DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 06/28/2026 has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tow hitch of claims 11 and 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). (Drawbar ring 3 is claimed separately from the tow hitch in claim 11, suggesting that the tow hitch is a different element from the drawbar ring.)
Also, wherein the engine guard folds down while in use and folds up for transport and storage to minimize footprint of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Also, wherein the hinge of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract recites in part “no-contact aircraft engine intake shield that is cover and suitable for use”. This is grammatically incorrect.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the embodiment" in the 12th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 11, the 11th line refers to a stabilizer not introduced until line 14.
Claim 11 recites in part “a traffic reflector provided for ease of visibility particular in dark conditions;”. This is grammatically incorrect.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the embodiment" in the 7th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “soft” and “strong” in claim 11 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “soft” and “strong” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 12 recites in part “sufficiently large so as to span enough of the intake of a jet aircraft”. It is unclear as to how much of an intake is “enough”.
Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG Pub US 2017/0009485 – Gentry et al., hereinafter Gentry.
Regarding claim 12.
Gentry discloses a mobile shield (12, fig to protect ground personnel from being ingested into the intake of a running engine (Examiner notes that this is intended use language, and the shield of Gentry can, without modification, perform the use, as claimed.), comprising:
a rigid, semi-rigid, or soft goods screen (27, fig 8) which is configured to be perpendicular (see fig 7) to the ground (46, fig 7) so as to cover an aircraft engine (intended use) and a stabilizer (13, fig 4) which stabilizes the screen in position (See fig 7), wherein the screen and stabilizer can connect at a hinge (20, fig 4) which allows the stabilizer to pivot up and out of the way to reduce the footprint of the embodiment for easier transport and storage (as in fig 3) and wherein the screen is sufficiently large so as to span enough of the intake of a jet aircraft (Examiner notes that jet aircraft intakes come in various sizes, and that the scale of the barrier of Gentry is sufficient to cover intakes of smaller jet engines, particularly those of model aircraft. See fig 1);
a supporting arm (28, fig 4) used to brace the stabilizer when in the stationary configuration (See fig 7) and configured to be removed or articulated out of the way in the mobile configuration (See fig 3);
wheels (42, fig 6) attached to the underside of the screen and stabilizer, spaced sufficiently apart so as to provide adequate stability while in both the stationary and mobile configurations (See fig 8); and
a tow hitch (47, fig 6) extending from the front of the screen (extending laterally from the front of the screen, as in fig 9) configured to allow for transport using other airport equipment (Paragraph [0060]; Coupling means 47 has proven very versatile in allowing the movement of a plurality of interconnected fence units 12 together, for example, using a tow vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gentry in view of PG Pub US 2023/0265711 – Cooper and US Pat 1,893,547 – Graham.
Regarding claim 11.
Gentry discloses a mobile shield (12, fig 8) to protect ground personnel from being ingested into the intake of a running engine (Examiner notes that this is intended use language, and the shield of Gentry can, without modification, perform the use, as claimed.), comprising:
a screen frame (21, fig 8);
a net (27, fig 8);
a cushion (33, fig 6) made of a soft foam material configured to protect persons from injury on contact (Paragraph [0047]; Another form of protection is provided by cylindrically shaped padding 33, encircling top portion 22 of peripheral frame 21. This would be useful in preventing injury);
a drawbar ring (44, fig 5) provided for ease of manipulation (clip 44 meets a broadest reasonable interpretation of drawbar ring, as it is provided for coupling element 43, which meets a BRI of drawbar, locking it in position to extend the casters for ease of manipulation.);
a handle (43, fig 8) configured to be used for fine positioning by hand (See fig 8);
a quick release pin (See fig 11) enabling easy folding and unfolding (See fig 4);
collapsible arms (28, fig 4) extending between the screen (19, fig 4) and stabilizer (13, fig 4) when the shield is deployed configured to be used for reinforcement and fixating the embodiment when unfolded (See fig 5);
a base stabilizer (13, fig 5) configured to increase stability in an unfolded state (See fig 5) and give support to the structure;
casters (42, fig 6) with brakes (retracted state, as in fig 7) to fix the embodiment in place (See fig 7);
a hinge (at 29 in fig 4) with a vertical axis (the hinge axis has a vertical component. See fig 4), allowing the arm (28, fig 4) to fold to the side (See fig 4);
wherein the arms (28, fig 4) are made from a single piece without a joint in the middle (See fig 4);
wherein the engine guard (12, fig 6) folds down while in use (as in fig 7) and folds up for transport (as in fig 6) and storage to minimize footprint; and
a tow hitch (47, fig 9) extending from the front of the screen (extending laterally from the front of the screen, as in fig 9) configured to allow for transport using other airport equipment (Paragraph [0060]; Coupling means 47 has proven very versatile in allowing the movement of a plurality of interconnected fence units 12 together, for example, using a tow vehicle)
Gentry does not disclose a soft and strong textile material;
a traffic reflector provided for ease of visibility particular in dark conditions;
an elastic rope connecting the net and screen frame, with elasticity reducing impact force;
However, Cooper teaches a soft and strong textile material (Paragraph [0028]; In an exemplary embodiment, the pest/debris infiltration prevention device may be made or fabricated as follows. the mesh/net may be made by using industrial sewing machines and techniques.); and
an elastic rope (18, fig 3) connecting the net (14, fig 3) and screen frame (16, fig 3), with elasticity reducing impact force (paragraph [0027]; the elastic cord 18 may act as an elastic/spring allows for the upper portion of the netting 14 to rotate in the direction of travel);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shield of Gentry with the net and rope of Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the risk of injury due to impact of a person with the guard.
Also, Graham teaches a traffic reflector (28, fig 4) provided for ease of visibility particular in dark conditions (Page 3, lines 18-24; The signal may indicate from the front, rear or any other position, for instance, where a truck carries a trailer, the rear signal or additional rear signal could be placed at the rear and in a position suitable for visibility on the trailer, though perhaps only a temporary position for the time being.);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modify the shield of Gentry with the traffic reflector of Graham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of enhancing visibility of the shield during periods of limited visibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/Johnnie A. Shablack/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634