DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 04, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youn et al. (US 2020/0120570, “Youn”).
Regarding claim 1, Youn teaches a communication method, applied to a first mobility management function network element (FIG. 21, source AMF), wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first message from a first access network element (FIG. 21, Source gNB), wherein the first message indicates that a terminal device is to be handed over from the first access network element to a second access network element ([0400] “the source gNB sends a handover required message to the source AMF when it is determined that the handover is required based on the measurement report received from the UE” [0401] “the handover required message includes an address and/or an identifier (ID) of a target gNB to which the UE is to move and UE AS context (i.e., AS information) of the corresponding UE in access stratum (AS)”);
determining, based on the first message, that the terminal device is to perform mobility management function network element handover ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102). This process may be determined by location information of the target gNB and an operator policy regarding selection of the AMF preset by an operator”); and
sending a second message to a first access management function network element (FIG. 2, FIG. 21, source SMF), wherein the second message is used to request the terminal device to perform mobility management function network element handover, or is used to request the terminal device to be handed over from the first mobility management function network element to a second mobility management function network element ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102)”. [0403] “In the embodiment according to FIG. 21, a case where the AMF need to be changed is assumed”. [0404] “The source AMF sends to the source SMF a mobility event occurrence notification and a target gNB address of the UE through a newly defined message” [0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”).
Regarding claim 3, Youn teaches claim 1 and further teaches receiving a fourth message from the first access management function network element, wherein the fourth message indicates that the terminal device is not to perform access management function network element handover, or indicates that the terminal device is to perform access management function network element handover ([0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”. [0407] “Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)”); and sending a fifth message to the second mobility management function network element, wherein the terminal device is not to perform access management function network element handover, and the fifth message comprises information about the first access management function network element; or the terminal device is to perform access management function network element handover ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102)” [0403] “In the embodiment according to FIG. 21, a case where the AMF need to be changed”), and the fifth message comprises information about a second access management function network element, wherein the second access management function network element is a target access management function network element for the terminal device during access management function network element handover ([0408] “The source AMF receiving the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts encapsulates the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts in the forward relocation request message and sends the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts to the target AMF (S2106)”)
Regarding claim 4, Youn teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second message comprises information corresponding to the second mobility management function network element and/or information corresponding to the second access network element ([0404] “The source AMF sends to the source SMF a mobility event occurrence notification and a target gNB address of the UE through a newly defined message (S2103)”).
Regarding claim 5, Youn teaches claim 1 and further teaches sending a sixth message to the second mobility management function network element, wherein the sixth message comprises identification information of the second access network element and/or context information of the terminal device at the first mobility management function network element ([0408] “The source AMF receiving the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts encapsulates the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts in the forward relocation request message and sends the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts to the target AMF (S2106)”. [0409] “The target AMF receiving the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts sends the handover indication message to the target SMF selected by the source SMF (S2107)”).
Regarding claim 6, Youn teaches a communication method, applicable for a first access management function (FIG. 21, source SMF) network element comprising:
receiving a second message from a first mobility management function network element (FIG. 21, source AMF), wherein the second message is used to request a terminal device to perform mobility management function network element handover, or is used to request the terminal device to be handed over from the first mobility management function network element to a second mobility management function network element, and the terminal device is to be handed over from a first access network element to a second access network element ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102)”. [0403] “In the embodiment according to FIG. 21, a case where the AMF need to be changed is assumed”. [0404] “The source AMF sends to the source SMF a mobility event occurrence notification and a target gNB address of the UE through a newly defined message” [0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”); and
sending a first response message to the first mobility management function network element , wherein the first response message indicates that the terminal device is to perform mobility management function network element handover ([0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”. [0407] “Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)”).
Regarding claim 8, Youn teaches claim 6 and further teaches when the second access network element has an association relationship with the first access management function network element, determining that the terminal device is not to perform access management function network element handover; or when the second access network element has no association relationship with the first access management function network element, determining that the terminal device is to perform access management function network element handover ([0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”. [0407] “Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)”).
Regarding claim 9, Youn teaches claim 6 and further teaches sending a ninth message to a second access management function network element, wherein the ninth message is used to request the terminal device to perform mobility management function network element handover, and the second access management function network element is a target access management function network element for the terminal device during access management function network element handover ([0315] “the source SMF selects a new target SMF and sends the forward relocation request message”); and receiving a tenth message from the second access management function network element, wherein the tenth message comprises the identification information ([0320] “7. The target SMF encapsulates the target UPF address and/or ID information used for each PDU session in the forward relocation response message and sends the target UPF address and/or ID information to the source SMF”) and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
Regarding claim 10, Youn teaches claim 6 and further teaches receiving an eleventh message from the second mobility management function network element; or sending an eleventh message to the second mobility management function network element, wherein the eleventh message is used to request to establish a connection between the second mobility management function network element and the first access management function network element ([0407] “the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message”. [0408] ”The source AMF receiving the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts encapsulates the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts in the forward relocation request message and sends the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts to the target AMF”).
Regarding claim 11, Youn teaches a communication apparatus (FIG. 21, source AMF), comprising a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions, which when executed by the processor ([0964]), cause the apparatus to:
receive a first message from a first access network element, wherein the first message indicates that a terminal device is to be handed over from the first access network element to a second access network element ([0400] “the source gNB sends a handover required message to the source AMF when it is determined that the handover is required based on the measurement report received from the UE” [0401] “the handover required message includes an address and/or an identifier (ID) of a target gNB to which the UE is to move and UE AS context (i.e., AS information) of the corresponding UE in access stratum (AS)”);
determine, based on the first message, that the terminal device is to perform mobility management function network element handover ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102). This process may be determined by location information of the target gNB and an operator policy regarding selection of the AMF preset by an operator”); and
send a second message to a first access management function network element (FIG. 2, FIG. 21, source SMF), wherein the second message is used to request the terminal device to perform mobility management function network element handover, or is used to request the terminal device to be handed over from the communication apparatus to a second mobility management function network element ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102)”. [0403] “In the embodiment according to FIG. 21, a case where the AMF need to be changed is assumed”. [0404] “The source AMF sends to the source SMF a mobility event occurrence notification and a target gNB address of the UE through a newly defined message” [0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”).
Regarding claim 13, Youn teaches claim 11 and further teaches to: receive a fourth message from the first access management function network element, wherein the fourth message indicates that the terminal device is not to perform access management function network element handover, or indicates that the terminal device is to perform access management function network element handover ([0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”. [0407] “Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)”); and send a fifth message to the second mobility management function network element, wherein the terminal device is not to perform access management function network element handover, and the fifth message comprises information about the first access management function network element; or the terminal device is to perform access management function network element handover ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102)” [0403] “In the embodiment according to FIG. 21, a case where the AMF need to be changed”), and the fifth message comprises information about a second access management function network element, wherein the second access management function network element is a target access management function network element for the terminal device during access management function network element handover ([0408] “The source AMF receiving the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts encapsulates the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts in the forward relocation request message and sends the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts to the target AMF (S2106)”).
Regarding claim 14, Youn teaches claim 11 and further teaches wherein the second message comprises information corresponding to the second mobility management function network element and/or information corresponding to the second access network element ([0404] “The source AMF sends to the source SMF a mobility event occurrence notification and a target gNB address of the UE through a newly defined message (S2103)”).
Regarding claim 15, Youn teaches claim 11 and further teaches to: send a sixth message to the second mobility management function network element, wherein the sixth message comprises identification information of the second access network element and/or context information of the terminal device at the communication apparatus ([0408] “The source AMF receiving the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts encapsulates the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts in the forward relocation request message and sends the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts to the target AMF (S2106)”. [0409] “The target AMF receiving the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts sends the handover indication message to the target SMF selected by the source SMF (S2107)”).
Regarding claim 16, Youn teaches a communication apparatus (FIG. 21, source SMF), comprising a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions, which when executed by the processor ([0964]), cause the apparatus to:
receive a second message from a first mobility management function network element (FIG. 21, source AMF), wherein the second message is used to request a terminal device to perform mobility management function network element handover, or is used to request the terminal device to be handed over from the first mobility management function network element to a second mobility management function network element, and the terminal device is to be handed over from a first access network element to a second access network element ([0402] “After receiving the handover required message, the source AMF determines whether to change the AMF (S2102)”. [0403] “In the embodiment according to FIG. 21, a case where the AMF need to be changed is assumed”. [0404] “The source AMF sends to the source SMF a mobility event occurrence notification and a target gNB address of the UE through a newly defined message” [0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”); and
send a first response message to the first mobility management function network element, wherein the first response message indicates that the terminal device is to perform mobility management function network element handover ([0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”. [0407] “Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)”).
Regarding claim 18, Youn teaches claim 16 and further teaches when the second access network element has an association relationship with the communication apparatus, determine that the terminal device is not to perform access management function network element handover; or when the second access network element has no association relationship with the communication apparatus, determine that the terminal device is to perform access management function network element handover ([0406] “When the source SMF receiving the notification determines that SMF reselection is required (e.g., a case where the UE deviates from an area served by the source SMF in the PLMN, a case for reducing a load burden of a specific SMF among SMFs capable of serving the UE at present, etc.), the source SMF may directly select the target SMF (S2104)”. [0407] “Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)”).
Regarding claim 19, Youn teaches claim 6 and further teaches to: send a ninth message to a second access management function network element, wherein the ninth message is used to request the terminal device to perform mobility management function network element handover, and the second access management function network element is a target access management function network element for the terminal device during access management function network element handover ([0315] “the source SMF selects a new target SMF and sends the forward relocation request message”); and receive a tenth message from the second access management function network element, wherein the tenth message comprises the identification information ([0320] “7. The target SMF encapsulates the target UPF address and/or ID information used for each PDU session in the forward relocation response message and sends the target UPF address and/or ID information to the source SMF”) and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
Regarding claim 20, Youn teaches claim 16 and further teaches to: receive an eleventh message from the second mobility management function network element; or send an eleventh message to the second mobility management function network element, wherein the eleventh message is used to request to establish a connection between the second mobility management function network element and the communication apparatus ([0407] “the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message”. [0408] ”The source AMF receiving the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts encapsulates the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts in the forward relocation request message and sends the address and/or ID of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts to the target AMF”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn in view of Salkintzis et al. (US 2023/0188988, “Salkintzis”).
Regarding claim 2, Youn teaches claim 1 and further teaches receiving a third message from the first access management function network element, wherein the third message comprises identification information ([0407] Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)) {and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.}
It should be noted, Youn teaches Zhu teaches “UE session contexts” information included in the message but does not teach identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
Salkintzis teaches [0290] “the UE context includes a UE identity of the UE, an AMF identity of the AMF serving the UE, a first TNGF key, and a PDU session resource list”. Therefore, Youn and Zhu in combination teaches third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element, as taught by Salkintzis in Youn to facilitate transferring a PDU session in a handover.
Regarding claim 7, Youn teaches claim 6 and further teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending a third message to the first mobility management function network element, wherein the third message comprises identification information ([0407] Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)) {and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.}
It should be noted, Youn teaches Zhu teaches “UE session contexts” information included in the message but does not teach identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
Salkintzis teaches [0290] “the UE context includes a UE identity of the UE, an AMF identity of the AMF serving the UE, a first TNGF key, and a PDU session resource list”. Therefore, Youn and Zhu in combination teaches third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element, as taught by Salkintzis in Youn to facilitate transferring a PDU session in a handover.
Regarding claim 12, Youn teaches claim 11 and further teaches receive a third message from the first access management function network element, wherein the third message comprises identification information ([0407] Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)) {and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.}
It should be noted, Youn teaches Zhu teaches “UE session contexts” information included in the message but does not teach identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
Salkintzis teaches [0290] “the UE context includes a UE identity of the UE, an AMF identity of the AMF serving the UE, a first TNGF key, and a PDU session resource list”. Therefore, Youn and Zhu in combination teaches third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element, as taught by Salkintzis in Youn to facilitate transferring a PDU session in a handover.
Regarding claim 17, Youn teaches claim 6 and further teaches to: send a third message to the first mobility management function network element, wherein the third message comprises identification information ([0407] Then, the source SMF sends to the source AMF the address and/or ID information of the selected target SMF and the UE session contexts through a newly defined message (S2105)) {and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.}
It should be noted, Youn teaches Zhu teaches “UE session contexts” information included in the message but does not teach identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
Salkintzis teaches [0290] “the UE context includes a UE identity of the UE, an AMF identity of the AMF serving the UE, a first TNGF key, and a PDU session resource list”. Therefore, Youn and Zhu in combination teaches third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature third message comprises identification information and/or address information of the second mobility management function network element, as taught by Salkintzis in Youn to facilitate transferring a PDU session in a handover.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chandrashekar et al. (US 2025/0247808) teach “an AMF that is split up into two parts is provided. The two parts may comprise a first part comprising a local AMF (L-AMF) deployed with an i-SMF near to an Access Network, e.g., the RAN (which for the RAN may comprise a Central Unit Control Plane (CU-CP) of a gNB) and a second part comprising a central AMF (C-AMF)” ([0165]).
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642