DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 2/5/2026 and 11/11/2024 are being considered by the examiner
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,199,439. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as demonstrated below:
Instant Application
Pat. No. 12,199,439
1. A method of detecting unintentional islanding (UI) of at least one distributed energy resource (DER) circuit, the method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
1. A method of detecting unintentional islanding (UI) of at least one distributed energy resource (DER) circuit, the method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
monitor transmissions from a plurality of UI detection sources to identify indications of unintentional islanding from the plurality of UI detection sources; and
monitor transmissions from a plurality of UI detection sources to identify indications of unintentional islanding from the plurality of UI detection sources; and
perform detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit by,
while indications of unintentional islanding are identified during a time window from fewer than a consensus number of the plurality of UI detection sources, determining that unintentional islanding is not detected,
perform detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit by,
while indications of unintentional islanding are identified during a time window from fewer than a consensus number of the plurality of UI detection sources, determining that unintentional islanding is not detected,
wherein the consensus number is greater than one, and, when indications of unintentional islanding are identified during the time window from the consensus number of the plurality of UI detection sources, determining that unintentional islanding is detected.
wherein the consensus number is greater than one, and, when indications of unintentional islanding are identified during the time window from the consensus number of the plurality of UI detection sources, determining that unintentional islanding is detected;
wherein the transmissions from one or more of the plurality of UI detection sources each comprises a plurality of measurements, and wherein the method comprises identifying the indication of unintentional islanding in the transmission from each of the one or more UI detection sources by: for each of the plurality of measurements, determining whether the measurement satisfies a respective measurement threshold; when a threshold number of the plurality of measurements satisfy the respective measurement threshold, determining that an indication of unintentional islanding is identified in the transmission, wherein the threshold number is greater than one; and, when the threshold number of the plurality of measurements do not satisfy the respective measurement threshold, determining that an indication of unintentional islanding is not identified in the transmission.
2
5
3
6
4
7
5
8
6
9
7
10
8
11
9
12
10
13
11
14
12
15
13
16
14
17
15
18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaroslaw et al. [EP 2806280 A1] ("Jaroslaw").
With regard to claim 1, Jaroslaw teaches a method of detecting unintentional islanding (UI) of at least one distributed energy resource (DER) circuit ("methods for island detection in an electrical distribution network [par. 0005]"), the method comprising using at least one hardware processor ("one or more processors [par. 0045]") to:
monitor transmissions from a plurality of UI detection sources ("the local phase angle data and remote phase angle data are received from phasor measurement units (PMUs) positioned in the local and remote subnetworks [par. 0048]" and "local power data and remote power data are also received [par. 0046]") to identify indications of unintentional islanding from the plurality of UI detection sources ("As shown at block 850, the method continues with the evaluation of phase angle differences between the local phase angles and the remote phase angles. Block 860 shows that power stability at the local subnetwork and at each of the remote subnetworks is also determined, using the local power data and remote power data, respectively. Finally, as shown at block 870, an island condition is detected at the local subnetwork. [par. 0047]"); and
perform detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit by ("methods for island detection in an electrical distribution network [par. 0005]"),
while indications of unintentional islanding are identified during a time window ("detecting of the island condition is further conditioned on determining, for each of the remote subnetworks, that phase angle differences between the remote subnetwork and the local subnetwork are changing, over a period of time, at more than a predetermined rate [para. 0051]") from fewer than a consensus number of the plurality of UI detection sources, determining that unintentional islanding is not detected, wherein the consensus number is greater than one ("If an islanding condition exists for the local node, all of these inputs are positive, which together indicate that power is stable at the local subnetwork and the remote subnetworks, that remote phase angles at each of the remote subnetworks are stable, and that there is a change in phase angle differences between each remote subnetwork and the local subnetwork, each of said changes exceeding a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, the inputs are combined at AND function 210 [par. 0024]" and "For a reliable determination of an islanding condition, the angle difference between the local node and each remote node i must be constantly changing (increasing or decreasing) by more than a predefined value [par. 0035];" if fewer than four comparisons between the local phase angle and a respective remote phase angle indicate a change exceeding a threshold, then it is determined that local islanding is not detected), and,
when indications of unintentional islanding are identified during the time window from the consensus number of the plurality of UI detection sources, determining that unintentional islanding is detected ("If an islanding condition exists for the local node, all of these inputs are positive, which together indicate that power is stable at the local subnetwork and the remote subnetworks, that remote phase angles at each of the remote subnetworks are stable, and that there is a change in phase angle differences between each remote subnetwork and the local subnetwork, each of said changes exceeding a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, the inputs are combined at AND function 210 [par. 0024];" if all four comparisons between the local phase angle and a respective remote phase angle indicate a change exceeding a threshold, then it is determined that local islanding is detected).
With regard to claim 2, Jaroslaw teaches the method of claim 1, comprising using the at least one hardware processor to,
when the indication of unintentional islanding is identified in the transmission from a first one of the plurality of UI detection sources ("the local phase angle data and remote phase angle data are received from phasor measurement units (PMUs) positioned in the local and remote subnetworks [par. 0048]"):
determine whether the first UI detection source is local to the DER circuit or remote from the DER circuit ("When the disclosed techniques are deployed in each of several protection devices installed across a power network, the system of devices is capable of determining the existence of other electrical islands, at the location of each device [par. 0016]" and "This electronic device is configured to implement an islanding detection algorithm that considers one point in the electrical distribution or transmission system to be a 'local' point, while other points are 'remote' ones. [par. 0017]");
when determining that the first UI detection source is local to the DER circuit, determining whether or not to perform the detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit based on a location of the first UI detection source within the DER circuit; and,
when determining that the first UI detection source is remote to the DER circuit, performing the detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit ("detecting of the island condition is further conditioned on determining, for each of the remote subnetworks, that phase angle differences between the remote subnetwork and the local subnetwork are changing, over a period of time, at more than a predetermined rate [para. 0051]").
Note: the claim contains contingent limitations
With regard to claim 9, Jaroslaw teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transmissions from one or more of the plurality of UI detection sources each comprises a binary value indicating either a presence or absence of unintentional islanding ("Accordingly, the output from LR evaluation module 130-i will be positive only if the angle difference checks are satisfied (as indicated by a positive output from AND function 380) and there is neither a remote power disturbance signal nor an extended power disturbance signal from modules 320 and 330, respectively [par. 0039]").
With regard to claim 10, Jaroslaw teaches claim 1 above. Claim 10 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 1; therefore, claim 10 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 1. Claim 10 differs from claim 1 where claim 10 recites the additional elements (which Jaroslaw teaches) of software configured to, when executed by the at least one hardware processor ("The illustrated process, and variants thereof, may be implemented using analog circuitry, digital logic, one or more processors or 5 controllers programmed with suitable software and/or firmware, or some combination thereof [par. 0045]").
With regard to claim 11, Jaroslaw teaches the system of claim 10, further comprising the plurality of UI detection sources ("the local phase angle data and remote phase angle data are received from phasor measurement units (PMUs) positioned in the local and remote subnetworks [par. 0048]" and "local power data and remote power data are also received [par. 0046]").
With regard to claim 12, Jaroslaw teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising the DER circuit, wherein the plurality of UI detection sources are distributed at different locations with respect to the DER circuit ("When the disclosed techniques are deployed in each of several protection devices installed across a power network, the system of devices is capable of determining the existence of other electrical islands, at the location of each device [par. 0016]").
With regard to claim 13, Jaroslaw teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the DER circuit is a microgrid comprising one or more distributed energy resources ("Modem electrical networks, or 'grids,' increasingly incorporate distributed generation, where at least part of the electricity carried by the grid is produced from many relatively small energy sources, such as wind generators, solar-powered generators [par. 0002]" and [fig. 10]).
With regard to claim 15, Jaroslaw teaches claim 1 above. Claim 15 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 1; therefore, claim 15 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 1. Claim 15 differs from claim 1 where claim 15 recites the additional elements (which Jaroslaw teaches) of a non-transitory computer-readable medium ("The illustrated process, and variants thereof, may be implemented using analog circuitry, digital logic, one or more processors or 5 controllers programmed with suitable software and/or firmware, or some combination thereof [par. 0045]").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaroslaw in view of Porter [US Pub. 2017/0179847].
With regard to claim 4, Jaroslaw teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising using the at least one hardware processor to, when the indication of unintentional islanding is identified in the transmission from a first one of the plurality of UI detection sources ("the local phase angle data and remote phase angle data are received from phasor measurement units (PMUs) positioned in the local and remote subnetworks [par. 0048]"):
start a ("detecting of the island condition is further conditioned on determining, for each of the remote subnetworks, that phase angle differences between the remote subnetwork and the local subnetwork are changing, over a period of time, at more than a predetermined rate [para. 0051]"); and
.
Although Jaroslaw teaches a time period for detecting the island condition, Jaroslaw does not explicitly teach where a timer is used and to block transition of the DER circuit to an intentional island unless and until unintentional islanding of the DER circuit is detected prior to expiration of the timer.
In an analogous art (grid monitoring), Porter teaches a timer and to block transition of a DER circuit to an intentional island unless and until unintentional islanding of the DER circuit is detected prior to expiration of the timer ("the control module 120 initiates a timer when the connection arrangement 106 is signaled to disconnect from the grid 104 and detects the microgrid system 102 is islanded when the elapsed time is greater than or equal to a fixed threshold amount of time required for the connection arrangement 106 to complete transitioning from a connected to disconnected state [par. 0033]").
Porter further teaches, "voltage disturbances on the larger utility grid can propagate to the microgrid before the microgrid is disconnected, or disconnecting two electrical grid systems may otherwise result in voltage fluctuations due to varying impedances and the like. This is undesirable, for example, when the microgrid system includes one or more electrical loads that are sensitive to voltage changes or voltage transients. Accordingly, it is desirable to provide systems and methods capable of mitigating voltage disturbances when disconnecting a microgrid system [par. 0003]."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the teachings of Jarosloaw, to include the teachings of Porter, for the benefit of mitigating disturbance when disconnecting from the microgrid.
With regard to claim 5, Jaroslaw teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising using the at least one hardware processor to, in response to detecting unintentional islanding of the DER circuit, initiate a transition of the DER circuit ("This islanding detection signal may be regarded as an alarm indicator signal, which may be used, for example, to trigger the disconnecting of one or more generating units in the local subnetwork, or to adjust a power output of one or more generating units in the local subnetwork, to balance power load and power generation in the local subnetwork. [par. 0025]").
Jaroslaw does not explicitly teach to transition to an intentional island.
In an analogous art (grid monitoring), Porter teaches to transition to an intentional island ("the control module 120 commands, signals, or otherwise instructs the connection arrangement 106 to change from a connected (or closed or activated) state to a disconnected (or opened or deactivated) state that prevents current flow to/from the utility grid 104 [par. 0032]").
Porter further teaches, "voltage disturbances on the larger utility grid can propagate to the microgrid before the microgrid is disconnected, or disconnecting two electrical grid systems may otherwise result in voltage fluctuations due to varying impedances and the like. This is undesirable, for example, when the microgrid system includes one or more electrical loads that are sensitive to voltage changes or voltage transients. Accordingly, it is desirable to provide systems and methods capable of mitigating voltage disturbances when disconnecting a microgrid system [par. 0003]."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the teachings of Jarosloaw, to include the teachings of Porter, for the benefit of disconnecting from a larger utility grid while mitigating disturbance when disconnecting.
With regard to claim 6, the combination above teaches the method of claim 5. Porter in the combination further teaches wherein initiating a transition of the DER circuit to an intentional island comprises preparing the DER circuit for the intentional island ("the control module 120 commands, signals, or otherwise instructs the connection arrangement 106 to change from a connected (or closed or activated) state to a disconnected (or opened or deactivated) state that prevents current flow to/from the utility grid 104 [par. 0032]").
With regard to claim 7, the combination above teaches the method of claim 6. Porter in the combination teaches the method further comprising using the at least one hardware processor to, after preparing the DER circuit for the intentional island, open a point of common coupling with the DER circuit ("the control module 120 commands, signals, or otherwise instructs the connection arrangement 106 to change from a connected (or closed or activated) state to a disconnected (or opened or deactivated) state that prevents current flow to/from the utility grid 104 [par. 0032]").
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaroslaw in view of Ito et al. [US Pub. 2008/0100145] ("Ito").
With regard to claim 8, Jaroslaw teaches the method of claim 1. Jaroslaw does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the plurality of UI detection sources utilizes a different UI detection method to produce the indication of unintentional islanding than another one of the plurality of UI detection sources.
In an analogous art (grid monitoring), Ito teaches wherein at least one of a plurality of UI detection sources utilizes a different UI detection method to produce an indication of unintentional islanding than another one of the plurality of UI detection sources ("In the grid interconnection device according to the first aspect, the detector includes a first detector configured to detect the islanding state and a second detector configured to detect the islanding state by use of an islanding detection method different from that used by the first detector. Thus, the detection sensitivity may be increased by using the second detector in addition to the first detector to detect the islanding state [par. 0013]").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Ito's teachings of detecting islanding with different methods, with Jaroslaw's teachings, for the benefit of increasing detection sensitivity to detect an islanding state.
With regard to claim 14, the combination above teaches claim 8. Claim 14 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 8; therefore, claim 14 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
While the prior art of record teaches detecting unintentional islanding of the DER circuit based on locations of UI detection sources (Jaroslaw) and determining upstream and downstream impacts of closed and opened electrical connections (Porter), the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest, alone or in combination, determining whether or not the first UI detection source is downstream from a segmenting device within the DER circuit; when determining that the first UI detection source is not downstream from the segmenting device, performing the detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit; and, when determining that the first UI detection source is downstream from the segmenting device, determining whether or not the segmenting device is in an open state, when determining that the segmenting device is not in the open state, performing the detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit, and, when determining that the segmenting device is in the open state, not performing the detection of unintentional islanding of the DER circuit as recited in claim 3 in combination with the limitations presented in claims 1 and 2.
Conclusion
VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119