DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action in response to U.S. application 18/942,746. All claims are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pinch detection unit” in claims 1 and 2 and “obstacle detection unit” in claims 1 and 3.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Based on [0031] the obstacle detection unit will be interpreted as a camera or radar and based on [0035] the pinch detection unit will be interpreted as being implemented with the electronic control unit (ECU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machii (US 20220290480).
Regarding claim 7, Machii teaches a control method for a seat device for a vehicle (seat control device 1 as described in [0031] as being installed in a vehicle), wherein the seat device has an electric device configured to move a seat of the vehicle ([0031] discusses an electric seat system configured to perform sliding movements via a motor), and the control method for the seat device for the vehicle comprises:
detecting a pinched obstacle by detecting a load change of the electric device when the seat moves ([0036]-[0037] discuss detecting a pinched obstacle based on a change in the motor current (load) over a time period);
detecting whether the obstacle exists in a moving direction of the seat ([0036]-[0037] discuss detecting an object is pinched by the seat while the seat moves where it is interpreted that detecting an object is pinched as the seat moves will detect whether the obstacle exists in a moving direction with [0037]-[0038] further discussing determining that a pinching event has occurred and was not erroneously determined based on the current difference); and
reducing a pinch load on the obstacle caused by the seat when the obstacle exists ([0056] discusses stopping and reversing the seat movement (reducing the pinch load) based on the pinch detection).
Regarding claim 8, Machii teaches determining that the obstacle is pinched when the load change of the electric device exceeds a predetermined determination threshold, wherein the predetermined determination threshold of a pinch detection unit is reduced when the obstacle exists compared to when the obstacle does not exist ([0036]-[0039] discuss determining that an object is pinched based on the current change exceeding a predetermined threshold value where the threshold when the obstacle does not exist can be considered infinite because the system has determined that it was an error based on the fluctuation of the current and therefore it cannot meet the threshold value; therefore the threshold for when the object exists is reduced).
Regarding claim 9, Machii teaches wherein when it is detected that the obstacle exists, a moving speed of the seat is reduced compared to when the obstacle does not exist ([0056] discusses stopping and reversing the seat movement (reducing the pinch load) based on the pinch detection where the stop and reverse movement is considered reduced based on the object being detected and when the object is not detected the seat will continue moving forward).
Regarding claim 10, Machii teaches wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion ([0061] discusses the seat comprising a seat portion and a backrest portion).
Regarding claim 11, Machii teaches wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion ([0061] discusses the seat comprising a seat portion and a backrest portion).
Regarding claim 12, Machii teaches wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion ([0061] discusses the seat comprising a seat portion and a backrest portion).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 of this application are patentably indistinct from claims 1-12 of U.S. Application 18/977,988. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-12 rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Application 18/977,988 (herein referred to as ‘988). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. As shown in the table below claim 1 is rejected by ‘308’s claims 1, 3, and 5.
Claim
This Application’s Claim
‘988 Claims
1
A seat device for a vehicle, comprising: an electric device, configured to move a seat of the vehicle;
1. A seat device for a vehicle, comprising: an electric device for moving a seat of the vehicle;
1
a pinch detection unit, detecting a pinched obstacle by detecting a load change of the electric device when the seat moves;
1. a pinch detection part detecting an obstacle being pinched by detecting a load change of the electric device when the seat is moved;
1
an obstacle detection unit, detecting whether the obstacle exists in a moving direction of the seat;
1. an obstacle detection part classifying the obstacle in a moving direction of the seat;
1
and a control unit, reducing a pinch load on the obstacle caused by the seat when the obstacle exists.
1. and a control part controlling the electric device according to a classification of the obstacle.
‘988’s claim 1 is the same as the present application’s claim 1 except that in the present application the obstacle detection unit merely detects whether the obstacle exists and controls the movement of the seat based on the obstacle existing, while ‘988’s claim 1 classifies the detected obstacle and controls the movement based on the classification of the obstacle. It would be obvious to classify the obstacle to determine in what action the seat should take to make the system more versatile. It then follows that this application’s claim 1 would be broader, and with the obviousness statement to include classifying the object in ‘988, this would be obviousness double patenting.
For the same reasons, the following table shows which claims from ‘988 correspond to this application’s 2-6. Claim 2 cites the pinch being detected based on the load change exceeding a predetermined threshold. This corresponds to claim 1 of ‘988 which detects a pinch based on the load change where it would be obvious that the load change would be compared to a threshold to make the pinch determination.
2
wherein the pinch detection unit is configured to determine that the obstacle is pinched when the load change of the electric device exceeds a predetermined determination threshold, and the control unit reduces the predetermined determination threshold of the pinch detection unit when the obstacle exists compared to when the obstacle does not exist.
1. a pinch detection part detecting an obstacle being pinched by detecting a load change of the electric device when the seat is moved;
3
wherein when the obstacle detection unit detects that the obstacle exists, the control unit reduces a moving speed of the seat compared to when the obstacle does not exist.
3. wherein, in response to the pinch detection part detecting a pinching of the obstacle, the control part makes the seat perform a reversal movement via the electric device, and the control part changes a reversal movement amount via the classification of the obstacle after the obstacle is pinched.
4
wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion.
4. wherein, the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion part and a seat back part.
5
wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion.
4. wherein, the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion part and a seat back part.
6
wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion.
4. wherein, the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion part and a seat back part.
As shown in the table below claim 7 is rejected by ‘988’s claim 7.
7
A control method for a seat device for a vehicle, wherein the seat device has an electric device configured to move a seat of the vehicle, and the control method for the seat device for the vehicle comprises:
7. A control method of a seat device for a vehicle, wherein the seat device has an electric device for moving a seat of the vehicle, the method comprising:
7
detecting a pinched obstacle by detecting a load change of the electric device when the seat moves;
7. detecting an obstacle being pinched by detecting a load change of the electric device when the seat is moved;
7
detecting whether the obstacle exists in a moving direction of the seat;
7. classifying the obstacle in a moving direction of the seat;
7
and reducing a pinch load on the obstacle caused by the seat when the obstacle exists.
7. and controlling the electric device according to a classification of the obstacle.
‘988’s claim 7 is the same as the present application’s claim 7 except that in the present application the obstacle detection unit merely detects whether the obstacle exists and controls the movement of the seat based on the obstacle existing, while ‘988’s claim 7 classifies the detected obstacle and controls the movement based on the classification of the obstacle. It would be obvious to classify the obstacle to determine in what action the seat should take to make the system more versatile. It then follows that this application’s claim 7 would be broader, and with the obviousness statement to include classifying the object in ‘988, this would be obviousness double patenting.
For the same reasons, the following table shows which claims from ‘988 correspond to this application’s 8-12. Claim 8 cites the pinch being detected based on the load change exceeding a predetermined threshold. This corresponds to claim 7 of ‘988 which detects a pinch based on the load change where it would be obvious that the load change would be compared to a threshold to make the pinch determination.
8
determining that the obstacle is pinched when the load change of the electric device exceeds a predetermined determination threshold, wherein the predetermined determination threshold of a pinch detection unit is reduced when the obstacle exists compared to when the obstacle does not exist.
7. detecting an obstacle being pinched by detecting a load change of the electric device when the seat is moved;
9
wherein when it is detected that the obstacle exists, a moving speed of the seat is reduced compared to when the obstacle does not exist.
9. making the seat perform a reversal movement via the electric device in response to the pinch detection part detecting a pinching of the obstacle; and changing a reversal movement amount after the obstacle is pinched via the classification of the obstacle.
10
wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion.
10. wherein, the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion part and a seat back part.
11
wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion.
10. wherein, the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion part and a seat back part.
12
wherein the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion portion and a seat back portion.
10. wherein, the seat of the vehicle further comprises a seat cushion part and a seat back part.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ozawa (US 20230234477) and Imai (US 20230219464) teach detecting a seat pinch condition based on a change in current; Kim (US 20190152346) teaches a radar sensor being used to prevent a seat from pinching an occupant of the vehicle.
/D.M.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3657 /ABBY LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657