Double Patenting
Related applications 18/942,857 and 18/942,985 by the Applicant were considered for double patenting in relation to the current application. These similar applications contain unique claim limitations different enough from the present application such that there no double patenting rejections are necessary.
18/942,857 claims details of a lever mounted on the rigid support with a second axis of rotation and forming the driving finger different from the present application. 18/942,985
claims details for an intermediate state, initial relative position, a stressing ramp, and other functional limitations for assembly different from the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, it recites the limitation “at least each time the spring is loaded preceding a jump by the indicator and when the indicator is driven by the mechanism during said jump” and due to the punctuation and this limitation’s context within the claim it is not clear if this limitation is meant to modify the limitation preceding it, modify the limitation following, or if it is a dependent clause that is missing the independent clause of the limitation.
Claims 2-17 depend from claim 1 and are rejected therein.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites the limitation “a jump by the indicator occurs” and it is not clearly defined if this is the same limitation as “a jump by the indicator and when the indicator is driven by the mechanism during said jump” provided in claim 1 or a separate limitation. Either proper use of antecedent basis or a clear distinction between these limitation is required.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites the limitation “a loading of the spring preceding said jump has ended” and it is not clearly defined if this is the same limitation as “when said spring is loaded in order to be able to cause the indicator to subsequently jump” provided in claim 1 or a separate limitation. Either proper use of antecedent basis or a clear distinction between these limitation is required.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites the limitation “thus corresponds to a determined angular distance (α)” and it is not clearly defined what element or limitation is referred to as the object of “corresponds to”.
Regarding Claim 8, it recites the limitation “the contact point or contact zone of the recess” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim .
Regarding Claim 9, it recites the limitation “the direction of rotation of the wheel platform” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim .
Regarding Claim 10, it recites the limitation “the direction of rotation of the wheel platform” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim .
Regarding Claim 16, it recites the limitation “a horological movement according to claim 1” and because this does not properly use antecedent basis and recite the/said horological movement it is unclear if this is entirely the same as the horological movement introduced in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites the limitation “the watch” and there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites the limitation “a horological movement according to claim 2” and because this does not properly use antecedent basis and recite the/said horological movement it is unclear if this is entirely the same as the horological movement introduced in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saglini (US 20210157274 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Saglini discloses a horological movement [figs. 1-7] provided with an indicator (110) and comprising a mechanism (100) for driving said indicator in jumps [abstract], the mechanism comprising a wheel platform (1) defining an axis of rotation, a rigid part (7) arranged above the wheel platform and defining a driving finger (8) for driving the indicator, and a spring (3) formed by a first end (4), a coil (61) and a second end (6), the first end being attached to the wheel platform for rotation therewith [0028] and the second end being attached to the rigid part for rotation therewith [0029], at least each time the spring is loaded preceding a jump by the indicator and when the indicator is driven by the mechanism during said jump, the rigid part being rotatable relative to the wheel platform and rotatably guided about said axis of rotation by a shaft (21) passing through an opening (9) in said rigid part [fig. 5] and which allows the driving finger to retract towards the axis of rotation under the action of a radial component of a force exerted on said driving finger [0035]; wherein the mechanism is arranged in such a way that the spring contracts when said spring is loaded in order to be able to cause the indicator to subsequently jump [0024-0025]; and wherein an angular displacement of the second end of the spring, and thus of the driving finger, relative to the wheel platform, and thus to the first end of the spring, is limited, when the coil is contracted, by an angular stop (where coil 5 attaches to first end 4 forms a stop where it extends radially) attached to the wheel platform for rotation therewith [fig. 6] .
Regarding Claim 2, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 1, and further discloses that the indicator and the mechanism are arranged so that a jump by the indicator occurs, in normal operation, after said angular displacement has been stopped by the angular stop, once a loading of the spring preceding said jump has ended, and thus corresponds to a determined angular distance (α) [0035] [figs. 1-4].
Regarding Claim 3, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 2, and further discloses that the first end of the spring is connected to a central part (21) which is attached to the wheel platform for rotation therewith [fig. 5].
Regarding Claim 4, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 3, and further discloses that the mechanism comprises a central hub (2) defining the shaft which passes through said opening in the rigid part [fig. 5] and guides said rigid part rotatably and translatably (translation with oblong opening 9), with the wheel platform and the central part being attached to the central hub for rotation therewith [fig. 5] [0022].
Regarding Claim 5, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 2, and further discloses that the rigid part is formed by a plate (7), which extends above the spring [fig. 5] and wherein said opening is machined, and an axial wall arranged at the edge of said plate and which slopes down towards the wheel platform, at least a part of the axial wall and a part of the plate, which is stacked thereon, jointly forming the driving finger, which has a height (H) that extends at least from the underside of the spring to the upper surface of the plate [fig. 5].
Regarding Claim 6, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 5, and further discloses that the rigid part forms a drum-finger defining an interior space in which the spring is located [fig. 6].
Regarding Claim 7, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 5, and further discloses wherein the axial wall has a recess (76) with a lateral opening on the spring side [fig. 6]; and wherein the second end of the spring is extended by a member (heel of 6) [fig. 6] for coupling with the rigid part, said coupling member being configured so as to be able to penetrate at least partially into the recess through the lateral opening and thus allow the spring to apply a force couple to the rigid part and thus allow the driving finger to drive the indicator [fig. 6] [0031].
Regarding Claim 8, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 7, and further discloses that the recess and the coupling member are configured so that the contact point or contact zone of the recess, on which point or zone the spring force is exerted, via the coupling member, does not substantially vary when the spring is being loaded [fig. 6] [0029] (coupling member is loosely held in the recess but not so loose that it substantially varies).
Regarding Claim 9, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 7, and further discloses that the recess and the coupling member are configured such that the coupling member cannot substantially rotate about itself, in the direction of rotation of the wheel platform, when the spring is being loaded [fig. 6].
Regarding Claim 10, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 7, and further discloses that the recess has a lateral surface (either the front or rear lateral surface) oriented obliquely in the direction of rotation of the wheel platform, in which direction the indicator is intended to be driven, relative to a radial direction, in the spring loading configuration, passing through the centre of said lateral surface [fig. 6], and the coupling member has a lateral flank (either the front or rear lateral flank), facing the lateral surface, which is also inclined obliquely (shape of both front/rear lateral surfaces and the respective front/rear lateral flanks are matched), relative to said axis of rotation, in the same direction as the lateral surface and which bears at least partially against said lateral surface when the spring is being loaded and when the indicator is being driven to make the next jump [fig. 6].
Regarding Claim 11, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 7, and further discloses that the coupling member has a rear heel for blocking rotation of the coupling member about itself in said direction of rotation of the wheel platform [fig. 6] (coupling member has rear surface/heel that would contact the rear lateral surface of the recess).
Regarding Claim 12, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 1, and further discloses that the indicator is a minute indicator, hour indicator, date indicator (110), day indicator or month indicator, said indicator comprising a toothing (108) [fig. 7] [0035].
Regarding Claim 13, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 2, and further discloses that the indicator is a minute indicator, hour indicator, date indicator (110), day indicator or month indicator, said indicator comprising a toothing (108) [fig. 7] [0035].
Regarding Claim 14, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 12, and further discloses that the indicator is a date ring (110) comprising an internal toothing (108) [fig. 7] [0035].
Regarding Claim 15, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 13, and further discloses that the indicator is a date ring (110) comprising an internal toothing (108) [fig. 7] [0035].
Regarding Claim 16, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 1, and further discloses a watch (1000) comprising the horological movement according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17, Saglini discloses the horological movement according to claim 2, and further discloses the watch (1000) comprising a horological movement according to claim 2.
Citation of Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gabathuler et al. (US 7158448 B1) discloses a date mechanism comprises a calendar mobile, a driving mobile an instantaneous-jump cam, a finger kinematically connected to this cam in order to drive the calendar mobile, the driving finger is borne by a release member which is mounted pivotably about two axes, one of which is that of the driving mobile, this release member having an opening configured to allow an angular displacement about the second of these two axes, whereby the driving finger can be released from the toothing of the calendar ring while the calendar is corrected, and a return spring tends to rotate the driving finger about the second pivot axis in order to bring it to butt against an edge of the opening, a position in which the driving finger is engaged with the toothing of the calendar ring.
Fleury et al.(US 20190129362 A1) discloses a drive device for a horology calendar system, the drive device comprising a drive mobile for driving an element that is to be driven, notably a calendar element, the drive mobile being intended to be mounted so that it can rotate about an axis and comprising (a) a support; (b) a first flank for driving the element that is to be driven; and (c) a second flank arranged in such a way as to receive an action to retract the drive mobile, notably extending orthoradially or substantially orthoradially with respect to the axis; the mobile comprising a slide link connecting the second flank to the support.
Zaugg et al. (US 20190286058 A1) discloses a timepiece display mechanism including a barrel with a spring between the arbor of a first wheel set driven by a drive wheel set, and a drum carrying a peripheral snail cam traversed by a feeler controlling the periodic jump of a display member, this drum carrying an peripheral finger outside the trajectory of this feeler, this first wheel set including an eccentric crank pin permanently guiding a groove to control the periodic back and forth motions of a pivoting anchor piece, which includes, on either side of an anchor piece axis, a beak and a stop for stopping or releasing this finger depending on the angular position of this anchor piece, the angular travel of each finger between its release by this beak and return to abutment on this stop defining the jump duration.
Rudaz (US 20120057434 A1) discloses a device for displaying time periods comprises a display element, an indicator component, a drive component for driving the indicator component, an instantaneous-jump cam engaged with the drive component, a drive mobile for driving the cam and correction means for coming into direct engagement with the indicator component, a one-way connection device connects the drive mobile to the cam, the drive component is engaged with the cam by elastic return means and guidance means defining a degree of freedom of the drive component in order to allow the indicator component to move the drive component against the elastic return means when the latter occupies a position interfering with the movement of the indicator component by the correction means.
Conclusion
/KEVIN ANDREW JOHNSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831