Point) pictures as pictures that only refer to the associated intra random access point (IRAP) picture for inter prediction, and when random accessing from a DRAP picture, as long as the associated IRAP picture is available, the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded. The ISO Base Media File Format standard is considering the support for dependent random access point samples (DRAP) and for Extended DRAP samples (EDRAP)) [col. 48, line 29-39; col. 53, line 6-26; Fig. 13]; (DRAP and EDRAP samples may be signaled in ISO Base Media Files (or segments) with 'drap' and 'edrp' sample group, respectively) [col. 48, line 47-50] - Note: Please see Figure 13 for an illustration of video media data are encapsulated in the media file).
In the same field of endeavor, ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020 further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest SAP sample of type 1, 2, or 3 preceding the ED RAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [ISO/IEC 14496-12:2020: Section 10.11.1, page 200].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC 14496-12 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC 14496-12’s standard.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
In the same field of endeavor, the ISO/IEC m58901 also discloses the claim limitation as follows:
wherein the EDRAP sample is a sample for which all subsequent samples in both a decoding order and an output order can be correctly decoded provided that required preceding streaming access point (SAP) or EDRAP samples are available for decoding the sample and the subsequent samples (This sample group is similar to the DRAP sample group as specified in subclause 10.8; however, it enables more flexible cross-RAP referencing. An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the ED RAP sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference. The initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group. For example, if the 32nd sample in a file is an initial sample consisting of an I-picture, the 48th sample may consist of a P-picture and be marked as a member of the ED RAP sample group, thereby indicating that random access can be performed at the 48th sample by first decoding the 32nd sample (ignoring samples 33-4 7) and then continuing to decode from the 48th sample. NOTE: ED RAP samples can only be used in combination with SAP samples of type 1, 2 and 3. This is in order to enable the functionality of creating a decodable sequence of samples by concatenating the preceding SAP sample and zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample with the EDRAP sample and the samples following the EDRAP sample in decoding order and in output order. A sample can be a member of the ED RAP Sample Group only if the following conditions are true: The ED RAP sample references only the closest preceding initial sample and one or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the ED RAP sample. The EDRAP sample and all samples following the ED RAP sample in decoding order and output order can be correctly decoded when starting decoding at the EDRAP sample after having decoded the closest preceding SAP sample of type 1, 2 or 3 marked as such by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group and after having decoded the zero or more other identified ED RAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample) [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual, and ISO/IEC with ISO/IEC m58901 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC m58901’s spec.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC m58901 will enable more flexible cross-RAP referencing [ISO/IEC m58901: Section 10.11.1, page 22-23].
Claims 3-6, 11, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denoual (US Patent 12,088,860 B2), (“Denoual”), in view of ISO/IEC et al. (ISO/IEC ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022), (“ISO/IEC 14496-12”), in view of ISO/IEC et al. (ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 03 M58901), (“ISO/IEC”).
Regarding claim 3, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Denoual further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein when a media track (the video track) [col. 48, line 4] has a track reference (using track reference) [col. 47, line 63] of type 'aest', for each EDRAP sample (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; col. 50, line 46-57], denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track (a track reference of type) [Denoual: col. 8, line 59-60] that has a same decoding time (with the same decoding time) [Denoual: col. 16, line 35] as sampleA.
Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
type 'aest', for each EDRAP sample, denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track that has a same decoding time as sampleA.
However, in the same field of endeavor ISO/IEC further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
type 'aest' (A track reference of type 'aest' (meaning "associated external stream track") may be included in an MST, referencing an EST) [page 3], for each EDRAP sample, denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track (ISOBMFF track) [col. 55, line 16] that has a same decoding time as sampleA (For each sample sampleA in the MST containing an ED RAP picture, there shall be one and only one sample sampleB in the associated EST that has the same decoding time as sampleA, and a number of consecutive samples in the associated EST, starting from sampleB, shall exclusively contain all the external pictures that are needed when random accessing from the EDRAP picture contained in sampleA) [page 3].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC s method.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
Regarding claims 4, 12, 16, and 20, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 9, 13, and 17. Denoual and ISO/IEC further meet the claim limitations as follow.
wherein when a TrackReferenceTypeBox (the track reference box of this track) [Denoual: col. 38, line 26-27] with reference_type (a track reference of type) [Denoual: col. 8, line 59-60] equal to 'aest' is present, the TrackReferenceTypeBox shall contain only a track identifier and shall not contain any track group identifier, where the reference_type indicates a track reference type (a track reference of type) [Denoual: col. 8, line 59-60].
Denoual does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
'aest' is present, the TrackReferenceTypeBox shall contain only a track identifier and shall not contain any track group identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor ISO/IEC 14496-12 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
the TrackReferenceTypeBox (There shall be at most one TrackReferenceTypeBox of a given type in a TrackReferenceBox) [ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: Section 8.3.3.3, page 27] shall contain only a track identifier and shall not contain any track group identifier (A track_group_ID shall not be used when the semantics of the reference requires that the reference be to a single track) [ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: Section 8.3.3.3, page 27].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual with ISO/IEC 14496-12 to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC 14496-12’s standard.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC 14496-12 will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
'aest'.
However, in the same field of endeavor ISO/IEC further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
'aest' (A track reference of type 'aest' (meaning "associated external stream track") may be included in an MST, referencing an EST) [page 3]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC s method.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
Regarding claim 5, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 3. Denoual further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein sampleB shall contain all media data (Value 0 may indicate that the associated sample contains all APS NAL units for its processing) [col. 48, line 4] of a closest preceding SAP sample (the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample) [col. 48, line 44-45] of type 1, 2, or 3 (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) [col. 49, line 51-54; Fig. 12] in decoding order (the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded) [col. 48, line 32-36), denoted as closestSapSample (the closest initial sample) [col. 48, line 44-45], of sampleA and the required preceding SAP or EDRAP samples of sampleA ((An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; col. 50, line 46-57] – Note: Paragraph [0005] of the application specification simply defines SampleA as any EDRAP sample. As a result, Denoual discloses the claim limitation).
In the same field of endeavor ISO/IEC further explicily discloses the claim limitations as follows:
sampleA (sampleA in the MST containing an ED RAP picture) [page 3].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual with ISO/IEC to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC s method.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
Regarding claim 6, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Denoual further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein when a media track (the video track) [col. 48, line 4] has a track reference (using track reference) [col. 47, line 63] of type 'aest', the media track should have at least one sample identified as the EDRAP sample by being associated with an EDRAP sample group (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference DRAP and EDRAP samples may be signaled in ISO Base Media Files (or segments) with 'drap' and 'edrp' sample group, respectively) [col. 48, line 42-50] – Note: Please see the data structure of the EDRAP visual sample group in [col. 50, line 4-20]).
Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a media track type 'aest'.
However, in the same field of endeavor ISO/IEC further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
a media track type type 'aest' (A track reference of type 'aest' (meaning "associated external stream track") may be included in an MST, referencing an EST) [page 3].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC s method.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
Regarding claims 11, 15, and 19, Denoual meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 9, 13, and 17. Denoual further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein when a media track (the video track) [col. 48, line 4] has a track reference (using track reference) [col. 47, line 63] of type 'aest', for each EDRAP sample (An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; col. 50, line 46-57], denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track (ISOBMFF track) [col. 55, line 16] that has a same decoding time (with the same decoding time) [Denoual: col. 16, line 35] as sampleA, and
wherein sampleB shall contain all media data (Value 0 may indicate that the associated sample contains all APS NAL units for its processing) [col. 48, line 4] of a closest preceding SAP sample (the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample) [col. 48, line 44-45] of type 1, 2, or 3 (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in FIG. 12) [col. 49, line 51-54; Fig. 12] in decoding order (the DRAP picture and all subsequent pictures in both decoding and output order can be correctly decoded) [col. 48, line 32-36), denoted as closestSapSample (the closest initial sample) [col. 48, line 44-45], of sampleA and the required preceding SAP or EDRAP samples of sampleA ((An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference) [col. 48, line 42-47; col. 50, line 46-57] – Note: Paragraph [0005] of the application specification simply defines SampleA as any EDRAP sample. As a result, Denoual teaches the claim limitation).
Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
type 'aest', for each EDRAP sample, denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track that has a same decoding time as sampleA.
However, in the same field of endeavor ISO/IEC further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
type 'aest' (A track reference of type 'aest' (meaning "associated external stream track") may be included in an MST, referencing an EST) [page 3], for each EDRAP sample, denoted as sampleA, in the media track, there shall be one and only one sample, denoted as sampleB, in a referenced track that has a same decoding time as sampleA (For each sample sampleA in the MST containing an ED RAP picture, there shall be one and only one sample sampleB in the associated EST that has the same decoding time as sampleA, and a number of consecutive samples in the associated EST, starting from sampleB, shall exclusively contain all the external pictures that are needed when random accessing from the EDRAP picture contained in sampleA) [page 3].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC to program the system to implement of ISO/IEC s method.
Therefore, the combination of Denoual and ISO/IEC 14496-12 with ISO/IEC will enable the system to be compliant with the ISO Base Media File Format standard [Denoual: col. 48, line 36-37; ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022: page 121].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information