DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: the step of determining the viscosity of blood of a patient in a VAS. The heading of the claims states that the method is directed towards “determining the viscosity of blood of a patient in a VAS” but the body of the claim is not consistent with said heading since it fails to positively recite or claim the step of “determining the viscosity of blood of a patient in a VAS” or how said measurement is obtained from the device described in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret that said determination is obtained by making calculations using the blood flow registered from the sensor.
With respect to claims 21-27, the claims have been rejected since the claims address the viscosity determination without disclosing where said measurement comes from. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret that said measurement is obtained by making calculations using the blood flow registered from the sensor.
Double Patenting
Claims 12-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,554 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are generic with respect to the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,554 B2. See Concordance below:
Current application
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,554 B2
12. (New) A ventricular assist system comprising: an impeller; a cannula configured to be implanted in a body of a patient, wherein the cannula comprises: a lateral receiving interface distal to the impeller, configured to receive blood of the patient into an interior of the cannula; and an outlet interface, wherein the impeller is configured to convey the blood from the lateral receiving interface to the outlet interface; and a volumetric flow sensor positioned at a tip of the cannula distal to the impeller and configured to sense a volumetric flow (Q) of the blood of the patient through the cannula, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor.
1. A ventricular assist system comprising: an impeller; a drive device coupled to the impeller, the drive device configured to drive the impeller at a rotational speed (ω); a pressure sensor device; and a determination device comprising: a cannula configured to be implanted in a body of a patient, wherein the cannula comprises: a lateral receiving interface distal to the impeller, configured to receive blood of the patient into an interior of the cannula; and an outlet interface, wherein the impeller is configured to convey the blood from the lateral receiving interface to the outlet interface; and a volumetric flow sensor positioned at a tip of the cannula distal to the impeller and configured to sense a volumetric flow (Q) of the blood of the patient through the cannula, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor; wherein the pressure sensor device is configured to sense a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and wherein the determination device is configured to determine viscosity (η) of blood in the body of the patient based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, the sensed pressure difference (Δp) of the blood, and either the rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input Pel of a drive device for the impeller.
13. (New) The ventricular assist system of claim 12, further comprising a determination device configured to determine a viscosity (η) of blood in the body of the patient based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and either a rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input (Pel) of a drive device for the impeller.
1. A ventricular assist system comprising: an impeller; a drive device coupled to the impeller, the drive device configured to drive the impeller at a rotational speed (ω); a pressure sensor device; and a determination device comprising: a cannula configured to be implanted in a body of a patient, wherein the cannula comprises: a lateral receiving interface distal to the impeller, configured to receive blood of the patient into an interior of the cannula; and an outlet interface, wherein the impeller is configured to convey the blood from the lateral receiving interface to the outlet interface; and a volumetric flow sensor positioned at a tip of the cannula distal to the impeller and configured to sense a volumetric flow (Q) of the blood of the patient through the cannula, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor; wherein the pressure sensor device is configured to sense a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and wherein the determination device is configured to determine viscosity (η) of blood in the body of the patient based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, the sensed pressure difference (Δp) of the blood, and either the rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input Pel of a drive device for the impeller.
14. (New) The ventricular assist system of claim 13, wherein the determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity.
2. The ventricular assist system of claim 1, wherein the determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η).
15. (New) The ventricular assist system of claim 13, wherein the determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (il) using a lookup table.
3. The ventricular assist system of claim 1, wherein the determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (η) using a lookup table.
16. (New) The ventricular assist system of claim 15, wherein a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table.
4. The ventricular assist system of claim 3, wherein a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table.
17. (New) The ventricular assist system of claim 13, further comprising a pressure sensor device, wherein the pressure sensor device comprises at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors, wherein the at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors are configured to measure the pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points.
6. The ventricular assist system of claim 1, wherein the pressure sensor device comprises at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors, wherein the at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors are configured to measure the pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points.
18. (New) The ventricular assist system of claim 13, further comprising a pressure sensor device configured to sense the pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points.
7. The ventricular assist system of claim 1, wherein the pressure sensor device is configured to sense the pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points.
19. (New) The ventricular assist system of claim 12, wherein the impeller is positioned in a region of the outlet interface.
5. The ventricular assist system of claim 1, wherein the impeller is positioned in a region of the outlet interface.
20. (New) A method for determining a viscosity (ii) of blood of a patient in a ventricular assist system, comprising: sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of the ventricular assist system, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the ventricular assist system, the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of the patient, wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula.
8. A method for determining a viscosity (η) of blood of a patient in a ventricular assist system, comprising: sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of a determination device of the ventricular assist system, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the determination device, the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of the patient, wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula; and a drive device coupled to the impeller, the drive device configured to drive the impeller at a rotational speed (ω); sensing a pressure difference (Δp) of blood in a region of the receiving interface and the outlet interface; and determining the viscosity (η) of the blood based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, the sensed pressure difference (Δp) of the blood, and either the rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input Pel of a drive device for the impeller.
21. (New) The method of claim 20, further comprising determining a viscosity (η) of the blood based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and either a rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input (Pel) of a drive device for the impeller.
8. A method for determining a viscosity (η) of blood of a patient in a ventricular assist system, comprising: sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of a determination device of the ventricular assist system, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the determination device, the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of the patient, wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula; and a drive device coupled to the impeller, the drive device configured to drive the impeller at a rotational speed (ω); sensing a pressure difference (Δp) of blood in a region of the receiving interface and the outlet interface; and determining the viscosity (η) of the blood based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, the sensed pressure difference (Δp) of the blood, and either the rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input Pel of a drive device for the impeller.
22. (New) The method of claim 21, wherein determining the viscosity (η) comprises determining the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η).
9. The method of claim 8, wherein determining the viscosity (η) comprises determining the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η).
23. (New) The method of claim 21, wherein determining the viscosity (ii) comprises using a lookup table.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein determining the viscosity (η) comprises using a lookup table.
24. (New) The method of claim 23, wherein a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table.
25. (New) The method of claim 21, further comprising determining the pressure difference (Δp) using a pressure sensor device comprising at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the pressure sensor device comprises at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors.
26. (New) The method of claim 21, further comprising determining the pressure difference (Δp) using a pressure sensor device configured to sense the pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein the pressure sensor device is configured to sense a pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points.
27. (New) The method of claim 20, wherein the impeller is positioned in a region of the outlet interface.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein the impeller is positioned in a region of the outlet interface.
28. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, direct a processor to perform a method comprising: sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of a ventricular assist system, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the ventricular assist system, the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of a patient, wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula that is distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, direct a processor to perform a method comprising: sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of a determination device of a ventricular assist system, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the determination device, the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of a patient, wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula that is distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula; and a drive device coupled to the impeller, the drive device configured to drive the impeller at a rotational speed (ω); sensing a pressure difference (Δp) of blood in a region of the receiving interface and the outlet interface; and determining a viscosity (η) of the blood based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, the sensed pressure difference (Δp) of the blood, and either the rotational speed (co) of the impeller or an electric power input Pel of a drive device for the impeller.
29. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 28, wherein the method further comprises determining a viscosity (η) of the blood based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and either a rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input (Pel) of a drive device for the impeller.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, direct a processor to perform a method comprising: sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of a determination device of a ventricular assist system, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the determination device, the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of a patient, wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula that is distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula; and a drive device coupled to the impeller, the drive device configured to drive the impeller at a rotational speed (ω); sensing a pressure difference (Δp) of blood in a region of the receiving interface and the outlet interface; and determining a viscosity (η) of the blood based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, the sensed pressure difference (Δp) of the blood, and either the rotational speed (co) of the impeller or an electric power input Pel of a drive device for the impeller.
30. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 29, wherein determining the viscosity (η) comprises determining the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η).
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein determining the viscosity (η) comprises determining the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η).
31. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 29, wherein determining the viscosity (η) comprises using a lookup table.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein determining the viscosity (η) comprises using a lookup table.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 19-20, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nunez et al. (US 2018/0064860 A1).
With respect to claim 12, Nunez discloses a ventricular assist system comprising (see Figure 1B showing a ventricular assist device or “VAD” #10): an impeller (impeller #32); a cannula configured to be implanted in a body of a patient (see cannula #40), wherein the cannula comprises: a lateral receiving interface distal to the impeller, configured to receive blood of the patient into an interior of the cannula (see Figures 1B and 1C showing portion #42 as further defined in Figure 1C and labeled as #39 in Figure 1B of the cannula #40 distal from impeller
#32); and an outlet interface, wherein the impeller is configured to convey the blood from the lateral receiving interface to the outlet interface (see Figure 1B showing apertures #41 as outlet apertures to outflow the blood from the cannula #40; see paragraphs 0043-0045); and a volumetric flow sensor positioned at a tip of the cannula distal to the impeller (see sensor #60 in Figure 1B mounted at the tip end of cannula #40 and distal from impeller #32) and configured to sense a volumetric flow (Q) of the blood of the patient through the cannula, the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor (see paragraphs 0046 and 0052-0053).
With respect to claims 19 and 27, Nunez discloses the impeller is positioned in a region of the outlet interface (see Figure 1B showing impeller #32 of outlet #39 in housing #36).
With respect to claim 20, Nunez discloses a method for determining a viscosity (ii) of blood of a patient in a ventricular assist system, comprising: sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of the ventricular assist system (see Fig. 1B having a sensor #60 in a ventricular assist device or “VAD” #10 to obtain the blood flow; see paragraphs 0046 and 0052-0053), the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor (see paragraphs 0046 and 0052-0053) arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the ventricular assist system (see sensor #60 in Figure 1B mounted at the tip end of cannula #40), the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of the patient (see Figure 1A showing the “VAD” implanted in the patient’s heart #100 as described in paragraph 0051), wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula (see Figures 1B and 1C showing portion #42 as further defined in Figure 1C and labeled as #39 in Figure 1B of the cannula #40 distal from impeller #32 to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula to an outlet interface of the cannula as described in paragraph 0052).
With respect to claim 28, Nunez discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, direct a processor to perform a method comprising (see processor discusses in paragraph 0054): sensing a volumetric flow (Q) using a volumetric flow sensor of a ventricular assist system (see Fig. 1B having a sensor #60 in a ventricular assist device or “VAD” #10 to obtain the blood flow; see paragraphs 0046 and 0052-0053), the volumetric flow sensor comprising a Doppler ultrasonic sensor (see paragraphs 0046 and 0052-0053) arranged in a distal tip of a cannula of the ventricular assist system (see sensor #60 in Figure 1B mounted at the tip end of cannula #40), the cannula, configured to be implanted in a body of a patient (see Figure 1A showing the “VAD” implanted in the patient’s heart #100 as described in paragraph 0051), wherein the ventricular assist system comprises: an impeller configured to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula that is distal to the impeller to an outlet interface of the cannula (see Figures 1B and 1C showing portion #42 as further defined in Figure 1C and labeled as #39 in Figure 1B of the cannula #40 distal from impeller #32 to convey blood from a lateral receiving interface of the cannula to an outlet interface of the cannula as described in paragraph 0052).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-18, 21-26 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez et al. (US 2018/0064860 A1) in view of Muller et al. (2015/0290372 A1).
With respect to claims 13, 21 and 29, Nunez discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that the determination device is configured to determine a viscosity (η) of blood in the body of the patient based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and either a rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input (Pel) of a drive device for the impeller. However, Muller discloses the determination device is configured to determine a viscosity (η) of blood in the body of the patient based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and either a rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input (Pel) of a drive device for the impeller (see paragraphs 0113-0115; and 0118-0119). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a determination device configured to determine a viscosity (η) of blood in the body of the patient based on at least the sensed volumetric flow (Q) of the blood, a pressure difference (Δp) of the blood in a region of the receiving interface and a region of the outlet interface, and either a rotational speed (ω) of the impeller or an electric power input (Pel) of a drive device for the impeller as taught by Muller in combination with Nunez determination device, like an ultrasound sensor, for the purpose of determining the correct placement of the ventricular device that will be conductive to a continuous flow of blood at the proper rate and avoid a rate that could negatively affect patient’s outcome as taught by Muller (see paragraphs 0113-0115).
With respect to claims 14, 22 and 30, Nunez discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that a determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η). However, Muller discloses the determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) (see paragraphs 0113-0115 and 0118-0119). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a determination device configured to determine the viscosity (η) based on a functional relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) as taught by Muller in combination with Nunez determination device, like an ultrasound sensor, for the purpose of determining the correct placement of the ventricular device that will be conductive to a continuous flow of blood at the proper rate and avoid a rate that could negatively affect patient’s outcome as taught by Muller (see paragraphs 0113-0115).
With respect to claims 15, 23 and 31, Nunez discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that the determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (η) using a lookup table. However, Muller discloses the determination device is configured to determine the viscosity (il) using a lookup table (see paragraph 0116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a determination device configured to determine the viscosity (η) using a lookup table as taught by Muller in combination with Nunez determination device for the purpose of understanding and analyzing the signal when compared to a baseline value in order to identify a disturbance event when the received value is sufficiently different from the baseline value and allow the clinician to act accordingly (see paragraph 0116).
With respect to claims 16 and 24, Nunez discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table. However, Muller discloses that a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table (see paragraphs 0113-0116; and 0118-0119). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a relationship between the volumetric flow (Q), the pressure difference (Δp), and the viscosity (η) is stored in the lookup table as taught by Muller in combination with Nunez data storage for the purpose of understanding and analyzing the signal when compared to a baseline value in order to identify a disturbance event when the received value is sufficiently different from the baseline value and allow the clinician to act accordingly (see paragraph 0116).
With respect to claims 17 and 25, Nunez discloses a pressure sensor device, wherein the pressure sensor device comprises at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors, wherein the at least one differential pressure sensor or two barometric pressure sensors are configured to measure the pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points (see Figure 2, showing the pressure sensors #260-#261 and Figure 4 showing sensors #460a and #460b).
With respect to claims 18 and 26, Nunez discloses a pressure sensor device configured to sense the pressure difference (Δp) between two sensor points (see Figure 4 showing sensors #460a and #460b at two different points hence sensing a difference between both locations).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art cited in the PTO 892 not relied upon discloses ultrasound devices being inserted into the body to measure blood flow and having an impeller.
/DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798