DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the shape of the membrane resembles an annulus”, the membrane is disposed perpendicularly in relation to the axis, and the first end includes a membrane configured to flexibly embrace a cannula and form a fluid-tight connection with the cannula when the cannula is inserted into the first end. This recitation raises the question: Is the membrane recites in line 5 same as the membrane recited in line 3?
In claim 14 is the cannula recited in line 4same as the cannula recited in claim 10 lines 5 and 6 from which claim 14 is depending.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the one or more guide channels" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
claim 23 ends in “… while the cannula and ventricular assist device remain connected to”. The claim is left hanging at the end of the limitation and it is unclear as to what the cannula and the ventricular assist device are connected to in this recitation.
The dependent claims inherit the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duenas (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2009/0270809 A1, hereinafter “Duenas”).
Regarding claim 1, Duenas teaches a purge device (i.e. disposable purging device (“DIP”), e.g. 300 Fig.3, 608, 610 Fig. 6A, [0059]-[0060],[0068], [0069], Fig. 7) for a ventricular assist device (e.g. 602 Fig. 6A), the ventricular assist device (i.e. VAD e.g. 602 Fig. 6A) including an internal pumping chamber and a cannula connector (i.e. inflow and outflow connectors e.g. 604, 606 Fig.6A, [0069]), the purge device comprising:
a purge device body (e.g. 302 Fig.3, [0060]) defining a first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3, [0061]) configured to receive a cannula,
a second open end (e.g. 306 Fig.3, [0061]) configured to connect to a ventricular assist device, and
an inner cavity disposed between the first open end and the second open end, the inner cavity configured to hold fluid when the second open end is connected to a ventricular assist device (e.g. [0061] Fig.3 shows an inner cavity between the end 304 and 306); and
wherein when the second open end (e.g. 306 Fig.3, [0061]) is connected to a ventricular assist device the inner cavity is in fluidic communication with the internal pumping chamber of the ventricular assist device, and
the inner cavity is configured to guide a cannula received in the first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3, [0061]) to the cannula connector of a ventricular assist device to which the cannula is to be connected.
Regarding claim 2, Duenas further teaches one or more sealable openings (e.g. 320,322,326 Fig.3, [0062]) configured to permit fluid to enter into the purge device and for bubbles to exit the purge device while the purge device is connected to the ventricular assist device and the cannula.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Duenas further teaches the purge device body includes a membrane (e.g. 308 Fig.3, [0063]), the membrane defining an aperture (e.g. [0063]: opening in the semi-closed flexible ring 308) configured to embrace and form a fluid tight seal with a cannula inserted through the membrane aperture (e.g. [0063]: opening is also sufficiently snug around the surface of the cannula to seal) and wherein the membrane is adjacent the first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3), the membrane includes an aperture (i.e. opening), and the membrane is disposed perpendicularly to an axis extending from the first open end to the second open end and is configured to flexibly embrace a cannula inserted through the membrane aperture (e.g. [0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Duenas teaches that the inner surface of the purge device defines one or more elongated guide members, wherein the one or more elongated guide members extend into the inner cavity and embrace a cannula inserted into the purge device (e.g. 324a Fig.3 Note: the 324a is an elongated flap that extends into the inner cavity and embraces the cannula and cannula therefore is considered as a guide member).
Regarding claim 6, Duenas teaches the purge device is configured to permit visual identification of bubbles within the purge device by a user (e.g. [0061]: device body 302 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 is transparent).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Duenas teaches the inner cavity of the purge device body is defined by a wall, and the purge device body includes a weakened portion (i.e. detachment section (e.g. 324 Fig.3, [0060], [0065]) wherein the weakened portion defines a lengthwise groove extending from the first open end to the second open end and configured to facilitate removal of the purge device body from a connected VAD and cannula while the VAD and the cannula remain connected to one another by separating the wall of the purge device body at the weakened portion.
Regarding claim 9, Duenas wherein the purge (e.g. 300 Fig.3) device defines an axis extending from the first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3) to the second open end (e.g. 306 Fig.3), the purge device further comprising:
one or more sealable openings (e.g. 320,322,326 Fig.3, [0060]) configured to permit fluid to enter into the purge device and for bubbles to exit the purge device while the purge device is connected to the ventricular assist device and the cannula; and
an annular membrane (e.g. 308 Fig.3, [0060]) adjacent the first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3), the annular membrane disposed perpendicularly to the axis and defining an aperture configured to flexibly embrace and form a fluid tight seal with a cannula inserted through the membrane aperture (e.g. [0063]);
the purge device is configured to permit visual identification of bubbles within the purge device by a user (e.g. [0061]: device body 302 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 is transparent),
the purge device body includes a weakened portion extending from the first open end to the second open end and configured to facilitate removal of the purge device body from a connected VAD and cannula while the VAD and the cannula remain connected to one another by separating the wall of the purge device body at the weakened portion (e.g. 324 Fig.3, [0060], [0065]).
Duenas teaches wherein the inner cavity of the purge device body is defined by a wall as seen in Fig.3 and also teaches the inner wall defines one or more elongated guide members, the one or more elongated guide members extending into the inner cavity and embrace a cannula inserted into the purge device(e.g. 324a Fig.3 Note: the 324a is an elongated flap that extends into the inner cavity and embraces the cannula and cannula therefore is considered as a guide member).
Regarding claim 10, Duenas teaches a purge device (i.e. disposable purging device (“DIP”), e.g. 300 Fig.3, 608, 610 Fig. 6A, [0059]-[0060],[0068], [0069], Fig. 7) for a ventricular assist device (e.g. 602 Fig. 6A), comprising:
a purge device body defining an internal chamber, an exterior, e.g. 302 Fig.3, [0060]), a first end (e.g. 304 Fig.3, [0061]), and a second end (e.g. 306 Fig.3, [0061]), wherein the internal chamber is in fluidic communication with the first end and the second end, the first end is configured to connect to a cannula (e.g. 304 Fig.3, [0061]),
the second end configured to connect to a ventricular assist device, and the internal chamber is configured to be in fluidic communication with a pumping chamber of a ventricular assist device when the second end is connected to the ventricular assist device (e.g. 306 Fig.3, [0061]); and
a port (i.e. external conduit, e.g. 322 Fig.3, [0060]) in fluidic communication with the internal chamber and the exterior of the purge device, the port configured to allow passage of gas, fluid, or gas and fluid between the internal chamber and the exterior of the purge device body (e.g. [0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Duenas teaches that the first end (e.g. 304 Fig.3) is configured to receive a cannula within the first end (e.g. [0304]) and form a fluid-tight connection with the cannula (via the ring valve 308), and the second end ( e.g. 306 Fig. 3) is configured to receive a cannula connecting portion (e.g.706 Fig.7, 3000 Fig. 30) of a ventricular assist device within the second end, and form a fluid tight seal with the cannula connecting portion of a ventricular assist device that is received within the second end.
Regarding claim 12, Duenas teaches the first end (e.g. 304 Fig.3) includes a membrane (e.g. 308 Fig.3) configured to flexibly embrace a cannula and form a fluid-tight connection with the cannula when the cannula is inserted into the first end, and wherein the purge device defines an axis extending from the first end (e.g. 304 Fig.3) to the second end (e.g. 306 Fig.3), the shape of the membrane resembles an annulus (e.g. [0060]), the membrane is disposed perpendicularly in relation to the axis.
Regarding claim 13, Duenas teaches the port is configured to form a fluid-tight seal with an external reservoir that increases, decreases, or increases and decreases the pressure within the external reservoir (e.g. Figs.25 B, C, [0084], Fig.32).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Duenas teaches the purge device is configured for removal from the cannula and the ventricular assist device while the cannula and the ventricular assist device remain connected to one another and that the purge device defines a weakened location extending between the first end and the second end of the purge device and configured to facilitate removal of the purge device from the cannula and the ventricular assist device (e.g. 324 Fig.3, [0060], [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 14 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duenas (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2009/0270809 A1, hereinafter “Duenas”) in view of Arslan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2019/0160212 A1, hereinafter “Arslan”).
Regarding claim 5, Duenas teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the inner surface of the purge device defining one or more elongated guide members, wherein the one or more elongated guide members extend into the inner cavity and embrace a cannula inserted into the purge device. (e.g. 324a Fig.3 Note: the 324a is an elongated flap that extends into the inner cavity and embraces the cannula and cannula therefore is considered as a guide member).
Duenas teaches the inner cavity of the purge device body is defined by a wall as seen in Fig.3 but does not specifically teach that the inner wall defines one or more elongated guide members, the one or more elongated guide members extending into the inner cavity and embrace a cannula inserted into the purge device. In a similar field of endeavor, Arslan teaches a tube (e.g. 14 Fig. 2) that comprises one or more guide members protruding from an inner surface into an internal chamber, the one or more guide members configured to hold a cannula away from the inner surface (e.g. Fig. 4 A, 5A comprises segments 17 that have ribs and grooves that hold a cannula13 away from an inner surface, [0065]: the above-described diameter D.sub.K corresponds therefore to the inner diameter of the segments 17, that is to say the diameter of the openings 18. A free gap 21, which can be formed at least in sections as an annular gap, is thus created between inner walls 19 of the segments 17, which in each case define the channel 15 radially and define the openings 18, and an outer surface 20 of the cannula 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Duenas with the grooves protruding from an inner surface into the internal chamber as taught by Arslan in order to provide the predictable results of reducing the risk that the cannula will become kinked or compressed or will be damaged.
Regarding claim 9, Duenas the purge (e.g. 300 Fig.3) device defines an axis extending from the first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3) to the second open end (e.g. 306 Fig.3), the purge device further comprising:
one or more sealable openings (e.g. 320,322,326 Fig.3, [0060]) configured to permit fluid to enter into the purge device and for bubbles to exit the purge device while the purge device is connected to the ventricular assist device and the cannula; and
an annular membrane (e.g. 308 Fig.3, [0060]) adjacent the first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3), the annular membrane disposed perpendicularly to the axis and defining an aperture configured to flexibly embrace and form a fluid tight seal with a cannula inserted through the membrane aperture (e.g. [0063]);
the purge device is configured to permit visual identification of bubbles within the purge device by a user (e.g. [0061]: device body 302 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 is transparent),
the purge device body includes a weakened portion extending from the first open end to the second open end and configured to facilitate removal of the purge device body from a connected VAD and cannula while the VAD and the cannula remain connected to one another by separating the wall of the purge device body at the weakened portion (e.g. 324 Fig.3, [0060], [0065]).
Duenas teaches the inner cavity of the purge device body is defined by a wall as seen in Fig.3 but does not specifically teach that the inner wall defines one or more elongated guide members, the one or more elongated guide members extending into the inner cavity and embrace a cannula inserted into the purge device. In a similar field of endeavor, Arslan teaches a tube (e.g. 14 Fig. 2) that comprises one or more guide members protruding from an inner surface into an internal chamber, the one or more guide members configured to hold a cannula away from the inner surface (e.g. Fig. 4 A, 5A comprises segments 17 that have ribs and grooves that hold a cannula13 away from an inner surface, [0065]: the above-described diameter D.sub.K corresponds therefore to the inner diameter of the segments 17, that is to say the diameter of the openings 18. A free gap 21, which can be formed at least in sections as an annular gap, is thus created between inner walls 19 of the segments 17, which in each case define the channel 15 radially and define the openings 18, and an outer surface 20 of the cannula 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Duenas with the grooves protruding from an inner surface into an internal chamber so that there is a gap between the annular and the inner surface as taught by Arslan in order to provide the predictable results of reducing the risk that the cannula will become kinked or compressed or will be damaged.
Regarding claim 14, Duenas teaches the purge device body (e.g. 302 Fig.3) includes an inner surface that at least partially defines the internal chamber (as seen in Fig.3), but does not teach one or more guide members protruding from the inner surface and configured to hold a cannula inserted into the first end of the purge device away from the inner surface of the purge device, and guide a cannula inserted into the first end of the purge device to connect to a cannula connecting portion of a ventricular assist device that has been inserted into the second end of the purge device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Arslan teaches in Fig. 4 A, 5A a tube comprising segments 17 that have ribs and grooves that hold a cannula13. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inner surface of the purge device body to have ribs and grooves as taught by the teachings of Arslan in order to provide the predictable results of reducing the risk that the cannula will become kinked or compressed or will be damaged.
Regarding claim 17, Duenas teaches the internal chamber is defined by an inner wall (as seen in Fig.3) and teaches the first end (e.g. 304 Fig. 3, [0061]) is configured to receive a cannula within the first end and form a fluid-tight connection with the cannula, the second end (e.g. 306 Fig.3, [0061]) is configured to receive within the second end a cannula connecting portion of a ventricular assist device and form a fluid tight seal with the cannula connecting portion of a ventricular assist device,
the purge device defines an axis extending from the first end to the second end, the first end includes an annular membrane configured to flexibly embrace a cannula and form a fluid-tight connection with the cannula when the cannula is inserted into the first end, the membrane being disposed perpendicularly to the axis (e.g. 308 Fig.3, [0063]),
the port is configured to form a fluid-tight seal with an external reservoir that increases, decreases, or increases and decreases the pressure within the external reservoir, and maintain a fluid-tight seal with the external reservoir as the pressure within the external reservoir is increased, decreased, or increased and decreased (e.g. [0064], Figs.25 B, C,32),
the purge device defines a weakened groove extending between the first end and the second end of the purge device, the weakened groove configured to facilitate removal of the purge device while the cannula and the cannula connector of the ventricular assist device remain connected to one another (e.g. 324 Fig.3, [0060]), and
the purge device body is translucent (e.g. [0061]) permits visual identification of bubbles within the purge device by a user.
Duenas does not specifically teach the purge device further comprising: one or more guide members extending from the inner wall into the internal chamber, the one or more guide members being configured to hold a cannula that has been inserted into the purge device away from the inner wall and guide the cannula to connect to a ventricular assist device that has been inserted into the second open end of the purge device;
In a similar field of endeavor, Arslan teaches a tube (e.g. 14 Fig. 2) that comprises one or more guide members protruding from an inner surface into an internal chamber, the one or more guide members configured to hold a cannula away from the inner surface (e.g. Fig. 4 A, 5A comprises segments 17 that have ribs and groves that hold a cannula away from an inner surface, [0065]: the above-described diameter D.sub.K corresponds therefore to the inner diameter of the segments 17, that is to say the diameter of the openings 18. A free gap 21, which can be formed at least in sections as an annular gap, is thus created between inner walls 19 of the segments 17, which in each case define the channel 15 radially and define the openings 18, and an outer surface 20 of the cannula 13). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Duenas with the one or more guide member segments protruding from an inner surface into an internal chamber so that there is a gap between the annular and the inner surface as taught by Arslan in order to provide the predictable results of reducing the risk that the cannula will become kinked or compressed or will be damaged.
Regarding claim 18, Duenas teaches a purge device (i.e. disposable purging device (“DIP”), e.g. 300 Fig.3, 608, 610 Fig. 6A, [0059]-[0060],[0068], [0069], Fig. 7) for a ventricular assist device (e.g. 602 Fig. 6A), comprising:
a first open end configured to receive a cannula within the first open end (e.g. 304 Fig.3, [0061]);
a second open end configured to receive a ventricular assist device within the second open end (e.g. 306 Fig.3, [0061]) and to form a fluid tight seal with the received ventricular assist device (e.g. [0074]);
an inner surface defining an internal chamber disposed between the first open end and the second open end, the internal chamber being in fluidic communication with the first open end and the second open end (e.g. [0062]-[0065]).
Duenas does not specifically teach one or more guide members protruding from the inner surface into the internal chamber, the one or more guide channels configured to hold the cannula away from the inner surface of the purge device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Arslan teaches a tube (e.g. 14 Fig. 2) that comprises one or more guide members protruding from an inner surface into an internal chamber, the one or more guide members configured to hold a cannula away from the inner surface (e.g. Fig. 4 A, 5A comprises segments 17 that have ribs and groves that hold a cannula away from an inner surface, [0065]: the above-described diameter D.sub.K corresponds therefore to the inner diameter of the segments 17, that is to say the diameter of the openings 18. A free gap 21, which can be formed at least in sections as an annular gap, is thus created between inner walls 19 of the segments 17, which in each case define the channel 15 radially and define the openings 18, and an outer surface 20 of the cannula 13). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Duenas with the one or more guide member segments protruding from an inner surface into an internal chamber so that there is a gap between the annular and the inner surface as taught by Arslan in order to provide the predictable results of reducing the risk that the cannula will become kinked or compressed or will be damaged.
Regarding claim 19, Duenas in view of Arslan teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Duenas further teaches that the purge device defines a purge device axis extending from the first open end to the second open end (as seen in Fig.3) and the one or more guide members are elongated and extend in a direction along the purge device axis (as taught by Duenas in view of Arslan, each of the segments comprising ribs and groves is elongated and extends along a horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 20, Duenas in view of Arslan teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Duenas further teaches a membrane (e.g. 308 Fig.3, [0063]), the positioned proximal to the first open end and extending into the internal chamber from the inner surface, wherein the membrane is configured to form a fluid tight seal with a cannula inserted into the purge device (e.g. [0063]: opening is also sufficiently snug around the surface of the cannula to seal).
Regarding claim 21, Duenas in view of Arslan teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Duenas further teaches a port positioned between the open first end and the open second end, the port being in fluidic communication with the internal chamber and the exterior of the purge device, the port configured to allow passage of gas, fluid, or gas and fluid between the internal chamber and the exterior of the purge device (e.g. 320,322,326 Fig.3, [0062]).
Regarding claim 22, Duenas in view of Arslan teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Duenas further teaches a groove extending from the first open end to the second open end, the groove providing a thin location where the purge 324
device may be separated for removal from the cannula and the ventricular assist device while the cannula and the ventricular assist device remain connected to one another (e.g. 324 Fig.3, [0060],[0065]-[0067]: seams).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duenas (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2009/0270809 A1, hereinafter “Duenas”) in view of Ott (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2004/0087986 A1, hereinafter “Ott”).
Regarding claim 23, Duenas teaches the purge device defines a purge device axis extending from the first open end to the second open end (as seen in Fig. 3), and
the purge device is translucent (e.g. [0061]) and configured to permit visual identification of bubbles within the purge device; and
wherein the purge device further comprises: a membrane positioned proximal to the first open end and extending into the internal chamber from the inner surface, wherein the membrane is configured to form a fluid tight seal with a cannula inserted into the purge device (e.g. 60 Fig.3, [0060]);
a port positioned between the open first end and the open second end, the port being in fluidic communication with the internal chamber and the exterior of the purge device, the port configured to allow passage of gas, fluid, or gas and fluid between the internal chamber and the exterior of the purge device (e.g.320,322,326 Fig.3, [0060]); and
a groove extending from the first open end to the second open end, the groove providing a thin location where the purge device may be separated for removal from the cannula and the ventricular assist device while the cannula and the ventricular assist device remain connected.
Duenas fails to teach that the at least one of the one or more guide members includes a ramp configured to assist the cannula with engaging at least one of the one or more guide members.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ott teaches a cannula (e.g. 7 Fig. 1) connected to a tube (e.g. 5 Fig. 1) that comprises an elongated guide member and includes a ramp (e.g. 4 Fig 1 comprises a ramped portion as seen in the figure) and extending in a direction along an axis and centering the cannula inserted into the tube 5 while holding the inserted cannula away from the inner surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Duenas to include a hose as taught by Ott in order to provide the predictable results of making a more secure connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Calderon et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2004/0242954 A1, hereinafter “Calderon”) teaches a ventricular assist device (e.g. Figs. 1-3).
Peters (U.S. Patent Number: US 6267754, hereinafter “Peters”) teaches couplings for a cannula (e.g. abstract).
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792