DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1 – 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,381 to Ogawa. Regarding claim 1, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims include a strain body including a base portion, a displacement portion, a board including a detection unit and an interposed member interposed between the strain body and the board and including an extending portion extending in a second direction and intersecting a surface of the board and the first direction but fail to disclose that the extending portion has a flat spring structure having a higher modulus of elasticity in the first direction than in the second direction. However, in Ogawa, the extending portion includes portions that extend in first and second directions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate an extending portion having a flat spring structure since the extending portion comprises multiple directions. Regarding claim 2, the extending portion has a flat spring structure having a higher modulus of elasticity in the first direction than in the second direction (See claim 12 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 3, the interposed member includes the extending portion and a bottom portion having a first surface from which the extending portion extends and a second surface opposite to the first surface, wherein the extending portion is fixed to one of the displacement portion and the board, and wherein the second surface is fixed to the other of the displacement portion and the board (See claim 2 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 4, the interposed member includes a first extending portion serving as the extending portion, a second extending portion extending in a third direction intersecting the surface of the board and the first direction, the third direction being different from the second direction, and a bottom portion having a first surface from which the first extending portion extends and a second surface from which the second extending portion extends, the second surface being opposite to the first surface, wherein the first extending portion is fixed to one of the displacement portion and the board, and wherein the second extending portion is fixed to the other of the displacement portion and the board (See claim 2 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 5, the second extending portion has a flat spring structure having a higher modulus of elasticity in the first direction than in the second direction (See claim 12 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 6, the interposed member has a coefficient of thermal expansion less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the displacement portion and greater than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the board (See claim 3 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 7, the coefficient of thermal expansion of the interposed member is closer to the coefficient of thermal expansion of the board than to the coefficient of thermal expansion of the displacement portion (See claim 4 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 8, the interposed member includes the extending portion, and a bottom portion having a first surface from which the extending portion extends and a second surface opposite to the first surface, wherein the extending portion is fixed to one of the base portion and the board, and wherein the second surface is fixed to the other of the base portion and the board (See claim 5 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 9, the interposed member including a first extending portion serving as the extending portion, a second extending portion extending in a third direction intersecting the surface of the board and the first direction, the third direction being different from the second direction, and a bottom portion having a first surface from which the first extending portion extends and a second surface from which the second extending portion extends, the second surface being opposite to the first surface, wherein the first extending portion is fixed to one of the base portion and the board, and wherein the second extending portion is fixed to the other of the base portion and the board (See claim 11 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 10, the second extending portion has a flat spring structure having a higher modulus of electricity in the first direction than in the second direction (See claim 12 of Ogawa). Regarding claim 11, the interposed member has a coefficient of thermal expansion less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the base portion and greater than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the board (See claim 3 of Ogawa). Regarding claim 12, the coefficient of thermal expansion of the interposed member is closer to the coefficient of thermal expansion of the board than to the coefficient of thermal expansion of the base portion (See claim 4 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 13, a thickness of the extending portion in the first direction is smaller than a thickness in a direction orthogonal to the first direction (See claim 8 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 14, a thickness of the extending portion in the first direction is smaller than a thickness in a direction orthogonal to the first direction (See claim 8 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 15, a thickness of the first extending portion in the first direction and a thickness of the second extending portion in the first direction each are smaller than a thickness in a direction orthogonal to the corresponding first direction (See claim 15 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 16, the robot comprises a movable unit and a control unit configured to control operation of the movable unit based on an output from the force sensor (See claim 16 of Ogawa). Regarding claim 17, the robot comprises a movable unit; and a control unit configured to control operation of the movable unit based on an output from the force sensor (See claim 16 of Ogawa).
Regarding claim 18, the robot comprises a movable unit; and a control unit configured to control operation of the movable unit based on an output from the force sensor (See claim 16 of Ogawa).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
6. Claims 1, 3, 6 - 8, 11, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Nagura (JP2019074421-See IDS dated 5/3/22).
Regarding claim 1, Nagura discloses a strain body including a base portion 1, a
displacement portion 2 configured to make a displacement relative to the base portion
under external force, and an elastic connection portion 3 configured to elastically
connect the base portion and the displacement portion, a board 6 including a
detection unit 10E, 10F configured to detect the displacement of the displacement
portion relative to the base portion in a first direction; and an interposed member 30
interposed between the strain body and the board, the interposed member including
an extending portion extending in a second direction intersecting a surface of the
board and the first direction (See Fig. 7, See Pg. 2, lines 9 35 and Pg. 7, lines 21
27).
Regarding claim 3, the interposed member 30 includes the extending portion
and a bottom portion having a first surface from which the extending portion extends
and a second surface opposite to the first surface, wherein the extending portion is
fixed to one of the displacement portion 2 and the board 6, and wherein the second
surface is fixed to the other of the displacement portion and the board (See Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, the interposed member 30 has a coefficient of thermal
expansion less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the displacement portion 2
and greater than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the board 6 (See Pg. 5, lines 1-
10).
Regarding claim 7, the coefficient of thermal expansion of the interposed
member 30 is closer to the coefficient of thermal expansion of the board than to the
coefficient of thermal expansion of the displacement portion caused by the
movement of heat with respect to the force sensor (See Pg. 5, lines 1 - 10).
Regarding claim 8, the interposed member 30 includes the extending portion,
and a bottom portion having a first surface from which the extending portion extends
and a second surface opposite to the first surface, wherein the extending portion is
fixed to one of the base portion and the board, and wherein the second surface is
fixed to the other of the base portion and the board (See Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, the interposed member has a coefficient of thermal
expansion less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the base portion and greater
than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the board (See Pg. 5, lines 1- 10).
Regarding claim 12, the coefficient of thermal expansion of the interposed
member is closer to the coefficient of thermal expansion of the board than to the
coefficient of thermal expansion of the base portion (See Pg. 5, lines 1 10).
Regarding claim 16, a robot 400 comprising a movable unit 200 is provided and
a control unit 210 is configured to control operation of the movable unit based on an
output from the force sensor (See Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, a robot 400 comprising a movable unit 200 is provided and
a control unit 210 is configured to control operation of the movable unit based on an
output from the force sensor (See Fig. 9). Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.8. Ogawa et al. (2022/0283047) discloses a force sensor. Okada et al. (JP2020056729) disclose a force sensor. Okada et al. (10,564,059) disclose a force sensor. Nagura (2019/03101510 discloses an optical sensor and apparatus including optical sensor. Okada et al. (CN104272073) disclose a force sensor. Sakano et al. (2012/0180575) disclose a capacitance type force sensor.9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 9/30/26