DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 is being considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
All dependent claims preambles should be “The”
Claim 1 should read “a first surface for contacting an inner portion of a side wall of the wheel rim”
Claim 1 should read “a channel for receiving a radially outer edge”
Claim 1 should read “a toe portion projecting beyond a leading edge of the second surface”
Claim 1 should read “wherein, when installing a tyre on a wheel rim, at a cross-over point”
Claim 8 should read “ The tool according to claim 1, wherein the body is cranked such that, when the shoe is positioned on the wheel rim for installing the tyre, the handle portion is angled away from a plane of the wheel.
Appropriate correction is required and please check the rest of the claims for antecedent issues.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pivot discussed in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 contains the limitation “wherein the articulated joint comprises a pivot at a trailing end of the shoe opposite the leading tip of the toe portion.” When looking to Figure 5, the articulating joint only has one axis of rotation. The claim makes it seem there is a second articulating joint / pivot being claimed. If this were to be true, the Examiner would be unsure how it would work and how it would be connected. As such the specification lacks the description for one skilled in the art to understand where the pivot point is located. For Examination purposes, the articulated joint is to be assumed to be the same as the pivot joint just further limiting its location
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu (US 2018/0290508).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a tool for installing a tyre onto a wheel rim, the tool comprising:
a shoe, the shoe comprising:
a first surface (Figure 3c Item 354) for contacting an inner portion of the side wall of the wheel rim;
a second surface (between Item 330 and 354 is a hook portion as shown in figure 3c) for forming, with the first surface, a channel for receiving the radially outer edge of the wheel rim;
a toe portion (Item 350) projecting beyond a leading edge of the second surface in the circumferential direction of the wheel rim and continuing the first surface in the circumferential direction of the wheel rim; and
a shoulder portion (between Item 340 and 350), and
a body (Item 310), connected to the shoe, providing a handle portion (Item 320),
wherein, when installing a tyre on a wheel rim, at a cross-over point where the bead of a partially installed tyre crosses from outside the wheel rim to inside the wheel rim, the first surface and second surface are contactable with the inner portion of the side wall and radially outer edge of the wheel rim, respectively, with the toe portion projecting underneath the bead of the tyre at the cross-over point along the inner side wall of the rim, whereby advancing the shoe in the circumferential direction toward the cross-over point applies a radially outward force to the bead, and the shoulder portion urges the bead in the direction from outside the wheel rim to inside the wheel rim (Paragraphs 24-32).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1, wherein the toe portion is tapered to assist in lifting the bead over the radially outer edge of the wheel rim as the tool is advanced circumferentially (best shown in Figure 3a-c).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1, wherein the toe portion is configured to project along the inner portion of the side wall to lift the bead from inside (Paragraphs 24-32).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1, further comprising an arm extending from the body and provided with a bead-engaging portion (in the directions leading to Item 340), wherein when installing a tyre on a wheel rim, the bead-engaging portion is arranged to contact a portion of the tyre bead that is on the outside of the wheel rim (capable of), and wherein applying a force to the handle portion of the body, with the shoe acting as a fulcrum, enables the bead-engaging portion to apply a force to the bead to assist in lifting the bead over the radially outer edge of the wheel rim (Paragraphs 30-31).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 6, wherein the bead-engaging portion comprises a roller (item 342).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1, wherein the body is cranked such that, when the shoe is positioned on a wheel rim for installing a tyre, the handle portion is angled away from the plane of the wheel (Figure 4b).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1, wherein a sole of the shoe has a curved surface (Figure 3a and 3b, under Item 362).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nemish (US 2008/0023150).
Regarding claim 10, Nemish discloses a tool for removing a tyre from a wheel rim, the tool comprising:
a removal hook (Item 8) comprising a leading edge for inserting between the tyre and the wheel rim; and
a body (Item 4), connected to the removal hook, providing a handle portion, for urging the removal hook to prise a portion of the bead of the tyre over the radially outer edge of the wheel rim (intended use, but capable of),
wherein the body is connected to the removal hook via an articulated joint to enable the body to be rotated relative to the removal hook (As discussed in Paragraph 29, Item 7 and 4 are connected by a pin, thus 7 can rotate when the pin is removed).
Regarding claim 11, Nemish discloses the tool according to claim 10, wherein the removal hook comprises a lip along the leading edge for retaining a portion of the tyre bead (leading edge being where Item 8 is denoted in Figure 1b).
Regarding claim 12, Nemish discloses the tool according to claim 10, wherein the body is cranked such that, when the removal hook is positioned between the outer side wall of a wheel rim and the bead of a partially removed tyre, the handle portion is angled away from the plane of the wheel (best shown in Figure 4a and 4b).
Regarding claim 13, Nemish discloses the tool according to claim 10, further comprising at least one motion restrictor to limit the extent of rotation of the body relative to the removal hook (the pin discussed in Paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 2018/0290508) in view of Kimbel (US 1,307,131).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1. Hsu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the body is connected to the shoe via an articulated joint.
Kimbel teaches a tool wherein the body (item 1) is connected to the shoe (Item 6)via an articulated joint (Figure 1 and 2; Lines 58-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu to have the articulated joint as taught by Kimbel. Such a modification would allow a user to adjust the angle and distance between the leading edge and the shoe. This is beneficial because not all wheels are made to the same diameter, width, or material. Thus a level of adjustability might decrease any binding that may occur.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu in view of Kimbel discloses the tool according to claim 2, wherein the articulated joint comprises a pivot at a trailing end of the shoe opposite the leading tip of the toe portion (Kimbel Figure 1 and 2 shows the pivot away from the surfaces that contact the wheel or tire).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 2018/0290508) in view of Nemish (US 2008/0023150).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1. Hsu fails to explicitly disclose comprising a removal hook comprising a leading edge for inserting between the tyre and the wheel rim;
wherein the body is connected to the removal hook, providing a handle portion, for urging the removal hook to prise a portion of the bead of the tyre over the radially outer edge of the wheel rim,
the body is connected to the removal hook via an articulated joint to enable the body to be rotated relative to the removal hook.
Nemish teaches a tool wherein a tool mounting portion is on the first end of the handle, and a tool removal tool on a second end and wherein a removal hook (Item 8) comprising a leading edge for inserting between the tyre and the wheel rim; wherein the body (Item 4) is connected to the removal hook, providing a handle portion, for urging the removal hook to prise a portion of the bead of the tyre over the radially outer edge of the wheel rim, the body is connected to the removal hook via an articulated joint to enable the body to be rotated relative to the removal hook (Paragraph 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the tire removal tool to the second end of the handle of Hsu as taught by Nemish. Such a modification would allow the tool of Hsu to be able to remove a tire from a rim and install a tire on the rim. Thus only needing one tool to work on a wheel.
Regarding claim 15, Hsu in view of Nemish disclose the tool according to claim 14, wherein the shoe and removal hook are positioned at opposite ends of the body (Nemish Figure 2 shoes the removal hook at 2 and the shoe at Item 3).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 2018/0290508) in view of Doring (EP 2000334A1).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu discloses the tool according to claim 1. Hsu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the body has a length in the range of from 80 mm to 180 mm.
Doring teaches a tool wherein the body has a length in the range of from 80 mm to 180 mm (Column 2 Lines 39-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the length of the body of Hsu to be in the range of from 80 mm to 180 mm as taught by Doring. Such a modification is a change in size, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). At this size, the tool can fit easily within a user’s hand, yet not too large to occupy a lot of space when in storage.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723