DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 11/12/2024 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weinblatt (U.S. Pat. No. 4383626).
Regarding claim 1, Weinblatt teaches a tablet support to be mounted on a surface of a vehicle, comprising:
a base (5, 7);
straps (31, 13, 45) adapted to secure the base to the vehicle; and
an articulated arm assembly (39, 43, 41) comprising a first arm (41), and a second arm (39) articulated relative to one another, with the first arm comprising a first face (face of 41 in contact with 5) and a second face (face of 41 in contact with 43), and the second arm comprising a tablet interface assembly (17, 19);
wherein the articulated arm assembly is adapted to be mounted to the base either with its first face or its second face (face of 41 in contact connected to 5) against the base, and
wherein, by securing the first face or the second face of the first arm to the base, the tablet interface assembly can be positioned in a first position or in a second position (folded and unfolded positions) while facing away to the base.
Regarding claim 11, Weinblatt teaches a tablet support to be mounted on a surface of a vehicle, comprising:
a base (5,7);
straps (31, 13, 45) adapted to secure the base to the vehicle; and
an arm assembly (39, 43, 41) comprising a first arm (41) and a second arm (39) that are adapted to be in a first position (extended position) in which the first arm and the second arm have a first angle greater than 45 degrees in-between, with the first arm comprising a first face (face of 41 in connected 5) and a second face (face of 41 connected to 43), and the second arm comprising a tablet interface assembly (17, 19);
wherein the arm assembly is adapted to be mounted to the base either with its first face or its second face against the base, thereby adjusting position of the tablet interface assembly relative to the base.
Regarding claim 3, Weinblatt teaches an interface between the first face (face of 41 connected to 5) and the base (5, 7) defines a first plane (plane along the surface of 5), and wherein the articulated arm assembly comprises an articulation axis (rotational axis defined by/at 43) around which rotates the second arm (39) that is parallel to the first plane.
Regarding claim 13, Weinblatt teaches the arm assembly (39, 43, 41) is an articulated arm assembly that comprises an articulation axis (axis at 43) around which rotates the second arm (39), wherein the second arm as an end distant to the articulation axis allowing, wherein the end is adapted to be moved between a first position and a second position closer to the base than the first position (extended position and retracted position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinblatt (U.S. Pat. No. 4383626) in view of Newman (U.S. Reissued Pat. No. RE47,085 E).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Weinblatt teaches the tablet support comprising straps. However, Weinblatt is silent to disclose a pad.
Newman teaches a pad (Newman; Col. 10; line 16).
Weinblatt and Newman are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Weinblatt having a pad such that the straps are adapted to secure the base on top of the pad, thereby having the pad wedged between the base and the surface. The motivation would have been to avoid abrasions.
Claims 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinblatt (U.S. Pat. No. 4383626) in view of Gruber (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0214114 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Weinblatt teaches the first arm is adapted to be mounted to the base. However, Weinblatt is silent to disclose the first arm secured to the base using a releasable securing means.Gruber teaches first arm (Gruber; 70) secured to the base (Gruber; 50) using a releasable securing means (Gruber; 68).
Weinblatt and Gruber are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the arms of Weinblatt having the releasable securing means such that first arm is secured to the base using the releasable securing means. The motivation would have been to adjust the orientation of the supported object.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Weinblatt as modified teaches the first arm (41) is adapted to be mounted to the base (5, 7) in a plurality of positions regardless of which one of the first face and the second face of the first arm is/being mounted against the base.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinblatt (U.S. Pat. No. 4383626) in view of Cressy (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0186267 A1)
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Weinblatt teaches the base. However, Weinblatt is silent to disclose a plurality of slots, wherein at least one of the straps comprise a hook adapted to be inserted in one of the slots. Cressy teaches a plurality of slots (Cressy; 4), wherein at least one of the straps comprise a hook (Cressy; 11) adapted to be inserted in one of the slots.
Weinblatt and Cressy are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Weinblatt having slots such that at least one of the straps comprise the hook adapted to be inserted in one of the slots. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate grip and as well as to make the straps easily removable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8, 9, 14-15, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631