DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an Application No. 18/943,014 filed on 11/26/2024 in which claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended and no claims are canceled nor added.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 11/11/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the status of a reference U.S. Patent Application No. 17/159,611 recited in ¶ [0001] must be updated as “now issued as U.S. Patent Number 12,167,428”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 11/11/2024.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,428 (hereinafter ‘428) in view of Patil et al. (US 2018/0184285 A1) hereinafter “Patil”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in this instant application and the claims in ‘428 disclose the similar features, therefore claims 1-20 in this instant application constitute obvious double patenting over said claims of ‘428.
Regarding pending claim 1, the claimed limitations of said claim 1 are substantially the same as claim 7 of ‘428.
However, ‘428 does not recite parsing the first frame. In the same analogous art, Patil discloses paring the first frame (see ¶ [0120], STA to parse a beacon frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide paring the first frame as taught by, in the system of ‘428, so that it would provide STA operating as a TWT STA may identify the BSS color change announcement or that the BSS color is disabled or enable in the beacon frame based on the received indication in the special frame (Patil: see ¶ [0120]).
The table below shows only Example (sample) of how each of the limitations/claims in this instant application is/are similar features with ‘428.
Instant Application No. 18/943,014
U.S. Patent No. 12,167,428 B2
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a second communications device, a first frame from a first communications device, wherein the first frame comprises an operation element field, wherein the operation element field comprises a channel bandwidth field, a first channel center frequency segment field, a second channel center frequency segment field, and a bitmap for preamble puncture field, wherein the channel bandwidth field indicates a basic service set (BSS) bandwidth, wherein the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field indicate a location of an operating channel of a BSS, and wherein each bit status in the bitmap for preamble puncture field indicates whether a subchannel of the operating channel of the BSS is available; and
parsing, by the second communications device, the first frame.
7. A method comprising:
generating a first frame comprising an operation element field, wherein the operation element field comprises a channel bandwidth field, a first channel center frequency segment field, a second channel center frequency segment field, and a bitmap for preamble puncture field, wherein the channel bandwidth field indicates a basic service set (BSS) bandwidth, wherein the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field indicate a location of an operating channel of a BSS, and wherein each bit status in the bitmap for preamble puncture field indicates whether a subchannel of the operating channel of the BSS is available; and
sending the first frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Verma et al. (US 2019/0327740 A1) hereinafter “Verma”.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Verma discloses Claim 1 of a method comprising: ; Claim 8 of an apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (see FIG. 17; see ¶ [0166], STA may include a processor and memory); and Claim 15 of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein the instructions are run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform operation (see ¶ [0221]) comprising:
receiving, by a second communications device, a first frame from a first communications device (see FIG. 8; see ¶ [0061] [0104], the AP may support BSS and periodically broadcast frames (e.g., broadcast frame, beacons, control frames, management frames) to STA), wherein the first frame comprises an operation element field, wherein the operation element field comprises a channel bandwidth field, a first channel center frequency segment field, a second channel center frequency segment field, and a bitmap for preamble puncture field, wherein the channel bandwidth field indicates a basic service set (BSS) bandwidth, wherein the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field indicate a location of an operating channel of a BSS, and wherein each bit status in the bitmap for preamble puncture field indicates whether a subchannel of the operating channel of the BSS is available (see FIG. 3; see Table 3.1; see ¶ [0081-89], operation element frame to indicate channel width subfield define the respective BSS bandwidth, channel center frequency segment 0 subfield and channel center frequency segment 1 subfield may define a channel center frequency for 160/80+80 BSS bandwidth for the second class of STAs, puncture status subfield may include puncture status segment 0 subfield and puncture status segment 1 subfield where bits of puncture status segment 0 subfield and puncture statue segment 1 subfield may be set (e.g., by an AP) to indicate puncturing of certain channels or RUs within a channel width indicated by the channel width subfield); and
parsing, by the second communications device, the first frame (see FIG. 8; see ¶ [0105], STAs may identify the second operation information field, and determine a second channel width, frequency segment center frequencies associated with the second channel width, a puncturing scheme, etc.).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Verma discloses wherein the operation element field is an Extremely High Throughput (EHT) operation information field (see FIG. 3; see ¶ [0081], operation element format 300 may include a second operation information field (e.g., an EHT operation information field)).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Verma discloses wherein the first frame further comprises a preamble punctured BSS field indicating whether the bitmap for preamble puncture field is present (see ¶ [0081] [0100], operation element format may be used by an AP to indicate different channel widths (e.g., different BSS bandwidths) to different classes of wireless devices (e.g., for improved channel utilization via puncturing schemes)).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Verma discloses wherein the first frame is a beacon frame (see ¶ [0061] [0104], the AP may support BSS and periodically broadcast frames (e.g., broadcast frame, beacons, control frames, management frames) to STA).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Verma discloses wherein the first frame is an association response frame (see ¶ [0061] [0104], the AP may support BSS and periodically broadcast frames (e.g., broadcast frame, beacons, control frames, management frames) to STA).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Verma discloses wherein the subchannel has a subchannel bandwidth of 20 megahertz (MHz) (see ¶ [0085], channel width subfield for 20 MHz).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Verma discloses wherein the bitmap for preamble puncture field is 2 bytes (see ¶ [0085] [0103], if channel width subfield for 40 MHz is supported, then puncturing scheme may include two 8-bit bitmap).
Conclusion
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462