Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 101 rejection, Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “Here, the specification identifies a key technological problem: as a supply chain's scale increases, a smart contract for distributing consideration becomes "exponentially complex and difficult to verify," potentially leading to inappropriate distribution (Specification, p.3). This is a problem specific to distributed computer systems like blockchains, where computational complexity and data access directly impact system performance, transaction costs, and reliability. Amended claim 1 now explicitly recites a specific, non-conventional technical solution to this problem, which is far more than merely automating a mental process on a general-purpose computer.,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The present claims do not improve the functioning of the smart contracts or blockchain itself. The use of smart contracts, as drafted, under considerations of the broadest reasonable interpretation, is nothing more than merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The claim employs generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment. This type of generally linking is not sufficient to prove integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “The claim specifies "... thereby creating an interlinked data structure that avoids recalculation of values from upstream processes." This is not a mere recitation of data. Instead, it is a specific data architecture designed to improve the functioning of the computer system. By recording process information that includes a single-unit value specific to each process, identification information for specifying an immediately preceding process, and a cumulative value obtained by summing single-unit value of each process, the system avoids the computationally expensive and time-consuming task of traversing the entire chain upstream for every calculation. This reduces data reads, minimizes processing load, and enhances the overall performance and speed of the blockchain application, a tangible improvement to computer functionality - much like the logical structures and processes deemed patent eligible in Enfish, as highlighted in the Advance Notice,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The present claims do not provide an analogous improvement to the computer to that of Enfish, specifically because the present claims do not improve the computer itself. The improvements of a self-referential table provide a specific benefit to the functioning of the computer, which is not the case in the claims of the instant application. The present claims are directed to generating a cumulative value, which is not an improvement to the computer itself. Rather, this is an improvement to the abstract idea associated with “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.” Examiner further notes that the present claims do not improve the functioning of the smart contracts or blockchain itself. The use of smart contracts, as drafted, under considerations of the broadest reasonable interpretation, is nothing more than merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The claim employs generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment. This type of generally linking is not sufficient to prove integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “The claim further recites a recursive, chained execution of smart contracts where the output of one contract execution ("remaining cumulative consideration") serves as the "new total consideration input for the subsequent execution, thereby forming a sequential chain of value distribution transactions" which improves system performance by localizing computation at each step. This defines a specific, unconventional control flow for a distributed application. Instead of a single, monolithic contract that would become unwieldy, Applicant's invention employs a modular system of interoperating contracts.,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully asserts that utilizing a plurality of localized contracts to avoid a “single, monolithic contract that would become unwieldy” does not improve the functioning of the smart contracts themselves. Rather, this type of improvement to data input and calculation would be an improvement reflected by the abstract limitations for consideration under Step 2A, Prong 1. MPEP 2106.05(a): “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements...” Additionally, as discussed in 2106.05(a)(II) improvements to technology or technical fields, “an improvement in the abstract idea itself … is not an improvement in technology”
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “These limitations, considered individually and as an ordered combination, integrate any judicial exception into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong 2 and provide "significantly more" than the abstract idea under Step 2B. They are not merely "using a blockchain as a tool." Instead, a specific method of structuring data and computations on a blockchain is recited to achieve a more efficient, scalable, and reliable distributed system. This constitutes a patent-eligible practical application under Step 2A, Prong 2 and "significantly more" under Step 2B. For at least these reasons, withdrawal of these rejections is respectfully requested.,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The present claims, under broadest reasonable interpretation, do not reflect the purported improvement to the “distributed system.” These limitations do not comprise anything significantly more than the judicial exception because it is nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The claim employs generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment. This type of generally linking is not sufficient to prove integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Accordingly, the present claims are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection, Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “The core of the claimed invention is the sequential chain of value distribution transactions where the calculated "remaining cumulative" consideration triggers a subsequent execution of a smart contract for the immediately preceding process. Neither Gruber's forward-moving data tracking nor Lin's static analysis model suggests this novel, recursive, and backward-propagating execution flow.,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gruber discloses in at least [0046] that after a product moves to the subsequent step in the supply chain, the status update may be recorded on the blockchain and a new CI score may be recorded based on the previous processing steps that was applied to the product, wherein after a product is processed at a new step in the supply chain, a new CI score may be updated and recorded on the blockchain based on the captured data. Furthermore, at least Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] of Gruber teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded. Therefore, as can be seen by at least the above cited portions of Gruber, the reference discloses triggering the execution of the smart contract for the immediately preceding process.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “This chained execution model is specifically designed to solve the problem of computational complexity in a large-scale distributed system by localizing computation at each step. Gruber and Lin are not concerned with this problem or this solution. One of ordinary skill would not be motivated to combine these references to create a system that distributes consideration upstream in a step-by-step, computationally efficient manner.,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one would have been motivated to do so in order to enable various downstream processing tasks by providing more effective differentiation of various types of relationships among entities and providing better resolution of those entities (Lin, [0020]). By incorporating the teachings of Lin, one would have been able to enable features to be combined by weighting features over a timeframe in order to scale all of the values to help align the ranges of values for features (Lin, [0050, 0052]).
Accordingly, the present claims are rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-4 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium, claim 5 is directed to a method, and claim 6 is directed to an apparatus. Therefore, the claims are directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Claims 1, 5, and 6 recite calculating values related to a process, constituting an abstract idea based on “Mental Processes” related to concepts performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. Claim 1 recites limitations, similarly recited in claims 5 and 6, including “for each process included in a supply chain, recording process information that includes a single-unit value specific to each process, identification information for specifying an immediately preceding process, and a cumulative value obtained by summing single-unit value of each process, thereby creating an interlinked data that avoids recalculation of values from an upstream process to a current process; and upon receiving an initial total consideration for a downstream-most process, initiating a recursive, chained execution down to up the supply chain, the first portion being calculated based on a ratio of the single- unit value of the current process to the cumulative value of the current process, calculating a remaining cumulative consideration to be passed to the immediately preceding process, the remaining cumulative consideration being calculated based on a ratio of the cumulative value of the immediately preceding process to the cumulative value of the current process, and the calculated remaining cumulative consideration serving as the new total consideration input for the subsequent execution.” These limitations, as drafted, but for the recitations of the preamble, is a process that covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, but for the preamble language, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, with the exception of the preamble language, the claim steps in the context of the claim encompass a user mentally or manually performing the steps of the claim.
Dependent claims 2-4 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claim 1 and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Claims 1, 5, and 6 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 1 recites “a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a consideration distribution program causing a computer to execute processing comprising” within the preamble of the claim. Claim 5 recites “a consideration distribution method implemented by a computer to execute processing comprising” within the preamble of the claim. Claim 6 is directed to an apparatus comprising “a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., mental processes) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 1, 5, and 6 further recite the additional element of “for each process included in a supply chain, on a block chain, recording process information …thereby creating an interlinked data structure,” “initiating a recursive, chained execution of smart contracts down to up the supply chain, the smart contract execution for the current process including distributing a first portion of a total consideration received by the current process to a supplier account associated with the current process,” and “triggering a subsequent execution of a smart contract corresponding to the immediately preceding process, thereby forming a sequential chain of value distribution transactions.” These limitations do not comprise anything significantly more than the judicial exception because it is nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The claim employs generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment. This type of generally linking is not sufficient to prove integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Therefore, the additional elements of the independent claims, when considered both individually and in combination, are not sufficient to prove integration into a practical application.
Dependent claims 2-4 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claim 1 and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claims 1, 5, and 6 do not comprise anything significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim 1 recites “a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a consideration distribution program causing a computer to execute processing comprising” within the preamble of the claim. Claim 5 recites “a consideration distribution method implemented by a computer to execute processing comprising” within the preamble of the claim. Claim 6 is directed to an apparatus comprising “a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., mental processes) is not anything significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 1, 5, and 6 further recite the additional element of “for each process included in a supply chain, on a block chain, recording process information …thereby creating an interlinked data structure,” “initiating a recursive, chained execution of smart contracts down to up the supply chain, the smart contract execution for the current process including distributing a first portion of a total consideration received by the current process to a supplier account associated with the current process,” and “triggering a subsequent execution of a smart contract corresponding to the immediately preceding process, thereby forming a sequential chain of value distribution transactions.” These limitations are not anything significantly more than the judicial exception because it is nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The claim employs generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment. This type of generally linking is not anything significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Therefore, the additional elements of the independent claims, when considered both individually and in combination, are not anything significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-4 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claim 1 and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration, which is not anything significantly more than the judicial exception.
Accordingly, claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruber et al. (US 20220343229 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 20230297901 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gruber teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a consideration distribution program causing a computer to execute processing for managing a decentralized and computationally efficient supply chain application on a blockchain ([0101-0102] teach the operating environment includes a processing unit, memory, and computer readable media that stores computer readable instructions, wherein the processor can access the instructions; see also: [0040]), the processing comprising:
for each process included in a supply chain, on a block chain, recording process information that includes a single-unit value specific to each process, identification information for specifying an immediately preceding process, and a cumulative value obtained by summing single-unit value of each process (Fig. 6 and [0071] teach receiving input data at a certain step in the supply chain, which can be step “N” or any number, wherein the input data may be from a stakeholder in the supply chain that characterizes the processing taking place at that step, wherein the input data includes measurement data, wherein [0072] teaches following the reception of the input data, a carbon intensity score is generated and/or updated, wherein if Step N is step #3, then at the last two previous steps, each previous step received an intermediate CI score, which would already be calculated at step #3, so the results of the manufacturing/processing data at step #3 will result in an updated IC score, which is an intermediate score #3, wherein [0073] teaches after the CI is generated/updated, the CI score is recorded on the blockchain, wherein the CI score may be recorded as a new block appended to the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded, wherein [0049] teaches a smart contract may be for generating a CI score, wherein the contract terms include calculating the immutable CI score, wherein the initial generation/calculation of the CI score may be triggered; see also: [0031, 0038, 0066-0070]),
thereby creating an interlinked data structure that avoids recalculation of values from an upstream process to a current process (Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0066-0074]); and
upon receiving an initial total consideration for a downstream-most process ([0037-0038] teach a participant in the supply chain may provide certain information to the system via client devices, wherein the constructed state of the process may be stored as a block on the blockchain, wherein one or more smart contracts may reside in the blockchain network, wherein a consumer who contracts with a supplier to buy a certain product with a certain CI score may receive a product with a higher or lower CI score, wherein a smart contract stored on the blockchain may automatically adjust payment between the supplier and customer based on the finalized score, wherein the CI scores may be aggregated, wherein Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0031, 0066-0074]),
initiating a recursive, chained execution of smart contracts down to up the supply chain ([0031] teaches intermediate CI scores may be calculated at certain locations in the supply chain, wherein the scores may be combined and re-combined at or before the point of final consumption, wherein the intermediate scores, wherein [0033] teaches the distributed system can automatically generate and track the CI score, wherein interdependent components interact to form an integrated whole for automatically transferring an asset based on one or more smart contracts, wherein [0034] teaches the client devices transmit information related to the product traversing the supply chain, as well as a CI score associated with that particular product, wherein the CI score may continually evolve as the product continues through the supply chain, wherein the CI score is updated on a blockchain that may be stored and accessed by the various client devices, wherein Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0036, 0066-0074]),
the smart contract execution for the current process including distributing a first portion of a total consideration received by the current process to a supplier account associated with the current process ([0037-0038] teach a participant in the supply chain may provide certain information to the system via client devices, wherein the constructed state of the process may be stored as a block on the blockchain, wherein one or more smart contracts may reside in the blockchain network, wherein a consumer who contracts with a supplier to buy a certain product with a certain CI score may receive a product with a higher or lower CI score, wherein a smart contract stored on the blockchain may automatically adjust payment between the supplier and customer based on the finalized score, wherein the CI scores may be aggregated, wherein the assets are provided to the supplier account or wallet, wherein Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0066-0074]),
the first portion being calculated based on a ratio of the single- unit value of the current process to the cumulative value of the current process ([0037-0038] teach a participant in the supply chain may provide certain information to the system via client devices, wherein the constructed state of the process may be stored as a block on the blockchain, wherein one or more smart contracts may reside in the blockchain network, wherein a consumer who contracts with a supplier to buy a certain product with a certain CI score may receive a product with a higher or lower CI score, wherein a smart contract stored on the blockchain may automatically adjust payment between the supplier and customer based on the finalized score, wherein the CI scores may be aggregated, wherein Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0066-0074]),
calculating a remaining cumulative consideration to be passed to the immediately preceding process ([0037-0038] teach a participant in the supply chain may provide certain information to the system via client devices, wherein the constructed state of the process may be stored as a block on the blockchain, wherein one or more smart contracts may reside in the blockchain network, wherein a consumer who contracts with a supplier to buy a certain product with a certain CI score may receive a product with a higher or lower CI score, wherein a smart contract stored on the blockchain may automatically adjust payment between the supplier and customer based on the finalized score, wherein the CI scores may be aggregated, wherein Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0066-0074]),
the remaining cumulative consideration being calculated based on a ratio of the cumulative value of the immediately preceding process to the cumulative value of the current process ([0037-0038] teach a participant in the supply chain may provide certain information to the system via client devices, wherein the constructed state of the process may be stored as a block on the blockchain, wherein one or more smart contracts may reside in the blockchain network, wherein a consumer who contracts with a supplier to buy a certain product with a certain CI score may receive a product with a higher or lower CI score, wherein a smart contract stored on the blockchain may automatically adjust payment between the supplier and customer based on the finalized score, wherein the CI scores may be aggregated, wherein Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0066-0074]), and
triggering a subsequent execution of a smart contract corresponding to the immediately preceding process ([0033] teaches a distributed system for automatically generating and tracking a CI score, wherein the asset may be automatically transferred based on one or more smart contracts, wherein [0045] teaches at each step of the supply chain, a CI score is captured and recorded, wherein a pre-processing and post-processing CI score may be captured at each supply chain step, which is used to accurately verify the finalized CI score once the end consumer receives the final product by the audit trail of a CI score may be stored at each step using a blockchain, wherein this ensures immutability of all blocks, wherein [0046] teaches after a product moves to the subsequent step in the supply chain, the status update may be recorded on the blockchain and a new CI score may be recorded based on the previous processing steps that was applied to the product, wherein after a product is processed at a new step in the supply chain, a new CI score may be updated and recorded on the blockchain based on the captured data, as well as in [0059] teaches the communications module is configured to communicate an updated CI score to a client device after a product completes processing at a certain step in the supply chain, wherein [0067] teaches after the data is received by the system, the input data is analyzed and an intermediate CI score is generated and stored in the blockchain as an appended block for interested parties to view, Fig. 6 and [0071] teach receiving input data at a certain step in the supply chain, which can be step “N” or any number, wherein the input data may be from a stakeholder in the supply chain that characterizes the processing taking place at that step, wherein the input data includes measurement data, wherein [0072] teaches following the reception of the input data, a carbon intensity score is generated and/or updated, wherein if Step N is step #3, then at the last two previous steps, each previous step received an intermediate CI score, which would already be calculated at step #3, so the results of the manufacturing/processing data at step #3 will result in an updated IC score, which is an intermediate score #3, wherein [0073] teaches after the CI is generated/updated, the CI score is recorded on the blockchain, wherein the CI score may be recorded as a new block appended to the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded, wherein [0049] teaches a smart contract may be for generating a CI score, wherein the contract terms include calculating the immutable CI score, wherein the initial generation/calculation of the CI score may be triggered; see also: [0038, 0066-0070]),
the calculated remaining cumulative consideration serving as the new total consideration input for the subsequent execution ([0037-0038] teach a participant in the supply chain may provide certain information to the system via client devices, wherein the constructed state of the process may be stored as a block on the blockchain, wherein one or more smart contracts may reside in the blockchain network, wherein a consumer who contracts with a supplier to buy a certain product with a certain CI score may receive a product with a higher or lower CI score, wherein a smart contract stored on the blockchain may automatically adjust payment between the supplier and customer based on the finalized score, wherein the CI scores may be aggregated, wherein [0046] teaches that after a product moves to the subsequent step in the supply chain, the status update may be recorded on the blockchain and a new CI score may be recorded based on the previous processing steps that was applied to the product, wherein after a product is processed at a new step in the supply chain, a new CI score may be updated and recorded on the blockchain based on the captured data, wherein Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded; see also: [0066-0074]),
thereby forming a sequential chain of value distribution transactions ([0033] teaches a distributed system for automatically generating and tracking a CI score, wherein the asset may be automatically transferred based on one or more smart contracts, wherein [0045] teaches at each step of the supply chain, a CI score is captured and recorded, wherein a pre-processing and post-processing CI score may be captured at each supply chain step, which is used to accurately verify the finalized CI score once the end consumer receives the final product by the audit trail of a CI score may be stored at each step using a blockchain, wherein this ensures immutability of all blocks, as well as in [0059] teaches the communications module is configured to communicate an updated CI score to a client device after a product completes processing at a certain step in the supply chain, wherein [0046] teaches after a product moves to the subsequent step in the supply chain, the status update may be recorded on the blockchain and a new CI score may be recorded based on the previous processing steps that was applied to the product, wherein after a product is processed at a new step in the supply chain, a new CI score may be updated and recorded on the blockchain based on the captured data, wherein [0067] teaches after the data is received by the system, the input data is analyzed and an intermediate CI score is generated and stored in the blockchain as an appended block for interested parties to view, Fig. 6 and [0071] teach receiving input data at a certain step in the supply chain, which can be step “N” or any number, wherein the input data may be from a stakeholder in the supply chain that characterizes the processing taking place at that step, wherein the input data includes measurement data, wherein [0072] teaches following the reception of the input data, a carbon intensity score is generated and/or updated, wherein if Step N is step #3, then at the last two previous steps, each previous step received an intermediate CI score, which would already be calculated at step #3, so the results of the manufacturing/processing data at step #3 will result in an updated IC score, which is an intermediate score #3, wherein [0073] teaches after the CI is generated/updated, the CI score is recorded on the blockchain, wherein the CI score may be recorded as a new block appended to the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded, wherein [0049] teaches a smart contract may be for generating a CI score, wherein the contract terms include calculating the immutable CI score, wherein the initial generation/calculation of the CI score may be triggered; see also: [0038, 0066-0070]).
While Gruber teaches generating a cumulative value of the current process, Gruber does not explicitly teach the first portion being calculated based on a ratio of the single- unit value of the current process to the cumulative value of the current process, the remaining cumulative consideration being calculated based on a ratio of the cumulative value of the immediately preceding process to the cumulative value of the current process.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Lin teaches the first portion being calculated based on a ratio of the single- unit value of the current process to the cumulative value of the current process (Fig. 7 and [0058] teach generating the final scores using weighted processing, wherein the feature values can be generates for a number of features each within multiple timeframes, wherein scaling can be performed to convert feature values of the features into scaled feature values, wherein the scales feature values are defined as percentages or other values within a scale ranging from zero to one, wherein the weights can be applied to the scaled feature values in order to generate intermediate values, where each intermediate value is determined by applying different weights to the scaled feature values in different timeframes, wherein the weights can be applied to the intermediate values in order to generate the final score for the specific pair or group of entities, as well as in [0054] teaches the scales feature values of the features within each timeframe can be weighted using the appropriate weights and the scales features values of the different types of features within each timeframe can also be weighted using the appropriate weights, wherein after weighting, the weighted feature values can be summed in order to produce the final scores, wherein [0065] teaches the processing device can store the final score, wherein the final score can be provided to a downstream processing task, and wherein [0020] teaches the enabling of various downstream processing tasks, wherein a downstream processing task may be configured to identify entities, which can be used as an input in the downstream processing tasks; see also: [0064, 0072]),
the remaining cumulative consideration being calculated based on a ratio of the cumulative value of the immediately preceding process to the cumulative value of the current process (Fig. 7 and [0058] teach generating the final scores using weighted processing, wherein the feature values can be generates for a number of features each within multiple timeframes, wherein scaling can be performed to convert feature values of the features into scaled feature values, wherein the scales feature values are defined as percentages or other values within a scale ranging from zero to one, wherein the weights can be applied to the scaled feature values in order to generate intermediate values, where each intermediate value is determined by applying different weights to the scaled feature values in different timeframes, wherein the weights can be applied to the intermediate values in order to generate the final score for the specific pair or group of entities, as well as in [0054] teaches the scales feature values of the features within each timeframe can be weighted using the appropriate weights and the scales features values of the different types of features within each timeframe can also be weighted using the appropriate weights, wherein after weighting, the weighted feature values can be summed in order to produce the final scores, wherein [0065] teaches the processing device can store the final score, wherein the final score can be provided to a downstream processing task, and wherein [0020] teaches the enabling of various downstream processing tasks, wherein a downstream processing task may be configured to identify entities, which can be used as an input in the downstream processing tasks; see also: [0049, 0064, 0072]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gruber to incorporate the teachings of Lin to include the first portion being calculated based on a ratio of the single- unit value of the current process to the cumulative value of the current process, the remaining cumulative consideration being calculated based on a ratio of the cumulative value of the immediately preceding process to the cumulative value of the current process. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable various downstream processing tasks by providing more effective differentiation of various types of relationships among entities and providing better resolution of those entities (Lin, [0020]). By incorporating the teachings of Lin, one would have been able to enable features to be combined by weighting features over a timeframe in order to scale all of the values to help align the ranges of values for features (Lin, [0050, 0052]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claims recite limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 1. Regarding claim 5, Gruber teaches a consideration distribution method implemented by a computer to execute processing for managing a decentralized and computationally efficient supply chain application on a blockchain, the method comprising (Figs. 4-6). Regarding claim 6, Gruber teaches a consideration distribution apparatus for managing a decentralized and computationally efficient supply chain application on a blockchain (Figs. 1-3), the processing comprising: a memory ([0101-0102] teach the operating environment includes a processing unit and memory that stores computer readable instructions; see also: [0040]); and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to ([0101-0102] teach the operating environment includes a processing unit and memory that stores computer readable instructions, wherein the processor can access the instructions; see also: [0040]). Accordingly, claims 5 and 6 are rejected as being unpatentable over Gruber in view of Lin.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gruber and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Gruber further teaches wherein a consideration for the process is calculated based on the value of the process included in the process information of the process and a value of the process performed immediately before included in the process information of the process performed immediately before (Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0076] teaches the ML model may generate an intelligent suggestion for the next step in the supply chain, wherein [0077] teaches the intelligent suggestions can be provided to the participant or participants in the supply chain, the controller, or other relevant parties that would benefit from receiving the intelligent suggestion based on the current state of the supply chain and the current intermediate CI scores of certain products traversing the supply chain, as well as in [0055] teaches the ML suggestion module may be configured to automatically make intelligent suggestions for how to optimize, or lower, CI scores for the supply chain by providing suggestions directly to participants and stakeholders in the supply chain regarding improving processes to make them eco-friendlier in order to achieve lower CI scores for an end product, wherein since the CI score of the present product is at a certain threshold, the product needs to be processed in a different location in order to ensure the product’s CI score does not exceed the threshold; see also: [0032, 0044, 0048, 0064-0071, 0073]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gruber and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Gruber further teaches wherein the process information includes a cumulative value obtained by summing up values of respective processes from a most upstream process to the process in the supply chain ([0083] teaches each co-product or byproduct’s CI score may be verified using a checksum function that adds the intermediate CI scores together to reach a whole, wherein a final CI score may be the sum of each intermediate CI score that was assigned to the product through each step in the supply chain, wherein the CI scores associated with each component input may be summed into the CI score, wherein the aggregate, intermediate CI score may then be added to the CI scores associated with the inputs, wherein each step in the supply chain may product its own additional CI score that will be summed at the final supply chain step to obtain the final CI score, wherein the checksum function can refer to the previous CI scores that are stored in the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 8 and [0084] teaches automatically generating and tracking a CI score along a supply chain by summing each previous CI score stored as blocks on the blockchain by applying a checksum function; see also: [0085-0088]), and
a consideration for the processes calculated based on the value of the process included in the process information of the process and a cumulative value up to the process performed immediately before that is included in the process information of the process performed immediately before (Fig. 6 and [0075] teach the output of the ML model analysis in an intelligent suggestion to a participant in the supply chain or controller for certain manufacturing/processing changes that could potentially lower the CI score in the future, wherein after the product receives an intermediate score after completing step N, or step N+1, in the supply chain, the ML model may output a suggestion to that participant in the supply chain for tweaking its processes to potentially obtain a lower score in the next iteration through the supply chain, wherein [0083] teaches each co-product or byproduct’s CI score may be verified using a checksum function that adds the intermediate CI scores together to reach a whole, wherein a final CI score may be the sum of each intermediate CI score that was assigned to the product through each step in the supply chain, wherein the CI scores associated with each component input may be summed into the CI score, wherein the aggregate, intermediate CI score may then be added to the CI scores associated with the inputs, wherein each step in the supply chain may product its own additional CI score that will be summed at the final supply chain step to obtain the final CI score, wherein the checksum function can refer to the previous CI scores that are stored in the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 8 and [0084] teaches automatically generating and tracking a CI score along a supply chain by summing each previous CI score stored as blocks on the blockchain by applying a checksum function; see also: [0055-0058, 0085-0088]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gruber and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Gruber further teaches further causing the computer to execute processing comprising:
accepting input of the identification information for specifying the process performed immediately before and trail information used for calculation of the value of the process (Fig. 6 and [0071] teach receiving input data at a certain step in the supply chain, which can be step “N” or any number, wherein the input data may be from a stakeholder in the supply chain that characterizes the processing taking place at that step, wherein the input data includes measurement data, wherein [0072] teaches following the reception of the input data, a carbon intensity score is generated and/or updated, wherein if Step N is step #3, then at the last two previous steps, each previous step received an intermediate CI score, which would already be calculated at step #3, so the results of the manufacturing/processing data at step #3 will result in an updated IC score, which is an intermediate score #3, wherein [0073] teaches after the CI is generated/updated, the CI score is recorded on the blockchain, wherein the CI score may be recorded as a new block appended to the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded, as well as in [0078-0079] teach the inputs at the farm can each have an associated CI score, wherein the end -product may have a received final CI score, wherein [0080-0081] teach a single CI score can be generated for each particular step in the supply chain, wherein [0083] teaches each co-product or byproduct’s CI score may be verified using a checksum function that adds the intermediate CI scores together to reach a whole, wherein a final CI score may be the sum of each intermediate CI score that was assigned to the product through each step in the supply chain, wherein the CI scores associated with each component input may be summed into the CI score, wherein the aggregate, intermediate CI score may then be added to the CI scores associated with the inputs, wherein each step in the supply chain may product its own additional CI score that will be summed at the final supply chain step to obtain the final CI score, wherein the checksum function can refer to the previous CI scores that are stored in the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 8 and [0084] teaches automatically generating and tracking a CI score along a supply chain by summing each previous CI score stored as blocks on the blockchain by applying a checksum function; see also: [0066-0070]);
calculating the value of the process (Fig. 6 and [0071] teach receiving input data at a certain step in the supply chain, which can be step “N” or any number, wherein the input data may be from a stakeholder in the supply chain that characterizes the processing taking place at that step, wherein the input data includes measurement data, wherein [0072] teaches following the reception of the input data, a carbon intensity score is generated and/or updated, wherein if Step N is step #3, then at the last two previous steps, each previous step received an intermediate CI score, which would already be calculated at step #3, so the results of the manufacturing/processing data at step #3 will result in an updated IC score, which is an intermediate score #3, wherein [0073] teaches after the CI is generated/updated, the CI score is recorded on the blockchain, wherein the CI score may be recorded as a new block appended to the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded, as well as in [0078-0079] teach the inputs at the farm can each have an associated CI score, wherein the end -product may have a received final CI score, wherein [0080-0081] teach a single CI score can be generated for each particular step in the supply chain, wherein [0083] teaches each co-product or byproduct’s CI score may be verified using a checksum function that adds the intermediate CI scores together to reach a whole, wherein a final CI score may be the sum of each intermediate CI score that was assigned to the product through each step in the supply chain, wherein the CI scores associated with each component input may be summed into the CI score, wherein the aggregate, intermediate CI score may then be added to the CI scores associated with the inputs, wherein each step in the supply chain may product its own additional CI score that will be summed at the final supply chain step to obtain the final CI score, wherein the checksum function can refer to the previous CI scores that are stored in the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 8 and [0084] teaches automatically generating and tracking a CI score along a supply chain by summing each previous CI score stored as blocks on the blockchain by applying a checksum function; see also: [0066-0070]),
and a cumulative value obtained by summing up values of respective processes from a most upstream process to the process in the supply chain (Fig. 6 and [0071] teach receiving input data at a certain step in the supply chain, which can be step “N” or any number, wherein the input data may be from a stakeholder in the supply chain that characterizes the processing taking place at that step, wherein the input data includes measurement data, wherein [0072] teaches following the reception of the input data, a carbon intensity score is generated and/or updated, wherein if Step N is step #3, then at the last two previous steps, each previous step received an intermediate CI score, which would already be calculated at step #3, so the results of the manufacturing/processing data at step #3 will result in an updated IC score, which is an intermediate score #3, wherein [0073] teaches after the CI is generated/updated, the CI score is recorded on the blockchain, wherein the CI score may be recorded as a new block appended to the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded, as well as in [0078-0079] teach the inputs at the farm can each have an associated CI score, wherein the end -product may have a received final CI score, wherein [0080-0081] teach a single CI score can be generated for each particular step in the supply chain, wherein [0083] teaches each co-product or byproduct’s CI score may be verified using a checksum function that adds the intermediate CI scores together to reach a whole, wherein a final CI score may be the sum of each intermediate CI score that was assigned to the product through each step in the supply chain, wherein the CI scores associated with each component input may be summed into the CI score, wherein the aggregate, intermediate CI score may then be added to the CI scores associated with the inputs, wherein each step in the supply chain may product its own additional CI score that will be summed at the final supply chain step to obtain the final CI score, wherein the checksum function can refer to the previous CI scores that are stored in the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 8 and [0084] teaches automatically generating and tracking a CI score along a supply chain by summing each previous CI score stored as blocks on the blockchain by applying a checksum function; see also: [0066-0070]); and
generating process information that includes the value of the process and the cumulative value (Fig. 6 and [0071] teach receiving input data at a certain step in the supply chain, which can be step “N” or any number, wherein the input data may be from a stakeholder in the supply chain that characterizes the processing taking place at that step, wherein the input data includes measurement data, wherein [0072] teaches following the reception of the input data, a carbon intensity score is generated and/or updated, wherein if Step N is step #3, then at the last two previous steps, each previous step received an intermediate CI score, which would already be calculated at step #3, so the results of the manufacturing/processing data at step #3 will result in an updated IC score, which is an intermediate score #3, wherein [0073] teaches after the CI is generated/updated, the CI score is recorded on the blockchain, wherein the CI score may be recorded as a new block appended to the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 4 and [0064-0065] teach once the data is received, the system may analyze the input data, wherein the initial CI score may be the output of the combination of the smart contract terms and the input data received at supply chain step #1, wherein this initial score may be stored and record on the blockchain, wherein as the product enters the next step of the supply chain, the system receives input data at the next supply chain step, such as steps #2, #3…#N, wherein the data may be recorded, as well as in [0078-0079] teach the inputs at the farm can each have an associated CI score, wherein the end -product may have a received final CI score, wherein [0080-0081] teach a single CI score can be generated for each particular step in the supply chain, wherein [0083] teaches each co-product or byproduct’s CI score may be verified using a checksum function that adds the intermediate CI scores together to reach a whole, wherein a final CI score may be the sum of each intermediate CI score that was assigned to the product through each step in the supply chain, wherein the CI scores associated with each component input may be summed into the CI score, wherein the aggregate, intermediate CI score may then be added to the CI scores associated with the inputs, wherein each step in the supply chain may product its own additional CI score that will be summed at the final supply chain step to obtain the final CI score, wherein the checksum function can refer to the previous CI scores that are stored in the blockchain, as well as in Fig. 8 and [0084] teaches automatically generating and tracking a CI score along a supply chain by summing each previous CI score stored as blocks on the blockchain by applying a checksum function; see also: [0066-0070]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Behrends et al. (US 20220366515 A1) discloses a consumer application that provides a consumer end-user access to a supply chain blockchain based platform that defines traceability for agricultural good, as well as providing a smart contract to multiple participants, which is related to the claim limitations of “for each process included in a supply chain, on a block chain, recording process information”
Kingston et al. (US 20180075406 A1) discloses updating a set of tracked variables that may be cryptographically hashed, thereby incorporating down-stream supply chain data and metrics into the tracked variables using blockchain principals and technology, which is related to the claim limitations of “an initial total consideration for a downstream process, initiating a recursive, chained execution of smart contracts down to up the supply chain”
/SARA GRACE BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625