DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Preliminary Amendment filed on 11/11/2024.
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-13, 15, and 19-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2024, 02/16/2025, 03/19/2025, 04/07/2025, 04/16/2025, 05/15/2025, 06/04/2025, 06/27/2025, 09/02/2025, 09/09/2025, 09/26/2025, 11/11/2025, 12/08/2025, 12/12/2025, and 01/23/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities;
Claim 6, “a user” in line 3, should be – the user --.
Claim 6, “the hardware and software” in line 9, should be -- hardware and software --.
Claim 8, “a device” in line 5, should be – the apparatus --.
Claim 12, “the device” in line 4, should be – the apparatus --.
Claim 13, “a user” in line 3, should be – the user --.
Claim 13, “the device” in lines 7, 9 and 11-12, should be – the apparatus --.
Claim 15, “a device” in line 4, should be – the mobile device --.
Claim 15, “a threshold” in line 12, should be – the threshold --.
Claim 19, “the device” in line 4, should be – the mobile device --.
Claim 20, “a user” in line 3, should be – the user --.
Claim 20, “the hardware and software” in line 9, should be -- hardware and software --.
Claim 20, “the device” in lines 7, 9 and 11-12, should be – the mobile device --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims 1 and 8 recite receiving sensor data; performing trust score analytics to generate an aggregated trust score, wherein performing the trust score analytics includes a base phase running in a background of a device, wherein the base phase comprises analyzing a gait of a user; and performing a trust score challenge when the aggregated trust score is below a threshold to generate an updated aggregated trust score. The limitations of receiving sensor data, as drafted is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts performed in human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts performed in human mind but for recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor to perform the receiving and performing steps. The processor in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer functions of performing trust score analytics to generate an aggregated trust score, wherein performing the trust score analytics includes a base phase running in a background of a device, wherein the base phase comprises analyzing a gait of a user; and performing a trust score challenge when the aggregated trust score is below a threshold to generate an updated aggregated trust score) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform the receiving and performing steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims 1-14 are not patent eligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-18 of U. S. Patent No. 12,143,419 B2. Although the conflicting claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims contain elements of the patent claims, therefore, the examined claim is anticipated by the patent claim as follows:
Current Application No. 18/942,900
US Patent No. 12,143,419 B2
Independent Claim 1
Independent Claim 1
Independent Claim 8
Independent Claim 7
Independent Claim 15
Independent Claim 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budman et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0066071 A1) hereinafter Budman in view of Naimark et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0363427 A1) hereinafter Naimark.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Budman discloses a method and an apparatus (fig. 12, system 1200) comprising:
a memory (fig. 12, memory 1204/1206/1216) for storing an application (para 0104. The storage unit 1216 includes a machine-readable medium 1222 on which is stored instructions 1224 (e.g., software)),
the application configured for:
receiving sensor data (para 0020, The data may be collected using one or more of the following: cameras, motion sensors, GPS, WiFi (SSID/BSSID, signal strength, location, if provided), and multitude of other sensors capable of recording user data and para 0032, receives motion data 210 recorded by a sensor, for example a gyroscope or accelerometer embedded in a mobile device);
performing trust score analytics to generate an aggregated trust score (para 0042, the identity combination module 240 may combine the distinct identity confidence values generated by each model into a single, more comprehensive identity confidence value at a point in time. As described herein, such a comprehensive identity confidence value is referred to as an “aggregate identity confidence.”);
wherein performing the trust score analytics includes a base phase (para 0030, The identity verification system 130 may include an identity block generator 220, an identity computation module 230, an identity combination module 240, a confidence evaluation module 250, and a secondary authentication module 260. In some embodiments, the identity verification system 130 includes additional modules or components);
wherein the base phase comprising analyzing a gait of a user (para 0033, the system may segment motion data 210 into three portions: a user entering into a building with a quick stride, walking up the stairs, and then slowing to a standing still position in the room. Using the segmented motion data 210, the system is able to more accurately identify the user and to ensure a timely response to a user requesting access to an enterprise); and
performing a trust score challenge when the aggregated trust score is below a threshold to generate an updated aggregated trust score (para 0089, despite the combination of identity confidence values from multiple sources, the aggregate identity confidence may still be below an operational security threshold. Accordingly, the identity computation module 230 requests secondary authentication and, in response to receiving a secondary identity confidence value, the identity combination module 240 executes a second round of processing to combine the secondary identity confidence value with the aggregate identity confidence to generate an updated aggregate identity confidence); and
a processor (fig. 12, processor 1202) configured for processing the application (para 0101, read instructions from a machine-readable medium and execute them in a processor), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Naimark discloses the base phase running in the background of a device (para 0072, Other applications automatically estimate ongoing activity based on GPS and inertial sensors (IMU) feeds without user interaction or even constantly running in background of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Budman to include the base phase running in the background of a device as taught by Naimark in order to monitor user activities such as walking, running, cycling, etc. (Naimark, para 0072).
Regarding claim 15, Budman discloses a system (fig. 1, system 100) comprising:
a mobile device (para 0026, computing device 110 herein as a mobile device) configured for:
receiving sensor data (para 0020, The data may be collected using one or more of the following: cameras, motion sensors, GPS, WiFi (SSID/BSSID, signal strength, location, if provided), and multitude of other sensors capable of recording user data and para 0032, receives motion data 210 recorded by a sensor, for example a gyroscope or accelerometer embedded in a mobile device);
performing trust score analytics to generate an aggregated trust score (para 0042, the identity combination module 240 may combine the distinct identity confidence values generated by each model into a single, more comprehensive identity confidence value at a point in time. As described herein, such a comprehensive identity confidence value is referred to as an “aggregate identity confidence.”);
wherein performing the trust score analytics includes a base phase (para 0030, The identity verification system 130 may include an identity block generator 220, an identity computation module 230, an identity combination module 240, a confidence evaluation module 250, and a secondary authentication module 260. In some embodiments, the identity verification system 130 includes additional modules or components);
wherein the base phase comprising analyzing a gait of a user (para 0033, the system may segment motion data 210 into three portions: a user entering into a building with a quick stride, walking up the stairs, and then slowing to a standing still position in the room. Using the segmented motion data 210, the system is able to more accurately identify the user and to ensure a timely response to a user requesting access to an enterprise); and
performing a trust score challenge when the aggregated trust score is below a threshold to generate an updated aggregated trust score (para 0089, despite the combination of identity confidence values from multiple sources, the aggregate identity confidence may still be below an operational security threshold. Accordingly, the identity computation module 230 requests secondary authentication and, in response to receiving a secondary identity confidence value, the identity combination module 240 executes a second round of processing to combine the secondary identity confidence value with the aggregate identity confidence to generate an updated aggregate identity confidence);
a transaction server (fig. 1, system 130 including modules and severs) configured for: sending a transaction request (para 0044-0045, communicates a request to the secondary authentication module 260 to implement a secondary authentication mechanism) ; and
determining if the aggregated trust score or the updated aggregated trust score are above a threshold (para 0091, If the aggregate identity confidence is greater than the threshold, the target user is granted access); and
a cloud server (fig. 1, system 130 including modules and servers) configured for providing resources and services to the mobile device (para 0061, if a user is granted access to the digital medical files, the operational security module 520 may determine the operational context to be a hospital server), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Naimark discloses the base phase running in the background of a device (para 0072, Other applications automatically estimate ongoing activity based on GPS and inertial sensors (IMU) feeds without user interaction or even constantly running in background of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Budman to include the base phase running in the background of a device as taught by Naimark in order to monitor user activities such as walking, running, cycling, etc. (Naimark, para 0072).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, the combination of Budman Naimark discloses the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the application is further configured for: enabling a transaction when the aggregated trust score or the updated aggregated trust score is equal to or above the threshold (Budman para 0061 and 0091).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, the combination of Budman Naimark discloses the apparatus of claim 8 wherein performing the trust score challenge includes utilizing a stack with modules that are algorithmically selected (Budman para 0030).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, the combination of Budman Naimark discloses the apparatus of claim 8 wherein performing the trust score analytics further includes a pre-transaction phase (Budman para 0061 and 0091), an environmental phase (Budman para 0061), a device phase (Budman para 0085) and a hijack phase (Budman para 0057), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Naimark discloses wherein the base phase runs continuously in the background of the device (para 0072, Other applications automatically estimate ongoing activity based on GPS and inertial sensors (IMU) feeds without user interaction or even constantly running in background of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Budman to include the base phase runs continuously in the background of the device as taught by Naimark in order to monitor user activities such as walking, running, cycling, etc. (Naimark, para 0072).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, the combination of Budman Naimark discloses the apparatus of claim 12 wherein the base phase further includes: performing an image/video scan of a user, and/or analyzing a voice of the user (Budman para 0034), the environmental phase includes: determining a location of the device, and/or determining ambient information (Budman para 0061), the device phase includes analysis of the hardware and software of the device (Budman para 0056 and 0085), and the hijacking phase includes: determining a pickup of the device, and/or determining a handoff of the device (Budman para 0057).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 21, the combination of Budman Naimark discloses the apparatus of claim 8 wherein performing the trust score challenge includes: image analysis, human movement analysis, voice prints analysis, personal information testing, directed action analysis, and/or static biometrics testing (Budman para 0021, 0044, 0048, 0075, and 0088).
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budman and Naimark as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, and further in view of Sagi et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0242417 A1) hereinafter Sagi.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination of Budman Naimark discloses the apparatus of claim 8 wherein performing the trust score analytics includes utilizing a trust analytics graph (Budman, para 0034 and 0098), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Sagi discloses a weighted decision tree (Fig. 7, para 0057 and 0065). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Budman to include a decision tree as taught by Sagi in order to prevent fraudulent transactions from occurring (Sagi, para 0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-892).
/BAOTRAN N TO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435