DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on November 11, 2024 wherein claims 1-13 remain pending and ready for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: acquiring unit, generating unit, and sending unit in claim 1; forming unit in claim 3; receiving unit and updating unit in claim 7; first determining unit in claim 8; and second determining unit in claim 9.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification describe “programs realizing one or more functions of the above embodiments is supplied to a system or an apparatus via a network or a storage medium and one or more processors in the computer of the system or the apparatus read out and execute the programs.” (Emphasis added, See paragraph [0098])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-13:
The limitation “a PC5 interface conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP)” in claims 1, 7, and 11–13 renders the claim(s) and their dependent claims indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). This is because 3GPP is an evolving set of standards, which are continually updated and newly developed, and the claim does not specify which particular standard or version is intended. As a result, it is unclear what is meant by “conforming to 3GPP,” making the metes and bounds of the claim unclear, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1314, 110 USPQ2d 1785, 1789 (Fed. Cir. 2014). For purposes of examination, “a PC5 interface conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP)” is interpreted as including any interface named as “PC5 interface” and its equivalent such as a sidelink interface.
Regarding claim 6:
The limitation “the external time source” renders claim 6 indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, does not provide antecedent basis for this limitation, while claims 4 and 5, from which claim 6 does not depend, recite the limitation. Accordingly, it is unclear whether “the external time source” is a typographical error for “an external time source,” or whether claim 6 was intended to depend on claim 4 or claim 5, and if so, which one. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “an external time source,” and claim 6 is treated as depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasukawa et al. (US 20180234928 A1, hereafter Yasukawa).
Regarding Claim 1, Yasukawa discloses:
A communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEb, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh) comprising:
an acquiring unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to acquire a certain time (Figs.2, 4-7; Fig.8, S101, S102, S104, S106, S109, S110; [0059] The base station eNB transmits a synchronization signal (SS: Synchronization Signal) to the user apparatus UE. More specifically, the SS is a PSS (Primary Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Synchronization Signal). [0060] The GPS satellite 1 transmits a GPS signal toward the ground. The GPS signal includes information specifying UTC (Coordinated Universal Time).; [0068] Further, in usual D2D, a priority order is defined that indicates which synchronization signal the user apparatus UE should synchronize when the user apparatus UE receives the SS, the SLSS transmitted within the coverage, and the SLSS transmitted outside the coverage. It is specified that the SS has a highest priority, the SLSS transmitted within the coverage has a second highest priority (Priority group 1), and the SLSS transmitted outside the coverage has a lowest priority (Priority 2 or 3). [0088] FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a synchronization process according to an embodiment. As described above, the user apparatus UE performs synchronization using GPS signals, etc., in addition to SS and SLSS. Upon detecting a plurality of different synchronization sources (SS, GPS signals, SLSS), the user equipment UE performs synchronization using any one of the synchronization sources in accordance with the predetermined priority order. The synchronization process performed by the user apparatus UE is specifically described below with reference to FIG. 5. [0089] In step S21, the user apparatus UE verifies whether one or more synchronization sources are detected. When one or more synchronization sources are detected, the process proceeds to step S22. [0108] In step S35, the user apparatus UE verifies whether the user apparatus UE is in direct synchronization with the GPS signal. When the user apparatus UE is in direct synchronization with the GPS signal, the process proceeds to step S37 whereas when the user apparatus UE is not in direct synchronization with the GPS signal, the process proceeds to step S39.; See also [0111] and paragraphs corresponding to Fig.8, S101, S102, S104, S106, S109, S110);
a generating unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to generate a message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113) including first information indicating the certain time ([0063] Furthermore, in order to implement the D2D communication outside the coverage, it is specified that the user apparatus UE transmits (relays) a synchronization signal (SLSS: SideLink Synchronization Signal) when a predetermined condition is satisfied. More specifically, the SLSS is a PSSS (Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal). In addition, the user apparatus UE that transmits the SLSS is able to transmit a radio frame number (DFN: Direct Frame Number), a system bandwidth, etc., to a user apparatus UE that exists outside the coverage, by using a physical channel called a “PSBCH” (Physical Sidelink Broadcast Control Channel). [0064] By transmitting (relaying), by a user apparatus UE located within a coverage, the SLSS based on a synchronization timing of the base station eNB, a user apparatus UE located outside the coverage is also allowed to execute D2D communication in accordance with the synchronization timing of the base station eNB. A user apparatus UE isolated outside the coverage (i.e., a user apparatus UE unsynchronized with the SS and SLSS) transmits a SLSS based on a clock generated by an oscillator included inside the user apparatus UE, so as to align synchronization timing with that of another user apparatus UE. [0124] In step S104, the user apparatus UEf that receives the GPS signal and the SS performs a synchronization process using the GPS signal. Note that the user apparatus UEg is in a state in which the user apparatus UEg is synchronized with the GPS signal but the user apparatus UEg does not receive a D2D signal transmitted from another user apparatus UE. That is, the process is terminated in accordance with the “No” route of step S37 and the “Yes” route of step S38 in FIG. 7. [0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.). Note that it is assumed that the received power of the D2D signal received or measured in advance in step S109 is higher than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, the process is terminated in accordance with a “No” route of step S40 in FIG. 7.; See also [0088] and paragraphs corresponding to S34, S35, S37, S38, S41, S43) and second information (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC), which is information about a time source providing the certain time (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC); and
a sending unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to send the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17) to one or more other communication apparatuses (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi) via a PC5 interface (sidelink or D2D interface, such as, interfaces between UEa and UEc, between UEd and UEe, between UEg and UEh, between UEh and UEi) conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standard (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113).
Regarding Claim 4, Yasukawa discloses:
wherein, in a case where the certain time is acquired from an external time source (eNB or NW, GPS) within a predetermined time by the acquiring unit ([0059] The base station eNB transmits a synchronization signal (SS: Synchronization Signal) to the user apparatus UE. [0060] The GPS satellite 1 transmits a GPS signal toward the ground. [0089] In step S21, the user apparatus UE verifies whether one or more synchronization sources are detected. When one or more synchronization sources are detected, the process proceeds to step S22.; SS and/or GPS signal is acquired on or before the verification of detection), the generating unit includes information (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) indicating the certain time provided by the external time source (eNB or NW, GPS) and information (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) concerning the external time source (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC) in the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) as the first information and the second information, respectively (See [0063] [0064] [0124] [0130] [0088] and paragraphs corresponding to S34, S35, S37, S38, S41, S43).
Regarding Claim 5, Yasukawa discloses:
wherein, in a case where the certain time is not acquired from the external time source (eNB or NW, GPS) within the predetermined time (SS and/or GPS signal is not acquired on or before the verification of detection), the acquiring unit acquires the certain time provided by the communication apparatus (the user apparatus UE) ([0064] By transmitting (relaying), by a user apparatus UE located within a coverage, the SLSS based on a synchronization timing of the base station eNB, a user apparatus UE located outside the coverage is also allowed to execute D2D communication in accordance with the synchronization timing of the base station eNB. A user apparatus UE isolated outside the coverage (i.e., a user apparatus UE unsynchronized with the SS and SLSS) transmits a SLSS based on a clock generated by an oscillator included inside the user apparatus UE, so as to align synchronization timing with that of another user apparatus UE.), and
wherein the generating unit includes information (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH … based on a clock generated by an oscillator included inside the user apparatus UE) indicating the certain time provided by the communication apparatus and information (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH; “SLSS (No sync”) identifying the communication apparatus ([0080] According to the present embodiment, the user apparatus UE is capable of identifying an SLSS synchronized with the GPS signal (hereinafter referred to as “SLSS (GPS sync.)” for convenience), an SLSS synchronized with the SS (hereinafter referred to as “SLSS (NW (Network) sync.) for convenience),” and an SLSS not synchronized with the SS and the GPS signal (hereinafter referred to as “SLSS (No sync.)” for convenience). A specific identification method is described below.) in the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) as the first information and the second information, respectively (See [0063] [0064] [0077]-[0083] [0124] [0130] [0088] and paragraphs corresponding to S34, S35, S37, S38, S41, S43).
Regarding Claim 6, Yasukawa discloses:
wherein the external time source (Figs.2&8, eNB, GPS Satellite) is another apparatus (Figs.2&8, eNB, GPS Satellite) and the other apparatus is a base station (Figs.2&8, eNB) capable of communicating with the communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEb, UEd; Fig.8, UEg) or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellite (Figs.2&8, GPS Satellite) ([0079] Upon detecting multiple synchronization sources (SS, GPS signals, SLSS), the user apparatus UE performs synchronization using any one of the synchronization sources in accordance with the predetermined priority order. For example, in FIG. 2, the user apparatus UEa simultaneously receives the GPS signal and the SS, and hence, the user apparatus UEa performs synchronization using any one of the GPS signal and the SS (e.g., a GPS signal). [0121] FIG. 8 is a sequence diagram illustrating an operation example of the radio communication system according to the embodiment. In FIG. 8, it is assumed that the user apparatuses UEf and UEg are located within the coverage of the base station eNB and the user apparatuses UEf and UEg are able to receive GPS signals. [0124] In step S104, the user apparatus UEf that receives the GPS signal and the SS performs a synchronization process using the GPS signal. Note that the user apparatus UEg is in a state in which the user apparatus UEg is synchronized with the GPS signal but the user apparatus UEg does not receive a D2D signal transmitted from another user apparatus UE).
Regarding Claim 7, Yasukawa discloses:
A communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi) comprising:
a receiving unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to receive a message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) including first information indicating a certain time ([0063] Furthermore, in order to implement the D2D communication outside the coverage, it is specified that the user apparatus UE transmits (relays) a synchronization signal (SLSS: SideLink Synchronization Signal) when a predetermined condition is satisfied. More specifically, the SLSS is a PSSS (Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal). In addition, the user apparatus UE that transmits the SLSS is able to transmit a radio frame number (DFN: Direct Frame Number), a system bandwidth, etc., to a user apparatus UE that exists outside the coverage, by using a physical channel called a “PSBCH” (Physical Sidelink Broadcast Control Channel). [0064] By transmitting (relaying), by a user apparatus UE located within a coverage, the SLSS based on a synchronization timing of the base station eNB, a user apparatus UE located outside the coverage is also allowed to execute D2D communication in accordance with the synchronization timing of the base station eNB. A user apparatus UE isolated outside the coverage (i.e., a user apparatus UE unsynchronized with the SS and SLSS) transmits a SLSS based on a clock generated by an oscillator included inside the user apparatus UE, so as to align synchronization timing with that of another user apparatus UE. [0124] In step S104, the user apparatus UEf that receives the GPS signal and the SS performs a synchronization process using the GPS signal. Note that the user apparatus UEg is in a state in which the user apparatus UEg is synchronized with the GPS signal but the user apparatus UEg does not receive a D2D signal transmitted from another user apparatus UE. That is, the process is terminated in accordance with the “No” route of step S37 and the “Yes” route of step S38 in FIG. 7. [0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.). Note that it is assumed that the received power of the D2D signal received or measured in advance in step S109 is higher than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, the process is terminated in accordance with a “No” route of step S40 in FIG. 7.; See also [0088] and paragraphs corresponding to S34, S35, S37, S38, S41, S43) and second information (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC), which is information about a time source providing the certain time (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC), from another communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEb, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh) via a PC5 interface (sidelink or D2D interface, such as, interfaces between UEa and UEc, between UEd and UEe, between UEg and UEh, between UEh and UEi) conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113); and
an updating unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to update a set time of the communication apparatus based on the first information and the second information included in the message ([0082] When the user apparatus UE synchronized with the GPS or the SS receives a SLSS from a user apparatus UE that is in isolation (not synchronized with the SS and SLSS), the user apparatus UE synchronized with the GPS or the SS may be able to enhance synchronization accuracy of the isolated user apparatus UE by transmitting the SLSS (GPS sync.) or SLSS (NW sync.). For example, in FIG. 2, when the user apparatus UEd synchronized with the GPS signal receives an SLSS from an isolated user apparatus UEe, the user apparatus UEd transmits the SLSS (GPS sync.) toward the user apparatus UEe. As a result, the synchronization accuracy of the user apparatus UEe can be enhanced. [0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.).).
Regarding Claim 8, Yasukawa discloses:
wherein the updating unit includes a first determining unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to determine whether the time source (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC) indicated by the second information included in the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) is a certain apparatus (GPS sync, NW sync) ([0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.).)), and
wherein, in a case where the first determining unit determines that the time source (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC) is the certain apparatus (GPS sync), the updating unit updates the set time of the communication apparatus using the first information ([0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.).)).
Regarding Claim 9, Yasukawa discloses:
wherein the updating unit further includes a second determining unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to determine whether the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) is a message for a group (sender and receiver pair of SLSS and/or PSBCH; Fig.2, UEa and UEc, UEd and UEe; Fig.8, UEg and UEh, UEh and UEi) that is formed by the other communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh; sender and receiver pair of SLSS and/or PSBCH is formed by the transmission of sender, such as Fig.2, UEa, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh) and that includes the other communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh) and the communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi), and
wherein, in a case where the first determining unit determines that the time source (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC) is not the certain apparatus (the time source is GPS sync; i.e., the time source is not NW sync) and the second determining unit determines that the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) is a message for the group (sender and receiver pair of SLSS and/or PSBCH; Fig.2, UEa and UEc, UEd and UEe; Fig.8, UEg and UEh, UEh and UEi), the updating unit updates the set time of the communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi) ([0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.).)).
Regarding Claim 10, Yasukawa discloses:
wherein the certain apparatus (GPS sync) is a base station capable of communicating with the communication apparatus or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellite (GPS sync).
Regarding Claim 11, Yasukawa discloses:
A control method for a communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEb, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh), the control method comprising:
acquiring a certain time (Figs.2, 4-7; Fig.8, S101, S102, S104, S106, S109, S110; [0059] The base station eNB transmits a synchronization signal (SS: Synchronization Signal) to the user apparatus UE. More specifically, the SS is a PSS (Primary Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Synchronization Signal). [0060] The GPS satellite 1 transmits a GPS signal toward the ground. The GPS signal includes information specifying UTC (Coordinated Universal Time).; [0068] Further, in usual D2D, a priority order is defined that indicates which synchronization signal the user apparatus UE should synchronize when the user apparatus UE receives the SS, the SLSS transmitted within the coverage, and the SLSS transmitted outside the coverage. It is specified that the SS has a highest priority, the SLSS transmitted within the coverage has a second highest priority (Priority group 1), and the SLSS transmitted outside the coverage has a lowest priority (Priority 2 or 3). [0088] FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a synchronization process according to an embodiment. As described above, the user apparatus UE performs synchronization using GPS signals, etc., in addition to SS and SLSS. Upon detecting a plurality of different synchronization sources (SS, GPS signals, SLSS), the user equipment UE performs synchronization using any one of the synchronization sources in accordance with the predetermined priority order. The synchronization process performed by the user apparatus UE is specifically described below with reference to FIG. 5. [0089] In step S21, the user apparatus UE verifies whether one or more synchronization sources are detected. When one or more synchronization sources are detected, the process proceeds to step S22. [0108] In step S35, the user apparatus UE verifies whether the user apparatus UE is in direct synchronization with the GPS signal. When the user apparatus UE is in direct synchronization with the GPS signal, the process proceeds to step S37 whereas when the user apparatus UE is not in direct synchronization with the GPS signal, the process proceeds to step S39.; See also [0111] and paragraphs corresponding to Fig.8, S101, S102, S104, S106, S109, S110);
generating a message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113) including first information indicating the certain time ([0063] Furthermore, in order to implement the D2D communication outside the coverage, it is specified that the user apparatus UE transmits (relays) a synchronization signal (SLSS: SideLink Synchronization Signal) when a predetermined condition is satisfied. More specifically, the SLSS is a PSSS (Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal). In addition, the user apparatus UE that transmits the SLSS is able to transmit a radio frame number (DFN: Direct Frame Number), a system bandwidth, etc., to a user apparatus UE that exists outside the coverage, by using a physical channel called a “PSBCH” (Physical Sidelink Broadcast Control Channel). [0064] By transmitting (relaying), by a user apparatus UE located within a coverage, the SLSS based on a synchronization timing of the base station eNB, a user apparatus UE located outside the coverage is also allowed to execute D2D communication in accordance with the synchronization timing of the base station eNB. A user apparatus UE isolated outside the coverage (i.e., a user apparatus UE unsynchronized with the SS and SLSS) transmits a SLSS based on a clock generated by an oscillator included inside the user apparatus UE, so as to align synchronization timing with that of another user apparatus UE. [0124] In step S104, the user apparatus UEf that receives the GPS signal and the SS performs a synchronization process using the GPS signal. Note that the user apparatus UEg is in a state in which the user apparatus UEg is synchronized with the GPS signal but the user apparatus UEg does not receive a D2D signal transmitted from another user apparatus UE. That is, the process is terminated in accordance with the “No” route of step S37 and the “Yes” route of step S38 in FIG. 7. [0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.). Note that it is assumed that the received power of the D2D signal received or measured in advance in step S109 is higher than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, the process is terminated in accordance with a “No” route of step S40 in FIG. 7.; See also [0088] and paragraphs corresponding to S34, S35, S37, S38, S41, S43) and second information (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC), which is information about a time source providing the certain time (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC); and
sending the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17) to one or more other communication apparatuses (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi) via a PC5 interface (sidelink or D2D interface, such as, interfaces between UEa and UEc, between UEd and UEe, between UEg and UEh, between UEh and UEi) conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standard (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113).
Regarding Claim 12, Yasukawa discloses:
A control method for a communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi), the control method comprising:
receiving a message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) including first information indicating a certain time ([0063] Furthermore, in order to implement the D2D communication outside the coverage, it is specified that the user apparatus UE transmits (relays) a synchronization signal (SLSS: SideLink Synchronization Signal) when a predetermined condition is satisfied. More specifically, the SLSS is a PSSS (Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal). In addition, the user apparatus UE that transmits the SLSS is able to transmit a radio frame number (DFN: Direct Frame Number), a system bandwidth, etc., to a user apparatus UE that exists outside the coverage, by using a physical channel called a “PSBCH” (Physical Sidelink Broadcast Control Channel). [0064] By transmitting (relaying), by a user apparatus UE located within a coverage, the SLSS based on a synchronization timing of the base station eNB, a user apparatus UE located outside the coverage is also allowed to execute D2D communication in accordance with the synchronization timing of the base station eNB. A user apparatus UE isolated outside the coverage (i.e., a user apparatus UE unsynchronized with the SS and SLSS) transmits a SLSS based on a clock generated by an oscillator included inside the user apparatus UE, so as to align synchronization timing with that of another user apparatus UE. [0124] In step S104, the user apparatus UEf that receives the GPS signal and the SS performs a synchronization process using the GPS signal. Note that the user apparatus UEg is in a state in which the user apparatus UEg is synchronized with the GPS signal but the user apparatus UEg does not receive a D2D signal transmitted from another user apparatus UE. That is, the process is terminated in accordance with the “No” route of step S37 and the “Yes” route of step S38 in FIG. 7. [0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.). Note that it is assumed that the received power of the D2D signal received or measured in advance in step S109 is higher than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, the process is terminated in accordance with a “No” route of step S40 in FIG. 7.; See also [0088] and paragraphs corresponding to S34, S35, S37, S38, S41, S43) and second information (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC), which is information about a time source providing the certain time (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC), from another communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEb, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh) via a PC5 interface (sidelink or D2D interface, such as, interfaces between UEa and UEc, between UEd and UEe, between UEg and UEh, between UEh and UEi) conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113); and
updating a set time of the communication apparatus based on the first information and the second information included in the message ([0082] When the user apparatus UE synchronized with the GPS or the SS receives a SLSS from a user apparatus UE that is in isolation (not synchronized with the SS and SLSS), the user apparatus UE synchronized with the GPS or the SS may be able to enhance synchronization accuracy of the isolated user apparatus UE by transmitting the SLSS (GPS sync.) or SLSS (NW sync.). For example, in FIG. 2, when the user apparatus UEd synchronized with the GPS signal receives an SLSS from an isolated user apparatus UEe, the user apparatus UEd transmits the SLSS (GPS sync.) toward the user apparatus UEe. As a result, the synchronization accuracy of the user apparatus UEe can be enhanced. [0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.).).
Regarding Claim 13, Yasukawa discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a communication apparatus to perform operations (See [0262] [0289] [0290]) comprising:
acquiring a certain time (Figs.2, 4-7; Fig.8, S101, S102, S104, S106, S109, S110; [0059] The base station eNB transmits a synchronization signal (SS: Synchronization Signal) to the user apparatus UE. More specifically, the SS is a PSS (Primary Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Synchronization Signal). [0060] The GPS satellite 1 transmits a GPS signal toward the ground. The GPS signal includes information specifying UTC (Coordinated Universal Time).; [0068] Further, in usual D2D, a priority order is defined that indicates which synchronization signal the user apparatus UE should synchronize when the user apparatus UE receives the SS, the SLSS transmitted within the coverage, and the SLSS transmitted outside the coverage. It is specified that the SS has a highest priority, the SLSS transmitted within the coverage has a second highest priority (Priority group 1), and the SLSS transmitted outside the coverage has a lowest priority (Priority 2 or 3). [0088] FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a synchronization process according to an embodiment. As described above, the user apparatus UE performs synchronization using GPS signals, etc., in addition to SS and SLSS. Upon detecting a plurality of different synchronization sources (SS, GPS signals, SLSS), the user equipment UE performs synchronization using any one of the synchronization sources in accordance with the predetermined priority order. The synchronization process performed by the user apparatus UE is specifically described below with reference to FIG. 5. [0089] In step S21, the user apparatus UE verifies whether one or more synchronization sources are detected. When one or more synchronization sources are detected, the process proceeds to step S22. [0108] In step S35, the user apparatus UE verifies whether the user apparatus UE is in direct synchronization with the GPS signal. When the user apparatus UE is in direct synchronization with the GPS signal, the process proceeds to step S37 whereas when the user apparatus UE is not in direct synchronization with the GPS signal, the process proceeds to step S39.; See also [0111] and paragraphs corresponding to Fig.8, S101, S102, S104, S106, S109, S110);
generating a message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113) including first information indicating the certain time ([0063] Furthermore, in order to implement the D2D communication outside the coverage, it is specified that the user apparatus UE transmits (relays) a synchronization signal (SLSS: SideLink Synchronization Signal) when a predetermined condition is satisfied. More specifically, the SLSS is a PSSS (Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal) and an SSS (Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal). In addition, the user apparatus UE that transmits the SLSS is able to transmit a radio frame number (DFN: Direct Frame Number), a system bandwidth, etc., to a user apparatus UE that exists outside the coverage, by using a physical channel called a “PSBCH” (Physical Sidelink Broadcast Control Channel). [0064] By transmitting (relaying), by a user apparatus UE located within a coverage, the SLSS based on a synchronization timing of the base station eNB, a user apparatus UE located outside the coverage is also allowed to execute D2D communication in accordance with the synchronization timing of the base station eNB. A user apparatus UE isolated outside the coverage (i.e., a user apparatus UE unsynchronized with the SS and SLSS) transmits a SLSS based on a clock generated by an oscillator included inside the user apparatus UE, so as to align synchronization timing with that of another user apparatus UE. [0124] In step S104, the user apparatus UEf that receives the GPS signal and the SS performs a synchronization process using the GPS signal. Note that the user apparatus UEg is in a state in which the user apparatus UEg is synchronized with the GPS signal but the user apparatus UEg does not receive a D2D signal transmitted from another user apparatus UE. That is, the process is terminated in accordance with the “No” route of step S37 and the “Yes” route of step S38 in FIG. 7. [0130] In step S110, the user apparatus UEh determines that the user apparatus UEh receives SLSS (GPS sync.) with a higher priority than the SLSS (No sync.) with which the user apparatus UEh is currently synchronized, and the user apparatus UEh then performs a synchronization process using SLSS (GPS sync.). Note that it is assumed that the received power of the D2D signal received or measured in advance in step S109 is higher than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, the process is terminated in accordance with a “No” route of step S40 in FIG. 7.; See also [0088] and paragraphs corresponding to S34, S35, S37, S38, S41, S43) and second information (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC), which is information about a time source providing the certain time (Figs.6, 10, 11, 13-20, priority, type of synchronization source, type of SLSS, Figs.7-8, NW SYNC, GPS SYNC); and
sending the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17) to one or more other communication apparatuses (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi) via a PC5 interface (sidelink or D2D interface, such as, interfaces between UEa and UEc, between UEd and UEe, between UEg and UEh, between UEh and UEi) conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standard (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa in view of Ryu et al. (US 20200229114 A1, hereafter Ryu).
Regarding Claim 2, Yasukawa discloses:
wherein the sending unit sends the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) to the one or more other communication apparatuses (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi) (Fig.2, SLSS; Fig.4, Transmit SLSS and PSBCH, S12, S15, S17; Fig.7, Transmit SLSS with “…” and PSBCH S32, S36, S39, S42, S44; Fig.8, SLSS (GPS sync), S109, S113).
Yasukawa does not disclose the message is sent in broadcast.
However, Ryu discloses:
the message (S-SSB) is sent in broadcast (Fig.6, [0127] In the above-described examples, the UE-1 620 transmits an NR S-SSB to the UE-2 630, and thus it may be considered that the NR S-SSB is unicast-transmitted. However, the UE-1 620 located in the coverage of the gNB 610 may transmit, in a groupcast or broadcast manner, an NR S-SSB to one or more terminals located out of the coverage of the gNB 610.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the message of Yasukawa to be sent in broadcast as taught by Ryu, in order to deliver the message to one or more terminals located out of the coverage more efficiently than unicast (Ryu, [0127]).
Regarding Claim 3, Yasukawa discloses:
a forming unit (See [0262] [0289] [0290] for 112(f)-related structure) configured to form a group (sender and receiver pair of SLSS and/or PSBCH; Fig.2, UEa and UEc, UEd and UEe; Fig.8, UEg and UEh, UEh and UEi; Note that sender and receiver pair of SLSS and/or PSBCH is formed by the transmission of sender, such as Fig.2, UEa, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh) including the communication apparatus (Fig.2, UEa, UEd; Fig.8, UEg, UEh) and at least one of the one or more other communication apparatuses (Fig.2, UEc, UEe; Fig.8, UEh, UEi),
wherein the sending unit sends the message (SLSS, SLSS and PSBCH) to the group (sender and receiver pair of SLSS and/or PSBCH; Fig.2, UEa and UEc, UEd and UEe; Fig.8, UEg and UEh, UEh and UEi).
Yasukawa does not disclose the message is sent in groupcast.
However, Ryu discloses:
a forming unit configured to form a group (group A, group B; sender and receivers pair) including the communication apparatus and at least one of the one or more other communication apparatuses ([0063] Referring to FIG. 2B, a TX terminal and an RX terminal may perform one-to-multiple communication, and this configuration is referred to as “groupcast” or “multicast”.; See also [0064]-[0065]),
wherein a sending unit sends the message (S-SSB) in groupcast to the group (Fig.6, [0127] In the above-described examples, the UE-1 620 transmits an NR S-SSB to the UE-2 630, and thus it may be considered that the NR S-SSB is unicast-transmitted. However, the UE-1 620 located in the coverage of the gNB 610 may transmit, in a groupcast or broadcast manner, an NR S-SSB to one or more terminals located out of the coverage of the gNB 610.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the forming unit and the sending unit of Yasukawa as taught by Ryu, in order to deliver the message to one or more terminals located out of the coverage more efficiently than unicast (Ryu, [0127]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shimoda et al. (US 20220132460 A1) also discloses acquiring a certain time (para 479-481, 485, 488); generating a message including first information indicating the certain time and second information, which is information about a time source providing the certain time (para 490, 491, 506-511, 571); and sending the message to one or more other communication apparatuses via a PC5 interface conforming to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standard. (par, 507-511, 599-610).
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418