DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/08/2024 has been considered and made of record by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 6, line 1, “the length of the bit to be transmitted” should be replaced by the length of the at least one information bit to be transmitted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 8, line 4, “reliabilituy” should be replaced by reliability. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 14, line 1, “the length of the bit to be” should be replaced by the length of the at least one information bit to be. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Jang) (US 2020/0322083).
As to claims 1 and 9, Jang discloses an apparatus for encoding a channel in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs 0003 and 0019), the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (see paragraph 0019); and at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver (see paragraphs 0019 and 0186, and Fig. 18, blocks 1805 and 1810), the at least one processor configured to: determine a length of a mother code, based on a length of at least one information bit to be transmitted and a target code rate (see paragraph 0195, “codeword bit number” indicates the length of at least one information bit to be transmitted); determine, based on the length of the at least one information bit, at least one frozen bit to not transmit information among first bits included in an input source vector corresponding to the mother code (see paragraphs 0065 and 0195); allocate the at least one information bit to at least one second bit except for the determined at least one frozen bit among the first bits included in the input source vector (see paragraphs 0062-0065, 0113, 0122, and 0195); and generate a codeword by encoding, into a predetermined polar code, the input source vector to which the at least one information bit is allocated (see paragraphs 0056, 0101, 0103, 0107, 0110, 0119, 0125, and 0195).
As to claims 2 and 10, Jang discloses that the at least one frozen bit is determined by a puncturing operation (see paragraphs 0125, 0130, and 0195).
As to claims 3 and 11, Jang discloses that the at least one frozen bit is determined by a parameter indicating a state of a channel for transmitting the at least one information bit (see paragraph 0065).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang, in view of Liu et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Liu) (US 2022/0116141).
As to claims 8 and 16, Jang discloses all the subject matters claimed in claims 8 and 16, except for allocating the at least one information bit to the at least one second bit in an order of bits having high channel reliability, the bits corresponding to the at least one second bit. Liu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a communication system using polar coding (see paragraph 0045). Liu further discloses allocating the at least one information bit to the at least one second bit in an order of bits having high channel reliability, the bits corresponding to the at least one second bit (see paragraph 0046). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Jang, as suggested by Liu, in order to increase the performance of the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LEILA . MALEK
Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/LEILA MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632