DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-10 and 12-18 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of previous claim 11 under 35 USC 103 over Lee in view of Gutman have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee and Letsky.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2008/0154429).
Regarding claim 1:
Lee teaches A method for controlling an autonomous mobile robot , the method comprising:
navigating of the robot through the area of robot deployment (see at least ¶0026-0028),
detecting a displacement, during which the robot carries out a movement that the robot itself cannot control (determining lift state, see at least ¶0045, ¶0055),
wherein, during the displacement of the robot, information regarding the robot position and/or current movement is detected with the aid of sensors and an estimation of the robot position is determined based on the detected information (see at least Fig. 7, S530, ¶0069).
Lee further teaches that storing and managing at least one map corresponding to an area of robot deployment; and
navigating of the robot through the area of robot deployment, wherein the location of the robot on the map is constantly determined are known in the art of path planning of a mobile robot (see at least ¶0006).
Lee does not explicitly teach utilizing a map during path planning and lift state determination in a single embodiment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of estimating a pose of a mobile robot as taught by Lee with the well-known technique of building a map while navigating using a SLAM algorithm as further suggested by Lee in order to provide the requisite information for defining a path for a mobile robot (see Lee ¶0006).
Lee is further silent as to determining whether the robot moved out of a previous area of robot deployment.
Letsky teaches a system and method of re-localization of a mobile robot, including determining whether a robot has been picked up and moved and determining whether the robot moved during the displacement out of a previous area of robot deployment (see at least ¶0080-0081, ¶0115, ¶0196).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot localization system and method as taught by Lee with the technique of determining if the robot has been relocated to another area as taught by Letsky in order to prevent unwanted repositioning, and theft prevention and/or recovery.
Regarding claim 2:
Lee further teaches detecting different states of the robot and estimating a pose of the robot during each state, including detecting parameters indicating a beginning of a lifting state (see at least ¶0055-0058, table 1, Fig. 7). Lee does not explicitly teach detecting the ending of the lift state.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method pose estimation for a mobile robot, including determining a motion state and a movement during a motion state, to determine when a motion state has ended in order to provide an accurate pose estimation, and utilize another, more appropriate estimation method when the state of the robot has changed.
Regarding claim 3:
Lee further teaches wherein the lifting up and/or depositing of the robot is detected by wheel contact sensors, sensors for measuring distance to the ground, sensors for detecting a floor, acceleration sensors, or a combination thereof (see at least ¶0055-0058, table 1, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4:
Lee further teaches wherein the robot determines an estimation of the robot position at an end of the displacement based on information regarding the robot position and/or current movement detected during displacement (see at least ¶0055-0058, table 1, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5:
Lee teaches the limitations as in claim 4 above.
Lee does not explicitly teach self-localization on the stored maps after displacement.
However, the Examiner notes that such a further step is a logical extension of the combination utilizing a SLAM algorithm as described with respect the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1 above, and is therefore at least suggested, if not implicit in said combination.
Regarding claim 7:
Lee further teaches wherein the information regarding the position and/or current movement of the robot that is detected during displacement includes information regarding the acceleration, angular velocity, orientation of the robot or a combination thereof (see at least ¶0060, eq. 2).
Regarding claim 10:
Lee further teaches wherein the estimation of the position of the robot is determined using inertial navigation (see at least ¶0033).
Regarding claim 12:
Letsky further teaches wherein, in the event that the robot has been moved out of the previous area of robot deployment, it detects, based on the estimated position following displacement, whether this position lies within an area of robot deployment for which a map has been stored and if so, which map this estimated position is located on (mapped area defines the perimeter, determining it was stolen when carried outside the defined perimeter, see at least ¶0080-0081, ¶0115, ¶0196).
Regarding claim 13:
Lee further teaches wherein the information detected during displacement comprises at least one velocity component that is detected using one or more of the sensors that are also used for the robot navigation (see at least ¶0060, eq. 2).
Regarding claim 14:
Lee further teaches wherein the sensor or sensors that are also used for the navigation of the robot comprise a distance sensor, wherein the at least one velocity component is determined based on the change in distances measured by the distance sensor (see at least ¶0012, ¶0060, eq. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hong et al. (US 2008/0065267).
Regarding claim 6:
Lee teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Lee is silent as to calculating a probability distribution of a location.
Hong teaches a system and method of estimating a pose of mobile robots including wherein determining the estimation of the position of the robot comprises calculating a probability distribution describing a probability of the robot being located on the at least one map (see at least abstract, Fig. 4, ¶0063-0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the SLAM-based pose estimation method as taught by Lee with respect to claim 1 with the technique of determining a probabilistic pose estimation as taught by Hong in order to reduce the amount of computation and thus enabling real-time determination of the pose of a mobile robot (Hong ¶0012).
Regarding claim 8:
Lee teaches the limitations as in claim 7 above.
Lee further teaches estimating a pose of the mobile robot during various movement types, and at least suggests real-time tracking via SLAM in the combination as in claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly teach determining a trajectory followed by the robot.
However, the Examiner notes that tracking the real-time estimated pose in a SLAM based localization method is functionally equivalent to determining a trajectory followed during the tracking, therefore, the prior art combination meets at least the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Fukuba et al. (US 2012/0123720).
Regarding claim 9:
Lee teaches the limitations as in claim 7 above.
Lee is silent as to utilizing gravitational force direction and magnetic field to determine orientation.
Fukuba teaches determining an orientation of a mobile robot wherein to determine the orientation of the robot, gravitational force direction and direction of the magnetic field of the earth are used (see at least ¶0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify the robotic localization system and method as taught by Lee with the well-known technique of determining orientation using gravitational and magnetic data as taught by Fukuba in order to select from among a plurality of known methods as taught by Fukuba as a matter of design choice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gutmann et al. (US 2013/0138247).
Regarding claim 15:
Lee teaches the limitations as above. Lee is silent as to using cameras as navigation sensors.
Gutmann teaches a system and method of re-localization of a mobile robot, including determining whether a robot has been picked up and moved wherein the sensor or sensors that are also used for the navigation of the robot comprise a camera and wherein the at least one velocity component is detected based on a change of the image information captured by the camera (see at least ¶0353-0362).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot localization system and method as taught by Lee and Letsky with the technique of utilizing cameras for navigation as taught by Gutmann in order to accurately navigate in a complex environment, allowing for object and obstacle recognition and avoidance.
Regarding claim 16:
Gutmann further teaches wherein, during displacement, image information is detected using a camera and the estimation of the robot position is determined based on this image information (see at least ¶0353-0362).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above in view of Wang et al. (US 2013/0325244)
Regarding claims 16-17:
Lee teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above. Lee is silent as to detecting room numbers in images for map building and localization.
Wang teaches a system and method of robot localization, including wherein, during displacement, image information is detected using a camera and the estimation of the robot position is determined based on this image information, wherein the detected image information comprises room numbers that designate a specific room of the area of robot deployment and that are recorded on the corresponding map as attributes of the map regions corresponding to the rooms (see at least ¶0224-0225).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot localization system and method as taught by Lee with the technique of recognizing room numbers for localization as taught by Want in order to accurately localize a robot in an environment that has similarities to other environments, for example, different floors of a building such as a hospital or office building that have similar or the same architecture.
Regarding claim 18:
Wang further teaches wherein an object recognition of the objects in the environment is carried out based on the image information and
wherein, when an object is recognized, the estimation of the robot position is determined based on the position of the object (see at least Fig. 8, ¶0241-0243).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619