DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuno et al. U.S. Patent Application 2018/0315634 (hereinafter “Tsuno”) and further in view of Hamada et al. U.S. Patent Application 2003/0087751 (hereinafter “Hamada”).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuno teaches a ceramic substrate (refer to insulating plate 10)(fig.10) comprising: a first phase made of alumina (refer to [0012] and [0050]-[0052]); and a second phase made of yttrium aluminum garnet containing a second material (refer to [0012] and [0050]-[0052]); however, Tsuno does not teach the second material being silicon. However, Hamada teaches the second material being silicon (refer to Abstract, [0019] and [0023]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceramic substrate of Tsuno to include the silicon of Hamada to provide the advantage of providing a lower cost substrate with high corrosion resistance and low dielectric loss over an operating frequency.
Regarding claim 2, Tsuno and Hamada teach the ceramic substrate according to claim 1, wherein a proportion of silicon is 0.10 mass% or more and 0.50 mass% or less (refer to Hamada Abstract, [0019] and [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuno and Hamada teach the ceramic substrate according to claim 1, wherein a proportion of the first phase is greater than a proportion of the second phase (refer to Hamada Abstract, [0019] and [0023])(refer also to Tsuno [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuno and Hamada teach the ceramic substrate according to claim 1, wherein, in a cross-section, a total area of the first phase is 1.2 times or greater and 1.8 times or less a total area of the second phase (refer to Hamada Abstract and [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuno and Hamada teach an electrostatic chuck (i.e. Tsuno electrostatic chuck 5)(fig.2) comprising: the ceramic substrate according to claim 1 (refer to Tsuno insulating plate 10)(fig.2)(refer also to the rejection of claim 1 above); and an electrode (i.e. Tsuno electrodes 11 and 12)(fig.2) embedded in the ceramic substrate (refer to Tsuno [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuno and Hamada teach the electrostatic chuck according to claim 5, wherein a proportion of the first phase is greater than a proportion of the second phase (refer to Hamada Abstract, [0019] and [0023])(refer also to Tsuno [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuno and Hamada teach the electrostatic chuck according to claim 5, wherein, in a cross-section, a total area of the first phase is 1.2 times or greater and 1.8 times or less a total area of the second phase (refer to Hamada Abstract and [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuno and Hamada teach a substrate fixing device (i.e. Tsuno substrate fixing device 3)(fig.2) comprising: a base plate (i.e. Tsuno base plate 4)(fig.2); and the electrostatic chuck according to claim 5 (refer to Tsuno electrostatic chuck 5)(fig.2)(refer also to the rejection of claim 5 above) fixed on the base plate (refer to Tsuno [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuno and Hamada teach the substrate fixing device according to claim 8, wherein a proportion of the first phase is greater than a proportion of the second phase (refer to Hamada Abstract, [0019] and [0023])(refer also to Tsuno [0056]).
Regarding clam 10, Tsuno and Hamada teach the substrate fixing device according to claim 8, wherein, in a cross-section, a total area of the first phase is 1.2 times or greater and 1.8 times or less a total area of the second phase (refer to Hamada Abstract and [0053]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838