DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narita (US 2023/0100715).
(1) regarding claims 1, 12, and 23:
Narita ‘715 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an application program which causes a processing apparatus to perform a method (paragraph [0008]), the processing apparatus having printing software, the method comprising:
acquiring capability information about a forming apparatus to which print data is to be output (paragraph [0034], where information about printers is obtained); and
displaying a setting screen on which setting values for setting items included in the capability information are changeable (paragraph [0033]-[0034], where a setting screen is displayed and the user is able to select changes),
wherein the setting items include setting items relating to compression of print data to be output to the forming apparatus to which the print data is to be output (paragraph [0034], where the user can select settings based on compression methods and capabilities).
(2) regarding claims 2 and 13:
Narita ‘715 further discloses receiving user selection of a compression method based on setting values for the setting items relating to compression designated on the setting screen (paragraph [0034], where the user can select on the compression method),
generating, in a case where a compression method specific to a vendor of the forming apparatus to which the print data is to be output is selected, print data compressed by the selected compression method and print capability information indicating that the print data has been compressed (paragraph [0022]-[0024], and [0047], where compressed print data is generated based on the model of the printer), and
outputting the compressed print data and the print capability information to the printing software (paragraph [0047]).
(3) regarding claims 3 and 14:
Narita ‘715 further discloses receiving user selection of a compression method based on setting values for the setting items relating to the compression designated on the setting screen (paragraph [0034], where the user can select on the compression method),
generating, in a case where a compression method executable by the printing software is selected, print capability information including selected contents (paragraph [0043], and [0047], where print capability is generated), and
outputting the print capability information to the printing software (paragraph [0043]).
(4) regarding claims 4 and 15:
Narita ‘715 further discloses wherein the capability information includes information corresponding to a plurality of compression methods (paragraph [0043]), and
wherein setting values for the setting items relating to the compression are displayed on the setting screen by classifying the plurality of compression methods based on a magnitude of a difference between a data size before the compression and a data size after the compression (paragraph [0044]-[0045]).
(5) regarding claims 5 and 16:
Narita ‘715 further discloses wherein the capability information includes information corresponding to a plurality of compression methods (paragraph [0034], where the user can select on the compression method), and
wherein the processing apparatus is caused to select a compression method specific to the vendor of the forming apparatus from among the plurality of compression methods (paragraph [0022]-[0024], and [0047]).
(6) regarding claims 6 and 17:
Narita ‘715 further discloses wherein the capability information includes information corresponding to a plurality of compression methods (paragraph [0034], where the user can select on the compression method), and
wherein the processing apparatus is caused to select a compression method with a largest difference between a data size before the compression and a data size after the compression from among the plurality of compression methods (paragraph [0044]-[0045]).
(7) regarding claims 7 and 18:
Narita ‘715 further discloses wherein the capability information is acquired from the forming apparatus to which the print data is to be output (paragraph [0047]).
(8) regarding claims 8 and 19:
Narita ‘715 further discloses wherein the print data is transmitted from the computer to the forming apparatus via a print server (paragraph [0024]), and
wherein the capability information acquired from the print server (paragraph [0024]).
(9) regarding claims 9 and 20:
Narita ‘715 further discloses wherein the print capability information is information in which print setting information including information about a setting value designated on the setting screen is described as an attribute value defined in Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) (paragraph [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita (US 2023/0100715) in view of Shiohara (US 2019/0286402).
(1) regarding claims 10 and 21:
Narita ‘715 discloses all the subject matter as described above except wherein the print setting information is Print Ticket (PT).
However, Shiohara ‘402 teaches wherein the print setting information is Print Ticket (PT) (paragraph [0032]).
Having a system of Shiohara ‘402 reference and then given the well-established teaching of Narita ‘715 reference, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Narita ‘715 to include the limitations as taught by Shiohara ‘402 because the Print Ticket of the job can be obtained before the XPS document is completely generated, which contributes to improvement in performance since the processing is performed in advance (paragraph [0060]).
(2) regarding claims 11 and 22:
Narita ‘715 discloses all the subject matter as described above except wherein the capability information is editable by an administrator of the forming apparatus to which the print data is to be output.
However, Shiohara ‘402 teaches wherein the capability information is editable by an administrator of the forming apparatus to which the print data is to be output (paragraph [0109]).
Having a system of Shiohara ‘402 reference and then given the well-established teaching of Narita ‘715 reference, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Narita ‘715 to include the limitations as taught by Shiohara ‘402 because the Print Ticket of the job can be obtained before the XPS document is completely generated, which contributes to improvement in performance since the processing is performed in advance (paragraph [0060]).
Conclusion
/LENNIN R RODRIGUEZGONZALEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683