DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 11/11/2024 and on 06/25/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5, 12-13, 15-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being unpatentable over Ganesan (US 20230224121 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ganesan teaches the following limitations:
“A positioning configuration information request method, comprising: transmitting, by a target terminal, a first request to a first network side device, wherein the first request is used for requesting the first network side device to configure first Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) configuration information or a first PRS transmission resource, wherein the first PRS configuration information or the first PRS transmission resource is used for Sidelink positioning” ([0030-0031], remote unit 102 may be a terminal. Network unit is equivalent to a network entity. [FIG. 1] discloses that the remote unit communicates with the network unit through a connection. [0035] and [FIG. 2] disclose that apparatus 200 is an embodiment of remote unit (terminal) 102 and includes transmitter 210 and receiver 212. [0041] discloses transmitter 210 of the terminal making a request for a PRS resource, which is also Sidelink. [FIG. 1] shows that this request can be sent to the network side device 104),
and
“receiving, by the target terminal, a first response from the first network side device, wherein the first response comprises the first PRS configuration information or the first PRS transmission resource” ([0030-0031], remote unit 102 may be a terminal, network unit is equivalent to a network entity. [FIG. 1] discloses that the remote unit communicates with the network unit through a connection. [0035] and FIG. 2 disclose that apparatus 200 is an embodiment of remote unit (terminal) 102 and includes transmitter 210 and receiver 212. [0041] discloses the transmitter 210 of the terminal receiving a response to a request that it made for a PRS resource. [FIG. 1] shows that this request response can be sent to the terminal from the network side device 104 as they are connected. [0069-0070] discloses that the GnB (network side entity) may include a PRS resource as part of a SL grant as a response to an SR (scheduling request). [0081-0083] disclose that this request may be made from a remote unit 102. As stated in [0030], the remote unit may be a terminal).
Regarding claim 2, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the first request comprises at least one of the following: a positioning Quality of Service (QoS) list of the target terminal; a movement status of the target terminal; a measurement result of the target terminal; a request for requesting PRS configuration information of the target terminal; a request for requesting a configuration identification (ID) list of the target terminal; a request for requesting a number of a reference terminal; a request for requesting position information of the reference terminal; a request for requesting an ID of the reference terminal; a request for requesting PRS configuration information of the reference terminal; or a request for requesting a configuration ID list of the reference terminal” ([0041], transmitter 210 sends estimated positioning information, equivalent to a measurement result of a target terminal. [0035] discloses that the transmitter is part of apparatus 200, an embodiment of a remote unit (terminal) 102. [FIG. 1] shows that device 102 is connected to 104, a network device as disclosed in [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the first PRS configuration information comprises at least one of the following: the position information of the reference terminal; the ID of the reference terminal; the PRS configuration information of the reference terminal; the configuration ID list of the reference terminal; the PRS configuration information of the target terminal; or the configuration ID list of the target terminal” ([0054], SL (sidelink) PRS configuration may include source-destination ID. [0051] discloses that a destination identifier (“ID”) may mean a UE ID, meaning it may be an ID of a reference terminal.)
Regarding claim 4, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the first PRS transmission resource comprises at least one of the following: a bandwidth of a PRS transmission resource; initial frequency information of the PRS transmission resource; start time of the PRS transmission resource; termination time of the PRS transmission resource; duration time of the PRS transmission resource; a periodicity of the PRS transmission resource; or an associated resource pool ID of the PRS transmission resource” ([0073-0074], SCI (sidelink configuration information) is used for the purposes of SL (sidelink) PRS transmission, and includes different parameters. One parameter may be a reservation interval in terms of time periodicity).
Regarding claim 5, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the first response further comprises at least one of the following: a PRS transmission activation indication of the reference terminal, used for indicating whether PRS transmission of the reference terminal needs to be activated; a PRS transmission activation indication of the target terminal, used for indicating whether PRS transmission of the target terminal needs to be activated; or failure information corresponding to the first request” ([0093], response may contain a resource grant. A resource grant is essentially an indication for a device to start the transmission of PRS signals).
Regarding claim 12, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the PRS configuration information of the reference terminal comprises at least one of the following: a PRS transmission frequency of the reference terminal; a PRS type of the reference terminal; a PRS transmission periodicity of the reference terminal; the number of symbols within the PRS transmission periodicity of the reference terminal; gap between the symbols within the PRS transmission periodicity of the reference terminal; the number of the PRS transmission periodicity of the reference terminal; a PRS transmission bandwidth of the reference terminal; the number of repetitions within the PRS transmission bandwidth of the reference terminal; PRS transmission start time and duration time of the reference terminal; or a PRS transmission comb-type size in the frequency domain of the reference terminal” (([0050], as part of a configuration, SL PRS bandwidth for each carrier may be provided. Multiple sidelink carriers may additionally be configured per UE for the purposes of PRS transmission. “Per UE” can encapsulate both a target UE and an anchor (reference) UE (as disclosed in [0048])).
Regarding claim 13, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the PRS configuration information of the target terminal comprises at least one of the following: a PRS transmission frequency of the target terminal; a PRS type of the target terminal; a PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; the number of symbols within the PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; gap between the symbols within the PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; the number of the PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; a PRS transmission bandwidth of the target terminal; the number of repetitions within the PRS transmission bandwidth of the target terminal; PRS transmission start time and duration time of the target terminal; or a PRS transmission comb-type size in the frequency domain of the target terminal” (([0050], as part of a configuration, SL PRS bandwidth for each carrier may be provided. Multiple sidelink carriers may additionally be configured per UE for the purposes of PRS transmission. “Per UE” can encapsulate both a target UE and an anchor (reference) UE (as disclosed in [0048])).
Regarding claim 15, Ganesan teaches the following limitations:
“A positioning configuration information request method, comprising: receiving, by a first network side device, a first request from a target terminal, wherein the first request is used for requesting the first network side device to configure first PRS configuration information or a first PRS transmission resource, wherein the first PRS configuration information or the first PRS transmission resource is used for Sidelink positioning” ([0030-0031], remote unit 102 may be a terminal. Network unit is equivalent to a network entity. [FIG. 1] discloses that the remote unit communicates with the network unit through a connection. [0035] and [FIG. 2] disclose that apparatus 200 is an embodiment of remote unit (terminal) 102 and includes transmitter 210 and receiver 212. [0041] discloses transmitter 210 of the terminal making a request for a PRS resource, which is also Sidelink. [FIG. 1] shows that this request can be sent to the network side device 104),
and
“and transmitting, by the first network side device, a first response to the target terminal based on the first request, wherein the first response comprises the first PRS configuration information or the first PRS transmission resource” ([0030-0031], remote unit 102 may be a terminal, network unit is equivalent to a network entity. [FIG. 1] discloses that the remote unit communicates with the network unit through a connection. [0035] and FIG. 2 disclose that apparatus 200 is an embodiment of remote unit (terminal) 102 and includes transmitter 210 and receiver 212. [0041] discloses the transmitter 210 of the terminal receiving a response to a request that it made for a PRS resource. [FIG. 1] shows that this request response can be sent to the terminal from the network side device 104 as they are connected. [0069-0070] discloses that the GnB (network side entity) may include a PRS resource as part of a SL grant as a response to an SR (scheduling request). [0081-0083] disclose that this request may be made from a remote unit 102. As stated in [0030], the remote unit may be a terminal).
Regarding claim 16, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the first request comprises at least one of the following: a positioning Quality of Service (QoS) list of the target terminal; a movement status of the target terminal; a measurement result of the target terminal; a request for requesting PRS configuration information of the target terminal; a request for requesting a configuration ID list of the target terminal; a request for requesting a number of a reference terminal; a request for requesting position information of the reference terminal; a request for requesting an ID of the reference terminal; a request for requesting PRS configuration information of the reference terminal; or a request for requesting a configuration ID list of the reference terminal” ([0041], transmitter 210 sends estimated positioning information, equivalent to a measurement result of a target terminal. [0035] discloses that the transmitter is part of apparatus 200, an embodiment of a remote unit (terminal) 102. [FIG. 1 shows that device 102 is connected to 104, a network device as disclosed in [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Ganesan teaches the limitation: “wherein the first PRS transmission resource comprises at least one of the following: a bandwidth of a PRS transmission resource; initial frequency information of the PRS transmission resource; start time of the PRS transmission resource; termination time of the PRS transmission resource; duration time of the PRS transmission resource; a periodicity of the PRS transmission resource; or an associated resource pool ID of the PRS transmission resource” ([0073-0074], SCI (sidelink configuration information) is used for the purposes of SL (sidelink) PRS transmission, and includes different parameters. One parameter may be a reservation interval in terms of time periodicity).
Regarding claim 19, Ganesan teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the PRS configuration information of the target terminal comprises at least one of the following: a PRS transmission frequency of the target terminal; a PRS type of the target terminal; a PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; the number of symbols within the PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; gap between the symbols within the PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; the number of the PRS transmission periodicity of the target terminal; a PRS transmission bandwidth of the target terminal; the number of repetitions within the PRS transmission bandwidth of the target terminal; PRS transmission start time and duration time of the target terminal; or a PRS transmission comb-type size in the frequency domain of the target terminal” (([0050], as part of a configuration, SL PRS bandwidth for each carrier may be provided. Multiple sidelink carriers may additionally be configured per UE for the purposes of PRS transmission. “Per UE” can encapsulate both a target UE and an anchor (reference) UE (as disclosed in [0048])).
Regarding claim 20, Ganesan teaches the following limitations:
“A terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or an instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising: transmitting, by a target terminal, a first request to a first network side device, wherein the first request is used for requesting the first network side device to configure first Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) configuration information or a first PRS transmission resource, wherein the first PRS configuration information or the first PRS transmission resource is used for Sidelink positioning” ([0035], remote units (terminals) may include processor 202, memory 204). ([0030-0031], remote unit 102 may be a terminal. Network unit is equivalent to a network entity. [FIG. 1] discloses that the remote unit communicates with the network unit through a connection. [0035] and [FIG. 2] disclose that apparatus 200 is an embodiment of remote unit (terminal) 102 and includes transmitter 210 and receiver 212. [0041] discloses transmitter 210 of the terminal making a request for a PRS resource, which is also Sidelink. [FIG. 1] shows that this request can be sent to the network side device 104),
and
“receiving, by the target terminal, a first response from the first network side device, wherein the first response comprises the first PRS configuration information or the first PRS transmission resource” ([0030-0031], remote unit 102 may be a terminal, network unit is equivalent to a network entity. [FIG. 1] discloses that the remote unit communicates with the network unit through a connection. [0035] and FIG. 2 disclose that apparatus 200 is an embodiment of remote unit (terminal) 102 and includes transmitter 210 and receiver 212. [0041] discloses the transmitter 210 of the terminal receiving a response to a request that it made for a PRS resource. [FIG. 1] shows that this request response can be sent to the terminal from the network side device 104 as they are connected. [0069-0070] discloses that the GnB (network side entity) may include a PRS resource as part of a SL grant as a response to an SR (scheduling request). [0081-0083] disclose that this request may be made from a remote unit 102. As stated in [0030], the remote unit may be a terminal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan (US 20230224121 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20210058889 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ganesan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitation: “wherein: when the PRS transmission activation indication of the reference terminal is used for indicating that the PRS transmission of the reference terminal needs to be activated, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the target terminal, a first activation request to the first network side device, wherein the first activation request is used for requesting to activate the PRS transmission of the reference terminal; or when the PRS transmission activation indication of the target terminal is used for indicating that the PRS transmission of the target terminal needs to be activated, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the target terminal, a second activation request to the first network side device, wherein the second activation request is used for requesting to activate the PRS transmission of the target terminal”
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Zhang teaches the limitation: “wherein: when the PRS transmission activation indication of the reference terminal is used for indicating that the PRS transmission of the reference terminal needs to be activated, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the target terminal, a first activation request to the first network side device, wherein the first activation request is used for requesting to activate the PRS transmission of the reference terminal; or when the PRS transmission activation indication of the target terminal is used for indicating that the PRS transmission of the target terminal needs to be activated, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the target terminal, a second activation request to the first network side device, wherein the second activation request is used for requesting to activate the PRS transmission of the target terminal” ([0105] and [FIG. 4] disclose a V2X system. A vehicle (411 and 412) may contain UEs that connect to and can communicate with a network side device 421. [0067-0068] disclose that the UE may send requests to transmit PRS sequences. With [FIG. 4] in mind, a UE (may be a target UE) can send the network a request to activate (transmit) PRS transmissions for the target UE (vehicle)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Ganesan with those of Zhang for the advantage of more smoothly conducting PRS transmissions by first having the UE ask a network entity for permission to send PRS transmissions.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan (US 20230224121 A1), in view of Zhang (US 20210058889 A1), and further in view of Yoshioka (US 20250234325 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ganesan and Zhang differ from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitation: “wherein the activation request comprises Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC CE), or Uplink Control Information (UCI)”
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Zhang teaches the limitation: “wherein the activation request comprises Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC CE), or Uplink Control Information (UCI)” ([0323], notification of information sent between devices may comprise the use of UCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Ganesan and Zhang with those of Yoshioka for the advantage of more smoothly conducting PRS transmissions by first having the UE ask a network entity for permission to send PRS transmissions through MAC-CE or UCI.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan (US 20230224121 in view of Hasegawa (US 20250081142 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Ganesan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitations: “wherein after receiving, by the target terminal, the first response from the first network side device, the method further comprises: measuring, by the target terminal, a PRS of the reference terminal based on the first response to obtain a first PRS measurement result”,
and
“--calculating, by the target terminal, a positioning result of the target terminal based on the first PRS measurement result.”
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Hasegawa teaches the limitations: “wherein after receiving, by the target terminal, the first response from the first network side device, the method further comprises: measuring, by the target terminal, a PRS of the reference terminal based on the first response to obtain a first PRS measurement result” ([0242] UE sends request to the LMF (network device) positioning procedure. [0245] discloses that in response, the network broadcasts the locations of the reference devices to the UE after the UE sends its request. [0246], after the response, UE determines to measure PRS transmitted by TRPs (equivalent to reference terminals)),
and
“--calculating, by the target terminal, a positioning result of the target terminal based on the first PRS measurement result” ([0246], UE makes a first location estimate of its position, based on the locations given to it by the LMF in the response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Ganesan and with those of Hasegawa, for the advantage of more efficiently estimating position of a terminal by measuring the PRS of external devices (reference terminals).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan (US 20230224121 A1), in view of Li (US 20240334533 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ganesan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitation: “wherein the failure information comprises at least one of the following: at least one parameter comprised in the first request being incapable of being satisfied; at least one parameter comprised in the first request being incapable of being satisfied, or an allowable range of values for the parameter that is incapable of being satisfied; or the first network side device not supporting the first request”
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Li teaches the limitation: “wherein the failure information comprises at least one of the following: at least one parameter comprised in the first request being incapable of being satisfied; at least one parameter comprised in the first request being incapable of being satisfied, or an allowable range of values for the parameter that is incapable of being satisfied; or the first network side device not supporting the first request” ([0083-0088], LMF device receives an error message that says that the network side device failed to configure a positioning reference signal (configuration) for the device, because the device did not enter a RRC not connected state. [0090] This is included in a positioning information failure message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations Ganesan with those of Li for the advantage of more accurate positioning using error messages that describe the reasons for a request from a device failing.
Claims 9-11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan (US 20230224121 A1), in view of Rao (US 20240179583 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ganesan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitation:
“wherein before transmitting, by the target terminal, the first request to the first network side device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the target terminal, a first indication from the first network side device, wherein the first indication is used for indicating that the first network side device allows the target terminal to transmit the first request”,
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Rao teaches the limitations:
“wherein before transmitting, by the target terminal, the first request to the first network side device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the target terminal, a first indication from the first network side device, wherein the first indication is used for indicating that the first network side device allows the target terminal to transmit the first request” ([0119], the WTRU is only able to send a request for PRS configurations when a validity timer expires. [0184] discloses that the timer may be a validity condition (time validity information) sent from the network to the WTRU, equivalent to an indication from the network to the WTRU (device)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Ganesan with those of Rao for the advantage of more safely and efficiently handling positioning procedures by first making devices wait for permission to start sending requests for PRS related information, thus avoiding congestions caused by having devices send requests when the network is not in a suitable state to handle requests for information.
Regarding claim 10, Ganesan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitation: “wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: allowing the target terminal to transmit the first request; duration of a first timer; a number of a reference terminal that is capable of requesting configuration; PRS configuration information of the reference terminal that is capable of requesting configuration; a configuration list of the reference terminal that is capable of requesting configuration, wherein the configuration list of the reference terminal comprises: a configuration ID of the reference terminal, or PRS configuration information of the reference terminal; PRS configuration information of a target terminal that is capable of requesting configuration, or a configuration list of the target terminal that is capable of requesting configuration, wherein the configuration list of the target terminal comprises: a configuration ID of the target terminal, or PRS configuration information of the target terminal”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Rao teaches the limitation:
“wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: allowing the target terminal to transmit the first request; duration of a first timer; a number of a reference terminal that is capable of requesting configuration; PRS configuration information of the reference terminal that is capable of requesting configuration; a configuration list of the reference terminal that is capable of requesting configuration, wherein the configuration list of the reference terminal comprises: a configuration ID of the reference terminal, or PRS configuration information of the reference terminal; PRS configuration information of a target terminal that is capable of requesting configuration, or a configuration list of the target terminal that is capable of requesting configuration, wherein the configuration list of the target terminal comprises: a configuration ID of the target terminal, or PRS configuration information of the target terminal” ([0119], the WTRU is only able to send a request for PRS configurations when a validity timer expires. [0184] discloses that the timer may be a validity condition (time validity information) sent from the network to the WTRU, equivalent to an indication from the network to the WTRU (device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Ganesan with those of Rao for the advantage of more safely and efficiently handling positioning procedures by first making devices wait for permission to start sending requests for PRS related information, thus avoiding congestions caused by having devices send requests when the network is not in a suitable state to handle requests for information.
Regarding claim 11, Ganesan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitation: “wherein the first indication is carried in a broadcast message or a dedicated message”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Rao teaches the limitation:
“wherein the first indication is carried in a broadcast message or a dedicated message” ([0119], the WTRU (device) is able to send a request for PRS configurations only when a validity timer expires. [0184] discloses that the timer may be a validity condition (time validity information). Validity conditions may be sent as part of a dedicated message (such as LPP) from the network to the WTRU, acting as an indication from network to device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Ganesan with those of Rao for the advantage of more efficiently handling positioning procedures by first making devices wait for permission to start sending requests for PRS related information.
Regarding claim 18, Ganesan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitations:
“wherein before receiving, by the first network side device, the first request from the target terminal, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first network side device, a first indication to the target terminal, wherein the first indication is used for indicating that the first network side device allows the target terminal to transmit the first request”,
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Rao teaches the limitations:
“wherein before receiving, by the first network side device, the first request from the target terminal, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first network side device, a first indication to the target terminal, wherein the first indication is used for indicating that the first network side device allows the target terminal to transmit the first request” ([0119], the WTRU is only able to send a request for PRS configurations when a validity timer expires. [0184] discloses that the timer may be a validity condition (time validity information) sent from the network to the WTRU, equivalent to an indication from the network to the WTRU (device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Ganesan with those of Rao for the advantage of more efficiently handling positioning procedures by first making devices wait for permission to start sending requests for PRS related information.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN H. NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649