DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romeo (CA2893087A) in view of Chong (US20150273419A1) and Morris (US20160177678A1).
Regarding claim 1, Romeo teaches a method (see Fig. 1) comprising: receiving exhaust air at a heat transfer assembly (heat exchanger 50) disposed on a first transport (trailer 80), the exhaust air (via manifold 40) being received from an exhaust of a power source (engine 100) disposed on a second transport (different trailer, not shown, ¶[0022]); receiving a liquid at the first transport (source, not shown - ¶[0021]); heating the liquid with the exhaust air at the heat transfer assembly (via heat exchanger 50) on the first transport; discharging the heated liquid from the heat transfer assembly on the first transport to a blender (tank, not shown, where the heated fracturing fluid may be mixed with chemical additives or proppant materials - ¶[0025]); and mixing at least one of a proppant and a chemical with the heated liquid at the blender to create a fracturing fluid (¶[0025]).
Romeo does not teach the power source comprising a gas turbine and an electric generator driven by the gas turbine to generate electric power, discharging the exhaust air from the heat transfer assembly to an exhaust stack, the exhaust stack outputting the exhaust air, wherein the blender is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator.
Chong teaches the power source comprising a gas turbine and an electric generator driven by the gas turbine to generate electric power (turbine generator - ¶[0054-0055]), wherein the blender (214/216; Fig. 2) is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator (¶[0054-0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include wherein the blender is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator as taught by Chong, in order to permit greater accuracy and control of fracturing fluid additives (¶[0054-0055]).
Morris teaches (see Fig. 4-6) discharging the exhaust air from the heat transfer assembly to an exhaust stack (exhaust stack 504), the exhaust stack outputting the exhaust air.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the exhaust stack of Morris, in order to direct exhaust gas in operation and to control noise (¶[0067]).
Regarding claim 2, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Romeo further teaches wherein the liquid is water (¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Romeo further teaches connecting a first end of an exhaust air connection disposed on the first transport to the exhaust of the power source disposed on the second transport, wherein the heat transfer assembly is disposed on the first transport between the first end of the exhaust air connection and a second end of the exhaust air connection.
Romeo does not teach wherein the connection is detachable, or detachably connecting the exhaust stack disposed on an air handling transport to the second end of the exhaust air connection, the exhaust stack discharging the exhaust air discharged from the exhaust of the power source.
Morris teaches (see Fig. 4-6) the connections are detachable (¶[0065-0067]), and detachably connecting the exhaust stack (510) to the second end of the exhaust air connection, the exhaust stack (via 602) discharging the exhaust air discharged from the exhaust of the power source (400), the exhaust stack is disposed on an air handling transport (transport 500).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include wherein the connection is detachable, in order to include the connections and air handling transport, as taught by Morris, in order to improve mobility (¶[0042]).
Regarding claim 10, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 9, and Morris further teaches (see Fig. 4-6) detachably connecting a first end of a combustion air connection disposed on the first transport (transport 500) to an intake of the power source disposed on the second transport (transport 400); and detachably connecting an air inlet filter housing (502) disposed on the air handling transport to a second end of the combustion air connection.
Regarding claims 11-12, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Romeo does not teach actuating one or more control valves to change a flow rate of the liquid flowing through the heat transfer assembly, and the flow rate of the liquid is changed based on a desired target temperature of the liquid.
Chong teaches actuating one or more control valves (valves & temperature sensors - ¶[0031-0039] & Fig. 2) to change a flow rate of the liquid flowing through the heat transfer assembly, and the flow rate of the liquid is changed based on a desired target temperature of the liquid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the controls of Chong, in order to prevent boiling of the process fluid (¶[0031-0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Morris further teaches comprising: powering a frac pump disposed on a frac pump transport with the electric power generated by the electric generator (mobile source of electricity 102 provides power to fracturing pump transports 108), therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include powering the pump on a transport as taught by Morris, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of parts (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14, Romeo teaches a system (see Fig. 1) comprising: a first transport (different trailer, not shown, ¶[0022]) including a power source (engine 100 & natural gas, turbine - ¶[0015]) having an air intake (this is considered inherent to gas turbines) and an exhaust (manifold 40), the exhaust discharging exhaust air; a second transport (trailer 80) including a heat transfer assembly (heat exchanger 50), the second transport receiving a liquid from a liquid source (source, not shown - ¶[0021]) and receiving (via manifold 40) the exhaust air from the exhaust of the power source on the first transport, the second transport heating the received liquid at the heat transfer assembly with the received exhaust air; and a blender (tank, not shown, where the heated fracturing fluid may be mixed with chemical additives or proppant materials - ¶[0025]) receiving the heated liquid and mixing at least one of a proppant and a chemical with the heated liquid to create a fracturing fluid.
Romeo does not teach the power source comprising a gas turbine and an electric generator driven by the gas turbine to generate electric power, discharging the exhaust air from the heat transfer assembly to an exhaust stack, the exhaust stack outputting the exhaust air, wherein the blender is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator.
Chong teaches the power source comprising a gas turbine and an electric generator driven by the gas turbine to generate electric power (turbine generator - ¶[0054-0055]), wherein the blender (214/216; Fig. 2) is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator (¶[0054-0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include wherein the blender is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator as taught by Chong, in order to permit greater accuracy and control of fracturing fluid additives (¶[0054-0055]).
Morris teaches (see Fig. 4-6) discharging the exhaust air from the heat transfer assembly to an exhaust stack (exhaust stack 504), the exhaust stack outputting the exhaust air.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the exhaust stack of Morris, in order to direct exhaust gas in operation and to control noise (¶[0067]).
Regarding claim 15, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Romeo further teaches the liquid is water (¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Romeo does not teach one or more sensors to measure a temperature of the liquid; and one or more control valves to change a flow rate of the liquid flowing through the heat transfer assembly based on the temperature measured by the one or more sensors.
Chong teaches one or more sensors to measure a temperature of the liquid; and one or more control valves to change a flow rate of the liquid flowing through the heat transfer assembly based on the temperature measured by the one or more sensors (valves & temperature sensors - ¶[0031-0039] & Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the controls of Chong, in order to prevent boiling of the process fluid (¶[0031-0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Romeo teaches a hydraulic fracturing fleet (see Fig. 1) comprising: a power generation transport (different trailer, not shown, ¶[0022]) including a gas turbine (engine 100 & natural gas, turbine - ¶[0015]) having an air intake (this is considered inherent to gas turbines) and an exhaust (manifold 40), the exhaust discharging exhaust air; a heat transfer assembly (heat exchanger 50) receiving the exhaust air discharged from the exhaust of the gas turbine (engine 100 & natural gas, turbine - ¶[0015]); a liquid source (source, not shown - ¶[0021]) outputting a liquid to the heat transfer assembly (heat exchanger – 50), the heat transfer assembly heating the liquid with the received exhaust air (¶[0020]) and a blender (tank, not shown, where the heated fracturing fluid may be mixed with chemical additives or proppant materials - ¶[0025]) receiving the heated liquid and mixing at least one of a proppant and a chemical with the heated liquid to create a fracturing fluid (¶[0025]).
Romeo does not teach the power source comprising a gas turbine and an electric generator driven by the gas turbine to generate electric power, discharging the exhaust air from the heat transfer assembly to an exhaust stack, the exhaust stack outputting the exhaust air, wherein the blender is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator.
Chong teaches the power source comprising a gas turbine and an electric generator driven by the gas turbine to generate electric power (turbine generator - ¶[0054-0055]), wherein the blender (214/216; Fig. 2) is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator (¶[0054-0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include wherein the blender is powered with the electric power generated by the electric generator as taught by Chong, in order to permit greater accuracy and control of fracturing fluid additives (¶[0054-0055]).
Morris teaches (see Fig. 4-6) discharging the exhaust air from the heat transfer assembly to an exhaust stack (exhaust stack 504), the exhaust stack outputting the exhaust air.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the exhaust stack of Morris, in order to direct exhaust gas in operation and to control noise (¶[0067]).
Claim(s) 3, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romeo (CA2893087A) in view of Chong (US20150273419A1) and Morris (US20160177678A1), and Levey (US20150252250A1).
Regarding claim 3/16, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1/14, and Romeo does not teach the liquid is a mixture of water and at least one of glycol and a gelling agent.
Levey teaches the liquid is a mixture of water and at least one of glycol and a gelling agent (¶[0007-0008] & ¶[0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the glycol and/or gelling agent of Levey, in order to provide fluid loss control by increasing viscosity and/or to winterize the fluid (¶[0007-0008] & ¶[0118]).
Claim(s) 4-8, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romeo (CA2893087A) in view of Chong (US20150273419A1) and Morris (US20160177678A1), and Romocki (US20140026824A1).
Regarding claims 4-6, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Romeo does not teach the blender is disposed on a third transport, , wherein the third transport is a hydration transport, a blender transport, or a hydration-blender transport, wherein the first transport, the second transport, and the third transport are separate transports that are independently movable in a transportation mode.
Romocki teaches the blender is disposed on a third transport (see blender 41), wherein the third transport is a blender transport.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the blender transport of Romocki, in order to allow for portability (¶[0015]), and thereby providing, wherein the first transport, the second transport, and the third transport are separate transports that are independently movable in a transportation mode (as modified above).
Regarding claims 7, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Romeo does not teach performing a hydraulic fracturing operation by pumping the fracturing fluid from the blender into a wellbore with a frac pump disposed on a frac pump transport.
Morris further teaches performing a hydraulic fracturing operation by pumping the fracturing fluid from the blender into a wellbore with a frac pump disposed on a frac pump transport. (pumping vehicle – 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the frac pump transport of Morris, in order to provide a transportable high pressure pump (¶[0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Romeo does not teach the proppant includes one or more of sand, fracturing sand.
Romocki teaches the proppant includes one or more of sand, fracturing sand (sand - ¶[0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the sand of Romocki, in order to maximize production (¶[0029]).
Regarding claims 17, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Romeo does not the blender is disposed on a third transport, and wherein the first transport, the second transport, and the third transport are separate transports that are independently movable in a transportation mode.
Romocki teaches the blender is disposed on a third transport (see blender 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the blender transport of Romocki, in order to allow for portability (¶[0015]), and thereby providing, wherein the first transport, the second transport, and the third transport are separate transports that are independently movable in a transportation mode (as modified above).
Regarding claims 18, Romeo teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Romeo does not teach performing a frac pump transport for pressurizing the fracturing fluid received from the blender and pumping the pressurized fracturing fluid into a wellbore to perform a hydraulic fracturing operation.
Morris teaches a frac pump transport for pressurizing the fracturing fluid received from the blender and pumping the pressurized fracturing fluid into a wellbore to perform a hydraulic fracturing operation (pumping vehicle – 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Romeo to include the frac pump transport of Morris, in order to provide a transportable high-pressure pump (¶[0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach the newly claimed features of claims 1/14/20.
Examiner respectfully traverses this argument. As noted above, Romeo as modified teaches the limitations at issue.
The terminal disclaimer filed 8/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763