DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shachar et al. (U.S. 2021/0180110, hereafter referred to as Shachar).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 12, 13, 16, Shachar teaches a test cartridge (see para. 0113) comprising a controlled fluid pathway (see figure 8a) connecting a sample receiving port 58 to a siphon U-turn 62; wherein the controlled fluid pathway also connects the siphon U-turn to a drawing tunnel 66, and the drawing tunnel connects to a reaction well 56; further comprising at least one of: a buffer region 78; a buffer control area; pre-loaded lyophilized reagent materials; and a vent connected to the reaction well; and wherein the test cartridge comprises a reaction well sized and shaped to facilitate a thin spread of a solubilized reaction mixture over an internal surface area ( see para. 0112, 0113, ‘a single array 12 is used per cartridge (disc CD-1) attached to a corresponding nitrocellulose film slide; The reaction chamber 56 in FIG. 8a holds the spotted protein array 12’).
Regarding the claimed limitation of, ‘optionally, wherein the reaction well comprises a narrow zigzag pathway structure’, the phrase ‘optionally’ renders the claim indefinite since the resulting claim does not clearly set for the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. Ex Parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74.
Regarding claim 6, Shachar further teaches wherein a sample introduced to the sample receiving port is automatically fully processed (see Abstract, ‘but also includes the steps of automatically disposing a second portion of the sample on a microarray’).
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 17, Shachar further teaches a two-component device comprising: a. a first component test cartridge (see para. 0113); and b. a second component comprising an amplification module (see para. 0095, ‘The Optikus instrument 10 also contains thermoelectric heating and cooling or Peltier elements 142 in disc CD-1 shown in FIG. 9, and a temperature control mechanism in disc CD-1 (not shown) for performing RNA and DNA amplification using either thermocycling or isothermal amplification directly on the microfluidic disc 26 (CD-3)’) and an analysis module (see para. 0048; see para 0100).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Shachar further teaches wherein the first component and the second component are readily combined and/or readily separable (see para. 0096; see figure 19).
Regarding claim 10, Shachar further teaches wherein the first component is a single-use test cartridge (see para. 0082, 0084, 0111).
Regarding claim 11, Shachar further teaches wherein the second component further comprises a separate housing (see figure 19).
Regarding claim 14, Shachar further teaches wherein the first component test cartridge can be inserted into the second component in a generally vertical orientation (see figure 19).
Regarding claim 19 and 20, Shachar further teaches A method of using the test cartridge of claim 1 to generate PCR test results in either a single plex or multiplex format; and a method of using the device of claim 8 to generate PCR results in either a single plex or multiplex format (see figure 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar.
Shachar does not explicitly teach wherein a buffer mixing zone between the sample receiving port and the siphon U-turn; or wherein temperature control is maintained within ±0.5°C of a set point temperature over a 20 second time period, and this is reproducibly generated over a standard 40-cycle PCR run.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Shachar to position the buffer mixing zone between the sample receiving port and the siphon U-turn since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Shachar wherein temperature control is maintained within ±0.5°C of a set point temperature over a 20 second time period since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/JAMEL E WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855