DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being 2022/0337580 A1 Montgomery et al. (hereinafter “Montgomery”).
Regarding claim 1, Montgomery discloses a system, comprising:
a verification service provider configured to, using one or more processors and
responsive to receiving, via a first wireless communications connection involving
a first entity, a request to verify an observed caller ID associated with a contacting
device, the contacting device connected to a wireless network: retrieve at least one digital certificate associated with the observed caller ID, the at least one digital certificate generated at least in part based on a telephone number associated with the contacting device (paragraphs [0027]- [0028], [0052]- [0054] and [0091]; initial request 234 may further comprise the phone number verification process identifier(s). In accordance with another embodiment, initial request 234 comprises a URI of relay server 238. In accordance with another embodiment, the phone number verification process identifier(s) and/or URI of relay server 238 are not included in initial request 234 and is provided separately to certificate authority 202, e.g., via another request); obtain a verification of the observed caller ID using the at least one digital certificate associated with the observed caller ID; perform a security determination based on the verification; and provide the security determination via a second wireless communications connection involving the first entity, wherein the first wireless communications connection is validated or invalidated based at least in
part on the security determination (Abstract, paragraphs [0027], [0109] and [0113]; Negative CLI verification is used by a call recipient to verify that incoming CLI is not correct or inaccurate. Negative CLI verification may be initiated when PNC application 714 of client 706B determines that no verification message(s) are pending in call recipient relay server 702 or, if verification messages are pending, the phone number specified by such messages does not match the phone number extracted from the CLI of the telephonic communication session initiated by caller 716).
Regarding claim 2, Montgomery discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the verification service provider is configured to receive the observed caller ID associated with the contacting device (paragraphs [0085] and [0091]; in positive CLI verification, the caller sends a message signed with its signed digital certificate to the call recipient).
Regarding claim 3, Montgomery discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the security determination is based at least in part on a policy (paragraphs [0029] and [0030]; security and privacy by allowing applications to remove centralized servers from these processes).
Regarding claim 4, Montgomery discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the security determination is based at least in part on execution of a rule (please see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 5, Montgomery discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the security determination is based at least in part on a timestamp associated with the call (paragraph [0095]; PNC application 414 may also compare the time of the communication sessions including in the CLI verification message(s) to the time at which client 406B receives the incoming phone call. If a determination is made that the phone numbers match and/or that the times are within a predetermined threshold then PNC application 414 of client 406B determines that the phone number specified by the incoming CLI is accurate).
Regarding claim 6, Montgomery discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the security determination is risk-based (Abstract and paragraph [0085]; determine whether the phone number is accurate using a process referred herein as positive CLI verification and determines whether the phone number is inaccurate using a process referred herein as negative CLI verification).
Regarding claim 7, Montgomery discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the security determination comprises a score indicating a validity of the telephone
number associated with the contacting device (paragraph [0091]; verification message 418 may further comprise an online certificate status protocol (OCSP) stapled response, which verifies the validity status of the signed digital certificate associated with client 406A).
Claims 8-14 are a method claims correspond to system claims 1-7. Therefore, claims 8-14 have been analyzed and rejected based on system claims 1-7.
Conclusion
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694