DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on September 28, 2026 has been entered
Claim 1, 4, and 10-14, and 16 are amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama et al (US 2019/0302248 A1) in view of Nomura et al (US 20160245914 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Koyama teaches a communication control device configured to control communication between a central unit and a sensor unit in a sensor system [0023 for having a control command device with ultrasonic sensors],
the communication control device comprising: a sensitivity acquiring unit, that acquires a sensitivity status of the sensor unit during a detection operation in the sensor unit [0035 for a reception sensitivity gradually increases in the ultrasonic sensors],
the sensitivity status being set as either a first status or a second status, the second status being a status in which a sensitivity of the sensor unit is lower than that of the first status [0035 for leading to a high sensitivity state. The high sensitivity state is a state in which the threshold for the wave height value];
and communication control unit that communicates special communication signals when the sensitivity acquiring unit acquires the second status [0035 for wave is lowered and having detection thresholds],
Koyama fails to explicitly teach the sensor system comprising the central unit as a master device and the sensor unit as a slave device.
Nomura has a monitoring ECU includes a result-transmission-instruction transmission section that transmits through a signal line a measurement result (abstract) and teaches the sensor system comprising the central unit as a master device and the sensor unit as a slave device [0029 for a communication protocol with a master slave system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the master slave calculations as taught by Nomura for the purpose to detect an obstacle and the distance to the obstacle (Nomura, 0030).
Regarding Claim 2, Koyama teaches the sensitivity status changes with the passage of time during the detection operation [0035 for a reception sensitivity gradually (time) increases in the ultrasonic sensors].
Regarding Claim 3, Koyama teaches the special communication signals include a command signal sent from the central unit to the sensor unit [0035 for requests (result request) transmission of the measurement results of the previous control period for the ultrasonic sensors]
and a response signal sent from the sensor unit to the central unit in response to the command signal [0035 for result request, the ultrasonic sensors transmit (result transmission) the measurement results of the previous control period].
Regarding Claim 11, Koyama teaches
Regarding Claim 12, Koyama teaches the sensor unit is mounted to a vehicle and detects the object existing around the vehicle [0021 for receive waves reflected by an object present and distance to object].
Regarding Claim 13, Koyama teaches a communication control method for controlling communication between a central unit and a sensor unit in a sensor system [0023 for having a control command device with ultrasonic sensors],
wherein the communication control method comprises: acquiring a sensitivity status of the sensor unit during a detection operation in the sensor unit [0035 for a reception sensitivity gradually increases in the ultrasonic sensors],
the sensitivity status being set as either a first status or a second status, the second status being a status in which a sensitivity of the sensor unit is lower than that of the first status [0035 for leading to a high sensitivity state. The high sensitivity state is a state in which the threshold for the wave height value];
and communicating special communication signals when the second status is acquired, the special communication signals being communication signals that are noise sources in the detection operation [0036 for electrical noise generated upon communication might provide influence on measurement].
Koyama fails to explicitly teach the sensor system comprising the central unit as a master device and the sensor unit as a slave device.
Nomura has a monitoring ECU includes a result-transmission-instruction transmission section that transmits through a signal line a measurement result (abstract) and teaches the sensor system comprising the central unit as a master device and the sensor unit as a slave device [0029 for a communication protocol with a master slave system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the master slave calculations as taught by Nomura for the purpose to detect an obstacle and the distance to the obstacle (Nomura, 0030).
Regarding Claim 14, Koyama teaches computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing a communication control program to be executed by a communication control device that controls communication between a central unit and a sensor unit in a sensor system [0023 for having a control command device with ultrasonic sensors],
wherein the communication control program causes the communication control device to perform: acquiring a sensitivity status of the sensor unit during a detection operation in the sensor unit [0035 for a reception sensitivity gradually increases in the ultrasonic sensors],
the sensitivity status being set as either a first status or a second status, the second status being a status in which a sensitivity of the sensor unit is lower than that of the first status [0035 for leading to a high sensitivity state. The high sensitivity state is a state in which the threshold for the wave height value];
and
Koyama fails to explicitly teach the sensor system comprising the central unit as a master device and the sensor unit as a slave device.
Nomura has a monitoring ECU includes a result-transmission-instruction transmission section that transmits through a signal line a measurement result (abstract) and teaches the sensor system comprising the central unit as a master device and the sensor unit as a slave device [0029 for a communication protocol with a master slave system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the master slave calculations as taught by Nomura for the purpose to detect an obstacle and the distance to the obstacle (Nomura, 0030).
Claim 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama et al (US 2019/0302248 A1) in view of Nomura et al (US 20160245914 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DSI (DSI, 2011).
Regarding Claim 4, Koyama fails to explicitly teach a control unit communicates non-special communication signals different from the special communication signals when the sensitivity acquiring unit acquires the first status.
DSI has bus topologies, operational modes and functional classes of DSI3 bus systems and the associated electrical and physical characteristics (page 5, first paragraph) and teaches a control unit communicates non-special communication signals different from the special communication signals when the sensitivity acquiring unit acquires the first status [page 6, first paragraph for EMC improvements are achieved by reducing the master induced voltage fluctuations on the bus].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the bus fluctuation calculations as taught by DSI for the purpose to reduce master induced voltage fluctuation by nearly two orders of magnitude (DSI, page 6, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 5, Koyama fails to explicitly teach the special communication signals include a reset signal and a non-reset signal, and the sensor system assigns a sequential number code to the non-special communication signals in the chronological order of transmission and reception, the sensor system resets the sequential number code to its initial value in response to the transmission and reception of the reset signal among the special communication signals, and the sensor system does not reset the sequential number code to its initial value in response to the transmission and reception of the non-reset signal among the special communication signals.
DSI has bus topologies, operational modes and functional classes of DSI3 bus systems and the associated electrical and physical characteristics (page 5, first paragraph) and teaches the special communication signals include a reset signal and a non-reset signal, and the sensor system assigns a sequential number code to the non-special communication signals in the chronological order of transmission and reception [page 30, section 5.2.2.2 for Keep Alive Counter (KAC) field is a free running rollover counter which is incremented after every message 658 transmitted from a slave],
the sensor system resets the sequential number code to its initial value in response to the transmission and reception of the reset signal among the special communication signals [page 30, section 5.2.2.2.2 for counter size is system configurable from 0 (no 660 counter) to 4 bits],
and the sensor system does not reset the sequential number code to its initial value in response to the transmission and reception of the non-reset signal among the special communication signals [page 6, first paragraph for EMC improvements are achieved by reducing the master induced voltage fluctuations on the bus].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the bus fluctuation calculations as taught by DSI for the purpose to reduce master induced voltage fluctuation by nearly two orders of magnitude (DSI, page 6, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 6, Koyama fails to explicitly teach the non-special communication signals include a detection result signal indicating the result of the detection operation by the sensor unit.
DSI has bus topologies, operational modes and functional classes of DSI3 bus systems and the associated electrical and physical characteristics (page 5, first paragraph) and teaches the non-special communication signals include a detection result signal indicating the result of the detection operation by the sensor unit [page 30, last paragraph for data field contents are typically exclusively sensor data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the bus fluctuation calculations as taught by DSI for the purpose to reduce master induced voltage fluctuation by nearly two orders of magnitude (DSI, page 6, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 7, Koyama fails to explicitly teach the sensor system is switchable between a first communication mode that enables bi- directional communication between the central unit and the sensor unit and a second communication mode that enables one-way communication from the sensor unit to the central unit, the sensor system switches from the first communication mode to the second communication mode when the sensor unit receives a trigger signal from the central unit, the special communication signals are transmitted and received in the first communication mode, and the non-special communication signals are transmitted and received in the second communication mode.
DSI has bus topologies, operational modes and functional classes of DSI3 bus systems and the associated electrical and physical characteristics (page 5, first paragraph) and teaches the sensor system is switchable between a first communication mode that enables bi-directional communication between the central unit and the sensor unit and a second communication mode that enables one-way communication from the sensor unit to the central unit [page 15 for Command and Response Mode is used for system configuration and for applications that require significant message traffic in both the forward and reverse directions],
the sensor system switches from the first communication mode to the second communication mode when the sensor unit receives a trigger signal from the central unit, the special communication signals are transmitted and received in the first communication mode, and the non-special communication signals are transmitted and received in the second communication mode [page 27, first paragraph for primary purpose of the command and response transactions are to read from and to 603 write to registers within the slave memory].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the bus fluctuation calculations as taught by DSI for the purpose to reduce master induced voltage fluctuation by nearly two orders of magnitude (DSI, page 6, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 8, Koyama fails to explicitly teach the first communication mode is an instruction response mode in the DSI protocol, and the second communication mode is a periodic data collection mode in the DSI protocol.
DSI has bus topologies, operational modes and functional classes of DSI3 bus systems and the associated electrical and physical characteristics (page 5, first paragraph) and teaches the first communication mode is an instruction response mode in the DSI protocol, and the second communication mode is a periodic data collection mode in the DSI protocol [page 11 first paragraph for CRM and third paragraph for PDCM].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the bus fluctuation calculations as taught by DSI for the purpose to choose simultaneous sampling or prioritize the relative latency of the data sources (DSI, page 11, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9, Koyama fails to explicitly teach the sensor system switches from the first communication mode to the second communication mode when a mode change signal to change the communication mode from the first communication mode to the second communication mode, a detection start signal to start the detection operation in the sensor unit, or a detection condition setting signal to set conditions for the detection operation in the sensor unit, each of which is one of the special communication signals is transmitted and received.
DSI has bus topologies, operational modes and functional classes of DSI3 bus systems and the associated electrical and physical characteristics (page 5, first paragraph) and teaches the sensor system switches from the first communication mode to the second communication mode when a mode change signal to change the communication mode from the first communication mode to the second communication mode [page 29 second paragraph for Special Global DSI Command and Response Mode command can be implemented to simultaneously transition all slaves from Command and Response Mode to Periodic Data Collection Mode],
a detection start signal to start the detection operation in the sensor unit, or a detection condition setting signal to set conditions for the detection operation in the sensor unit, each of which is one of the special communication signals is transmitted and received [page 29 fourth paragraph for All slaves automatically transition from Command and Response Mode to Period Data Collection Mode based 638 on the master command message type].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the bus fluctuation calculations as taught by DSI for the purpose to choose simultaneous sampling or prioritize the relative latency of the data sources (DSI, page 11, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 10, Koyama fails to explicitly teach the sensor system, when the special communication signals in the second communication mode are received, performs an operation corresponding to the special communication signals.
DSI has bus topologies, operational modes and functional classes of DSI3 bus systems and the associated electrical and physical characteristics (page 5, first paragraph) and teaches the sensor system, when the special communication signals in the second communication mode are received, performs an operation corresponding to the special communication signals [page 31, first paragraph for Background Diagnostic Mode may also be used to change the state of a slave via 674 register writes].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the object detection techniques, as disclosed by Koyama, further including the bus fluctuation calculations as taught by DSI for the purpose to choose simultaneous sampling or prioritize the relative latency of the data sources (DSI, page 11, first paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection, the examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648