Election Acknowledged
Applicants’ election without traverse of the invention of Group II and the species of ketone encompassing claims 59, 60, 65, 68, 69, 73, 74, 80 and 81 in the response filed 9/1/2026 is acknowledged. The restriction is made final without traverse.
Claims 1, 8, 13, 14, 19, 20, 24, 31 and 40-42 are therefore withdrawn as being directed to nonelected subject matter and claims 59, 60, 65, 68, 69, 73, 74, 80 and 81 are presented for examination on the merits.
The following rejections are made
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/24/2025 and 9/2/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 73 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is believed that “1,3 Dihydroxypropan-2-yl (R)-3-hydroxybutanoate” should be written as “1,3-dihydroxypropan-2-yl (R)-3-hydroxybutanoate.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 73 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 59, 60, 65, 68 and 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tecchio et al. (US 2023/0313078) in view of Steinberg et. al (US 2014/0112973).
Tecchio is directed to core-shell type microcapsules wherein the shell of the microcapsule is a crosslinked biodegradable protein, such as gelatin and plant proteins like pea protein (see [0271]; see instant claims 59 and 60), and the core comprises an active ingredient (see abstract and claim 1) such as bioactive substances, e.g. caffeine (see [0264]; see instant claim 74) and/or odorant substances, e.g. aliphatic and cycloaliphatic ketones (see [0203-0205]; see instant claim 59). The crosslinking agent used for crosslinking the protein shell may be selected from plant polyphenols (see [0165] and claim 3; see instant claim 59).
Although Tecchio contemplates use of polyphenols as crosslinking agent, Steinberg is cited as additional support that plant polyphenols would be an obvious choice for use as a crosslinking agent for the protein shell.
Steinberg teaches that polyphenol and catechol compounds, e.g. flavanols, quercetin and resveratrol, are known plant polyphenols useful in crosslinking protein materials, e.g. gelatin (see [0033, 0125]; see instant claims 59, 65 and 68). Steinberg further teaches using polyphenol compounds as crosslinking agents leads to an increase in the proteins mechanical strength (see [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art use a polyphenol agent, such as flavanols, quercetin or resveratrol, to crosslink Tecchio’s protein with a reasonable expectation for success, especially in view of the general contemplation of plant polyphenol crosslinking agents. The selection of a known material (e.g. plant polyphenols, resveratrol, etc) based on its suitability for its intended use (e.g. crosslinking protein materials) is supportive of an obviousness conclusion. See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over J Tecchio et al. (US 2023/0313078) in view of Steinberg et. al (US 2014/0112973) as applied to claim 59, 60, 65, 68 and 74, and further in view of Hass et al. (Dental Materials, 37, 2021, 1183-1192).
Tecchio and Steinberg fail to teach the one or more phytochemicals crosslinked to the plant protein via an imine linkage.
Hass is directed to using proanthocyanidins (PA) to improve exogenous collagens properties in dental applications (see page 1184). It is taught PA is useful to provide crosslinking benefit to the collagen so as to stabilize the collagen against enzymatic degradation (see abstract). Hass teaches that PA includes polyphenolic flavanol compounds such as catechin and that said polyphenol can be used as a collagen crosslinking agent whereby the crosslinking occurs by the formation of a covalent imine bond between the collagen and the catechin through the autooxidation of the catechol moieties present in the catechin (see page 1191). It is taught that the autoxidized catechol forms ortho-quinone groups which then react with free amine groups of the protein to form the covalently crosslinked imine (see page 1191) It would have been reasonably expected that the interaction of the polyphenol of Steinberg and the plant protein of Tecchio would form an imine linkage as suggested by Hass because polyphenolic catechols are auto-oxidized and subsequently form imine crosslinks with the amine groups present in the protein. As the proteins of Tecchio would naturally possess amino groups, it is reasonable to expect the combination of Steinberg’s polyphenol and Tecchio’s protein to also result in the formation of an imine linkage.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 80 and 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over J Tecchio et al. (US 2023/0313078) in view of Steinberg et. al (US 2014/0112973) as applied to claim 59, 60, 65, 68 and 74, and further in view of Moghadam et al. (Food Hydrocolloids. 104, 2020, 105735, 1-8).
Tecchio and Steinberg fail to teach the composition as having a phenol content greater than 10 mg/g and a phenol content less than or equal to 350 mg/g.
Moghadam is directed to antioxidant films based on mung bean protein that is enriched with pomegranate peel. It is taught that pomegranate peel contains various polyphenolic catechol compounds such as catechin (see page 7) and that the presence of these polyphenolic compounds can create crosslinks between proteins which helps to increase the strength of the resulting crosslinked product (see page 5). Table 3 indicates that increasing the total phenolic content (TPC) of the polyphenols in the protein film to a concentration of 13.88 mg GAE/g resulted in enhanced antioxidant and scavenging activity (see page 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the polyphenol crosslinked plant protein microparticles of Tecchio and Steinberg such that the resulting material possessed a phenol content of greater than 10 mg/g (and less than 350 mg/g) as doing so would improve the resulting composition with enhanced antioxidant activity. See MPEP 2143(I)(D) which states that applying a known technique to a known product ready for improvement to yield predictable results is supportive of obviousness.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611