DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20220201614 hereinafter Wang) in view of Seo et al. (US20220124623 hereinafter Seo).
Regarding claims 1 and 19. Wang teaches the method and apparatus for a terminal (fig. 9 and par. 0259, teaches a terminal for energy saving signal transmission, including a processor 901 and a memory 902), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (fig. 9 and pars. 0259-0262, teaches memory 902. Moreover, pars. 0286, teaches a computer-readable non-volatile storage medium including program codes); and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations (fig. 9 and pars. 0259-0262, teaches the processor 901 is configured to read and execute the program in the memory 902. Moreover, pars. 0286, teaches a computer-readable non-volatile storage medium including program codes) comprising:
acquiring, by the terminal, first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the base station sending and configuring a first energy saving signal for a terminal. Moreover, par. 0041, teaches the UE receiving the first energy saving signal), wherein the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs … monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation); and
performing, by the terminal, a first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the … monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the energy saving signal is used to determine whether to wake up the UE receiver to monitor the PDCCH in DRX ON, and can be regarded as an energy saving signal with the wake up function. Thus, the UE uses the first energy saving signal including the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation to perform monitoring the PDCCH in DRX ON. Par. 0006, teaches Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and Discontinuous Reception (DRX)),
wherein the first behavior comprises: … monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation) or a second behavior (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the first energy saving signal may include a second energy saving signal with sleep function. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and
the second behavior comprises at least one of the following: applying a first power saving mode (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the second energy saving signal may be a second energy saving signal with the sleep function to instruct the terminal to perform the sleep operation); suspending sending of a first content (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the second energy saving signal may be a second energy saving signal with the sleep function to instruct the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH and may turn off the radio frequency and most of the baseband modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance while in the sleep mode. Whereas the language “the UE may turn off the radio frequency modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance while in the sleep mode”, reads as the terminal suspends transmission of anything including sending of a first content); suspending receiving or monitoring of a second content (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the second energy saving signal may be a second energy saving signal with the sleep function to instruct the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH and may turn off the radio frequency and most of the baseband modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance while in the sleep mode. Whereas, the language “teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH” reads as suspending receiving or monitoring of a second content); turning on a first receiver (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wherein the first receiver is configured to receive the wake-up signal (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or entering a first sleep state (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the second energy saving signal may be a second energy saving signal with the sleep function to instruct the terminal to perform the sleep operation), wherein the terminal suspends transmission of a channel or signal in the sleep state (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the second energy saving signal may be a second energy saving signal with the sleep function to instruct the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH and may turn off the radio frequency and most of the baseband modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance while in the sleep mode. Whereas the language “the UE may turn off the radio frequency modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance while in the sleep mode”, reads as the terminal suspends transmission of a channel or signal in the sleep state).
However, although Wang teaches the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring; and performing, by the terminal, a first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring, wherein the first behavior comprises: wake-up signal monitoring or a second behavior.
Seo disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for wake-up signal monitoring, so Seo is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Seo teaches wherein the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring (par. 0241, teaches a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection may be configured for the UE. Wherein, par. 0230, teaches the network may configure the UE to frequently sleep or continuously perform monitoring on the scheduling information. Thus, the scheduling information containing PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection and sleep occasions reads as the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring. Par. 0208, teaches physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and par. 0233, teaches wake up signal (WUS)); and
performing, by the terminal, a first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring (par. 0242, teaches the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for WUS detection only on PDCCH monitoring occasion),
wherein the first behavior comprises: wake-up signal monitoring (par. 0241, teaches a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection may be configured for the UE. Wherein, par. 0230, teaches the network may configure the UE to frequently sleep or continuously perform monitoring on the scheduling information. Thus, the scheduling information contains PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection reads as the first behavior comprises: wake-up signal monitoring) or a second behavior (par. 0230, teaches the network may configure the UE to frequently sleep or continuously perform monitoring on the scheduling information. Thus, the scheduling information contains sleep occasions reads as the first behavior comprises a second behavior).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring; and performing, by the terminal, a first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring, wherein the first behavior comprises: wake-up signal monitoring or a second behavior, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Seo par. 0004)
Regarding claim 2. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches after acquiring, by the terminal, the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the terminal receiving only a second energy saving signal with the sleep function for the terminal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal with the sleep function instructs the terminal to perform the sleep operation), the monitoring method further comprises: performing, by the terminal, a third behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal does not perform the wake-up signal monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the terminal receiving only a second energy saving signal with the sleep function for the terminal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal with the sleep function instructs the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Whereas par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH while in the sleep mode, and thus does not perform the wake up function to monitor the PDCCH),
wherein the third behavior comprises: not performing the wake-up signal monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the terminal receiving only a second energy saving signal with the sleep function for the terminal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal with the sleep function instructs the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Whereas par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH while in the sleep mode, and thus does not perform the wake up function to monitor the PDCCH) or a fourth behavior, wherein the fourth behavior is related to channel or signal monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the terminal receiving only a second energy saving signal with the sleep function for the terminal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal with the sleep function instructs the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Whereas par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH while and can enter the deep sleep mode, that is, turn off the radio frequency and most of the baseband modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance. Thus, the UE would not perform a behavior that is related to channel or signal monitoring. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 3. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches the first power saving mode is one of at least one power saving mode configured by a network (pars. 0047-0054, teaches the base station configuring the terminal with the second energy saving signal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal configures the terminal with the sleep function) or prescribed in a protocol (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wherein different power saving modes are associated with different parameter configurations (par. 0118, teaches the DCI corresponding to the second energy saving signal includes a sleep field that can instruct the terminal to continue detecting the next PDCCH, or skip the detection of N PDCCHs, or stop detecting the subsequent PDCCHs during DRX ON; and the UE can be supported to enter different sleep modes. Moreover, par. 0036, teaches a sleep mode, deep sleep mode, light sleep mode, and micro sleep mode. Wherein, the sleep mode, or different power saving modes, are dependent on the sleep field of the second energy saving signal that is configured by the base station, reads as different power saving modes are associated with different parameter configurations).
Regarding claim 7. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring during a first time period (par. 0071, teaches the base station transmits the first energy saving signal with the wake-up function with the first period. Wherein, pars. 0076-0077, teaches the first period can be a DRX period. Moreover, the first energy saving signal can be in the DRX ON period); and
performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the … monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior during the first time period when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the …monitoring during the first time period (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the energy saving signal is used to determine whether to wake up the UE receiver to monitor the PDCCH in DRX ON, and can be regarded as an energy saving signal with the wake up function. Thus, the UE uses the first energy saving signal including the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation to perform monitoring the PDCCH in DRX ON).
However, although Wang teaches the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring …; and performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior … when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring.
Seo further teaches the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring … (par. 0241, teaches a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection may be configured for the UE. Wherein, par. 0230, teaches the network may configure the UE to frequently sleep or continuously perform monitoring on the scheduling information. Thus, the scheduling information containing PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection and sleep occasions reads as the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring); and
performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior … when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring … (par. 0242, teaches the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for WUS detection only on PDCCH monitoring occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring …; and performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior … when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Seo par. 0004)
Regarding claim 8. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 7. Wang further teaches the first time period is at least one of the following: a time period indicated by the first indication information (par. 0071, teaches the base station transmits the first energy saving signal with the wake-up function with the first period); a non-running time period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) timer (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a DRX duration period (par. 0071, teaches the base station transmits the first energy saving signal with the wake-up function with the first period. Wherein, pars. 0076-0077, teaches the first period can be a DRX period. Moreover, the first energy saving signal can be in the DRX ON period); a PDCCH skipping duration (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or an application time period of a first search space group (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wherein the first search space group is a search space group that is not associated with any search space (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Regarding claim 9. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches a validation time or application time of the first indication information is any one of the following: an ending time of a time unit that has received the first indication information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a starting time of a time unit following the time unit that has received the first indication information (par. 0055, teaches the base station configures the first transmission opportunity in a first period and/or configures the second transmission opportunity in a second period for the terminal. Whereas pars. 0095-0098, teaches the base station sends the first transmission opportunity and the second transmission opportunity according to the first and second period. Wherein, each transmission period is relative to the start position of this transmission period. Thus, the information includes a starting time of a time unit following the time unit that has received the first indication information); or an ending time of a first time interval starting from the ending time of the time unit that has received the first indication information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
wherein the first time interval is prescribed in a protocol (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or configured by a network-side device (par. 0055, teaches the base station configures the first transmission opportunity in a first period and/or configures the second transmission opportunity in a second period for the terminal).
Regarding claim 10. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches performing, by the terminal, the wake-up signal monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the energy saving signal is used to determine whether to wake up the UE receiver to monitor the PDCCH in DRX ON, and can be regarded as an energy saving signal with the wake up function. Thus, the UE uses the first energy saving signal including the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation to perform monitoring the PDCCH in DRX ON) comprises: performing, by the terminal, the wake-up signal monitoring on a first type of time unit (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the energy saving signal is used to determine whether to wake up the UE receiver to monitor the PDCCH in DRX ON, and can be regarded as an energy saving signal with the wake up function. Thus, the UE uses the first energy saving signal including the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation to perform monitoring the PDCCH in DRX ON. Wherein, the “DRX ON” reads as a first type of time unit within the context of par. 0071, teaches the base station transmits the first energy saving signal with the wake-up function with the first period. Wherein, pars. 0076-0077, teaches the first period can be a DRX period. Moreover, the first energy saving signal can be in the DRX ON period).
However, although Wang suggest a semi-static downlink time unit (par. 0072, teaches the first period and the second period can be, but not limited to, configured semi-statically by the base station for the terminal), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, the first type of time unit comprises at least one of the following: a downlink time unit, a semi-static downlink time unit, a flexible time unit, a special time unit, an uplink time unit, or a semi-static uplink time unit.
Seo further teaches the first type of time unit comprises at least one of the following: a downlink time unit (pars. 0286-0291, teaches slots configured in downlink for a WUS monitoring occasion configured for a UE. Wherein, pars. 0301-0303 teaches each slot is X mini seconds long. Thus, each slot is a unit of time. Par. 0058 teaches wake-up signal (WUS)), a semi-static downlink time unit (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a flexible time unit (pars. 0286-0291, teaches a flexible slot, the flexible may mean a resource in which uplink/downlink), a special time unit (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), an uplink time unit (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or a semi-static uplink time unit (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first type of time unit comprises at least one of the following: a downlink time unit…, a flexible time unit, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Seo par. 0004)
Regarding claim 14. Wang teaches a monitoring method, comprising: sending, by a network-side device, first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the base station sending and configuring a first energy saving signal for a terminal),
wherein the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs … monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the energy saving signal is used to determine whether to wake up the UE receiver to monitor the PDCCH in DRX ON, and can be regarded as an energy saving signal with the wake up function. Thus, the UE uses the first energy saving signal including the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation to perform monitoring the PDCCH in DRX ON. Par. 0006, teaches Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and Discontinuous Reception (DRX)).
However, although Wang teaches the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring.
Seo disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for wake-up signal monitoring, so Seo is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Seo teaches wherein the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring (par. 0241, teaches a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection may be configured for the UE. Wherein, par. 0230, teaches the network may configure the UE to frequently sleep or continuously perform monitoring on the scheduling information. Thus, the scheduling information containing PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection and sleep occasions reads as the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring. Par. 0208, teaches physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and par. 0233, teaches wake up signal (WUS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Seo par. 0004)
Regarding claim 15. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 14. Wang further teaches the first indication information is further used for indicating that the terminal performs a fifth behavior (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the terminal receiving only a second energy saving signal with the sleep function for the terminal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal with the sleep function instructs the terminal to perform the sleep operation), wherein the fifth behavior is related to channel or signal monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the terminal receiving only a second energy saving signal with the sleep function for the terminal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal with the sleep function instructs the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Whereas par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH while and can enter the deep sleep mode, that is, turn off the radio frequency and most of the baseband modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance. Thus, the UE would not perform a behavior that is related to channel or signal monitoring).
Regarding claim 16. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 14. Wang further teaches the first indication information is further used for indicating a type of … energy saving signal monitored by the terminal (par. 0133, teaches a type indication field that indicates the type of an energy saving signal in the DCI, to indicate to the terminal that the energy saving signal is the first energy saving signal, or that the energy saving signal is the second energy saving signal, or that the energy saving signal is an energy saving signal having both wake-up function and sleep function. Par. 0006, teaches Downlink Control Information (DCI)).
However, although Wang teaches the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, indication information is further used for indicating a type of the wake-up signal monitored by the terminal.
Seo further teaches indication information is further used for indicating a type of the wake-up signal monitored by the terminal (par. 0348, teaches the network may indicate different WUS monitoring configuration according to the DRX type. For example, a WUS monitoring configuration for a long DRX operation and a WUS monitoring configuration for a short DRX operation may be separately indicated (In this case, the WUS monitoring configuration may include not only the location of the WUS monitoring occasion but also configurations related to WUS monitoring, such as the number of WUS monitoring occasions). The UE may select and apply the WUS monitoring configuration based on the currently applied DRX type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize indication information is further used for indicating a type of the wake-up signal monitored by the terminal, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Seo par. 0004)
Regarding claim 17. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 14. Wang further teaches the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring during a first time period (par. 0071, teaches the base station transmits the first energy saving signal with the wake-up function with the first period. Wherein, pars. 0076-0077, teaches the first period can be a DRX period. Moreover, the first energy saving signal can be in the DRX ON period); and
performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the … monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior during the first time period when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the …monitoring during the first time period (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the energy saving signal is used to determine whether to wake up the UE receiver to monitor the PDCCH in DRX ON, and can be regarded as an energy saving signal with the wake up function. Thus, the UE uses the first energy saving signal including the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation to perform monitoring the PDCCH in DRX ON).
However, although Wang teaches the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring …; and performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior … when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring.
Seo further teaches the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring … (par. 0241, teaches a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection may be configured for the UE. Wherein, par. 0230, teaches the network may configure the UE to frequently sleep or continuously perform monitoring on the scheduling information. Thus, the scheduling information containing PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS detection and sleep occasions reads as the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs wake-up signal monitoring); and
performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior … when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring… (par. 0242, teaches the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for WUS detection only on PDCCH monitoring occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring …; and performing, by the terminal, the first behavior when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first behavior … when the first indication information indicates that the terminal performs the wake-up signal monitoring, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Seo par. 0004)
Regarding claim 18. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 14. Wang further teaches a validation time or application time of the first indication information is any one of the following: an ending time of a time unit that has received the first indication information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a starting time of a time unit following the time unit that has received the first indication information (par. 0055, teaches the base station configures the first transmission opportunity in a first period and/or configures the second transmission opportunity in a second period for the terminal. Whereas pars. 0095-0098, teaches the base station sends the first transmission opportunity and the second transmission opportunity according to the first and second period. Wherein, each transmission period is relative to the start position of this transmission period. Thus, the information includes a starting time of a time unit following the time unit that has received the first indication information); or an ending time of a first time interval starting from the ending time of the time unit that has received the first indication information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
wherein the first time interval is prescribed in a protocol (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or configured by a network-side device (par. 0055, teaches the base station configures the first transmission opportunity in a first period and/or configures the second transmission opportunity in a second period for the terminal).
Regarding claim 20. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 14. Wang further teaches a network-side device (fig. 8 and par. 0236, teaches a network-side device for energy saving signal transmission, including: a processor 801 and a memory 802), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (fig. 8 and pars. 0236-0239, teaches memory 802 may store the data used by the processor. Wherein, pars. 0286-0288, teaches computer-readable non-volatile storage medium including program codes); and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform the monitoring method according to claim 14 (fig. 8 and pars. 0236-0239, teaches the processor 801 is configured to read the program in the memory 802 and execute the operation of a network-side device).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20220201614 hereinafter Wang), in view of Seo et al. (US20220124623 hereinafter Seo), in further view of AAD et al. (US20090257368 hereinafter AAD).
Regarding claim 4. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches performing, by the terminal, … the … monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the first energy saving signal may be a first energy saving signal with the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches the energy saving signal is used to determine whether to wake up the UE receiver to monitor the PDCCH in DRX ON, and can be regarded as an energy saving signal with the wake up function. Thus, the UE uses the first energy saving signal including the wake-up function to instruct the terminal to perform the wake-up operation to perform monitoring the PDCCH in DRX ON).
However, although Wang teaches performing, by the terminal, … the … monitoring (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose,
Seo further teaches performing, by the terminal, … the wake-up signal monitoring (par. 0242, teaches the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for WUS detection only on PDCCH monitoring occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing, by the terminal, … the wake-up signal monitoring, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Seo par. 0004)
However, although Wang suggest switching to a second power saving mode (fig. 7 and par. 0121, teaches the base station configures the first energy saving signal with a first period and the second energy saving signal with a second period. Wherein, pars. 0075-0077, teaches the first period is a DRX ON period and is associated with the wake-up function. Furthermore, par. 0095, teaches the second period is associated with the sleep function, wherein, par. 0029, teaches the DRX OFF time is associated with the sleep mode. Thus, in fig. 7 the terminal would be switching to a sleep mode once the DRX OFF time is started), the combination of Wang and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, performing, by the terminal, a sixth behavior …, wherein the sixth behavior comprises at least one of the following: switching to a second power saving mode; resuming or starting the sending of the first content; or resuming or starting the receiving or monitoring of the second content.
AAD disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a power saving mode, so AAD is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, AAD teaches performing, by the terminal, a sixth behavior …, wherein the sixth behavior comprises at least one of the following: switching to a second power saving mode (pars. 0059-0061, teaches switching from the wake-up state to the sleep state is performed by the terminal); resuming or starting the sending of the first content (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or resuming or starting the receiving or monitoring of the second content (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing, by the terminal, a sixth behavior …, wherein the sixth behavior comprises at least one of the following: switching to a second power saving mode, as disclosed by AAD with the combination of Wang and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see AAD par. 0011)
Regarding claim 5. Wang, Seo, and AAD teaches the method for claim 4. Wang further teaches the second power saving mode is one of at least one power saving mode configured by a network side (pars. 0047-0054, teaches the base station configuring the terminal with the second energy saving signal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal configures the terminal with the sleep function. Wherein, par. 0036, teaches a sleep mode, deep sleep mode, light sleep mode, and micro sleep mode. Thus, any of the optional sleep modes could reads as the second power saving mode) or prescribed in a protocol (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wherein different power saving modes are associated with different parameter configurations (par. 0118, teaches the DCI corresponding to the second energy saving signal includes a sleep field that can instruct the terminal to continue detecting the next PDCCH, or skip the detection of N PDCCHs, or stop detecting the subsequent PDCCHs during DRX ON; and the UE can be supported to enter different sleep modes. Moreover, par. 0036, teaches a sleep mode, deep sleep mode, light sleep mode, and micro sleep mode. Wherein, the sleep mode, or different power saving modes, are dependent on the sleep field of the second energy saving signal that is configured by the base station, reads as different power saving modes are associated with different parameter configurations).
Regarding claim 6. Wang, Seo, and AAD teaches the method for claim 4.
However, although Wang suggest a type of the monitored wake-up signal (pars. 0047-0054, teaches the base station configuring the terminal with either a first energy saving signal, second energy saving signal, or a combination of first energy saving signal and second energy saving signal), the combination of Wang and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, performing, by the terminal, the sixth behavior comprises: performing, by the terminal, the corresponding sixth behavior based on a type of the monitored wake-up signal.
AAD further teaches performing, by the terminal, the sixth behavior (pars. 0059-0061, teaches switching from the wake-up state to the sleep state is performed by the terminal) comprises: performing, by the terminal, the corresponding sixth behavior based on a type of the monitored wake-up signal (pars. 0054-0061, teaches the terminal receives scheduling information that the terminal uses to perform switching from the wake-up state to the sleep state (and vice versa). Thus, based on scheduling information, which reads as the monitored wake-up, the terminal performs alternations of sleep and wake up states. Moreover, the scheduling information can include a reference sleep timing scheduled as a sleep timing for switching from the wake-up state to the sleep state or can include a reference wake-up timing scheduled as a wake-up timing for switching from the sleep state to the wake-up state. Thus, the UE switches form a wake-up state to a sleep state based on the type of the monitored wake-up signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing, by the terminal, the sixth behavior comprises: performing, by the terminal, the corresponding sixth behavior based on a type of the monitored wake-up signal, as disclosed by AAD with the combination of Wang and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see AAD par. 0011)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20220201614 hereinafter Wang), in view of Seo et al. (US20220124623 hereinafter Seo), in further view of Zhao et al. (US20240306125 hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 11. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1.
However, although Wang teaches receiving the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0049, teaches the base station sending and configuring a first energy saving signal for a terminal. Moreover, par. 0041, teaches the UE receiving the first energy saving signal), the combination of Wang and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, turning on the first receiver comprises any one of the following: turning on the first receiver at an ending time of a time unit that has received the first indication information; turning on the first receiver at a starting time of a time unit following the time unit that has received the first indication information; or turning on the first receiver at an ending time of a second time interval starting from the ending time of the time unit that has received the first indication information, wherein the second time interval is prescribed in a protocol or configured by a network-side device.
Zhou disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for turning on the first receiver, so Zhou is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Zhou teaches turning on the first receiver comprises any one of the following: turning on the first receiver at an ending time of a time unit that has received the first indication information (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language of claim 1, and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art. However, Zhou teaches this limitation, see at least par. 0118, teaches after detecting the wake-up signal, the user equipment determines the first time point and turns on the integrated receiver after the first time point. Wherein, the language “the user equipment is to turn on the integrated receiver after the end time point of the wake-up signal” reads as turning on the first receiver at an ending time of a time unit that has received the first indication information, within the context of this passage);
turning on the first receiver at a starting time of a time unit following the time unit that has received the first indication information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or
turning on the first receiver at an ending time of a second time interval starting from the ending time of the time unit that has received the first indication information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wherein the second time interval is prescribed in a protocol or configured by a network-side device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize turning on the first receiver comprises any one of the following: turning on the first receiver at an ending time of a time unit that has received the first indication information, as disclosed by Zhou with the combination of Wang and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see Zhao par. 0004)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20220201614 hereinafter Wang), in view of Seo et al. (US20220124623 hereinafter Seo), in further view of Lu et al. (US20140211673 hereinafter Lu).
Regarding claim 12. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches the terminal does not expect to receive a first PDCCH after receiving the first indication information (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the first indication information and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Wang teaches the limitation see at least figs. 3-4 and pars. 0047-0054, teaches the terminal receiving only a second energy saving signal with the sleep function for the terminal. Wherein, the second energy saving signal with the sleep function instructs the terminal to perform the sleep operation. Whereas par. 0036, teaches the UE does not monitor the PDCCH while in the sleep mode, and thus does not expect to receive a first PDCCH after receiving the first indication information).
However, although Wang teaches the terminal does not expect to receive a first PDCCH after receiving the first indication information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0036 & 0047-0054), the combination of Wang and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, the terminal does not expect to receive a first PDCCH … before turning on the first receiver.
Lu disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for transmissions on the PDCCH, so Lu is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Lu teaches the terminal does not expect to receive a first PDCCH … before turning on the first receiver (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the first receiver and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Lu teaches the limitation see at least par. 0005, teaches the UE turns on its receivers to monitor scheduling information on PDCCH and the UE may turn off its receivers if there is no detected transmission on the PDCCH. Thus, the UE does not expect to receive a first PDCCH until the first receiver is turned on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the terminal does not expect to receive a first PDCCH … before turning on the first receiver, as disclosed by Lu with the combination of Wang and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce battery consumption. (see Lu par. 0005)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20220201614 hereinafter Wang), in view of Seo et al. (US20220124623 hereinafter Seo), in further view of Kim et al. (US20090010173 hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 13. Wang and Seo teaches the method for claim 1. Wang further teaches the second content comprises at least one of the following: a first synchronization signal and PBCH block SSB (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel (SPS PDSCH) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or a first PDCCH (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language of claim 1, and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art. However, Wang teaches this limitation, see at least par. 0036, teaches while in sleep mode the UE does not monitor the PDCCH and can turn off the radio frequency and most of the baseband modules and reserve only a few necessary modules such as clock maintenance. Thus, the terminal will suspend receiving or monitoring of a second content).
However, the combination of Wang and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, the first content comprises at least one of the following: a scheduling request (SR), a buffer status report (BSR), a configured grant (CG), a HARQ-ACK, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a message A, a message 3, a CSI report, or a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for HARQ-ACK, so Kim is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Kim teaches the first content comprises at least one of the following: a scheduling request (SR) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a buffer status report (BSR) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a configured grant (CG) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
a HARQ-ACK (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language of claim 1, and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art. However, Kim teaches this limitation, see at least fig. 7 and par. 0081, teaches the terminal transmits HARQ ACK/HARQ NACK, i.e., HARQ feedback information, in the second Rx-on period 710. Thus, if the terminal transmits a HARQ NACK the terminal suspends sending of a first content (HARQ-ACK). Par. 0103, teaches Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)),
a physical random access channel (PRACH) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a message A (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a message 3 (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a CSI report (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first content comprises at least one of the following: a HARQ-ACK, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Wang and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see Kim par. 0040)
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474