DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s filing filed on 11/08/2024. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 11/08/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The specification submitted on 11/08/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 12 and 18 of U.S. Patent No.: 11,616,485. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 in the current application have the same scope of claimed inventions with obvious wording variations.
Current application Patent No.: 11,616,485
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 same Claims 1 and 18
Claims 3 and 13 same Claim 2
Claims 4 and 14 same Claim 3
Claims 5 and 15 same Claim 4
Claims 6 and 16 same Claim 6
Claims 7 and 17 same Claim 8
Claims 8 and 18 same Claim 7
Claims 9 and 19 same Claim 5
Claims 10 and 20 same Claim 12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STePHANE et al. (DE 102016125014 A1, hereinafter, “STePHANE”) in view of Ojo (US Patent No.: 8,306,494).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, StePHANE teaches a wireless device comprising (see figures 2 and 13, wireless receiver):
an antenna configured to receive a plurality of signals, each signal of the plurality of signals associated with a different frequency band see figures 2 and 13, wireless receiver, front end support plurality of frequency band, [0044-0047]); and
a front-end module including an acoustic wave filter, a low noise amplifier with a differential input electrically connected to the acoustic wave filter, the low noise amplifier configured to output a differential signal via a differential output and a balun that converts the differential output to a single-ended output (see figure 2, SAW filter F, LNA, BALUN BN, [0027]).
It should be noticed that StePHANE fails to teach transformer balun. However, Ojo teaches transformer balun (see figure 3A, transformer balun 307, col.8, ln.25-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ojo into view of StePHANE in order to convert signals between balanced and unbalanced systems while blocking unwanted noise and matching impedance.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Ojo further teaches surface acoustic wave filter (see figure 2A, SAW filter 203, col.5, ln.16).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, StePHANE further teaches a connection between the acoustic wave filter and the low noise amplifier is configured to provide balun functionality between the acoustic wave filter and the low noise amplifier without inclusion of a balun circuit element before a differential input of the low noise amplifier (see figure 1, SAW filter, LNA, [0026], A signal received by an antenna is at the input of a filter F coupled with a single-ended input. The filter F has an integrated balun function and thus provides a differential signal at the output. The difference signal of the filter F is to an amplifier LNA coupled, however, generates an unbalanced or single-ended amplified output signal. The output signal is coupled to a receiving unit RU, which may be part of a transceiver unit, which can also operate reception and transmission signals. The filter F may be a strain gauge filter or a ladder-type filter made of SAW resonators or BAW resonators).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STePHANE et al. (DE 102016125014 A1, hereinafter, “STePHANE”) in view of Ojo (US Patent No.: 8,306,494) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Maxim et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0126906, hereinafter, “Maxim”).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, StePHANE and Ojo, in combination, fails to teach the low noise amplifier includes a first input transistor configured to receive a first signal from a first output terminal of the acoustic wave filter and a second input transistor configured to receive a second signal from a second output terminal of the acoustic wave filter. However, Maxim teaches the low noise amplifier includes a first input transistor configured to receive a first signal from a first output terminal of the filter and a second input transistor configured to receive a second signal from a second output terminal of the filter (see figure 8, filter 120, LNA 122, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Maxim into view of StePHANE and Ojo in order to convert balanced signals between balanced and balanced systems while blocking unwanted signal.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Maxim further teaches the differential output of the low noise amplifier includes a first output node and a second output node (see figure 8, LNA 122).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Maxim further teaches the first output node is connected to a drain of the first input transistor and the second output node is connected to a drain of the second input transistor (see figure 8, LNA 122, transistor 128, [0036]).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STePHANE et al. (DE 102016125014 A1, hereinafter, “STePHANE”) in view of Ojo (US Patent No.: 8,306,494) and further in view of Maxim et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0126906, hereinafter, “Maxim”) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Miller et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0393915, hereinafter, “Miller”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, StePHANE, Ojo and Maxim, in combination, fails to teach the differential output of the acoustic wave filter includes a first output terminal that is a positive terminal and a second output terminal that is a negative terminal. However, Miller teaches the differential output of the low pass filter includes a first output terminal that is a positive terminal and a second output terminal that is a negative terminal (see figure 5, LPF 502, vo positive 508, vo negative 510, [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Miller into view of StePHANE, Ojo and Maxim in order to convert balanced signals between balanced and balanced systems while blocking unwanted signal.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STePHANE et al. (DE 102016125014 A1, hereinafter, “STePHANE”) in view of Ojo (US Patent No.: 8,306,494), in view of Maxim et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0126906, hereinafter, “Maxim”) and further in view of Miller et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0393915, hereinafter, “Miller”) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Aparin (US Patent No.: 9,391,650).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Maxim teaches the first input transistor of the low noise amplifier (see figure 8). StePHANE, Ojo, Maxim and Miller, in combination, fails to teach a first matching circuit connected between the first output terminal of the acoustic wave filter and the first input of the low noise amplifier. However, Aparin teaches a first matching circuit connected between the first output terminal of the acoustic wave filter and the first input of the low noise amplifier (see figure 2, filter 254, matching 262, LNA 264). Making separable of matching circuit is obvious to one skill in the art.
C. Making Separable
In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Aparin into view of StePHANE, Ojo, Maxim and Miller in order to convert balanced signals between balanced and balanced systems while blocking unwanted signal.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Aparin further teaches the first matching circuit is configured to perform impedance matching between the acoustic wave filter and the low noise amplifier (see col.3, ln.39-53).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Maxim teaches the second input transistor of the low noise amplifier (see figure 8). Aparin teaches a second matching circuit connected between the second output terminal of the acoustic wave filter and the second input of the low noise amplifier (see figure 2, filter 254, matching 262, LNA 264).
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649