DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-12, 15, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zare Hoseini (WO 2019/219204 A1), hereinafter Zare.
Regarding claim 1, Zare discloses, in figure 9, an N-path filter comprising:
a first signal terminal (902), a second signal terminal (904), and a third signal terminal (905);
N first signal paths (906-1, 906-2, 906-3 with 908-3 & 908-4) that are connected in parallel with each other between the first signal terminal (902) and the second signal terminal (904), N being an integer greater than or equal to 3 (N=4); and
N second signal paths (paths including modulators 912-1 to 912-4, N=4); wherein
each of the N first signal paths (906-1, 906-2, 906-3 with 908-3 & 908-4) includes:
a first modulator (910-1 to 910-4) connected to the first signal terminal (902) to modulate an input signal input from the first signal terminal (902) or the second signal terminal (904);
a second modulator (914-1 to 914-4) connected to the second signal terminal (904) to modulate the input signal (pg. 16, lines 16-21, “the third switching circuits 914-1 to 914-4 are situated between the first output port 904 and the corresponding low pass filter circuit, periodic activation of a third switching circuit 914-i of a path i up-converts the filtered baseband signal generated by the corresponding low-pass filter circuit 908-i to the original band of the input signal and provides the up-converted signal to the first output port 904”); and
a base filter (pg. 16, lines 1902-, “low-pass filter circuit 908-i”….908-1 to 908-4) connected between the first modulator and the second modulator (908-1 to 904-4 coupled between 910-1 to 910-4 and 914-1 to 914-4);
each of the N second signal paths (paths including modulators 912-1 to 912-4) connects a node on one of the first signal paths (nodes at the intersection between 912-i and 914-i) to the third signal terminal (905) and includes a third modulator (912-1 to 914-4) connected to the third signal terminal (905) to modulate the input signal input from the first signal terminal (902) or the third signal terminal (905);
the base filter (908-1 to 904-4) includes a series arm element including a reactance component (C1 to C4);
each of the first modulator (910-1 to 910-4) and the second modulator (914-1 to 914-4) is drivable by one of drive signals that modulate the input signal with a phase that completes one cycle T across the N first signal paths (pg. 17, lines 11-29, “each of the first switching circuits 910-1 to 910-4 is activated by a corresponding control signal that is a phase-shifted version of a local oscillator signal (LO) wherein each control signal has a duty cycle equal to 1/N of the LO period…second and third switching circuits 912-1 to 912-4 and 914-1 to 914-4 are activated in the same sequence as the corresponding first switching circuits 910-1 to 910-4”);
the third modulator (912-1 to 912-4) is drivable by one of drive signals that modulate the input signal with a phase that completes one cycle T across the N second signal paths (pg. 17, lines 11-29, “each of the first switching circuits 910-1 to 910-4 is activated by a corresponding control signal that is a phase-shifted version of a local oscillator signal (LO) wherein each control signal has a duty cycle equal to 1/N of the LO period…second and third switching circuits 912-1 to 912-4 and 914-1 to 914-4 are activated in the same sequence as the corresponding first switching circuits 910-1 to 910-4”); and
a phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the second modulator (914-1 to 914-4) is opposite to a phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the third modulator (912-1 to 912-4, pg. 18, Table 3, discloses phase differences of 180 degrees between 912-i and 914-I of each path).
Regarding claim 2, Zare discloses the N-path filter according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein a difference between the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the second modulator and the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the third modulator is greater than or equal to about 174.261° and less than or equal to about 185.739° (pg. 18, Table 3, discloses phase differences of 180 degrees between 912-i and 914-I of each path).
Regarding claim 3, Zare discloses the N-path filter according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein the first modulator (910-i) includes a first switch connecting (S1-1, S2-1, S3-1, & S4-1) and disconnecting the first signal terminal to and from the base filter according to the one of the drive signals (first switches connect/disconnect the first signal terminal 902 to/from the base filters 908-1 to 908-4);
the second modulator (914-i) includes a second switch (S1-3, S2-3, S3-3, & S4-3) connecting and disconnecting the second signal terminal to and from the base filter according the one of the drive signals (second switches connect/disconnect the second signal terminal 904 to/from the base filters 908-1 to 908-4); and
the third modulator (912-i) includes a third switch (S1-2, S2-2, S3-2, & S4-2) connecting and disconnecting the third signal terminal to and from the base filter according to the one of the drive signals (third switches connect/disconnect the third signal terminal 905 to/from the base filters 908-1 to 908-4).
Regarding claim 6, Zare discloses the N-path filter according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein the base filter is one of an acoustic wave filter, a filter including an inductor and a capacitor, or a filter including a dielectric resonator (pg. 15, lines 15-17, “each low pass filter circuit 908-i is formed by a capacitor C i in parallel with a resistor R i. However, it will be evident to a person of skill in the art that this is only an example of a low pass filter circuit and that other low-pass filter circuits may be used”).
Regarding claim 9, Zare discloses the N-path filter according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein a difference between the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the second modulator and the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the third modulator is greater than or equal to about 176.173° and less than or equal to about 183.826° (pg. 18, Table 3, discloses phase differences of 180 degrees between 912-i and 914-I of each path).
Regarding claim 10, Zare discloses the N-path filter according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, a radio frequency module (pg. 20, lines 15-16, “the converters are used in a radio receiver”) comprising:
at least one N-path filter according to claim 1 (converter 900); and
at least one amplifier connected to the at least one N-path filter (amplifier 920 coupled to converter 900).
Regarding claim 11, Zare discloses the radio frequency module according to claim 10, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein a difference between the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the second modulator and the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the third modulator is greater than or equal to about 174.261° and less than or equal to about 185.739° (pg. 18, Table 3, discloses phase differences of 180 degrees between 912-i and 914-I of each path).
Regarding claim 12, Zare discloses the radio frequency module according to claim 10, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein the first modulator (910-i) includes a first switch connecting (S1-1, S2-1, S3-1, & S4-1) and disconnecting the first signal terminal to and from the base filter according to the one of the drive signals (first switches connect/disconnect the first signal terminal 902 to/from the base filters 908-1 to 908-4);
the second modulator (914-i) includes a second switch (S1-3, S2-3, S3-3, & S4-3) connecting and disconnecting the second signal terminal to and from the base filter according the one of the drive signals (second switches connect/disconnect the second signal terminal 904 to/from the base filters 908-1 to 908-4); and
the third modulator (912-i) includes a third switch (S1-2, S2-2, S3-2, & S4-2) connecting and disconnecting the third signal terminal to and from the base filter according to the one of the drive signals (third switches connect/disconnect the third signal terminal 905 to/from the base filters 908-1 to 908-4).
Regarding claim 15, Zare discloses the radio frequency module according to claim 10, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein the base filter is one of an acoustic wave filter, a filter including an inductor and a capacitor, or a filter including a dielectric resonator (pg. 15, lines 15-17, “each low pass filter circuit 908-i is formed by a capacitor C i in parallel with a resistor R i. However, it will be evident to a person of skill in the art that this is only an example of a low pass filter circuit and that other low-pass filter circuits may be used”).
Regarding claim 18, Zare discloses the radio frequency module according to claim 10, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein a difference between the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the second modulator and the phase of the one of the drive signals to drive the third modulator is greater than or equal to about 176.173° and less than or equal to about 183.826° (pg. 18, Table 3, discloses phase differences of 180 degrees between 912-i and 914-I of each path).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zare in view of Zare Hoseini (WO 2019/219212 A1), hereinafter Zare 212.
Regarding claim 4, Zare discloses the N-path filter according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, a signal input terminal and a signal output terminal (terminals 902, 904 & 905); wherein
the signal input terminal is the first signal terminal (902), but fails to disclose wherein the signal output terminal is connected to the second signal terminal and the third signal terminal.
However, Zare 212 discloses, in figure 6, wherein the signal output terminal is connected to the second signal terminal and the third signal terminal (V_OUT is connected to the second signal terminal 504 and the third signal terminal constituted as the output from paths 506-1 to 506-N).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the single output of Zare 212 in the N-path filter of Zare, to achieve the benefit of improving out-of-band rejection in the filter circuit with no direct shorting connection between the input port and the output (Zare 212, Para [0067] & [0068]).
Regarding claim 13, Zare discloses the radio frequency module of claim 10, and continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein each of the at least one N-path filter includes a signal input terminal and a signal output terminal (terminals 902, 904 & 905); wherein
the signal input terminal is the first signal terminal (902), but fails to disclose wherein the signal output terminal is connected to the second signal terminal and the third signal terminal.
However, Zare 212 discloses, in figure 6, wherein the signal output terminal is connected to the second signal terminal and the third signal terminal (V_OUT is connected to the second signal terminal 504 and the third signal terminal constituted as the output from paths 506-1 to 506-N).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the single output of Zare 212 in the N-path filter of Zare, to achieve the benefit of improving out-of-band rejection in the filter circuit with no direct shorting connection between the input port and the output (Zare 212, Para [0067] & [0068]).
Claims 5, 8, 14, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zare in view of Floyd et al. (US 2015/0288392 A1), hereinafter Floyd.
Regarding claim 5, Zare discloses the N-path filter according to claim 1, and Zare continues to disclose, in figure 9, a signal input terminal and a signal output terminal (terminals 902, 904 & 905); and
the signal input terminal is the first signal terminal (902), but fails to disclose a balanced-unbalanced conversion element including two balanced terminals and one unbalanced terminal;
one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the second signal terminal;
another one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the third signal terminal; and
the signal output terminal is connected to the unbalanced terminal.
However, Floyd discloses, in figure 3 & 8, a balanced-unbalanced conversion element including two balanced terminals and one unbalanced terminal (output trifilar balun);
one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the second signal terminal (one of the two balanced terminals of the output balun is connected to the second signal terminal of the N-path notch filter 308 via the node from LO1, LO2, and LO8);
another one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the third signal terminal (the second balanced terminal of the output balun is connected to the third signal terminal of the N-path notch filter 308 via the node from LO4, LO5, and LO3; and
the signal output terminal is connected to the unbalanced terminal (OUT of the output trifilar balun is connected to the unbalanced terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the balun of Floyd in the N-path filter of Zare, to achieve the benefit of producing a filtered signal with reduced insertion loss when dealing with unequal signals (Floyd, Para [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Zare in view of Floyd disclose the N-path filter according to claim 5, and Floyd continues to disclose in figure 3, wherein the balanced-unbalanced conversion element includes a Balun including a primary coil and a secondary coil (the balanced-unbalanced conversion element is the trifilar balun including a primary coil connected to the N-path notch filter 308 and the secondary coil connected to the output OUT).
Regarding claim 14, Zare discloses the radio frequency module according to claim 10, and Zare continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein each of the at least one N-path filter includes a signal input terminal and a signal output terminal (terminals 902, 904 & 905); and
the signal input terminal is the first signal terminal (902), but fails to disclose a balanced-unbalanced conversion element including two balanced terminals and one unbalanced terminal;
one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the second signal terminal;
another one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the third signal terminal; and
the signal output terminal is connected to the unbalanced terminal.
However, Floyd discloses, in figure 3 & 8, a balanced-unbalanced conversion element including two balanced terminals and one unbalanced terminal (output trifilar balun);
one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the second signal terminal (one of the two balanced terminals of the output balun is connected to the second signal terminal of the N-path notch filter 308 via the node from LO1, LO2, and LO8);
another one of the two balanced terminals is connected to the third signal terminal (the second balanced terminal of the output balun is connected to the third signal terminal of the N-path notch filter 308 via the node from LO4, LO5, and LO3; and
the signal output terminal is connected to the unbalanced terminal (OUT of the output trifilar balun is connected to the unbalanced terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the balun of Floyd in the N-path filter of Zare, to achieve the benefit of producing a filtered signal with reduced insertion loss when dealing with unequal signals (Floyd, Para [0028]).
Regarding claim 17, Zare in view of Floyd disclose the radio frequency module according to claim 14, and Floyd continues to disclose in figure 3, wherein the balanced-unbalanced conversion element includes a Balun including a primary coil and a secondary coil (the balanced-unbalanced conversion element is the trifilar balun including a primary coil connected to the N-path notch filter 308 and the secondary coil connected to the output OUT).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 & 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2842