Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/11/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, 14, 19, 20 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 3, 11 and 19 each recites “wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises one of: an audio output produced by the first electric load device; a movement direction of the first electric load device; a movement acceleration of the first electric load device; a movement velocity of the first electric load device; or an ambient temperature proximate the first electric load device”. The BRI of claims 3, 11 and 19 includes “wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises a movement direction of the first electric load device” or “wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises a movement acceleration of the first electric load device “ or ““wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises a movement velocity of the first electric load device“ or ““wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises an ambient temperature proximate the first electric load device” because of the usage of “one of …. or…”. The most relevant portion in the specification are “The operational characteristic may include, for example, a lighting intensity of the second electrical load, a load current that flows through the second electrical load, a sound emitted by the second electrical load, or another operational characteristic” (see [0008] of the specification) and “ sound that is emitted by the appliance 420 (e.g., an audible tone that is emitted by the washing machine 422, noise generated by the washing machine 422 during normal operation, etc.)” (see [0064] of the specification). These passages, at best, provide support for “wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises an audio output produced by the first electric load device”. There is no support for “wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises a movement direction of the first electric load device” or “wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises a movement acceleration of the first electric load device “ or ““wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises a movement velocity of the first electric load device“ or ““wherein the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises an ambient temperature proximate the first electric load device”.
Claims 4, 12 and 20 each recites “wherein the target operating parameter value includes one of: a fan speed; or a direction of rotation”, the most relevant portion in the specification are “The lighting control system 100 may further include, independently or in any combination, one or more other types of load control devices, such as, for example: a dimming ballast for driving a gas-discharge lamp; a light-emitting diode (LED) driver for driving an LED light source; a dimming circuit for controlling the intensity of a lighting load; a screw-in luminaire including a dimmer circuit and an incandescent or halogen lamp; a screw-in luminaire including a ballast and a compact fluorescent lamp; a screw-in luminaire including an LED driver and an LED light source; an electronic switch, controllable circuit breaker, or other switching device for turning an appliance on and off; a controllable electrical receptacle or controllable power strip for controlling one or more plug-in loads; a motor control unit for controlling a motor load, such as a ceiling fan or an exhaust fan” ([0032] of the specification). These passages, at best, provide support for “the load control devices comprising motor control unit for controlling a ceiling fan or an exhaust fan”, there is no support for “wherein the target operating parameter value includes one of: a fan speed; or a direction of rotation”
Claims 6, 14 and 22 each recites “receiving by the control circuitry via the communication interface circuitry, a wireless signal that includes an electrical input parameter that includes one of: an input voltage to the first electric load device; an input current to the first electric load device; or an input phase angle to the first electric load device”, the BRI of claims 6, 14 and 22 includes “receiving by the control circuitry via the communication interface circuitry, a wireless signal that includes an electrical input parameter that includes an input phase angle to the first electric load device” because the usage of “one of…or…”. The most relevant portion in the specification are “measure a magnitude of the load current flowing through the light bulb 222 in the table lamp 220, and to transmit one or more messages that are representative of the magnitude of the load current (e.g., including the measured load current) to the controllable light source 212 (e.g., via RF signals 206), which may cause the controllable light source 212 to attempt to synchronize the intensity of the integral lighting load with the light bulb 222 in the table lamp 220. Alternatively, the load-sensing remote control device 230 may be configured to measure a load voltage across the light bulb 222 in the table lamp 220” ([0044] of the specification) and “ load-sensing remote control device 230 may further include a power supply that is configured to be coupled to the AC power source 202, and may be configured to generate a DC supply voltage for powering the sensing circuit, the control circuit, the wireless communication circuit”) ([0045] of the specification). These passages, at best, provide support for “receiving by the control circuitry via the communication interface circuitry, a wireless signal that includes an electrical input parameter that includes one of: an input voltage to the first electric load device; an input current to the first electric load device”. There is no support for “receiving by the control circuitry via the communication interface circuitry, a wireless signal that includes an electrical input parameter that includes an input phase angle to the first electric load device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 21, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20130030732 to Shetty et al. (hereinafter “Shetty”).
As per claim 1, Shetty discloses an electric load controller (Shetty, see Fig. 1 and [0055]-[0060]), comprising:
communication interface circuitry (Shetty, see [0011] for the Internet or another wired and/or wireless connection);
control circuitry coupled to the communication interface circuitry (Shetty, see [0012] and Fig. 1), the control circuitry to:
receive via the communication interface circuitry, a wireless signal transmitted by sensing circuitry operatively coupled to a first electric load device (Shetty, see [0011], [0017] and [0037]), the wireless signal including data representative of an operating parameter value of the first electric load device (Shetty, see [0017] and [0029]-[0038], the first electric load device can be one of lights, a microwave, a toaster oven, a television set, or a radio);
determine a target operating parameter value for a second electric load device different from the first electric load device (Shetty, see [0037]-[0042] and [0055]-[0060] for adjusting heating/cooling setting of the thermostat (i.e. second electric load device) that is different from lights, a microwave, a toaster oven, a television set, or a radio);
wherein the target operating parameter value is based on the received operating parameter value of the first electric load device (Shetty, see [0018], [0037]-[0042] and [0055]-[0060] for adjusting heating/cooling setting of the thermostat (i.e. second electric load device) based on analyzing the power consumption by the lights, a microwave, a toaster oven, a television set, or a radio); and
wherein the target operating parameter differs from operating parameter value of the first electric load device (Shetty, see [0018], [0037]-[0042] and [0055]-[0060]; it is noted that heating/cooling setting of the thermostat is different than the power consumption by the lights, a microwave, a toaster oven, a television set, or a radio);
determine a target electrical parameter for the second electric load device, the target electrical parameter to cause the second electric load device to operate at the determined target operating parameter (Shetty, see [0037]-[0042] and [0055]-[0060]); and
cause the second load device to operate at the target electrical parameter (Shetty, see [0037]-[0042] and [0055]-[0060]).
Claim 9 is a method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 1, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 17 is a CRM claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 1, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Shetty further discloses wherein the operating parameter value of the first electric load device comprises:
an electrical input parameter to the first electric load device (Shetty, see [0018] and [0037]-[0042]).
Claim 13 is a method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 5, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Claim 21 is a CRM claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 5, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Shetty further discloses wherein the electrical input parameter to the first electric load device comprises one of:
an input current to the first electric load device (Shetty, see [0018] and [0037]-[0042]).
Claim 14 is a method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 6, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Claim 22 is a CRM claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 6, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Shetty further discloses wherein the data representative of an operating parameter value of the first electric load device comprises: a value indicative of a change of state of the first electric load device (Shetty, see [0029]-[0032]).
Claim 16 is a method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 8, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
Claim 24 is a CRM claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 8, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 10-11 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shetty, in view of US20130234625 to Kondo et al. (hereinafter “Kondo”).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Shetty does not explicitly disclose operating parameter value of the first electric load device comprises: an output parameter of the first electric load device. However, Kondo in an analogous art discloses operating parameter value of the first electric load device comprises: an output parameter of the first electric load device (Kondo, see [0034]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Kondo into the device of Shetty. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a system that does not de-energize appliance if the person’s activity is too low to meet a motion threshold responsive to a determination that certain vibration have occurred (Kondo, see [0013]).
Claim 10 is a method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 2, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Claim 18 is a CRM claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 2, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Kondo further discloses the output parameter of the first electric load device comprises an audio output produced by the first electric load device (Kondo, see [0034]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Kondo into the device of Shetty. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a system that does not de-energize appliance if the person’s activity is too low to meet a motion threshold responsive to a determination that certain vibration have occurred (Kondo, see [0013]).
Claim 11 is a method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 3, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim 19 is a CRM claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 3, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shetty, in view of US20160018119 to Desmet et al. (hereinafter “Desmet”).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Shetty does not explicitly disclose wherein the second electric load device comprises a fan; and wherein the target operating parameter value includes one of: a fan speed. However, Desmet in an analogous art discloses wherein the second electric load device comprises a fan; and wherein the target operating parameter value includes one of: a fan speed (Desmet, see [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Desmet into the device of Shetty. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to improve the efficiency of a typical climate control system, thereby creating a thermal comfort control system (Desmet, see [0064]).
Claim 12 is a method claim that corresponds to the apparatus claim 4, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Claim 20 is a CRM claim that corresponds to the apparatus claim 4, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Claim(s) 7, 15 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shetty, in view of US20110202151 to Covaro et al. (hereinafter “Covaro”).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Shetty does not explicitly disclose wherein the second electric load device comprises a light-emitting diode (LED) lamp; and wherein the target electrical parameter for the second electric load device includes one of: a luminous output value of the LED lamp. However, Covaro in an analogous art discloses wherein the second electric load device comprises a light-emitting diode (LED) lamp; and wherein the target electrical parameter for the second electric load device includes one of: a luminous output value of the LED lamp (Covaro, see [0032] and [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Desmet into the device of Shetty. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to allow an amount of time that may elapse after last detecting an occupant in a room before the light fixtures are shut off (Covaro, see [0086]).
Claim 15 is a method claim that corresponds to the apparatus claim 7, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
Claim 23 is a CRM claim that corresponds to the apparatus claim 7, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US8639391 discloses a building automation system including a controller, at least one outlet for providing electrical energy to one or more electrical devices, at least one sensor for detecting one or more characteristics of the electrical devices, and a communication link configured to allow communication between the controller and other components of the system, wherein the controller is configured to control (e.g., interrupt, change, adjust, terminate, increase, and/or meter) the supply of power to the at least one outlet based, in part, on one or more characteristics of the electrical device.
US7411489 discloses a system comprising an occupancy sensor for sensing occupancy of an area, able to activate upon sensing occupancy of the area, maintain activation when sensing continuing occupancy, to include settings therefor, and to enable self-adjusting of the settings. It includes an infrared sensor section, able to passively sense occupancy and activate a signal, continue to activate upon sensing continuing occupancy, and enable separate processing of the settings. It also includes an ultrasonic sensor section, able to actively sense occupancy, activate a signal upon sensing continuing occupancy, and enable separate processing of the settings. The occupancy sensor is able to activate when the infrared sensor section senses occupancy, and to maintain activation when either the infrared sensor section or the ultrasonic sensor section senses continuing occupancy of the area. The infrared sensor section signals and the ultrasonic sensor section signals are each independently formed and activated.
US20070061050 discloses a lighting energy management system and method for controlling lighting fixtures in an area a, uses an energy control unit to receive information from the occupancy sources to determine an optimal brightness command for each lighting fixture using a coordinated system of zone and fixture representation. Each zone representation is associated with a physical or logical fixture representation is associated with a light fixture. Each zone representation ensures that lighting level is adjusted when a physical or logical zone is unoccupied. Each fixture representation receives and prioritizes the adjustment command from the first and second zone representations to determine the optimal brightness command.
US8731689 discloses a programmable lighting control system integrates time-based, sensor-based, and manual control of lighting and other loads. The system includes one or more groups of controlled lighting areas, which may be, for example, floors of a building. Each group may have one or more lighting zones, which may be, for example, individual rooms or offices on a building floor. Each lighting zone includes occupancy and/or daylight sensors that may be wirelessly coupled to a gateway of the group. Each gateway is coupled to a network, such as, for example, a local area network (LAN). Control software, residing on a computer (e.g., a personal computer or a server) coupled to the network and accessible via the network, remotely communicates with and controls the lighting zones either individually, groupwise, or globally. Each lighting zone can also be locally controlled at the gateway and can function independently of the control software and the gateway.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117