DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 11/11/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“readout portion” in claim(s) 1 and 8.
“sorting portion” in claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 8.
“first output portion” in claim(s) 1, 4 and 8.
“second output portion” in claim(s) 1 and 4-8.
“resize portion” in claim(s) 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikedo (US 20160198110 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ikedo teaches An image sensor, comprising:
a pixel portion (700/1100) in which unit pixels are arrayed in a matrix, the unit pixels each including one microlens and a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (Figs. 7, 12);
a readout portion (1200) configured to read out signals from the pixel portion, the readout portion being capable of performing a first readout operation (Fig. 8B) of reading out mixed signals obtained by mixing signals of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements of the unit pixels, and a second readout operation (Fig. 9) of reading out unmixed signals which are not a mixture of signals of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements of the unit pixels (Figs. 7, 8B, 9; para. 0066);
a sorting portion (1300) configured to store signals obtained through the first readout operation and the second readout operation into captured image signals and focus detection signals (Fig. 12; para. 0084);
a first output portion (1301, 1303) configured to output the captured image signals sorted by the sorting portion (Fig. 12); and
a second output portion (1302, 1304) configured to output the focus detection signals sorted by the sorting portion (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Ikedo teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein with respect to the unit pixels in a first region (image capture region 701) of the pixel portion, the first readout operation is performed and the mixed signals are read out, and with respect to a second region (an image capture and focus detection region 702) different from the first region of the pixel portion, the first readout operation and the second readout operation are performed and the mixed signals and the unmixed signals are read out (Figs. 7’s; para. 0064).
Regarding claim 3, Ikedo teaches the image sensor according to claim 2, wherein the sorting portion distributes the mixed signals that have been read out from the first region to the first output unit, and distributes the mixed signals and the unmixed signals that have been read out from the second region to the second output unit (Figs. 7-9, 12; paras. 0064, 0084).
Regarding claim 5, Ikedo teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, further comprising a resize portion configured to reduce the focus detection signals before the focus detection signals are output from the second output portion (Fig. 7’s; para. 0069).
Regarding claim 8, Ikedo teaches An image capturing apparatus (Fig. 2), comprising:
an image sensor (1000) including a pixel portion (700/1100) in which unit pixels are arrayed in a matrix, the unit pixels each including one microlens and a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements, a readout portion (1200) configured to read out signals from the pixel portion, the readout portion being capable of performing a first readout operation (Fig. 8B) of reading out mixed signals obtained by mixing signals of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements of the unit pixels, and a second readout operation (Fig. 9) of reading out unmixed signals which are not a mixture of signals of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements of the unit pixels (Figs. 7, 8B, 9; para. 0066), a sorting portion (1300) configured to store signals obtained through the first readout operation and the second readout operation into captured image signals and focus detection signals, a first output portion (1301, 1303) configured to output the captured image signals sorted by the sorting portion, and a second output portion (1302, 1304) configured to output the focus detection signals sorted by the sorting portion (Fig. 12; para. 0084); and
at least one processor or circuit (Fig. 2; 1001, 1004) configured to function as:
a first processing unit (1001) configured to process the captured image signals output from the first output portion (Fig. 2; para. 0031); and
a second processing unit (1004) configured to process the focus detection signals output from the second output portion (Fig. 2; para. 0031).
Regarding claim 9, Ikedo teaches the image capturing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the first processing unit transmits the captured image signals to the second processing unit (Fig. 2; para. 0031).
Regarding claim 10, Ikedo teaches the image capturing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the second processing unit records the captured image signals into a recording medium (Fig. 2; para. 0031).
Regarding claim 11, Ikedo teaches the image capturing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the second processing unit performs focus detection based on the focus detection signals (Fig. 2; para. 0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US 20160198110 A1) in view of Nishida (US 7050202 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Ikedo teaches everything as claimed in claim 1 (Figs. 7-9; A+B image signal has higher resolution than AF image signal), but fails to teach
wherein a communication speed at which signals are output from the first output portion is higher than a communication speed at which signals are output from the second output portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor Nishida teaches
wherein a communication speed at which signals are output from the first output portion is higher than a communication speed at which signals are output from the second output portion (col. 12, lines 23-27: “low resolution image data is transmitted at a slower transmission speed and high resolution image data is transmitted at a faster transmission speed”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Nishida in Ikedo to have wherein a communication speed at which signals are output from the first output portion is higher than a communication speed at which signals are output from the second output portion for shortening time taken for image transferring optimizing image data transfer speed yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US 20160198110 A1) in view of Wakabayashi (US 20150163403 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ikedo teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
further comprising a memory configured to adjust a processing speed in accordance with a communication speed of the second output portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wakabayashi teaches
further comprising a memory configured to adjust a processing speed in accordance with a communication speed of the second output portion (Fig. 2; para. 0149: “allowing the readout speed by the data processing unit 33, that is, data output rate, to be lower than the transfer speed of the pixel data to the memory unit 32, reduction of the channels of the interface unit 38 and lower processing speed of the signal processing block (for example, DSP) in the latter stage can be realized. This can contribute to low power consumption of the entire system including the signal processing block in the latter stage”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Wakabayashi in Ikedo to have further comprising a memory configured to adjust a processing speed in accordance with a communication speed of the second output portion for realizing high-speed readout of pixel data with lower power consumption yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US 20160198110 A1) in view of Ito (US 20170307371 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ikedo teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein the sorting portion transmits the focus detection signals to the second output portion once every multiple frames.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ito teaches
wherein the sorting portion transmits the focus detection signals to the second output portion once every multiple frames (Fig. 8; paras. 0064-0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Ito in Ikedo to have wherein the sorting portion transmits the focus detection signals to the second output portion once every multiple frames for making less prominent a difference in level of the noise signal between the regions in the imaging element yielding a predicted result.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637