DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the button being able to slide to be separated from the switch element as recited in claim 1 and the device body recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because “on device body” on line 3 should be changed to “on the device body”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. [US 2006/0137965] in view of Bayat et al. [Bayat hereinafter, US 2010/0254124].
In regard to claim 1, Nishikawa discloses [in Fig.1 ] a first protective shell [11], provided with a first receiving cavity; a switch element [12-17], arranged in the first protective shell and received in the first receiving cavity; a second protective shell [21], arranged at an end of the first protective shell [11], located outside the first protective shell [11] and provided with a second receiving cavity, the switch element being received in the second receiving cavity; and a button [22], slidably assembled in the second protective shell [21] and received in the second receiving cavity, the button [22] being able to slide to be in contact with the switch element to turn on or off the switch element. Nishikawa does not disclose that the button is able to slide to be separated from the switch element. Bayat teaches [in Fig. 10] that the button [36] is able to slide to be separated from the switch [34]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide button that is able to slide to be separated from the switch in order to actuate the switch as desired and provide the user with a desired tactile feedback.
In regard to claim 2, Nishikawa discloses [in Fig. 1] some of the limitations of the switch according to Claim 1, wherein a first connecting structure [annotated below] is arranged on an inner wall of the first receiving cavity, a second connecting structure [annotated below] is arranged on the switch element, and the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure are connected.
In regard to claim 5, Nishikawa discloses [in Fig. 1] some of the limitations of the switch according to Claim 1, wherein the first protective shell [11] is provided with a third connecting structure [11E], a fourth connecting structure [21B] is arranged on an inner wall of the second receiving cavity, and the third connecting structure and the fourth connecting structure are connected.
In regard to claim 6, Nishikawa and Bayat teach the switch according to Claim 5. Nishikawa does not teach that the third connecting structure and the fourth connecting structure are connected threadedly. Bayat teaches [in Fig. 10] that the third connecting structure [192] and the fourth connecting structure [181] are connected threadedly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the connection between the third and fourth connecting structures of Nishikawa with the threaded connection taught by Morse in order to provide a more secure connection between the parts of the switch.
In regard to claim 10, Nishikawa discloses [in Figs. 1 and 4] some of the limitations of the switch according to Claim 1 and a device body [27, 28], wherein the switch is arranged on device body [27, 28] and electrically connected to the device body. In regard to the limitation that the switch is an “explosion-proof switch” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. [US 2006/0137965] in view of Bayat et al. [Bayat hereinafter, US 2010/0254124] further in view of Morse [US 4,825,023].
In regard to claims 3 and 4, Nishikawa and Bayat teach the switch according to Claim 2. Nishikawa further discloses a first stop protrusion [17A] is arranged on an outer side of the switch element and abuts against an end [at 11C] of the first protective shell [11]. Nishikawa and Bayat do not teach that the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure are connected threadedly. Morse teaches [in Fig. 3] that the first connecting structure [25] and the second connecting structure [thread of 100] are connected threadedly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the connection between the first and second connecting structures of Nishikawa with the threaded connection taught by Morse in order to provide a more secure connection between the parts of the switch.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. [US 2006/0137965] in view of Bayat et al. [Bayat hereinafter, US 2010/0254124] further in view of Barlian et al. [Barlian hereinafter, US 7,104,677].
In regard to claims 8 and 9, Nishikawa and Bayat teach the switch according to Claim 1. Nishikawa further discloses [in Fig. 1] that the second receiving cavity penetrates through an end surface of the second protective shell [21] to form a receding hole [hole penetrated by 22], and the button[22] penetrates into the receding hole, an inner wall of the receding hole protrudes in a radial direction to form a third stop protrusion [annotated above], and a fourth stop protrusion [annotated above] is arranged on an outer side of the button and received in the second receiving cavity; wherein, when the button slides to be in contact with or separated from the switch element, the fourth step protrusion is spaced apart from or abuts against the third stop protrusion. Nishikawa and Bayat do not teach that the button is light-transmitting. Barlian teaches [in Fig. 1] that the button [27] is light-transmitting. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the button of Nishikawa, as modified by Bayat, with a light-transmitting button as taught by Barlian, in order to effectively communicate with the switch user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In combination with other limitations, a second stop protrusion arranged on the inner wall of the second receiving cavity and abuts against an end, away from the first protective shell, of the switch element is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831