DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/942,967 for a MULTIFUNCTIONAL, VERSATILE CAMOUFLAGE DEVICE, filed on 11/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (U.S. Pat. 11,758,901) in view of Suter (U.S. Pub. 2009/0178326).
Regarding claim 1, Adams teaches a device (Fig. 3) comprising: a puck comprising: a puck top; a puck bottom (see Fig. 4); a plurality of puck sides; and a puck opening in a respective one of the plurality of puck sides; and a camouflage device (40) attached to the puck via the puck opening, but does not teach that the puck opening is threaded. Suter, however teaches a camouflage device (1, Fig. 2) attached to a connector (10) threaded opening ([0009]) in order to releasably secure the camouflage device to the connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the puck opening of Adams as threaded in order to securely, quickly and releasable attach and detach a threaded camouflage device to the puck to maintain a tight and secure connection that can be held on various supports and environments, in view of Suter.
[AltContent: textbox (Puck sides)]
[AltContent: textbox (Puck opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Puck top)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Adams and Suter teach the device of claim 1, but do not teach that the plurality of the puck sides are sloped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the plurality of puck sides as sloped in order to direct water flow off of the puck when used in an outdoor environment when raining, and further, as a matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art since the applicant has not shown how the chosen shape is critical.
Regarding claim 3, Adams and Suter teach the device of claim 1, but do not teach that the puck is octagonal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the puck as octagonal in order to provide additional sides to secure additional branches to the puck for more concealment, and further, as a matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art since the applicant has not shown how the chosen shape is critical.
Regarding claim 4, Adams and Suter teach the device of claim 1, wherein the puck further comprises a securing device (10) attached to the puck bottom configured for attachment to an external object.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Adams and Suter teach the device of claim 1, wherein Suter teaches that the threaded puck opening is female threaded and the camouflage device is threaded into the threaded puck opening.
Regarding claim 19, Adams and Suter teach the device of claim 1, wherein Adams teaches that the camouflage device comprises an artificial branch or a real camouflage branch.
Regarding claim 20, Adams and Suter teach the device of claim 1, wherein Adams teaches that the camouflage device provides camouflage proximate the puck.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 8066022, 9185902, 8356784, 6306471, 6543175 (concealment devices)
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 February 7, 2026