DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/8/2024. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are pending and are examined.
Priority/Benefit
Applicant’s priority claim is hereby acknowledged of PRO 63/601,118 11/20/2023, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Examiner’s Note – Oath
The oath has not been filed.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: The examiner suggests the following corrections:Claim 3:
Insertion of a period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyss (US 2021/0320801 A1), in view of Alattar (US 2024/0362738 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wyss teaches:
“A method for the computation of a cryptographic hash, the method comprising: detecting and localizing a person’s face in an input image sequence (Wyss, ¶ 37, 41, 43 and 45 teach facial recognition being applied to a live feed of a person’s face); detecting the person’s voice in an input (Wyss, ¶ 36, 39, 41, 43 and 45 teaches detecting a person’s voice in a live feed); transforming the detected person’s face into a partial fingerprint (Wyss, ¶ 37, 39, 43, 49, and 53 teaches taking the sequence of images and performing facial analysis to determine components of the face for the various images in the sequence); transforming the detected person’s voice into a partial fingerprint (Wyss, ¶ 36, 39, 43, 50 and 52 teaches capturing the voice and voice printing the portions of the temporal recording of the voice); and comparing partial face fingerprints and partial voice fingerprints by computing a similarity measure (Wysss, ¶ 47-53 teaches bimodal recognition that utilizes fingerprint information from audio and video to arrive at a confidence level greater than a threshold, thus authenticating the information)”.
Wyss does not, but in related art Alattar teaches detecting in an “input media file (Alattar, ¶ 22-23, 44-45, 47-48 teaches processing the audio track of a multimedia file)”;
comparing two complete hashes (Alattar, ¶ 47-50, teaches hashing the audio and video of a video and comparing to verified signatures to determine authenticity).
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wyss and Alattar, to modify the audio/video authentication system of Wyss to include the method of authenticating media files using hashing of audio and video as taught in Alattar. The motivation to do so would be, as stated by Alattar, ¶ 50-51 would be to prevent deep fakes. Further, the motivation constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyss in view of Alattar in view of Ra (US 2020/0211162 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wyss and Alattar teaches:
“The method of claim 1 (Wyss and Alattar teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above).
Wyss and Alattar do not, but in related art, Ra teaches:
“wherein detecting and localizing a person’s face in an input image sequence includes computation of an averaged facial representation of the person’s face (Ra, ¶ 30 teaches using a model which converted a face into a representation based on the average face characteristics over several frames)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wyss, Alattar, and Ra, to modify the audio/video authentication system of Wyss and Alattar to include the method of averaging facial traits as taught in Goel. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyss in view of Alattar in view of Goel (US 2025/0005123 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wyss and Alattar teaches:
“The method of claim 1 (Wyss and Alattar teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above).
Wyss and Alattar do not, but in related art, Goel teaches:
“wherein detecting the person’s voice in an input multimedia file includes computation of an averaged voice representation of the person’s voice (Goel, ¶ 12 and 22 teaches using a model which converted a voice into a representation based on the average voice characteristics)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wyss, Alattar, and Goel, to modify the audio/video authentication system of Wyss and Alattar to include the method of averaging voice traits as taught in Goel. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See PTO-892.
/STEPHEN T GUNDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435