DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 33’, 33’A, and 33’B.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rail array forming a ring around the longitudinal axis must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 should include a line indentation where each new step is recited; 37 CFR 1.75(i).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the dominant directional component case, does not reasonably provide enablement for the right-angle plane case. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim 2 recites the device displaceable in a direction at an angle between 90° and 60°/75° relative the longitudinal axis. This would render a dominant directional component in the radial direction, per claim 1. However, claim 2 does not specify that it is only provided for the dominant component case, and the claim must be enabled for each case provided by claim 1. Claim 1 also recites the option of displacement in a plane oriented at a right angle relative to the longitudinal axis. Displacement at an angle between 90° and 60°/75° (e.g. 80°) would not provide for displacement at a right angle (i.e. 90°). Accordingly, it would require undue experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to make or use the device to have a right-angle displacement and an angled displacement simultaneously.
Likewise, claim 8 recites the rail array forming a ring around the longitudinal axis. This would indicate a revolving mass, rather than a radially displaced mass, and would contract the radial requirement of the dominant component of the second case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Argemi Samso et al. (US 2022/0017242).
Argemi Samso discloses a method for controlling a propulsion stage comprising:
modifying a position of the center of mass by displacing at least one current storage device to adjust flight attitude ([0026]).
Note: the claim does not adequately “breathe life” into the preamble recitation of the “stage according to claim 1”, as the method step is substantially generic to CG displacement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argemi Samso et al. (‘242) in view of Kiesewetter (EP 3 594 113).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 9 (and 10 in the alternative):
Argemi Samso discloses a launch rocket propulsion stage comprising:
a rocket body (10);
at least one recoil propulsion unit (11) substantially parallel the longitudinal axis (Fig 3);
a plurality of rotor assemblies (18), each drivable by an electric rotor drive ([0052]) including at least one electric motor (inherent to operate the electric fans) electrically connect toe at least one current storage device ([0059]).
Argemi Samso discloses a rotor-propelled craft with a displaceable storage device for stability and orientation control ([0026]), but does not disclose displacement in a plane oriented at a right angle to the longitudinal.
Kiesewetter teaches a rotor-propelled craft comprising a battery arrangement (generally 20, etc.) that is displaceable at a right angle (transversely) to the longitudinal (vertical) (as seen in Figs 2A-B and 9), to provide proper balance control for stability ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Argemi Samso to use a right-angled displacement as taught by Kiesewetter as this is a predictable manner for providing proper balance control for stability of the craft.
Regarding claim 2:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
The claim refers to an alternative embodiment to that provided, and is anticipated by Argemi Samso as optional.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 7:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Argemi Samso as modified renders a radial rail array (Kiesewetter, 52) and drive and control devices (necessary for operation, but also provided by Kiesewetter, 100 and implied by 210, respectively).
Regarding claim 6:
The discussion above regarding claim 5 is relied upon.
Argemi Samso discloses the control device as part of a flight attitude control device of the stage/rocket (as it permits attitude control, [0026], it is considered a component thereof).
Regarding clam 8:
The discussion above regarding claim 3 is relied upon.
Argemi Samso discloses a radial displacement arrangement, but does not disclose a ring rail.
In the absence of any stated problems solved by or any stated advantage obtained by having a certain feature as claimed in the instant invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Argemi Samso to use a ring rail for the predictable advantage of increasing the central interior space for fuel tanks, etc., and since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619