DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-18 are currently pending.
Priority
The Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under provisional Application No. 62/962624 , filed on 01/17/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 and 05/14/2025 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: A tank for a railway tank car comprising: an outer tank; a nozzle protruding through the outer tank, wherein: an outer edge of the nozzle extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank; and an intersection between the nozzle and the outer tank defines an opening in the outer tank; a fittings plate welded to the nozzle around the outer edge of the nozzle; and a set of pipes passing through the fittings plate and into the outer tank through the nozzle, the set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: an inner tank positioned within the outer tank, the inner tank configured to store a cryogenic fluid, wherein an annular space defined by an interior surface of the outer tank and an exterior surface of the inner tank is configured to hold a vacuum (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: each pipe of the set of pipes travels at least a distance in the annular space between the inner tank and the outer tank, in a direction that is not substantially perpendicular to a surface of the inner tank through which the pipe enters (Claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: the nozzle is positioned on a side of the outer tank (Claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: a second nozzle protruding through the outer tank, wherein an outer edge of the second nozzle extends past the exterior surface of the outer tank; a second fittings plate welded to the second nozzle around the outer edge of the second nozzle; and a second set of pipes passing through the second fittings plate and into the outer tank through the second nozzle, the second set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the railway tank car and pipes to unload fluid from the railway tank car (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: A method for manufacturing a tank for a railway tank car comprising: coupling a nozzle to an outer tank, wherein: the nozzle is configured to protrude through the outer tank, such that an outer edge of the nozzle extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank; and an intersection between the nozzle and the outer tank defines an opening in the outer tank; passing a set of pipes through the nozzle, the set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank; placing a fittings plate over the outer edge of the nozzle, the fittings plate defining a set of openings, each opening of the set of openings associated with a pipe of the set of pipes, wherein placing the fittings plate over the outer edge of the nozzle comprises passing each pipe of the set of pipes through the associated opening of the set of openings; and welding the fittings plate to the nozzle around the outer edge of the nozzle (Claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: the outer tank encloses an inner tank that is configured to store a cryogenic fluid; and an annular space defined by an interior surface of the outer tank and an exterior surface of the inner tank is configured to hold a vacuum (Claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: each pipe of the set of pipes travels at least a distance in the annular space between the inner tank and the outer tank, in a direction that is not substantially perpendicular to a surface of the inner tank through which the pipe enters (Claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: coupling the nozzle to the outer tank comprises coupling the nozzle to a side of the outer tank (Claim 11).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: coupling a second nozzle to the outer tank, wherein: the second nozzle is configured to protrude through the outer tank, such that an outer edge of the second nozzle extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank; and an intersection between the second nozzle and the outer tank defines a second opening in the outer tank; passing a second set of pipes through the second nozzle, the second set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank; placing a second fittings plate over the outer edge of the second nozzle, the second fittings plate defining a second set of openings, each opening associated with a pipe of the second set of pipes, wherein placing the second fittings plate over the outer edge of the second nozzle comprises passing each pipe of the second set of pipes through the associated opening of the second set of openings; and welding the second fittings plate to the second nozzle around the outer edge of the second nozzle (Claim 12).
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: A railway tank car comprising: an outer tank; a nozzle protruding through the outer tank, wherein: an outer edge of the nozzle extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank; and an intersection between the nozzle and the outer tank defines an opening in the outer tank; a fittings plate welded to the nozzle around the outer edge of the nozzle; a set of pipes passing through the fittings plate and into the outer tank through the nozzle, the set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank; and a set of wheel assemblies, wherein the outer tank is coupled to the set of wheel assemblies (Claim 15).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: g an inner tank positioned within the outer tank, the inner tank configured to store a cryogenic fluid, wherein an annular space defined by an interior surface of the outer tank and an exterior surface of the inner tank is configured to hold a vacuum (Claim 16).
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: each pipe of the set of pipes travels at least a distance in the annular space between the inner tank and the outer tank, in a direction that is not substantially perpendicular to a surface of the inner tank through which the pipe enters (Claim 17).
Regarding claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 12228248 B2 teaches: the nozzle is positioned on a side of the outer tank (Claim 18).
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adkins et al. (US 8403000 B2), in view of Randolph (US 3078004 A).
Regarding claim 1, Adkins teaches (Fig. 1-3): A tank (13) for a railway tank comprising: an outer tank (outer shell 16); a nozzle (20, 22) protruding through the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2), wherein: an outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22) extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2); and an intersection between the nozzle (20, 22) and the outer tank (16) defines an opening (Fig. 3A) in the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2); and a set of pipes (tubes 10, 12) passing through the fittings plate (20a) and into the outer tank through the nozzle (20, 22)(Fig. 1A-1B and 2), the set of pipes (10, 12) comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank (col. 3, lines 1-10).
Adkins further teaches the tank is a vehicle mounted tank (Claim 9), but does not explicitly teach that the tank is for a railway tank car.
However, Randolph teaches an alternate tank car, wherein (Fig. 1): a tank is for a railway tank car (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Adkins to mount the tank to a railcar, as disclosed by Adkins, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate transport of the tank on a railway track covering large distances.
Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): a fittings plate (closure plate 20a) welded to the nozzle around the outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22)(Fig. 1A-1B), but does not explicitly teach that the fittings plate is welded to the nozzle.
However, Randolph teaches an alternate tank car, wherein (Fig. 5-6): “A reducer 80 is provided to connect the shell and nozzle. Its reduced forward end connects the front end of the nozzle and may be secured by welding 95” (Col. 9, lines 22-24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Adkins to use the welding technique of Randolph for the fittings plate on the nozzle, with a reasonable expectation of success because welding is a commonly known technique for connecting a nozzle to handle vibrations and prevent leaks.
Regarding claim 2, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 1, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): an inner tank (14) positioned within the outer tank (16), the inner tank (14) configured to store a cryogenic fluid (Abstract), wherein an annular space defined by an interior surface of the outer tank (16) and an exterior surface of the inner tank (14) is configured to hold a vacuum (col. 1, lines 33-39).
Regarding claim 3, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 2, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): each pipe of the set of pipes (10, 12) travels at least a distance in the annular space between the inner tank (14) and the outer tank (16), in a direction (curved direction; Fig. 2) that is not substantially perpendicular to a surface of the inner tank (14) through which the pipe (10, 12) enters (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 1, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): the nozzle (20, 22) is positioned on a side of the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 1, as stated above. The combination of Adkins and Randolph does not explicitly teach a second nozzle protruding through the outer tank, wherein an outer edge of the second nozzle extends past the exterior surface of the outer tank; a second fittings plate welded to the second nozzle around the outer edge of the second nozzle; and a second set of pipes passing through the second fittings plate and into the outer tank through the second nozzle, the second set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the railway tank car and pipes to unload fluid from the railway tank car.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the combination of Adkins and Randolph to further include a second nozzle protruding through the outer tank, wherein an outer edge of the second nozzle extends past the exterior surface of the outer tank; a second fittings plate welded to the second nozzle around the outer edge of the second nozzle; and a second set of pipes passing through the second fittings plate and into the outer tank through the second nozzle, the second set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the railway tank car and pipes to unload fluid from the railway tank car, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Providing a second nozzle, a second fittings plate, and a second set of pipes would permit the tank to load or unload fluid from an alternative location of the tank, leading to faster loading and unloading.
Regarding claim 8, Adkins teaches (Fig. 1-3): A method for manufacturing a tank (13) comprising: coupling a nozzle (20, 22) to an outer tank (16)(Fig, 2), wherein: the nozzle (20, 22) is configured to protrude through the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2), such that an outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22) extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2); and an intersection between the nozzle (20, 22) and the outer tank (16) defines an opening in the outer tank (16)(Fig. 1-2); passing a set of pipes (10, 12) through the nozzle (20, 22), the set of pipes (10, 12) comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank (col. 3, lines 1-10); placing a fittings plate (closure plate 20a) over the outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22)(Fig. 1A), the fittings plate (20a) defining a set of openings (Fig. 1B), each opening of the set of openings associated with a pipe (10, 12) of the set of pipes (10, 12), wherein placing the fittings plate (20a) over the outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22) comprises passing each pipe of the set of pipes(10, 12) through the associated opening of the set of openings (Fig. 1A-1B).
Adkins further teaches the tank is a vehicle mounted tank (Claim 9), but does not explicitly teach that the tank is for a railway tank car.
However, Randolph teaches an alternate tank car, wherein (Fig. 1): the tank is for a railway tank car (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Adkins to mount the tank to a railcar, as disclosed by Adkins, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate transport of the tank on a railway track covering large distances.
Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): a fittings plate (closure plate 20a) welded to the nozzle around the outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22)(Fig. 1A-1B), but does not explicitly teach that the fittings plate is welded to the nozzle.
However, Randolph teaches an alternate tank car, wherein (Fig. 5-6): “A reducer 80 is provided to connect the shell and nozzle. Its reduced forward end connects the front end of the nozzle and may be secured by welding 95” (Col. 9, lines 22-24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Adkins to use the welding technique of Randolph on for the fittings plate on the nozzle, with a reasonable expectation of success because welding is a commonly known technique for connecting a nozzle to handle vibrations and prevent leak.
Regarding claim 9, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 8, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): the outer tank (16) encloses an inner tank (14) that is configured to store a cryogenic fluid (Abstract); and an annular space defined by an interior surface of the outer tank (16) and an exterior surface of the inner tank (14) is configured to hold a vacuum (col. 1, lines 33-39).
Regarding claim 10, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 9, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): each pipe of the set of pipes (10, 12) travels at least a distance in the annular space between the inner tank (14) and the outer tank (16), in a direction (curved direction; Fig. 2) that is not substantially perpendicular to a surface of the inner tank (14) through which the pipe (10, 12) enters (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 8, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): coupling the nozzle (20, 22) to the outer tank (16) comprises coupling the nozzle to a side of the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 8, as stated above. The combination of Adkins and Randolph does not explicitly teach coupling a second nozzle to the outer tank, wherein: the second nozzle is configured to protrude through the outer tank, such that an outer edge of the second nozzle extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank; and an intersection between the second nozzle and the outer tank defines a second opening in the outer tank; passing a second set of pipes through the second nozzle, the second set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank; placing a second fittings plate over the outer edge of the second nozzle, the second fittings plate defining a second set of openings, each opening associated with a pipe of the second set of pipes, wherein placing the second fittings plate over the outer edge of the second nozzle comprises passing each pipe of the second set of pipes through the associated opening of the second set of openings; and welding the second fittings plate to the second nozzle around the outer edge of the second nozzle
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the combination of Adkins and Randolph to further couple a second nozzle to the outer tank, wherein: the second nozzle is configured to protrude through the outer tank, such that an outer edge of the second nozzle extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank; and an intersection between the second nozzle and the outer tank defines a second opening in the outer tank; passing a second set of pipes through the second nozzle, the second set of pipes comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank; placing a second fittings plate over the outer edge of the second nozzle, the second fittings plate defining a second set of openings, each opening associated with a pipe of the second set of pipes, wherein placing the second fittings plate over the outer edge of the second nozzle comprises passing each pipe of the second set of pipes through the associated opening of the second set of openings; and welding the second fittings plate to the second nozzle around the outer edge of the second nozzle, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Providing a second nozzle, a second fittings plate, and a second set of pipes through a second opening would permit the tank to load or unload fluid from an alternative location of the tank, leading to faster loading and unloading.
Regarding claim 15, Adkins teaches (Fig. 1-3): A tank (13) comprising: an outer tank (outer shell 16); a nozzle (20, 22) protruding through the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2), wherein: an outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22) extends past an exterior surface of the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2); and an intersection between the nozzle (20, 22) and the outer tank (16) defines an opening (Fig. 3A) in the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2); and a set of pipes (tubes 10, 12) passing through the fittings plate (20a) and into the outer tank through the nozzle (20, 22)(Fig. 1A-1B and 2), the set of pipes (10, 12) comprising at least one of pipes to load fluid into the tank and pipes to unload fluid from the tank (col. 3, lines 1-10).
Adkins further teaches the tank is a vehicle mounted tank (Claim 9), but does not explicitly teach that the tank is for a railway tank car, and a set of wheel assemblies, wherein the outer tank is coupled to the set of wheel assemblies.
However, Randolph teaches an alternate tank car, wherein (Fig. 1): the tank is for a railway tank car (Fig. 1), and a set of wheel assemblies (Fig. 1), wherein an outer tank is coupled to the set of wheel assemblies (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Adkins to mount the tank to a railcar with wheel assemblies, as disclosed by Adkins, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate transport of the tank on a railway track covering large distances.
Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): a fittings plate (closure plate 20a) welded to the nozzle around the outer edge of the nozzle (20, 22)(Fig. 1A-1B), but does not explicitly teach that the fittings plate is welded to the nozzle.
However, Randolph teaches an alternate tank car, wherein (Fig. 5-6): “A reducer 80 is provided to connect the shell and nozzle. Its reduced forward end connects the front end of the nozzle and may be secured by welding 95” (Col. 9, lines 22-24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Adkins to use the welding technique of Randolph on for the fittings plate on the nozzle, with a reasonable expectation of success because welding is a commonly known technique for connecting a nozzle to handle vibrations and prevent leak.
Regarding claim 16, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 15, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): an inner tank (14) positioned within the outer tank (16), the inner tank (14) configured to store a cryogenic fluid (Abstract), wherein an annular space defined by an interior surface of the outer tank (16) and an exterior surface of the inner tank (14) is configured to hold a vacuum (col. 1, lines 33-39).
Regarding claim 17, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 16, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): each pipe of the set of pipes (10, 12) travels at least a distance in the annular space between the inner tank (14) and the outer tank (16), in a direction (curved direction; Fig. 2) that is not substantially perpendicular to a surface of the inner tank (14) through which the pipe (10, 12) enters (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Adkins and Randolph teach the elements of claim 15, as stated above. Adkins further teaches (Fig. 1-3): the nozzle (20, 22) is positioned on a side of the outer tank (16)(Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-2767962-A: Teaches the upper end 31 of the inner pipe 30 has a generally conical deflector plate 32 mounted thereon which extends downwardly and outwardly and partially surrounds the upper end 33 of the outer air inlet pipe 29, so that any moisture that may be drawn through the inner pipe 30 is prevented from flowing down through the annular space 34 between the inner and outer pipes 29, 30 and into the jacket space 24 between the inner and outer shells 10, 11.
US-3326141-A: Teaches a railway tank car, comprising a substantially horizontally disposed body including an outer shell of strong rigid self-supporting structure, an intermediate layer of resilient cellular material completely enclosed by the outer shell, and an inner liner of fluid-tight construction completely enclosed by the intermediate layer, wherein the intermediate layer consists essentially of a blown polyester-urethane resin of closed-cell structure entrapping substantial inert gas.
US-3602003-A: Teaches the wall structures 11 and 13 are separated and define a chamber or space 14 therebetween which is provided with a vacuum and thermal insulation so as to retard and minimize the rate of heat migration into the liquid contents confined within the compartment 12.
US-3698200-A: Teaches a cryogenic storage 10 comprising an inner tank 12 and an outer shell 14. The inner tank 12 contains hollow cylindrical support members 16, 18. The support members 16, 18 are fastened to the inner tank 12 as by welding at the surface by suitable circumferential welds not shown. The members 16, 18 have suitable closure heads 20, 22 respectively to prevent escape of the fluid from the inner tank 12. The outer shell 14 contains a suitable end closure 24 with an end cover 26 to facilitate construction of the tank as is well-known in the art. Disposed in the bottom surface 27 of the shell 14 are a plurality of pinned radial support struts shown generally as 28 and 30.
US-4579249-A: Teaches cryogenic storage container 10 shown in FIGS. 2 and 3 consists of an inner storage vessel 1 and an outer shell 2 surrounding vessel 1 in spaced relation thereto. Both the inner vessel 1 and the outer shell 2 may be fabricated from two or more cylindrical sections. Materials suitable for constructing the inner vessel 1 and the outer shell 2 include stainless steel or aluminum and carbon steel or aluminum respectively. When made from stainless steel, the minimum thickness of the inner vessel 1 is typically about 0.1 inch thick. A greater thickness may be necessary for the inner vessel 1 since it may have to withstand significant internal pressurization caused by the leakage of heat into the cryogenic fluid. The magnitude of this pressure is generally limited by a conventional relief valve 17 that communicates with the cryogenic fluid F inside vessel 1.
US-4960222-A: Teaches an alternate storage tank for liquids, wherein (Fig. 1): a cylindrical inner tank (primary tank 21) comprising an open end (Fig. 1), wherein a tank head (circular head 29) is coupled to a shell at the first open end (col. 2, lines 59-64; Fig. 1).
US-20080209917-A1: Teaches a storage tank, in particular a storage tank for cryogenic media, preferably for liquid hydrogen, including at least one condensation pipe, which is used for delivering a gaseous cryogenic medium, is disclosed. In addition, a method for filling a storage tank with a gaseous cryogenic medium is disclosed. The condensation pipe is equipped with at least one heat exchanger via which the delivered cryogenic medium is cooled by exchanging heat with the stored cryogenic medium.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615