DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the entire claim is considered indefinite since it is repeating the amended claim language added to independent claim 1, Examiner recommends canceling this claim.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “the liquid pub unit” is unclear what the applicant is referring to since the limitation has insufficient antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizumi et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0228055) in view of Bonnin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,769,954).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshizumi et al. disclose a liquid pump unit (Figs. 1-21), comprising: a chassis (200) including a front panel (front 202), a bottom panel (210) defining an panel opening (212), and a back panel (back 202), the bottom panel (210) including a front side edge and a back side edge (Fig. 5-7 & 11-16), the front panel (front 202) perpendicularly extends from the front side edge (Fig. 11), the back panel (back 202) perpendicularly extends from the back side edge (Fig. 11), the front panel (front 202), the bottom panel (210), and the back panel (back 202) define an interior space (Fig. 11) therewithin; an electric pump (54) disposed within the interior space (Fig. 5) of the chassis (200) and having an inlet and an outlet (connected to hoses 61 & 62, Figs. 5-7); a first liquid connector (connectors illustrated on the back panel, Figs. 5-7) and a second liquid connector (connectors illustrated on the back panel, Figs. 5-7) mounted on the back panel (back 202) of the chassis (200); a pipe system (61 & 62) fluidly coupled between the pump outlet and second liquid connector (Figs. 5-7); an access panel (220) removably coupled to the panel opening (212), but lacks disclosure of a filter assembly fluidly coupled between the pump inlet and the first liquid connector.
Bonnin et al. teach a liquid pump unit (Figs. 1-2) comprising a chassis (35a) defining an interior space (Fig. 2), a pump assembly (22a) within the interior space connected to a connector system (50a & 51a) mounted on a rear panel (37a, Fig. 2), and a filter assembly (32a) fluidly coupled between the pump inlet (Fig. 2) and a liquid connector (Column 7 lines 19-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump unit of Yoshizumi et al. with a filter as taught by Bonnin et al. for the advantage of minimizing a pressure loss and protecting the pump from any potential debris (Column 7 lines 19-24),
Regarding claim 14, Yoshizumi et al. disclose the liquid pump unit (Figs. 1-21), wherein the panel opening (212) is positioned (directly next to the pump where the filter would be) to enable direct user access to the filter assembly (modified above).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshizumi et al. disclose the liquid pump unit (Figs. 1-21), further comprising a connector (multiple connectors illustrated capable of being an electrical connector, Figs. 1-21) mounted on the back panel (Figs. 1-21) and electrically connected (electrical pumps disclosed in paragraph 49) to the pump (54), but lacks clear disclosure of an electrical connector.
Bonnin et al. teach a liquid pump unit (Figs. 1-2) comprising a chassis (35a) defining an interior space (Fig. 2), a pump assembly (22a) within the interior space connected to a connector system (50a & 51a) mounted on a back panel (37a, Fig. 2), and an electrical connector (connected to 46a, Fig. 2) mounted on the back panel (Fig. 2) and electrically connected (Column 9 lines 1-3) to the pump (22a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a back panel connector of Yoshizumi et al. with an electrical connector as taught by Bonnin et al. since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of panel connectors that function in the same manner of connected a tube/pipe to a panel.
Regarding claim 17, Yoshizumi et al. disclose the liquid pump unit (Figs. 1-21), further comprising a plurality of mounting components (Figs. 5-7) coupled to the back panel (Figs. 5-7) and adapted to fasten the liquid pump unit (20).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizumi et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0228055) in view of Bonnin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,769,954), and further in view of Colling et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,941,300).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshizumi et al. modified above disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the filter assembly comprises: a filter body defining: a filter inlet connected to the first liquid connector; a filter outlet connected to the pump inlet; and a filter access opening; a liquid filter mounted within the filter body adapted to filter liquid flowing from the filter inlet to the filter outlet; and a cap removably covering the filter access opening, wherein the panel opening is positioned to enable direct user access to cap.
Colling et al. teach a liquid pump unit (Figs. 1-7) comprising a chassis (Fig. 1) having a panel (22) with a panel opening (104), a filter assembly (20) comprising a filter body (96) defining a filter inlet (34), filter outlet (36), and a filter access opening (102), wherein a liquid filter (98) is mounted in the filter body (96) via the filter access opening (102) with a cap (100) removably coupled (Column 4 lines 29-41) to the filter access opening (102), and wherein the panel opening (104) is positioned to enable direct user access (Column 4 lines 29-41) to the cap (100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pump unit of Yoshizumi et al. with a filter assembly as taught by Colling et al. for the advantage of allowing external access to a filter element for filter cleaning and changing (Column 4 lines 29-41).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753