DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 11 November 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to argument
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 9-11, filed on 01 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 7, 13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument, “Thus, Global PWM/PFM Controller of Singh generates V ctrl based on Load Current (or the resulting Vout), and Control State Machine thereafter generates phase shifted versions of the control signal V ctr 1. It may be appreciated that the Load Current (and Vout) is the result of operation of several Phases together. The use of such voltage/load current in Singh cannot be reasonably equated to the claimed use of magnitudes of individual inductor currents of corresponding power stages for determining the frequency of phase control signals.”, examiner respectfully disagrees because Singh cited magnitudes of individual inductor currents in “Fig. 2 Proposed imbalanced multi-phase buck converter, i.e. all phases have different inductor, switching frequency, controller, and load current share”. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments regarding the claims 1,7,13 are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 11-12, filed on 01 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 2 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument, “Figure 1 of Singh depicts each Phase connecting to Control State-Machine. However, it is disclosed in Section II on Page 929 that, "At intermediate and heavy loads, the Control State Machine activates more phases based on the load and ensures equal current distribution among the phases by observing the current in each phase and skipping switching cycles as needed." Thus, the Control State-Machine of Singh is disclosed to observe current in each phase merely for ensuring equal current distribution among the phases. Such an operation cannot be equated to the claimed determination of the frequency (of phase control signals of power stages) as an optimal frequency at which the power stages operate with optimal power efficiency.”, examiner respectfully disagrees because Singh also cited in paragraph II; “Pulse Frequency Modulation (PFM) control is employed to scale the switching losses with the load to maintain high efficiency”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the examiner understands words cited in paragraph II means PFM operates with an optimal frequency at which the power stages operate with optimal power efficiency. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments regarding the claim 2 are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 11-12, filed on 01 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 3 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument, “The First Non-Final Office Action relies on the first paragraph of Section IV.A on page# 2921 of Costa in rejecting previously examined claim 3. However, it is respectfully noted that the disclosure there merely explains that the PWM modulator performance is sought to be increased "in terms of maximum switching frequency, duty-cycle precision, and area consumption." There is simply no disclosure or suggestion that maximum switching frequency is employed in the claimed conditions.”, costa cited in paragraph IV; “This configuration is used in the modern digital control of SMPSs to increase the PWM modulator performances in terms of maximum switching frequency, duty-cycle precision, and area consumption.” Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the examiner understands words cited in paragraph IV means controller determined and used maximum switching frequency for increased PWM modulator performance. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments regarding the claim 3 are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,4,13,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manmeet Singh et. al (2019 IEEE 62nd International Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems; hereafter “Singh”).
-Regarding claim 1:
Singh discloses:
A multi-phase switching converter (Fig. 1) to provide a regulated supply voltage from an input voltage (Fig. 1; Vin), said multi-phase switching converter comprising: a plurality of power stages (Fig. 1; Phase(1)..(n)), each power stage to drive a corresponding inductor (Fig. 1; L(1)…) to cause flow of a corresponding inductor-current according to a respective phase control signal (Fig. 1; Ctrl), wherein said corresponding inductor-currents from each of said plurality of power stages together constitute a load-current of said multi-phase switching converter (Fig. 1; Each inductor current constitutes load-current to Vout.); and a phase controller to identify respective magnitude of each inductor-current of corresponding power stage of said plurality of power stages (Fig. 2; Proposed imbalanced multi-phase buck converter, i.e. all phases have different inductor, switching frequency, controller, and load current share. local current mode controller coupled with inductor current/I(1), Fig. 3, table I, and paragraph IV; “Based on the 1-µH inductor’s saturation current in table I, this approach needs 12 phases to support 12-A maximum load and yields the best efficiency up to 0.7-A,”), and to determine a frequency of said phase control signals based on the identified magnitudes of said inductor-currents (Fig. 1; Global PWM/PFM controller determines a frequency based on inductor current at node Vout. , Fig. 2; Proposed imbalanced multi-phase buck converter, i.e. all phases have different inductor, switching frequency, controller, and load current share.), and to generate said phase control signals with said frequency.
-Regarding claim 13:
Singh discloses:
A phase controller for generating phase control signals (Fig. 1; Ctrl) in a multi-phase switching converter (Fig. 1), said phase controller to: receive magnitudes of corresponding inductor-currents (Fig. 1; currents through L(1)…) from a plurality of power stages (Fig. 1; Phase(1)..(n)) of said multi-phase switching converter, wherein said corresponding inductor-currents (Fig. 1; currents through L(1)…) from said plurality of power stages together constitute a load-current of said multi-phase switching converter (Fig. 1; Each inductor current constitutes load-current to Vout.); determine, based on said magnitudes of said corresponding inductor-currents, a frequency at which said phase control signals are to be generated (Fig. 1; Global PWM/PFM controller determines a frequency based on inductor current at node Vout.); and generate said phase control signals with said determined frequency and provide said phase control signals to said plurality of power stages.
-Regarding claim 2:
Singh discloses:
The multi-phase switching converter of claim 1, wherein each power stage of said plurality of power stages sends information on the corresponding inductor-current to said phase controller (Fig. 1; Control State-Machine receives inductor current information from each power stage.) to enable said phase controller to identify said magnitudes (Fig. 2; local current mode controller coupled with inductor current/I(1), Fig. 3, table I, and paragraph IV; “Based on the 1-µH inductor’s saturation current in table I, this approach needs 12 phases to support 12-A maximum load and yields the best efficiency up to 0.7-A,”), wherein said phase controller determines said frequency as an optimal frequency at which said plurality of power stages operate with optimal power efficiency (paragraph II; “Pulse Frequency Modulation (PFM) control is employed to scale the switching losses with the load to maintain high efficiency”).
-Regarding claim 14:
Singh discloses:
The phase controller of claim 13, wherein each power stage of said plurality of power stages sends information on the corresponding inductor-current to said phase controller (Fig. 1; Control State-Machine receives inductor current information from each power stage.), wherein said frequency is determined as an optimal frequency at which said plurality of power stages operate with optimal power efficiency (paragraph II; “Pulse Frequency Modulation (PFM) control is employed to scale the switching losses with the load to maintain high efficiency”).
-Regarding claim 4:
Singh discloses:
The multi-phase switching converter of claim 3, wherein said phase controller generates said phase control signals with said frequency and a duty-cycle determined by at least the magnitude of said regulated supply voltage (Fig. 1; Global PWM/PFM controller generates frequency and duty cycle based on regulated supply voltage-load voltage Vout.) and the magnitude of said input voltage (I would say that it is common to use input voltage as in reference papers I attached.).
Claims 3, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manmeet Singh et. al (2019 IEEE 62nd International Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems) as applied to claims 2,14 above, and further in view of A. Costabeber et.al (2009 35th Annual Conference of IEEE Industrial Electronics; hereafter “Costa”).
-Regarding claim 3:
Singh discloses:
The multi-phase switching converter of claim 2, wherein said phase controller is designed to select said frequency from among a set of frequencies at which said plurality of power stages are operable at (Fig. 2; Proposed imbalanced multi-phase buck converter, i.e. all phases have different inductor, switching frequency, controller, and load current share., paragraph III; “the imbalanced multi-phase design shown in Fig. 2 with “n” phases is proposed. Unlike balanced designs, each phase has its own inductor, switching frequency, and local current-mode controller,”).
However, Singh does not disclose frequency determination at each situation in multi-phase switching converter.
Costa, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The multi-phase switching converter of claim 2, phase controller determines said frequency to be a maximum frequency among said set of frequencies in a first duration (paragraph IV; “This configuration is used in the modern digital control of SMPSs to increase the PWM modulator performances in terms of maximum switching frequency, duty-cycle precision, and area consumption.”) if at least one of a higher phase-count-demand, undershoot and over-current is detected, wherein said higher phase count demand refers to a condition wherein a load-current drawn from a rail in a period requires a higher number of power stages to be in active mode than in an immediately preceding period, wherein said undershoot is a decrease in magnitude of said regulated supply voltage wherein said magnitude of said regulated supply voltage falls below an allowed lower limit for said regulated supply voltage, and wherein said over-current is a condition wherein inductor-current corresponding to a power stage is in excess of a maximum limit (I would say that three types of above action are well-known to be related with the performance of PWM controller, and the increasing of PWM performance is well-within the skill of the person of ordinary skill in the art. I would then come up with a motivation to choose the increasing of PWM performance and give that as the rationale.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Singh such that a commonly used PWM performance control technique described in Costa is applied to the multi-phase switching converter. Doing so allows for improving the efficiency of the multi-phase switching converter.
-Regarding claim 15:
Singh discloses:
The multi-phase switching converter of claim 2, wherein said phase controller is designed to select said frequency from among a set of frequencies at which said plurality of power stages are operable at (Fig. 2, paragraph III; “the imbalanced multi-phase design shown in Fig. 2 with “n” phases is proposed. Unlike balanced designs, each phase has its own inductor, switching frequency, and local current-mode controller,”).
However, Singh does not disclose frequency determination at each situation in multi-phase switching converter.
Costa, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The phase controller of claim 14, determine said frequency to be a maximum frequency among said set of frequencies in a first duration (paragraph IV; “This configuration is used in the modern digital control of SMPSs to increase the PWM modulator performances in terms of maximum switching frequency, duty-cycle precision, and area consumption.”) if at least one of a higher phase-count-demand, undershoot and over-current is detected, wherein said higher phase count demand refers to a condition wherein a load-current drawn from a rail of said multi-phase switching converter in a period requires a higher number of power stages to be in active mode than in an immediately preceding period, wherein said undershoot is a decrease in magnitude of a regulated supply voltage provided by a multi-phase switching converter, wherein said magnitude of said regulated supply voltage falls below an allowed lower limit for said regulated supply voltage, and wherein said over-current is a condition wherein inductor-current corresponding to a power stage is in excess of a maximum limit (I would say that three types of above action are well-known to be related with the performance of PWM controller, and the increasing of PWM performance is well-within the skill of the person of ordinary skill in the art. I would then come up with a motivation to choose the increasing of PWM performance and give that as the rationale.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Singh such that a commonly used PWM performance control technique described in Costa is applied to the multi-phase switching converter. Doing so allows for improving the efficiency of the multi-phase switching converter.
-Regarding claim 16:
Singh discloses:
The phase controller of claim 15, wherein said phase controller to generate said phase control signals with said frequency and a duty-cycle determined by at least the magnitude of said regulated supply voltage (Fig. 1; Global PWM/PFM controller generates frequency and duty cycle based on regulated supply voltage-load voltage Vout.) and the magnitude of said input voltage (I would say that it is common to use input voltage as in reference papers I attached.).
Claims 5 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manmeet Singh et. al (2019 IEEE 62nd International Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems) as applied to claims 4,16 above, and further in view of Yu-Ping Huang et.al (2011 IEEE International Symposium of Circuits and Systems; hereafter “Yu”).
-Regarding claim 5:
However, Singh does not disclose a phase controller in multi-phase switching converter.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The multi-phase switching converter of claim 4, wherein each of said plurality of power stages generates a current-sense signal representing a magnitude of said corresponding inductor current (Fig. 2; current sense signal to current sensor signal from each power stage), wherein said phase controller comprises: a telemetry block to receive said current-sense signals and generate digital values (Fig. 2; current sensor doing this job) representing said magnitudes; a frequency determination block coupled to receive said digital values and to output said frequency (Fig. 2; PWM generator and COMP, I would say that it is common to use PWM/PFM for frequency determination as in reference papers I attached.); and a control block coupled to receive said frequency, and to generate said phase control signals with said frequency and said duty-cycle (Fig. 2; PWM generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Singh and Costa such that a commonly used phase controller described in Yu is applied to the multi-phase switching converter. Doing so allows for improving the efficiency of the multi-phase switching converter.
-Regarding claim 17:
Singh discloses:
The phase controller of claim 16, wherein each of said plurality of power stages generates a current-sense signal representing a magnitude of said corresponding inductor-current (Fig. 2; local current mode controller coupled with inductor current/I(1), Fig. 3, table I, and paragraph IV; “Based on the 1-µH inductor’s saturation current in table I, this approach needs 12 phases to support 12-A maximum load and yields the best efficiency up to 0.7-A,”) , wherein said
However, Singh does not disclose a phase controller in multi-phase switching converter.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The phase controller of claim 16a telemetry block to receive said current-sense signals and generate digital values representing said magnitudes (Fig. 2; current sensor doing this job); a frequency determination block coupled to receive said digital values and to output said frequency (Fig. 2; PWM generator and COMP, I would say that it is common to use PWM/PFM for frequency determination as in reference papers I attached.); and a control block coupled to receive said frequency, and to generate said phase control signals with said frequency and said duty-cycle (Fig. 2; PWM generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Singh and Costa such that a commonly used phase controller described in Yu is applied to the multi-phase switching converter. Doing so allows for improving the efficiency of the multi-phase switching converter.
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manmeet Singh et. al (2019 IEEE 62nd International Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems), A. Costabeber et.al (2009 35th Annual Conference of IEEE Industrial Electronics), and Yu-Ping Huang et.al (2011 IEEE International Symposium of Circuits and Systems) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of D. Neumayr et.al (2017 IEEE 3rd International Future Energy Electronics Conference and ECCE Asia ; hereafter “Neumayr”).
-Regarding claim 6:
However, Singh, Costa, and Yu do not disclose a look-up table in multi-phase switching converter.
Neumayr, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The multi-phase switching converter of claim 5, wherein said frequency determination block comprises a look-up table (LUT) which maps each combination of different combinations of magnitudes of said inductor-currents to corresponding frequency of said set of frequencies as said optimal frequency (Fig. 8 a and b), wherein said frequency is determined by examining said LUT.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Singh, Costa and Yu such that a commonly used look-up table described in Neumayr is applied to the multi-phase switching converter. Doing so allows for improving the efficiency of the multi-phase switching converter.
-Regarding claim 18:
However, Singh, Costa, and Yu do not disclose a phase controller in multi-phase switching converter.
Neumayr, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The phase controller of claim 17, wherein said frequency determination block comprises a look-up table (LUT) which maps each combination of different combinations of magnitudes of said inductor-currents to corresponding frequency of said set of frequencies as said optimal frequency (Fig. 8 a and b), wherein said frequency is determined by examining said LUT.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Singh, Costa and Yu such that a commonly used look-up table described in Neumayr is applied to the multi-phase switching converter. Doing so allows for improving the efficiency of the multi-phase switching converter.
-Regarding claim 7-12:
For method claims 7-12, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device “1 inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 UPSQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore, the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEUNG HO CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838