DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reddy et al. (US 20250102660 A1, hereinafter Reddy).
Claim 1: Reddy teaches A processing method for sensing measurement (Fig. 11, [0120-0130]), comprising:
Receiving (Fig. 11, [0124], UE 1102 may report some or all of the determined position information to other UE, and/or the server 400 and/or network entity) , by a first device (Fig.11, element AD 1103, server 400, [0120], The AD source 1103 may be a network entity such as the TRP 600 or another UE, Fig. 3, [0096], TRP 300 in combination with one or more other devices, e.g., one or more other TRPs 300 and/or the server 400, or by one or more devices other than the TRP 300 that received the signal(s) from the UE 200), a first sensing measurement result (Fig. 11, element 1152), wherein the first sensing measurement result is sent by a third device (Fig. 11, element UE 1102) based on a target sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1141, “ranging signal” is reading as “sensing signal”),
the target sensing signal is generated by a second device based on a sensing measurement encryption requirement (Fig. 12, element 1210, 1230, 1240, [0127-0130], disclose using the encryption input information to produce an encrypted ranging signal, and encryption input information including information for determining the
encryption key), and the target sensing signal is used for a target sensing task (Fig. 12, element 1230, 1240, [0129-0130], using the encrypted ranging signal in the ranging session for ranging between the first UE and the second UE, For example, the first UE 1101 may send the ranging signal 1141 to the second UE 1102 and/or the second UE 1102 may send the ranging signal 1142 to the first UE 1101, the first UE 1101 may determine, and possibly report, position information based on transmission of the ranging signal 1141 and/or reception and measurement of the ranging signal 1142);
and obtaining, by the first device, a target sensing (Fig. 11, element 1141) measurement result based on the first sensing measurement result and the target sensing signal (Fig. 11, [0124], Either of the UEs 1101, 1102 may use the position information received from the other UE 1101, 1102 to determine, and possibly report position information to the other of the UEs 1101, 1102 and/or to the server 400 and/or other network entity.).
Claim 8: Reddy teaches A processing method for sensing measurement, comprising: generating, by a second device (Fig. 11, element UE 1101), a target sensing signal (Fig. 11, element ranging signal 1141) based on a sensing measurement encryption requirement ([0123], The ranging signals 1141, 1142 may change over time, e.g., by varying the plaintext and/or the encryption key and regenerating the STS. [0130], using the encrypted ranging signal in the ranging session for ranging between the first UE and the second UE, the first UE 1101 may send the ranging signal 1141 to the second UE 1102);
and sending, by the second device, the target sensing signal, wherein the target sensing signal is used for a target sensing task (Fig. 11, Fig. 12, [0123-0124], The first UE 1101 may transmit a ranging signal 1141, ranging signal including the generated STS to the second UE 1102, at sub-stage 1152 the ranging unit 560 of the second UE 1102 may measure the received ranging signal 1141, e.g., to determine position information, e.g., ToA, AoA, etc.).
Claim 16: Reddy teaches A processing method for sensing measurement, comprising: receiving, by a third device (Fig. 11, element UE 1102), a target sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1141), wherein the target sensing signal is generated by a second device (Fig. 11, element UE 1101) based on a sensing measurement encryption requirement ([0123], The ranging signals 1141, 1142 may change over time, e.g., by varying the plaintext and/or the encryption key and regenerating the STS, [0130], using the encrypted ranging signal in the ranging session for ranging between the first UE and the second UE, the first UE 1101 may send the ranging signal 1141 to the second UE 1102), and the target sensing signal is used for a target sensing task (Fig. 11, Fig. 12, [0123-0124], The first UE 1101 may transmit a ranging signal 1141, ranging signal including the generated STS to the second UE 1102, at sub-stage 1152 the ranging unit 560 of the second UE 1102 may measure the received ranging signal 1141, e.g., to determine position information, e.g., ToA, AoA, etc).
Claim 4: Reddy teaches the processing method according to claim 1, wherein before the receiving, by the first device, the first sensing measurement result, the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, first information to the second device (Fig. 11, element 1111, Fig. 12, element 1210), wherein the first information is used to indicate the sensing measurement encryption requirement ([0127], At stage 1210, the method 1200 includes receiving, at a first UE from a first entity, encryption input information, [0122], The ranging units 560 of the UEs 1101, 1102 generate the same secure time sequence STS from the same plaintext and encryption key, e.g., using an encryption key obtained at stage 1120).
Claim 13 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 8 and Claim 4.
Claim 5: Reddy teaches the processing method according to claim 4, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: a manner of generating the target sensing signal (Fig. 12, element 1230, 1240, [0129-0130], using the encryption input information to produce an encrypted ranging signal. For example, at stage 1131 the ranging unit 560 of the UE 1101 uses information from the AD 1111 to produce the STS , e.g., from the plaintext and the provided or derived encryption key, and using the encrypted ranging signal in the ranging session for ranging between the first UE and the second UE.); an encryption requirement identifier, wherein the encryption requirement identifier is used to indicate whether to perform encryption on a first sensing signal(alternative); a sensing measurement result that needs to be encrypted (alternative); information of a sensing measurement node which is prohibited from obtaining or allowed to obtain a valid sensing measurement result (alternative); time information of the sensing measurement node which is prohibited from obtaining or allowed to obtain the valid sensing measurement result (alternative); or information of a position at which obtaining of the valid sensing information is prohibited or allowed (alternative).
Claim 14 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 8 and Claim 5.
Claim 6: Reddy teaches the processing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
sending, by the first device, second information to the third device (Fig. 13, element 1320), wherein the second information comprises a manner of generating a third sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1131, 1132, [0135], a ranging indication indicating that the encryption input information is for producing an encrypted ranging signal for ranging, the AD 1111, 1112 may indicate that the AD 1111, 1112 is for use in producing an STS for ranging, [0116], he UE 911 may indicate a strategy to determine an encryption key), and the third sensing signal is used by the third device to detect the target sensing signal to obtain second channel information (Fig. 11, element 1151, [0099], Channel estimation sequences may be transferred between devices and measured to determine a channel estimation. For example, a SYNC and/or an secure time sequence STS may be used for channel estimation, with the SYNC used for acquisition, preamble detection, and time and frequency synchronization, and the STS providing security enhancements relative to the SYNC, and thus used for channel estimation when security and integrity are desired, [0122], At stage 1130, a secure STS is generated by both of the UEs 1101,
1102. At sub-stages 1131, 1132, the ranging units 560 of the UEs 1101, 1102 may generate new encryption keys based on information received/agreed to at stage 1120), and obtain a second sensing measurement result (Fig. 11, element 1151) based on the second channel information ([0136], “ the UE 911 may be the AD source 1103 and the AD 1111 may indicate that the AD 1111 is for use in producing an STS for use in ranging with the second UE 1102 (e.g., information in the AD 1111 is based on communication of the UE 911 with the second UE 1102) and/or the AD 1112 may indicate that the AD 1112 is for use in producing an STS for use in ranging with the first UE 1101 (e.g., information in the AD 1112 is based on communication of the UE 911 with the first UE 1101”);
receiving, by the first device, the second sensing measurement result ([0124], Either or both of the UEs 1101, 1102 may report some or all of the determined position information, e.g., to the other of the UEs 1101, 1102 and/or to the server 400 and/or other network entity.);
and obtaining, by the first device, the target sensing measurement result based on the second sensing measurement result, the target sensing signal, and the third sensing signal ([0124], Either of the UEs 1101, 1102 may use the position information received from the other UE 1101, 1102 to determine, and possibly report, further position information, e.g., range to the other UE 1101, 1102, position estimate for one or more of the UEs 1101,
1102, etc. to the server 400 and/or other network entity).
Claim 7: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the first device, second information to the third device (Fig. 13, element 1320), wherein the second information comprises a manner of generating a third sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1131, 1132, [0135], a ranging indication indicating that the encryption input information is for producing an encrypted ranging signal for ranging, the AD 1111, 1112 may indicate that the AD 1111, 1112 is for use in producing an STS for ranging), and the third sensing signal is used by the third device to detect the target sensing signal to obtain second channel information (Fig. 11, element 1151, [0099], Channel estimation sequences may be transferred between devices and measured to determine a channel estimation. For example, a SYNC and/or an secure time sequence STS may be used for channel estimation, with the SYNC used for acquisition, preamble detection, and time and frequency synchronization, and the STS providing security enhancements relative to the SYNC, and thus used for channel estimation when security and integrity are desired, [0122], At stage 1130, a secure STS is generated by both of the UEs 1101,
1102. At sub-stages 1131, 1132, the ranging units 560 of the UEs 1101, 1102 may generate new encryption keys based on information received/agreed to at stage 1120), and obtain a second sensing measurement result (Fig. 11, element 1151) based on the second channel information ([0136], “ the UE 911 may be the AD source 1103 and the AD 1111 may indicate that the AD 1111 is for use in producing an STS for use in ranging with the second UE 1102 (e.g., information in the AD 1111 is based on communication of the UE 911 with the second UE 1102) and/or the AD 1112 may indicate that the AD 1112 is for use in producing an STS for use in ranging with the first UE 1101 (e.g., information in the AD 1112 is based on communication of the UE 911 with the first UE 1101”);
receiving, by the first device, a third sensing measurement result (Fig. 11, element 1151), wherein the third sensing measurement result is obtained and sent by the second device based on the target sensing signal and the second sensing measurement result ([0124], Either or both of the UEs 1101, 1102 may report some or all of the determined position information to other network entity, and or server 400.);
and obtaining, by the first device, the target sensing measurement result based on the third sensing measurement result and the third sensing signal ([0124], at sub-stage 1151 the ranging unit 560 of the first UE 1101 may measure the received ranging signal 1142, e.g., to determine position information, e.g., ToA, AoA, etc.).
Claim 9: Reddy teaches the processing method according to claim 8, wherein the sensing measurement encryption requirement comprises at least one of the following: performing a first encryption process on a first sensing signal, to obtain the target sensing signal (alternative); or using a second sensing signal as the target sensing signal, wherein a third device is configured to receive the target sensing signal (Fig. 12, [0123-0124], The first UE 1101 may transmit a ranging signal 1141, ranging signal including the generated STS to the second UE 1102, at sub-stage 1152 the ranging unit 560 of the second UE 1102 may measure the received ranging signal 1141, e.g., to determine position information, e.g., ToA, AoA, etc.).
Claim 10: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 9, further comprising: generating, by the second device(Fig. 11, element UE 1101), a first encrypted signal (Fig. 11, element STS 1131), wherein the first encrypted signal is used to perform phase rotation on the first sensing signal, wherein the performing the first encryption process on the first sensing signal, to obtain the target sensing signal comprises: performing phase rotation on the first sensing signal by using the first encrypted signal, to obtain the target sensing signal ([0100-0101], An STS may be generated using a Deterministic Random Bit Generator (DRBG)., two communicating devices may implicitly perform key derivation, also called key rotation to generate a new encryption key, key derivation function KDF provides a secure technique for generating a new key and is performed by both the transmitter and receiver devices so that the new key is known to both devices. Wherein key rotation is performing the similar as phase rotation, [0122], a secure STS is generated by both of the UEs 1101, 1102. The ranging units 560 of the UEs 1101, 1102 generate the same STS from the same plaintext and encryption key, e.g., using an encryption key obtained at stage
1120. The obtained STS is known only to the UEs 1101, 1102 and thus provides for secure ranging between the UEs 1101, 1102).
Claim 11: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 10, wherein each time-domain position of the first sensing signal corresponds to one first encrypted signal, and each of the first encrypted signals comprises m elements, wherein a plurality of time-domain positions correspond to a same first encrypted signal, and the m elements of each first encrypted signal are not exactly the same (alternative); or the first encrypted signals corresponding to the plurality of time-domain positions are not exactly the same, and the m elements of each first encrypted signal are the same (alternative); or the first encrypted signals corresponding to the plurality of time-domain positions are not exactly the same, and the m elements of each first encrypted signal are not exactly the same ([0123], The first UE 1101 may transmit a ranging signal 1141 including the generated STS, to the second UE 1102 . The ranging signals 1141, 1142 may change over time, e.g., by varying the plaintext and/or the encryption key and regenerating the STS).
Claim 15: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 8, wherein after the sending, by the second device, the target sensing signal, the method further comprises: receiving, by the second device (Fig. 11, element UE 1101), a first sensing measurement result (Fig. 11, element 1152), wherein the first sensing measurement result is sent by a third device (Fig. 11, element UE 1102) based on the target sensing signal ([0124], at sub-stage 1152 the ranging unit 560 of the second UE 1102 may measure the received ranging signal 1141. Either or both of the UEs 1101, 1102 may report some or all of the determined position information, e.g., to the other of the UEs 1101, 1102); and obtaining, by the second device, a target sensing measurement result based on the first sensing measurement result and the target sensing signal ([0124], Either of the UEs 1101, 1102 may use the position information received from the other UE 1101, 1102 to determine, and possibly report, further position information. [0130], the first UE 1101 may determine, and possibly report, position information based on transmission of the ranging signal 1141
and/or reception and measurement of the ranging signal 1142).
Claim 17: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 16, further comprising: generating, by the third device, a first sensing measurement result based on the target sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1152, [0124], at sub-stage 1152 the ranging unit 560 of the second UE 1102 may measure the received ranging signal 1141 to determine position information, e.g., ToA, AoA, etc.); and sending, by the third device, the first sensing measurement result ([0124], Either or both of the UEs 1101, 1102 may report some or all of the determined position information, e.g., to the other of the UEs 1101,
1102 and/or to the server 400 and/or other network entity).
Claim 18: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 17, wherein the sensing measurement encryption requirement is to perform a first encryption process on a first sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1131) , and the generating, by the third device, the first sensing measurement result (Fig. 11, element 1152) based on the target sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1141) comprises: detecting, by the third device, the target sensing signal based on the first sensing signal to obtain first channel information ([0124], at sub-stage 1152 the ranging unit 560 of the second UE 1102 may measure the received ranging signal 1141
to determine position information, e.g., ToA, AoA, etc.), and using information related to the first channel information as the first sensing measurement result ([0123-0124], The first UE 1101 may transmit a ranging signal 1141, the ranging signal including the generated STS to the second UE 1102. The ranging signals 1141, 1142 may change over time, e.g., by varying the plaintext and/or the encryption key and regenerating the STS. At sub-stage 1152 the ranging unit 560 of the second UE 1102 may measure the received ranging signal 1141); or the sensing measurement encryption requirement is to use a second sensing signal unknown to the third device as the target sensing signal, and the generating, by the third device, the first sensing measurement result based on the target sensing signal comprises: using, by the third device, information related to the received target sensing signal as the first sensing measurement result (alternative).
Claim 19: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 16, further comprising: receiving, by the third device (Fig. 11, element UE 1102), second information from a first device (Fig. 13, element 1320), wherein the second information comprises a manner of generating a third sensing signal (Fig. 11, element 1131, 1132, [0135], a ranging indication indicating that the encryption input information is for producing an encrypted ranging signal for ranging, the AD 1111, 1112 may indicate that the AD 1111, 1112 is for use in producing an STS for ranging);
detecting, by the third device, the target sensing signal based on the third sensing signal to obtain second channel information (Fig. 11, element 1151, [0099], Channel estimation sequences may be transferred between devices and measured to determine a channel estimation. For example, a SYNC and/or an secure time sequence STS may be used for channel estimation, with the SYNC used for acquisition, preamble detection, and time and frequency synchronization, and the STS providing security enhancements relative to the SYNC, and thus used for channel estimation when security and integrity are desired, [0122], At stage 1130, a secure STS is generated by both of the UEs 1101, 1102. At sub-stages 1131, 1132, the ranging units 560 of the UEs 1101, 1102 may generate new
encryption keys based on information received/agreed to at stage 1120);
and obtaining, by the third device, a second sensing measurement result (Fig. 11, element 1151) based on the second channel information ([0136], “ the UE 911 may be the AD source 1103 and the AD 1111 may indicate that the AD 1111 is for use in producing an STS for use in ranging with the second UE 1102 (e.g., information in the AD 1111 is based on communication of the UE 911 with the second UE 1102) and/or the AD 1112 may indicate that the AD 1112 is for use in producing an STS for use in ranging with the first UE 1101 (e.g., information in the AD 1112 is based on communication of the UE 911 with the first UE 1101”, [0130], the first UE 1101 may determine, and possibly report, position information based on transmission of the ranging signal 1141 and/or reception and measurement of the ranging signal 1142), and sending the second sensing measurement result ([0124], Either or both of the UEs 1101, 1102 may report some or all of the determined position information, e.g., to the other of the UEs 1101, 1102 and/or to the server 400 and/or other network entity).
Claim 20: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 16, wherein before the receiving, by the third device, the target sensing signal, the method further comprises: receiving, by the third device, indication information, wherein the indication information is used to indicate that the target sensing signal is a sensing signal generated based on the sensing measurement encryption requirement (Fig. 13, element 1310, 1320, [0132-0136], an encryption message comprising encryption input information, including encryption
key, information for deriving the encryption key, a ranging indication indicating that the encryption input information is for producing an encrypted ranging signal for ranging, transmitting the STS to the second UE 1102 and/or receiving and measuring the STS from the second UE 1102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al. (US 20250102660 A1, hereinafter Reddy) in view of Du et al. (US 20220159426 A1, hereinafter Du).
Claim 2: Reddy does not explicitly teach the processing method according to claim 1, wherein the target sensing measurement result is a measurement result obtained by measuring a sensing measurement quantity, and the sensing measurement quantity comprises measured quantities at one or more grades.
Du, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the target sensing measurement result is a measurement result obtained by measuring a sensing measurement quantity, and the sensing measurement quantity comprises measured quantities at one or more grades (Fig. 3, element S306, [0150-0151], a sensing result corresponding to the target detection may include one or more pieces of information of a speed, a range, a position, an angle, the range-Doppler and/or time-Doppler).
Reddy and Du are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Reddy and the features of the sensing measurement quantity comprising measured quantities at one or more grades as taught by Du, for the benefit for allowing the first device may determine the action and/or behavior of the to-be-detected target, for example, walking, falling, waving an arm, breathing, or heart beating (paragraph [0151]).
Claim 3: The combination of Reddy and Du teaches The processing method according to claim 2, wherein the sensing measurement quantity comprises at least one of a first-grade measured quantity, a second-grade measured quantity, a third-grade measured quantity, or a fourth-grade measured quantity, wherein the first-grade measured quantity comprises at least one of the following: a complex result, an amplitude or a phase, or an I channel or a Q channel of a received signal or a channel response (alternative); the second-grade measured quantity comprises at least one of the following: a delay, Doppler, an angle, or an intensity (Du, [0150-0151], a sensing result corresponding to the target detection may include one or more pieces of information of a speed, a range, a position, an angle, the range-Doppler and/or time-Doppler ); the third-grade measured quantity comprises at least one of the following: a range, a velocity, an orientation, a position, or an acceleration (Reddy, [0124], Either of the UEs 1101, 1102 may use the position information received from the other UE 1101, 1102 to determine, and possibly report position information, e.g., range to the other UE 1101, 1102, position estimate for one or more of the UEs 1101, 1102, etc.); or the fourth-grade measured quantity comprises at least one of the following: whether a target exists, a trajectory, an action, an expression, a vital sign, a quantity, an imaging result, weather, air quality, a shape, a material, or a component (alternative).
Claim 12: Reddy teaches The processing method according to claim 8, wherein before the sending, by the second device, the target sensing signal, the method further comprises: sending, by the second device (Fig. 11, element UE 1101), indication information (Fig. 11, element 1122) to a third device (Fig. 11, element UE 1102), wherein the indication information is used to indicate that the target sensing signal is a sensing signal generated based on the sensing measurement encryption requirement ([0121], “ As part of the unicast discovery process, the UEs 1101, 1102 may agree to common data and unique data as part of a plaintext/encryption key combination … The UEs 1101, 1102 may agree to information by having one of the UEs 1101, 1102 transmit the information to the other of the UEs 1101, 1102”).
However, Reddy does not explicitly teach the third device is configured to receive the target sensing signal.
Du, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the third device is configured to receive the target sensing signal (Fig. 3, element S302, [0088], “The announcement frame is used to indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using a sensing signal, and to indicate a sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task.”).
Reddy and Du are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Reddy and the features of the second device configuring the third device to receive the target sensing signal, as taught by Du, for the benefit for allowing the third device to perform sensing task based on different sensing signals which configured by the second device (paragraph [0097]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. The closest prior art reference is Oscar et al. (US 20230388840 A1, hereinafter Oscar), which describes a system for wireless sensing measurement and reporting.
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472