DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2025 and 06/09/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the submission of information disclosure statement is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 20090106935A1, hereinafter referred to as “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a display device ([0006] notebook computer) comprising: a display panel ([0018]-[0019] notebook computer); a first bracket (Fig 2, wings 12) positioned behind the display panel (Figs 2 and 9); a second bracket (Fig 2, wings 32) positioned between the display panel and the first bracket (Figs 2 and 9) and coupled to the display panel (Fig 9); and a support arm (Fig 2, pivoting arm assembly 20) elongated and connecting the first and second brackets (Fig 2, connecting brackets 12 and 32), wherein the support arm (20) comprises: an inner arm (Fig 2, rear pivoting arm 22) rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets ([0035], [0047]); an outer arm (Fig 2, front pivoting arm 21) adjacent to the inner arm (Fig 2) and rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets ([0030], [0047]); and a supporter (Fig 3, lifting spring 23) which has one side coupled to the inner arm (22) and the other side supporting the outer arm (21), the supporter (23) including an elastic member which is compressible in a longitudinal direction of the support arm (Fig 3).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chi (US 20100019112A1, hereinafter referred to as “Chi”).
Regarding claim 1, Chi discloses a display device (Fig 27) comprising: a display panel (Fig 27, article (LCD) 80); a first bracket (Fig 3, seat member 6) positioned behind the display panel (Fig 27); a second bracket (Fig 3, seating member 2) positioned between the display panel and the first bracket (Fig 2, between panel 80 and first bracket (6)) and coupled to the display panel (Fig 27, 2 is coupled to 80); and a support arm elongated and connecting the first and second brackets (Figs 1-4, combined of 1 and 3 ), wherein the support arm (1 and 3) comprises: an inner arm (Fig 3, inner assembly 3) rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets (rotatably coupled to bracket (6) and bracket (2) via yoke arms 33, 35); an outer arm (Fig 3, outer assembly 11) adjacent to the inner arm (3) and rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets (rotatably coupled to bracket (6) and bracket (2) via extension 13 and riser 16); and a supporter (Fig 3, spring assembly 4) which has one side coupled to the inner arm (48) and the other side supporting the outer arm (46, see Fig 4), the supporter (4) including an elastic member (Fig 4, spring 42) which is compressible in a longitudinal direction of the support arm (Figs 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 1-5 Is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohkwan Kwon (KR20220006263A, hereinafter referred to as “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a display device (Fig 1, display panel D) comprising: a display panel (D); a first bracket (Figs 3 and 4, neck unit 50) positioned behind the display panel (Figs 1-3, 50 is behind display panel D); a second bracket (Figs 2-3, connection unit 40) positioned between the display panel and the first bracket (Figs 2 and 3, 40 between display panel D and 50) and coupled to the display panel (Figs 1-2, 40 coupled to D); and a support arm (Figs 2-3, arm unit 30) elongated and connecting the first and second brackets (Figs 2-3, 30 connecting 50 and 40), wherein the support arm (30) comprises: an inner arm (Figs 3-4, main link 35) rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets (Figs 4 and 25, rotatably coupled via 49b and S2); an outer arm (Fig 4, inner cover 32) adjacent to the inner arm (35, see Fig 4) and rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets (Fig 18, 32 at 329a, 329b, see also Fig 19 for details); and a supporter (Figs 21-22, coil spring 343 and elastic adjuster 34) which has one side coupled to the inner arm and the other side supporting the outer arm (Figs 3, 21 and 30, one side of 34 coupled to 40, other side of 34 coupled to 50), the supporter including an elastic member (Figs 21-22, coil spring 343) which is compressible in a longitudinal direction of the support arm (Fig 3, 343 compressible along longitudinal direction of arm unit 30).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses wherein one end of the inner arm and one end of the outer arm are rotatably coupled to the first bracket (Figs 3-4, 18, 19, one end of arms 35, 32 rotatably coupled to neck unit 50 with rotating angle θ2), wherein the other end of the inner arm and the other end of the outer arm are rotatably coupled to the second bracket (Figs 3 -4, 18, 19, other end of arms 35, 32 rotatably coupled to connection unit 40 with rotating angle θ1), wherein a distance between a central axis of rotation of the one end of the inner arm and a central axis of rotation of the one end of the outer arm is equal to a distance between a central axis of rotation of the other end of the inner arm and a central axis of rotation of the other end of the outer arm (Figs 3 and 18, 19, note; because 329 ensures tilting shaft 48 is inserted into tilting shaft hole 329a, the distances between center axis of rotations of respective arms are equal).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses further comprising: a first pin which couples the one end of the inner arm to the first bracket (Figs 25 and 30, tilting stopper S2 couples main link 35 to neck unit 50, tilting shaft S3, Figs 3, 13-15, and 19, tilting stopper (49b) couples main link 35 to bracket), and which provides the central axis of rotation of the one end of the inner arm (both shaft 48 and 49b work together provides central axis of rotation); a second pin which couples the one end of the outer arm to the first bracket (Pin (49) couple Inner cover 32 to the neck unit 50), and which provides the central axis of rotation of the one end of the outer arm (note: both tilting stopper S2 and titling shaft S3 work together to facilitate central axis of rotation at end of arm, S2 does the pivoting action, while S3 provides range and guidance of rotating); a third pin which couples the other end of the inner arm to the second bracket, and which provides the central axis of rotation of the other end of the inner arm; and a fourth pin which couples the other end of the outer arm to the second bracket, and which provides the central axis of rotation of the other end of the outer arm (Fig 3, pin (49b) coupled to second bracket (40), Fig 19, pin (49b) couple to outer arm (32), Fig 25, (pin) 49b coupled to inner arm (35); Fig 25, pin (S2) coupled to inner arm (35), Fig 19, pin (S3) coupled to outer arm (32)).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon discloses wherein the inner arm (Fig 25, main link 35) comprises: a pair of inner bars opposite to each other (Fig 25, side parts 352 opposite to each other); and an inner bridge connecting the pair of inner bars (Fig 25, P1 serve as inner bridge connecting 352), wherein each of the pair of inner bars is rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets (Fig 3, main link 35 has pair of 352 connecting to each of 40, 50 via 49b and S2, respectively).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon discloses wherein the outer arm (Fig 18, inner cover 32) comprises: a pair of outer bars opposite to each other (Fig 18, pair of side portions 322 are bar-shaped, opposite to each other); and an outer bridge connecting the pair of outer bars (Fig 18, upper surface portion 321 connecting pair of side portions 322), wherein each of the pair of outer bars (322) is rotatably coupled to each of the first and second brackets (Figs 18 and 19, tilting shaft holes 329a, 329b at 322 rotatably coupled to each of 40, 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkwan Kwon (KR20220006263A, hereinafter referred to as “Kwon”) in view of Sanghoon Kim (KR20230113221A, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses wherein the outer arm is positioned above the inner arm (Fig 4, outer arm (32) positioned above inner arm (35)), wherein the inner arm (35) comprises an inner rib bent downward from one side of the inner arm (Fig 25, inner rib (36) bent downward from side 352),
However, Kwon fails to sufficiently disclose wherein the outer arm comprises an outer rib which is bent downward from one side of the outer arm and opposite to the inner rib, wherein the supporter is coupled to the inner rib and supports the outer rib.
However, Kim and Kwon combined teach wherein the outer arm comprises an outer rib which is bent downward from one side of the outer arm and opposite to the inner rib (Kim: Figs 29-30, outer arm (51, 52) has outer rib (511) bent downward from one side of arm 51, and opposite to inner rib (51r) shown in Fig 30), wherein the supporter is coupled to the inner rib and supports the outer rib (Kim: Figs 29-30, outer arm (51, 52) has outer rib (511) bent downward from one side of arm 51, and opposite to inner rib (51r) shown in Fig 30; Kwon: supporter (341) in Figs 21-22, that can be coupled to inner rib 51r in Fig 30 of Kim).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display supporting apparatus of Kwon by Kim based on the following rationales: a) referring to display setup in Fig 1 of Kwon, which is designed for secure mounting to a desk/table top. However, referring to Kim as shown by the display setup in Figs 1-2 and 35, by having the base 20, allows for more flexible usage of the display; b) In addition, referring to Figs 38 and 39 of Kim, which allows for achieving both landscape and portrait viewing perspectives of the display monitor. On the other hand, referring to Figs 5 and 6 of Kwon, the arc rotational range of distance for the limiting slit 213 imply that the maximum rotation amount of the display panel (D) would not be sufficient to switch between both landscape and portrait viewing perspectives for the display panel; c) Referring to Figs 33 and 42 and 43-46 of Kwon, the height adjustment components involved are very complicated and time consuming to perform, since both inner (66, 69a, 69b see Fig 43) and outer (see Figs 39 and 42) structural elements need to be height adjusted. On the other hand, referring to Fig 35 of Kim, the height adjustment for the display up and down (see also Fig 39) is much easier by just tighten or loosen the fastener 64F, 65F while using the rollers 66a of Kim to do smooth sliding during height adjustment. As a result, above discussed several advantages of Kim over Kwon serve as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify Kwon by Kim, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Kwon and Kim both belongs to same analogous art, as being display monitor support assembly with angular adjustment capabilities for viewing.
Regarding claim 7, Kwon and Kim combined teach wherein the supporter comprises: a rod extending in the longitudinal direction of the support arm (Kwon: Fig 22, supporter (341) and rod, extending in longitudinal direction of arm unit 30 in Figs 2-3) and penetrating the inner rib (Kim: inner rib (51r) in Fig 30); a stopper positioned between the inner rib and the outer rib (Kwon: Fig 22, cylindrical shaped part at front of stopper (342)) and movably coupled to the rod in a longitudinal direction of the rod
(Kwon: and movably coupled to rod (3411) in longitudinal direction); and a cylinder opposite to the stopper (Kwon: Fig 22, cylindrical shaped part at front of stopper (342) can be the cylinder) and movably coupled to the rod in the longitudinal direction of the rod (Fig 22, cylindrical shaped part at front of stopper (342) can be the cylinder, and movably coupled to rod (3411) in longitudinal direction), wherein the elastic member is positioned between the stopper and the cylinder, and the outer rib is supported by the cylinder (Kwon: elastic member (343) positioned between stopper and cylinder in Fig 21; Kim: outer rib can be supported by cylinder part of stopper (342) of Kwon).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses wherein the rod comprises a male thread formed at an outer circumferential surface of the rod (Fig 22, threaded rod 3411), wherein the stopper comprises a female thread engaging with the male thread (Fig 21, stopper 342 has female thread) wherein the elastic member is compressed as the stopper approaches the cylinder in response to rotation of the rod. ([0175] English translation: spring shaft 341 can be rotated clockwise or counterclockwise using a wrench, spring supporter 344 moves forward or backward along the spring shaft 341 to contract or extend the coil spring 343).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon fails to sufficiently disclose further comprising a holder positioned between the display panel and the second bracket and coupled to the display panel, wherein the holder comprises: a ring body coupled to the display panel; and a shaft extending in a direction parallel to a front surface of the display panel and coupling the ring body to the second bracket, wherein the ring body is rotatable around the shaft.
However, Kwon and Kim combined teach further comprising a holder positioned between the display panel and the second bracket and coupled to the display panel, wherein the holder comprises: a ring body coupled to the display panel; and a shaft extending in a direction parallel to a front surface of the display panel and coupling the ring body to the second bracket, wherein the ring body is rotatable around the shaft.
(Kim: Fig 11, 13, ring body 48, holder 47; Fig 2, display panel 15 (10); Figs 11 and 13, rotating shaft (48a) coupling ring body (48) to second bracket (Figs 2-3, connection unit 40) of Kwon; Kim: ring body (48) rotatable around shaft 48a).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon fails to sufficiently disclose wherein the holder further comprises: an ankle protruding from the ring body toward the display panel; and a holder body opposite to the ring body with respect to the ankle, wherein the support arm comprises: an arm cover forming an outer surface of the support arm; and a slot which is formed at one end of the arm cover facing the display panel, and in which the ankle is positioned, wherein the slot is formed along a rotation trajectory of the ankle.
However Kim teaches wherein the holder (Fig 11, 13, holder 47) further comprises: an ankle protruding from the ring body toward the display panel (Fig 11, 13, ring body 48, ankle 471); and a holder body opposite to the ring body with respect to the ankle (Fig 11, 13, ring body 48, holder 47, ankle 471, holder body 470), wherein the support arm (support arm 50 in Fig 2) comprises: an arm cover forming an outer surface of the support arm (Fig 17, upper and lower covers 54, 53); and a slot which is formed at one end of the arm cover facing the display panel (Fig 17, slot-shape part of 50 (53, 54) at 48), and in which the ankle is positioned, wherein the slot is formed along a rotation trajectory of the ankle (Fig 17, slot shape part of 50 (53, 54) at 48, where ankle 471 is positioned in Fig 16, slot is formed along a rotation trajectory of the ankle (see Figs 16 and 17 combined)).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon fails to sufficiently disclose further comprising: a rear bracket positioned between the display panel and the second bracket and coupled to the display panel; a holder positioned between the rear bracket and the second bracket and coupled to the second bracket; and a rotating shaft extending in a direction parallel to a front surface of the display panel and coupling the rear bracket to the holder, wherein the rear bracket is rotatable around the rotating shaft.
However, Kwon and Kim combined teach further comprising: a rear bracket (Kim; Figs 10-13, rear bracket 43) positioned between the display panel and the second bracket and coupled to the display panel (Kim; Figs 10-13, rear bracket 43 coupled to display panel in Fig 20-24); a holder (47) positioned between the rear bracket and the second bracket (Kim: between rear bracket 43 and second bracket (40) of Kwon) and coupled to the second bracket (Kwon: Figs 2-3, connection unit 40)); and a rotating shaft extending in a direction parallel to a front surface of the display panel and coupling the rear bracket to the holder (Kim: Figs 11 and 13, rotating shaft (46) extending parallel to front of 42, and coupling rear bracket 43 to holder 47), wherein the rear bracket is rotatable around the rotating shaft.(Fig 13, rear bracket 43 is rotatable around tilt shaft 46).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon fails to sufficiently disclose further comprising a cover covering a rear of the rear bracket and coupled to the display panel, wherein the holder comprises: a holder body coupled to the rotating shaft; a ring body coupled to the second bracket; and an ankle connecting the holder body and the ring body, wherein the cover comprises a cover hole which is formed along a rotation direction of the rear bracket, and in which the ankle is positioned.
However, Kim teaches further comprising a cover covering a rear of the rear bracket and coupled to the display panel (Fig 17, cover 40c1 covering rear bracket 43 of Fig 15), wherein the holder comprises: a holder body coupled to the rotating shaft; a ring body coupled to the second bracket (Fig 11, 13, holder 47, holder body 470, shaft 46, ring body 48); and an ankle (Fig 11, 13, ankle 471) connecting the holder body (470) and the ring body (48), wherein the cover (Fig 17, 40c1) comprises a cover hole which is formed along a rotation direction of the rear bracket (Fig 17, cover hole (40h) in rotation direction of rear bracket 43 of Fig 15), and in which the ankle is positioned (Fig 17, slot shaped part of 50 (53, 54) at 48, where ankle 471 is positioned in Fig 16, slot is formed along a rotation trajectory of the ankle (see Figs 16 and 17 combined)).
Regarding claim 15, Kwon discloses further comprising: a front bracket (Figs 2-3, connection unit 40) coupled to a rear of the display panel (Figs 1-2, 40 coupled to display D); a rear bracket (Figs 3 and 4, neck unit 50) positioned behind the front bracket (Figs 1-3, rear bracket 50 is behind front bracket 40), and to the front bracket (40) is rotatably coupled about a first axis perpendicular to a front surface of the display panel (Fig 2); ……. and to which the rear bracket (50) is rotatably coupled about a second axis perpendicular to the first axis (Fig 2), wherein the holder (Fig 2, holder (60), Figs 32-35) is rotatably coupled to the second bracket about a third axis perpendicular to the first and second axes (Fig 2, 60 is rotatable coupled to bracket 50 around axis Y).
However, Kwon fails to disclose a holder positioned behind the rear bracket.
Meanwhile, Kim teaches a holder positioned behind the rear bracket (Fig 11, 13, holder 47 positioned behind rear bracket 43).
Regarding claims 7 and 11-15, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display supporting apparatus of Kwon by Kim based on the following rationales: a) referring to display setup in Fig 1 of Kwon, which is designed for secure mounting to a desk/table top. However, referring to Kim as shown by the display setup in Figs 1-2 and 35, by having the base 20, allows for more flexible usage of the display; b) In addition, referring to Figs 38 and 39 of Kim, which allows for achieving both landscape and portrait viewing perspectives of the display monitor. On the other hand, referring to Figs 5 and 6 of Kwon, the arc rotational range of distance for the limiting slit 213 indicates the maximum rotation amount of the display panel (D) would not be sufficient to switch between both landscape and portrait viewing perspectives for the display panel; c) Referring to Figs 33 and 42 and 43-46 of Kwon, the height adjustment process and equipment involved is very complex and time consuming to perform. On the other hand, referring to Fig 35 of Kim, the height adjustment for the display up and down (see also Fig 39) is much simpler or easier by just tighten or loosen the fastener 64F, 65F while using the rollers 66a of Kim to do smooth sliding during height adjustment. As a result, above discussed several advantages of Kim over Kwon serve as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify Kwon by Kim, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Kwon and Kim both belongs to same analogous art, as being display monitor support assembly with angular adjustment capabilities for viewing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
None of cited prior art, Kwon and Kim singularly or in any combination thereof, disclose or teach “wherein the stopper comprises a flange which is formed at one end of the stopper facing the inner rib, and to which one end of the elastic member is fixed, wherein the cylinder comprises a flange which is formed at one end of the cylinder facing the outer rib, and to which the other end of the elastic member is fixed” of claim 9, and “wherein the inner rib is bent from the inner bridge to between the pair of inner bars, wherein the outer rib is bent from the outer bridge to between the pair of inner bars” of claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chi (US 7810773B2) discloses a support arm structure with elastic arrangement for LCD display device. Zhang (US 20100072329A1) discloses a support stand for display monitor. Chumakov (US 12435829B1) discloses an adjustable support arm for flat panel display.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DING Y TAN whose telephone number is (303)297-4271. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8:00 am MT-- 5:00 pm MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Terrell McKinnon can be reached at telephone number 571-272-4797. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DING Y TAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632