Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 15, 17, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richter (US 2020/0245960).
As to claim 1, Richter discloses a method for lesion region identification, implemented on a computing device having at least one processor and at least one storage device (para. 0382), the method comprising:
identifying a target region corresponding to at least one reference organ from a first medical image of a target subject (para. 0011, 0036);
determining, based on the target region, a reference threshold used for lesion detection (para. 0036); and
identifying, based on the reference threshold, a lesion region from the first medical image (para. 0036).
As to claim 2, Richter discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifying a target region corresponding to at least one reference organ from a first medical image of a target subject includes: generating a segmentation image of the at least one reference organ by segmenting the at least one reference organ from a second medical image of the target subject, the second medical image being acquired using a second imaging modality different from a first imaging modality corresponding to the first medical image (para. 0036), 0063); and identifying the target region from the first medical image based on the segmentation image (para. 0036, 0063).
As to claim 3, Richter discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifying a target region corresponding to at least one reference organ from a first medical image of a target subject includes: identifying the target region from the first medical image by inputting the first medical image into a reference organ segmentation model, the reference organ segmentation model being a trained machine learning model (para. 0200 , 0208-0211, 00306).
As to claim 7, Richter discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, based on the lesion region, a lesion distribution image (Fig. 4, para. 0207); obtaining at least one reference segmentation image, the at least one reference segmentation image including at least one of a first segmentation image of organs of the target subject or a second segmentation image of body parts of the target subject (para. 0206, 0208),and determining, based on the lesion distribution image and the at least one reference segmentation image, position information of the lesion region in the target subject (para. 0285).
As to claim 8, Richter discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the position information includes at least one of: which organ or body part that the lesion region belongs to, a location, a contour, a shape, a height, a width, a thickness, an area, a volume, or a ratio of height to width of the lesion region in the target subject (para. 0207).
As to claim 9, Richter discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the obtaining at least one reference segmentation image includes at least one of: generating the first segmentation image by segmenting the organs of the target subject from a second medical image of the target subject (para. 0207-0208, 0285); or generating the second segmentation image by segmenting the body parts of the target subject from a third medical image of the target subject (para. 0207-0208, 0285).
As to claims 15, 17, 23, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter (US 2020/0245960) in view of TAMAL [“Intensity Threshold Based Solid Tumour Segmentation Method for Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Images: A review”].
As to claim 4, Richter discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the target region, a reference threshold used for lesion detection includes: identifying, from the first medical image, a second target region corresponding to one or more normal organs (para. 0225-20227, 0234)
Richter does not disclose determining, based on the first medical image and the second target region, a comparison coefficient; and determining, based on the target region and the comparison coefficient, the reference threshold.
TAMAL teaches determining, based on the first medical image and the second target region, a comparison coefficient (Section 3. Fixed threshold and 4. Adaptive threshold; Equations 5-7); and determining, based on the target region and the comparison coefficient, the reference threshold (Section 3. Fixed threshold and 4. Adaptive threshold; Equations 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate TAMAL’s teachings into Richter since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and improve performance.
As to claims 24, the claim recites features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, claim 4 is rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
8. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter (US 2020/0245960) in view of SAKAUE (US 2015/0294445).
Richter does not disclose generating a report based on the position information of the lesion region in the target subject, the report including text descriptions regarding the position information.
SAKAUE teaches generating a report based on the position information of the lesion region in the target subject, the report including text descriptions regarding the position information (para. 0106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SAKAUE’s teachings into Richter since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and improve medical assessment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10-13, 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art discloses the claim limitations discussed above, but fails to disclose the combined features required each of dependent claims 5-6, 10-13, 25-26.
Conclusion
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668