DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 9-18 as amended in applicant’s response filed 23 June 2026 are presently under consideration. Claim 8 remains withdrawn from consideration and claims 19-23 remain cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome some of the indefiniteness rejections of record under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and are thus withdrawn, but applicant’s amendments to the claims do not appear to address the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) indefiniteness rejections of record of claim 13 and its dependents 14-18 which are maintained.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, the prior art grounds of rejection of record is maintain and updated to show where the new limitations are taught, disclosed or otherwise made obvious.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “providing an array of thermoelectric units sharing a common thermoelectric membrane” where it’s unclear if this is addition to the thermoelectric unit including a thermoelectric membrane recited in claim 1 or if the thermoelectric unit including a thermoelectric membrane recited in claim 1 means to be one of the array of thermoelectric units sharing a common thermoelectric membrane. For example claim 13 recites “at least thermoelectric unit in the array, a first surface at a cavity in the layer of first thermally conductive material” where it appear claim 13 recites a new cavity but makes reference to the layer of first thermally conductive material of the thermoelectric membrane in claim 1 making it unclear if the common thermoelectric membrane in claim 13 also includes the structure of thermoelectric membrane recited in claim 1 or can have a different thermoelectric membrane structure. For this reason, the scope of claim 13 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 14-18 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonov et al (US 2008/0271772) in further view of Watanabe (US 2019/0019934), and further in view of Zoller et al (US 2018/0090659) and in further view of Yoo et al (US 2019/0115270).
Regarding claim 1 Leonov discloses a method, comprising:
providing a thermoelectric unit including a thermoelectric membrane ([0096], [0102] Figs. 3 or 22-23 see: first thermoelectric material film 82 and second thermoelectric material film 84 on membrane 34) having a first surface at a cavity in a layer of first thermally conductive material ([0096], Figs. 3 or 22-23 see: opening between sides 33 of a thermally conductive carrier frame), wherein the thermoelectric membrane has a second surface opposite to the first surface with a second thermally conductive material arranged in contact with the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane ([0123] Figs. 3 or 22-23 see: interconnects 32 or thermal shunts 90 performing function of thermal connection contact opposite sides of thermoelectric material films 82, 84), wherein the thermoelectric membrane includes a thermally sensitive material configured to generate, via a Seebeck effect, a thermoelectric signal indicative of a temperature difference between the second thermally conductive material and the layer of first thermally conductive material ([0096]-[0097], [0102] Figs. 3 or 22-23 see: first thermoelectric material film 82 and second thermoelectric material film 84 generate a voltage based on temperature difference between a hot side 35 and cold side 36 as in Figs. 48-49 paras [0144]-[0145] contacting a hot or cold plates 37, 38) and
Leonov discloses forming an insulating molding compound onto the thermoelectric membrane ([0032], [0097], [0145], Fig. 49 see: the thermopile unit 50 can further include thermal insulation 51 including thermally insulating such as encapsulating structures where thermally insulating material can completely or partially surround the inner volume in between the hot plate 37 and the cold plate 38).
Leonov does not explicitly disclose molding said insulating molding compound wherein said molding develops a mechanical stress in the thermoelectric membrane and encapsulating, within an encapsulation, the second thermally conductive material arranged in contact with the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane, wherein the encapsulation counters the mechanical stress developed in the thermoelectric membrane.
Watanabe discloses forming a thermoelectric unit including a thermoelectric membrane including providing at the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane an encapsulation which encapsulates the second thermally conductive material arranged in contact with the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane (Watanabe, [0046], [0071]-[0073], Figs. 1-3 see: protection layer 16 formed on first electrodes 14a of a rigid resin) to protect the thermoelectric material and electrodes from abrasion and oxidation (Watanabe, [0071]-[0073]).
Watanabe and Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thermoelectric units.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Watanabe to further encapsulate, within an encapsulation, the second thermally conductive material arranged in contact with the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane of Leonov as in Watanabe (Watanabe, [0046], [0071]-[0073], Figs. 1-3 see: protection layer 16 formed on first electrodes 14a of a rigid resin) to protect the thermoelectric material and electrodes of Leonov from abrasion and oxidation as taught by Watanabe ([0071]-[0073]).
Furthermore, Zoller discloses manufacturing a thermoelectric device module including molding insulating molding compound onto an encapsulating film on a second surface of a thermoelectric device (Zoller, [0019], [0047], [0054], [0061]-[0062], Figs. 4-5 and 8 see: molding mold compound 500 onto TEG upper side 106 including layer tolerance compensating layer or thermal pad 802) wherein said molding develops a mechanical stress in the thermoelectric device and providing at the second surface of the thermoelectric device a layer which counters mechanical stress developed in the thermoelectric membrane (Zoller, [0042] [0061]-[0062] Fig. 8 see: the packaging and production process (molding) exerts stresses on the TEG which can be compensated with a tolerance compensating layer or a thermal pad 802 at TEG upper side 106).
Additionally, Yoo also teaches in semiconductor device manufacturing and packaging, the molding process develops a stress and warpage from the different CTEs of the materials (Yoo, [0003]) where Yoo solves this problem through providing a stiffening layer between the semiconductor device and the molding compound to counteract the stress placed on the other components of the semiconductor device assembly due to warpage at an elevated temperature (Yoo, [0023], [0027] Fig. 1 see: stiffener member 130 between semiconductor device 120 and mold compound 140).
Zoller and modified Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thermoelectric units.
Yoo and modified Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with semiconductor device manufacture and Yoo is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem of counteracting stress during molding processing with which the inventor was concerned.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Zoller such that the insulating compound of Leonov is an insulating molding compound applied by molding as in Zoller (Zoller, [0019], [0047], [0054], [0061]-[0062], Figs. 4-5 and 8 see: molding mold compound 500 onto TEG upper side 106) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known insulating material forming step for its intended use in a known thermoelectric generator manufacturing process to accomplish an entirely expected result of providing thermal insulation to the device of Leonov.
Furthermore, as Zoller discloses that said molding develops a mechanical stress in the thermoelectric device, and providing at the second surface of the thermoelectric device a layer which counters mechanical stress developed in the thermoelectric membrane (Zoller, [0042] [0061]-[0062] Fig. 8 see: the packaging and production process (molding) exerts stresses on the TEG which can be compensated with a tolerance compensating layer or a thermal pad 802 at TEG upper side 106) and Yoo teaches in semiconductor device molding methods, such layers for counteracting molding stress include stiffener layers (Yoo, [0023], [0027] Fig. 1 see: stiffener member 130 between semiconductor device 120 and mold compound 140), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov such that the encapsulation of the second thermally conductive material of modified Leonov (protection layer 16 of a rigid polymer) provides such a function of counteracting molding stress for the purpose of preventing warping or breakage of the thermoelectric device of Leonov as taught by Zoller (Zoller, [0042] [0061]-[0062]) and Yoo (Yoo, [0023], [0027]).
Regarding claim 5 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 1, and Watanabe further discloses wherein the second thermally conductive material is arranged between the encapsulation and the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane (Watanabe, [0046], [0071]-[0073], Figs. 1-3 see: electrodes 14a (equivalent second thermally conductive material) between protection layer 16 and thermoelectric conversion layers 13a to 13d).
Regarding claim 6 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 1, comprising providing the second thermally conductive material as a thermally conductive pad arranged in contact with the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane at said cavity ([0123] Figs. 22-23 see: pad shaped thermal shunts 90 performing function of thermal connection contact on second surface of thermoelectric material films 82, 84 on membrane 34).
Regarding claim 7 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 6, and Watanabe further discloses comprising providing said encapsulation onto said thermally conductive pad as well as onto the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane around said cavity (Watanabe, [0046], [0071]-[0073], Figs. 1-3 and 10-11 see: protection layer 16 arranged on electrodes 14a or 14b (equivalent second thermally conductive material) and on portions of thermoelectric conversion layers 13a to 13d and base sheet 12 outside equivalent cavity area).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonov et al (US 2008/0271772) in view of Watanabe (US 2019/0019934), in view of Zoller et al (US 2018/0090659) in view of Yoo et al (US 2019/0115270) as applied to claims 1 and 5-7 above, and further in view of KIM (US 2021/0066244).
Regarding claims 2-4 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said molding is performed at a molding temperature (Zoller, [0019]), and wherein the encapsulation comprises a resin encapsulation material (Watanabe, [0071]-[0073]).
Modified Leonov does not explicitly disclose said encapsulation material having a Young modulus greater than 0.7 GPa at said molding temperature or having a Young modulus greater than 0.7 GPa at a temperature higher than a glass transition temperature of the resin encapsulation material or having a Young modulus greater than 10 GPa at a temperature lower than a glass transition temperature of the resin encapsulation material.
However, KIM discloses for such resin stiffener or reinforcing members offsetting or compensating warpage stress caused by CTE mismatch from a molding layer, with the modulus of elasticity (Young’s modulus) of about 56 GPa or greater or otherwise determined from a slope of a stress-strain curve produced by a flexural test to produce lower stress (KIM, [0045]-[0047], [0072] and Fig. 9).
As such, the stress in the thermoelectric membrane of modified Leonov is a variable that can be modified by varying the modulus of elasticity (Young’s modulus) of the encapsulation material of modified Leonov. Thus, the Young’s modulus of the encapsulation material as claimed in claims 2-4 in the method of modified Leonov would have been considered result effective variables. The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the Young’s modulus of the encapsulation material of modified Leonov to achieve the desired stress reduction. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonov et al (US 2008/0271772) in view of Watanabe (US 2019/0019934), in view of Zoller et al (US 2018/0090659) in view of Yoo et al (US 2019/0115270) as applied to claims 1 and 5-7 above, and further in view of Seki et al (US 2022/0045258).
Regarding claim 9 modified Leonov disclose the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose comprising providing said encapsulation by laminating a mold film of encapsulation material at the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane.
However, Seki discloses manufacturing thermoelectric modules where encapsulation materials be provided through laminating a mold film of encapsulation material at the second surface of a thermoelectric membrane (Seki, [0009], [0017]-[0018], [0105], Figs. 1a-c’ see: providing sealant layer 5A on thermoelectric element layers 3a, 3b and electrodes 4 through a lamination process).
Seki and modified Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thermoelectric units.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Seki to such that said encapsulation of modified Leonov is provided by laminating a mold film of encapsulation material at the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane as in Seki (Seki, [0009], [0017]-[0018], [0105], Figs. 1a-c’ see: providing sealant layer 5A on thermoelectric element layers 3a, 3b and electrodes 4 through a lamination process) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known deposition method of encapsulant material for its intended use in the known process for manufacturing a thermoelectric device to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonov et al (US 2008/0271772) in view of Watanabe (US 2019/0019934), in view of Zoller et al (US 2018/0090659) in view of Yoo et al (US 2019/0115270) as applied to claims 1 and 5-7 above, and further in view of Bellizzi et al (US 2022/0352047).
Regarding claim 10 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the insulating molding compound has an outer surface opposite to the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the method comprises providing at least one thermally conductive formation through the insulating molding compound molded onto the second thermally conductive material, wherein said at least one thermally conductive formation provides a thermally conductive path between the outer surface of the insulating molding compound and the second thermally conductive material.
However, Bellizzi discloses in manufacturing encapsulated semiconductor devices, providing at least one thermally conductive formation through an insulating molding compound molded onto a semiconductor device, wherein said at least one thermally conductive formation provides a thermally conductive path between the outer surface of the insulating molding compound and the semiconductor device (Bellizzi, [0056]-[0061], Figs. 3-4 see: forming vias 16A through first encapsulation material 14 to semiconductor chip 12 for forming electrically-conductive formations 16 such as copper).
Bellizzi and modified Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with semiconductor device manufacture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Bellizzi to further form at least one thermally conductive formation through the insulating molding compound molded onto the second thermally conductive material of Leonov, wherein said at least one thermally conductive formation provides a thermally conductive path between the outer surface of the insulating molding compound and the second thermally conductive material of Leonov as in Bellizzi (Bellizzi, [0056]-[0061], Figs. 3-4 see: forming vias 16A through first encapsulation material 14 to semiconductor chip 12 for forming electrically-conductive formations 16 such as copper) for the purpose of providing an output lead (Leonov, [0099]) to extract power generated in the thermoelectric unit of Leonov.
Regarding claim 11 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising providing the at least one thermally conductive formation via deposition of metallic material (Bellizzi, [0056]-[0061], Figs. 3-4 see: forming electrically-conductive formations 16 such as copper through plating).
Regarding claim 12 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the insulating molding compound molded onto the second thermally conductive material comprises a laser direct structuring (LDS) molding compound, and the method further comprises providing the at least one thermally conductive formation via applying a laser for direct structuring of the LDS molding compound (Bellizzi, [0032]-[0033], [0056]-[0061], Figs. 3-4 see: molding compound is a laser direct structuring (LDS) material and Electrically-conductive formations 16 are then formed by laser processing (for example, structured using LDS processing techniques).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonov et al (US 2008/0271772) in view of Watanabe (US 2019/0019934), in view of Zoller et al (US 2018/0090659) in view of Yoo et al (US 2019/0115270) as applied to claims 1 and 5-7 above, and in further view of Hunziker et al (US 2010/0117185).
Regarding claim 13 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 1, comprising:
providing an array of thermoelectric units sharing a common thermoelectric membrane, wherein the common thermoelectric membrane has, at each thermoelectric unit in the array, a first surface at a cavity in the layer of first thermally conductive material and a second surface opposite to the first surface with said second thermally conductive material arranged in contact with the second surface of the common thermoelectric membrane (Leonov, [0100], [0131], Figs. 11a-11b, 22-23, 47, see: thermopile chips 30 formed sharing a common membrane 34 on a common carrier frame of a thermopile wafer 28 prior to dicing with a cavity at a first surface and thermal shunts 90 deposited at a second surface of the thermoelectric membrane); and
wherein the method comprises:
performing singulation of the thermoelectric units in said array of thermoelectric units wherein a plurality of individual thermoelectric units results from singulation (Leonov, [0100], [0131], Figs. 11a-11b, 22-23, 47, see: thermopile chips 30 formed sharing a common membrane 34 are diced to form individual thermopile carrier chips); and
molding said insulating molding compound onto said individual thermoelectric units resulting from singulation (Leonov, [0032], [0097], [0145], Figs. 40-41, 49 see: the thermopile unit can further include thermal insulation 51 including thermally insulating material that can completely or partially surround the inner volume in between the hot plate 37 and the cold plate 38 applied after thermopile chips are diced) and wherein said encapsulation of the second thermally conductive material counters mechanical stress developed in response to said molding of insulating molding compound onto said individual thermoelectric units resulting from singulation (see explanation in claim 1 above).
Although modified Leonov discloses providing at the second surface of a thermoelectric unit an encapsulation of the second thermally conductive material arranged in contact with the second surface of the common thermoelectric membrane as recited above in claim 1, modified Leonov does not explicitly disclose where said encapsulation is provided to the common thermoelectric membrane prior to singulation.
However, Hunziker discloses for such semiconductor device manufacturing processes, Hunziker discloses in Figs 1.6 and 8 where such polymer buffer layer 6 (encapsulation layers) are on semiconductor device wafer 1 prior to cutting wafer 1 into chips 5 where buffer layer 6 which counters mechanical stress from a further molded housing material 16 (Hunziker, paras [0014]-[0015], [0030]-[0038], [0046]).
Hunziker and modified Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with semiconductor device manufacture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Hunziker such that the step of forming the encapsulation in modified Leonov occur prior to wafer dicing as in Hunziker (Hunziker, paras [0014]-[0015], [0030]-[0038], [0046]) as such a modification would simplify the formation process of such an encapsulation layer by forming for multiple thermopile chips simultaneously.
Regarding claim 14 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 13, comprising:
arranging said individual thermoelectric units resulting from singulation onto a common support substrate (Leonov, Figs. 40-41,48-49 paras [0144]-[0145] thermopile chips can be contacted to the same plate 37); and
molding said insulating molding compound onto said individual thermoelectric units resulting from singulation arranged on said common support substrate (Leonov, Fig. 49 see: insulation 51 provided after dicing) or (Hunziker, Fig. 4-6 see: cut chips 5 are mounted to same lead frame 7 and then encapsulated in molding material 16).
Regarding claim 15 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the common support substrate comprises thermally conductive portions in a heat exchange relationship with the layer of first thermally conductive material (Leonov, Figs. 42-46 or 49 see: plate 37 thermally contacts underside of carrier sides 33).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonov et al (US 2008/0271772) in view of Watanabe (US 2019/0019934), in view of Zoller et al (US 2018/0090659) in view of Yoo et al (US 2019/0115270) in view of Hunziker et al (US 2010/0117185) as applied to claims 1, 5-7, and 13-15 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US 2010/0163090).
Regarding claim 16 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the common support substrate comprises electrically conductive portions and the method comprises providing electrical coupling formations coupling said electrically conductive portions in the common support substrate with the thermally sensitive material in the thermoelectric membrane configured to generate said thermoelectric signal via the Seebeck effect.
However, Liu discloses wherein a common support substrate comprises electrically conductive portions and the method comprises providing electrical coupling formations coupling said electrically conductive portions in the common support substrate with the thermally sensitive material in the thermoelectric membrane (Liu, [0046]-[0048] Figs. 4 and 5 see: conductive circuit 434 or conductive lines 510 connected to metal pads 170 from thermoelectric device 100 connected to conductive portions of carrier substrate 210).
Liu and modified Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with thermoelectric device manufacture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Liu such that the common support substrate of modified Leonov comprises electrically conductive portions and the method comprises providing electrical coupling formations coupling said electrically conductive portions in the common support substrate with the thermally sensitive material in the thermoelectric membrane of Leonov as in Liu (Liu, [0046]-[0048] Figs. 4 and 5 see: conductive circuit 434 or conductive lines 510 connected to metal pads 170 from thermoelectric device 100 connected to conductive portions of carrier substrate 210) configured to generate said thermoelectric signal via the Seebeck effect for the purpose of providing an output lead (Leonov, [0099]) to extract power generated in the thermoelectric unit of Leonov.
Regarding claim 17 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 16, and Leonov further discloses such electrical coupling formations can be via deposition of metallic material (Leonov, para [0104] see: metal film deposition known for forming electrical interconnections).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonov et al (US 2008/0271772) in view of Watanabe (US 2019/0019934), in view of Zoller et al (US 2018/0090659) in view of Yoo et al (US 2019/0115270) in view of Hunziker et al (US 2010/0117185) in view of Liu et al (US 2010/0163090) as applied to claims 1, 5-7, and 13-17, and further in view of Bellizzi et al (US 2022/0352047).
Regarding claim 18 modified Leonov discloses the method of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulating molding compound molded onto the second thermally conductive material comprises a laser direct structuring (LDS) molding compound, and the method comprises providing said electrical coupling formations via applying a laser for direct structuring of the LDS molding compound.
Bellizzi discloses a semiconductor device manufacturing process wherein the insulating molding compound molded onto the second thermally conductive material comprises a laser direct structuring (LDS) molding compound, and the method comprises providing said electrical coupling formations via applying a laser for direct structuring of the LDS molding compound (Bellizzi, [0032]-[0033], [0056]-[0061], Figs. 3-4 see: molding compound is a laser direct structuring (LDS) material and Electrically-conductive formations 16 are then formed by laser processing (for example, structured using LDS processing techniques).
Bellizzi and modified Leonov are combinable as they are both concerned with semiconductor device manufacture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Bellizzi wherein the insulating molding compound molded onto the second thermally conductive material of modified Leonov comprises a laser direct structuring (LDS) molding compound, and the method comprises providing said electrical coupling formations via applying a laser for direct structuring of the LDS molding compound as in Bellizzi (Bellizzi, [0032]-[0033], [0056]-[0061], Figs. 3-4 see: molding compound is a laser direct structuring (LDS) material and Electrically-conductive formations 16 are then formed by laser processing (for example, structured using LDS processing techniques) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known molding material patterning method for forming conductive interconnections for its intended use in a known semiconductor device manufacturing process to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing an output lead (Leonov, [0099]) to extract power generated in the thermoelectric unit of Leonov.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 6-7 of the response filed 23 June 2026 that:
There is no teaching or suggestion in Leonov or Watanabe for the claimed step of molding an insulating molding compound onto the encapsulation.
Zoller also fails to teach or suggest the molding of an insulating molding compound onto the encapsulation. Zoller Figure 6, for example, teaches the encapsulation of substrate 106 in an insulation material 500, but there is no teaching for that insulation material to be insulating molding compound that is molded onto an encapsulation which encapsulates a thermally conductive material.
The Examiner further cites to Yoo's stiffening member 130 which is positioned between semiconductor device 120 and molding compound 140. This teaching from Yoo is not relevant to the claimed invention. Yoo's stiffening members 130 are mounted to the top surface of the device 120 with strategic positioning to counteract thermal stress. See, paragraph 27, for example. Nothing in Yoo teaches or suggests use of the stiffening member 130 to encapsulate a thermally conductive material arranged in contact with a surface of the thermoelectric membrane. Furthermore, nothing in Yoo teaches or suggests that the stiffening member 130 is provided to counteract the mechanical stress induced by molding of the molding compound 140. Rather, it is clear that the teaching from Yoo is the provision of the stiffening member 130 to counteract thermal induced stress.
With reference once again to Watanabe, Applicants point out that the encapsulation layer 16 which encapsulates the electrodes 14 on the membrane is not provided to counteract mechanical stress induced by applied molding pressure. Indeed, the layer 16 in Watanabe is configured to be compliant to bending and applied stress given that that Watanabe device is made by bending the membrane, with the already attached layer 16, as shown by Watanabe Figures 2-3, paragraphs 73- 73 (see, also Figure 4-5 and Figures 6-7 and associate description). The layer 16 in Watanabe does not counteract mechanical stress, and there is no suggestion in Watanabe for using layer 16 for that purpose.
In view of the foregoing, Applicants submit that the combined teachings of Leonov, Watanabe, Zoller and Yoo do not suggest to one skilled in the art claimed method requiring steps for: "encapsulating, within an encapsulation, the second thermally conductive material arranged in contact with the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane; and molding an insulating molding compound onto the encapsulation; wherein said molding develops a mechanical stress in the thermoelectric membrane; and wherein the encapsulation counters the mechanical stress developed in the thermoelectric membrane."
Applicant’s arguments to the prior art of record have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
First the examiner notes regarding applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As recited in MPEP 2141:
III. RATIONALES TO SUPPORT REJECTIONS UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103
Prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. The prior art reference (or references when combined) need not teach or suggest all the claim limitations. However, Office personnel must explain why the difference(s) between the prior art and the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The “mere existence of differences between the prior art and an invention does not establish the invention’s nonobviousness.” Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 230, 189 USPQ 257, 261 (1976). The gap between the prior art and the claimed invention may not be “so great as to render the [claim] nonobvious to one reasonably skilled in the art.” Id. In determining obviousness, neither the particular motivation to make the claimed invention nor the problem the inventor is solving controls. The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious as of the relevant time to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts. See 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Factors other than the disclosures of the cited prior art may provide a basis for concluding that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bridge the gap. The rationales discussed below outline reasoning that may be applied to find obviousness in such cases.
And further as recited in MPEP2141.03:
“A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
In particular applicant argues the prior art of Leonov, Watanabe and Zoller do not teach for the claimed step of molding an insulating molding compound onto the encapsulation, but as recited above this argument ignores rationale for the combination of art in rendering claim 1 obvious. As recited above, Zoller discloses in paras [0019], [0047], [0054], [0061]-[0062], Figs. 4-5 and 8 molding a mold compound 500 onto the upper side 106 of a TEG on a tolerance compensating layer or thermal pad 802, this tolerance compensating layer or thermal pad 802 considered analogous to an encapsulating film. Zoller at paras [0042] [0061]-[0062] and Fig. 8 teaches the packaging and production process (molding) exerts stresses on the TEG which can be compensated with a tolerance compensating layer or a thermal pad 802 at TEG upper side 106. Yoo also teaches in semiconductor device manufacturing and packaging, the molding process develops a stress and warpage from the different CTEs of the materials (Yoo, [0003]) where Yoo solves this problem through providing a stiffening layer between the semiconductor device and the molding compound to counteract the stress placed on the other components of the semiconductor device assembly due to warpage at an elevated temperature (Yoo, [0023], [0027] Fig. 1 see: stiffener member 130 between semiconductor device 120 and mold compound 140).
Given the teachings of Zoller (paras [0005], [0042], [0061]-[0062]) and Yoo (para [0003]) that insulating molding compounds exert stresses including mechanical and/or thermomechanical stresses on semiconductor devices such as thermoelectric generators causing damage to the electrical leads or interconnections (analogous to the claimed first thermally conductive material), and additional polymer layers are provided between the surface of the semiconductor device or thermoelectric generator facing the insulating molding compound to protect the semiconductor device or thermoelectric generator and counteract/compensate for said stress it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Leonov in view of Watanabe, Zoller and Yoo to further encapsulate, within an encapsulation, the second thermally conductive material of Leonov arranged in contact with the second surface of the thermoelectric membrane of Leonov as in Watanabe (Watanabe, [0046], [0071]-[0073], Figs. 1-3 see: protection layer 16 formed on first electrodes 14a of a rigid resin) to protect the thermoelectric material and electrodes of Leonov from abrasion and oxidation as taught by Watanabe ([0071]-[0073]) where such an encapsulating film on a second surface of a thermoelectric device is between the molding insulating molding compound and second thermally conductive material and configured to counter mechanical stress developed in in the thermoelectric device by the molding as taught by Zoller (Zoller, [0042] [0061]-[0062]) and Yoo (paras [0003] [0023], [0027]) above.
Further, applicant’s arguments that the teachings of Yoo are not relevant to the present invention because they are for counteracting thermal stress and not mechanical stress induced by molding of the molding compound are not found persuasive as thermal stress is mechanical stress caused either by preventing thermal expansion/contraction or by differential expansion/contraction. In the case of Yoo the thermal stress is caused by the elevated temperatures of the molding process (Yoo, [0003]). Thus the disclose of Yoo is relevant to claimed invention of countering mechanical stress developed in a thermoelectric membrane (semiconductor device) as a result of a molding process.
Applicant’s arguments that in Zoller there is no teaching for the insulation material to be an insulating molding compound that is molded onto an encapsulation which encapsulates a thermally conductive material with references to Fig. 6 are not found persuasive as the embodiment of Fig. 6 is not relied upon. Zoller discloses in paras [0019], [0047], [0054], [0061]-[0062], Figs. 4-5 and 8 molding a mold compound 500 onto the upper side 106 of a TEG on a tolerance compensating layer or thermal pad 802, this tolerance compensating layer or thermal pad 802 considered analogous to an encapsulating film on a thermally conductive material (substrate 106 with leads 104, 105 of the thermoelectric material). Additionally, as recited above, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s further arguments to Watanabe on page 7 are moot as Watanabe is not specifically relied upon to teach the recited limitations of countering stress, rather Zoller and Yoo are relied upon to teach these limitations.
Applicant’s further arguments and remarks depend from the arguments rebutted above and thus are considered moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726