DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 11/11/2024, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 10-29 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The submitted information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner as indicated. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim should recite “stationary units” instead of “stationary united” in line 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dedeaux (US 9564041 B1) in view of Mendelson (US 2009/0138353 A1).
Referring to claim 10, Dedeaux discloses a directional positioning system for use in a facility having rooms, hallways, and other areas (fig.1, building/facility 12) comprising:
a plurality of portable units (fig.1, remote units 14) carried or worn by selected users (fig.3, users 32) in the facility, at least one of the portable units comprising at least one button (fig.5, buttons 82, 84, 86 and 88) for sending a signal, when pressed, for a specific type of emergency situation (Col.4, ll.26-31, Col.5, ll.26-42 and Col.5, ll.56-66) (Note: the facility comprises a plurality of remote unites worn by teachers; wherein the remote unit displays at least one button for sending a signal, when pressed, for a specific type of emergency situation (intruder is in the facility, armed intruder or a person with a weapon is in the facility, fight has broken out in the facility or a medical emergency in the facility);
a plurality of stationary units (fig.1, hallway units 18) mounted in each of a number of locations within the facility (fig.1) (Col.1, ll.46-51); and
an administrative unit (fig.1, receiver unit 20) configured to be monitored by security personnel and configured to receive any signal transmitted from any of the plurality of portable units or any of the plurality of stationary units (Col.4, ll.8-11 and Col.4, ll.17-31) (Note: the facility comprises a receiver unit configured to be monitored by dedicated security personnel and configured to receive any signal transmitted from any of the plurality of remotes units 14 or any of the plurality of hallway units 18);
wherein the plurality of portable units, the plurality of stationary units, and the administrative unit form a mesh network (fig.2) (Note: full mesh wireless network topology 26 having individual member units or nodes 28).
Dedeaux fails to discloses at least one of the stationary units comprising a display for indicating a direction to move during an emergency situation.
However, in the same field of endeavor of directional positioning system art, Mendelson discloses at least one of the stationary units (fig.1, notifier 200) comprising a display (fig.1, LCD screen 202) for indicating a direction to move during an emergency situation (fig.2 and [0272]-[0278]) (Note: the reference discloses a plurality of notifiers installed at multiple areas of a building, wherein at least one of the notifiers comprising a LCD screen for indicating a direction to move during an emergency situation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the directional positioning system of Dedeaux with a display for indicating a direction to move during an emergency situation as taught by Mendelson to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide clear visual cues and reduce human confusion.
Referring to claim 11, Dedeaux in view of Mendelson discloses the directional positioning system of claim 10. Dedeaux further discloses wherein each of the plurality of portable units, each of the plurality of stationary units, and the administrative unit is in wireless communication with all other units in the mesh network and is configured to receive all signals (fig.2 and Col.4, ll.17-31).
Referring to claim 12, Dedeaux in view of Mendelson discloses the directional positioning system of claim 11. Dedeaux further discloses wherein each of the plurality of portable units, each of the plurality of stationary units, and the administrative unit is configured to interact with all other units in the mesh network (fig.2 and Col.4, ll.17-31).
Referring to claim 13, Dedeaux in view of Mendelson discloses the directional positioning system of claim 10. Dedeaux further discloses wherein at least one of the portable units is a fully functional unit comprising a plurality of buttons (fig.5, buttons 82, 84, 86 and 88), each button being associated with directional instructions (fig.5 and Col.5,l.51-Col.6, l.18) (Note: Each button will deliver its own distinct programmed message with associated evacuation instruction).
Referring to claim 14, Dedeaux in view of Mendelson discloses the directional positioning system of claim 13. Dedeaux discloses wherein, in response to a button being pushed on the fully functional unit, at least a portion of the plurality of stationary units are configured to: receive a signal associated with the button from the fully functional unit (Col.1, ll.46-64 and Col.4, ll.17-31).
Mendelson discloses plurality of stationary units are configured to illuminate at least one light on the display based on the directional instructions ([0298]-[0299]).
The same motivation provided for claim 10 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 15, Dedeaux in view of Mendelson discloses the directional positioning system of claim 10. Dedeaux discloses wherein at least a portion of the plurality of portable units are configured to, while stationary (figs.7-8, wall emergency box units 16 which enclose remote unit 14), broadcast information to the administrative unit at a first pre-defined frequency (Col.1, ll.46-64, Col.4, ll.17-31) (Note: the reference discloses internal remote unit 14 configured to transmit information to the administrative unit ).
Referring to claim 18, Dedeaux in view of Mendelson discloses the directional positioning system of claim 15. Dedeaux discloses wherein the information comprises at least one of: an ID associated with a portable unit; a location associated with the portable unit; a name associated with the portable unit; or a role associated with the portable unit (Col.4, ll.17-46) (Note: information about the type or identification, location, time, and type of emergency or security threat occurring are transmitted by the remote unit).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dedeaux in view of Mendelson, and further in view of Waters et al. (hereinafter referred to as Waters, US 2014/0171108 A1).
Referring to claim 19, Dedeaux in view of Mendelson discloses the directional positioning system of claim 15, except wherein the at least one of the plurality of portable units are configured to, when moving, broadcast information to the administrative unit at a frequency higher than the first frequency.
However, Waters discloses a concept wherein a portable unit is configured to, when moving, broadcast information at a frequency higher than the first frequency ([0048]) (Note: if the determination is made that the mobile device 102 is moving, then the mobile device 102 transmits probe requests at a higher frequency. However, if the determination is made that the mobile device 102 is not moving, then the mobile device 102 transmits probe requests at a lower frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the portable unit of Dedeaux in view of Mendelson with the concept as taught by Waters to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve data transfer speeds.
Claims 20-23, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dedeaux (US 9564041 B1) in view of Bailey (US 2019/0371148 A1).
Referring to claim 20, Dedeaux discloses a positioning alert system for use in a facility having rooms, hallways, and other areas (fig.1, building/facility 12) comprising:
a first plurality of portable units (fig.1, remote units 14) carried or worn by a first group of selected users (fig.3, users 32) in the facility, each of the first plurality of portable units comprising a plurality of buttons associated with a plurality of emergency situations (fig.5, buttons 82, 84, 86 and 88) (Col.4, ll.26-31, Col.5, ll.26-42 and Col.5, ll.56-66) (Note: the facility comprises a plurality of remote unites worn by teachers; wherein the remote unit displays at least one button for sending a signal, when pressed, for a specific type of emergency situation (intruder is in the facility, armed intruder or a person with a weapon is in the facility, fight has broken out in the facility or a medical emergency in the facility);
a second plurality of portable units (fig.1, remote units 14) carried or worn by a second group of selected users (fig.3, users 32) in the facility;
a plurality of stationary united (fig.1, hallway units 18) mounted in each of a number of locations within the facility (fig.1) (Col.1, ll.46-51); and
an administrative unit (fig.1, receiver unit 20) configured to be monitored by security personnel and configured to receive any signal transmitted from any of the first or second plurality of portable units (Col.4, ll.8-11 and Col.4, ll.17-31) (Note: the facility comprises a receiver unit configured to be monitored by dedicated security personnel and configured to receive any signal transmitted from any of the plurality of remotes units 14 or any of the plurality of hallway units 18);
wherein the first and second pluralities of portable units, the plurality of stationary units, and the administrative unit form a mesh network (fig.2) (Note: full mesh wireless network topology 26 having individual member units or nodes 28).
Dedeaux fails to disclose unit comprising a plurality of LEDs associated with a plurality of emergency situations.
However, in the same field of endeavor of directional positioning system art, Bailey discloses unit (fig.11, device 620) comprising a plurality of LEDs (fig.12, LED arrays 750) associated with a plurality of emergency situations ([0121]-[0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the portable units of Dedeaux with unit comprising a plurality of LEDs associated with a plurality of emergency situations as taught by Bailey to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for a rapid multi-hazard communication and an enhanced situational clarity.
Referring to claim 21, Dedeaux in view of Bailey discloses the positioning alert system of claim 20. Dedeaux discloses wherein each of the first and second pluralities of portable units, the plurality of stationary units, and the administrative unit is in wireless communication with all other units in the mesh network and is configured to receive all signals (fig.2 and Col.4, ll.17-31).
Referring to claim 22, Dedeaux in view of Bailey discloses the positioning alert system of claim 21. Dedeaux discloses wherein each of the first and second pluralities of portable units, each of the plurality of stationary units, and the administrative unit is configured to interact with all other units in the mesh network (fig.2 and Col.4, ll.17-31).
Referring to claim 23, Dedeaux in view of Bailey discloses the positioning alert system of claim 20. Dedeaux discloses wherein at least a portion of the first and second pluralities of portable units are configured to, while stationary (figs.7-8, wall emergency box units 16 which enclose remote unit 14), broadcast information to the administrative unit at a first pre-defined frequency (Col.1, ll.46-64, Col.4, ll.17-31) (Note: the reference discloses internal remote unit 14 configured to transmit information to the administrative unit ).
Referring to claim 26, Dedeaux in view of Bailey discloses the positioning alert system of claim 23. Dedeaux discloses wherein the information comprises at least one of: an ID associated with a portable unit; a location associated with the portable unit; a name associated with the portable unit; or a role associated with the portable unit (Col.4, ll.17-46) (Note: information about the type or identification, location, time, and type of emergency or security threat occurring are transmitted by the remote unit).
Referring to claim 29, Dedeaux in view of Bailey discloses the positioning alert system of claim 20. Dedeaux discloses wherein at least one of the first plurality of portable units is configured to, in response to a button associated with an emergency being pushed on the at least one of the first plurality of portable units being pushed, broadcast a location associated with the at least one unit to the administrative unit (Col.4, ll.17-46) (Note: information about the type or identification, location, time, and type of emergency or security threat occurring are transmitted by the remote unit).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dedeaux in view of Bailey, and further in view of Waters et al. (hereinafter referred to as Waters, US 2014/0171108 A1).
Referring to claim 27, Dedeaux in view of Bailey discloses the positioning alert system of claim 23, except wherein the at least one of the first and second plurality of portable units are configured to, when moving, broadcast information to the administrative unit at a frequency higher than the first frequency.
However, Waters discloses a concept wherein a portable unit is configured to, when moving, broadcast information at a frequency higher than the first frequency ([0048]) (Note: if the determination is made that the mobile device 102 is moving, then the mobile device 102 transmits probe requests at a higher frequency. However, if the determination is made that the mobile device 102 is not moving, then the mobile device 102 transmits probe requests at a lower frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the portable unit of Dedeaux in view of Bailey with the concept as taught by Waters to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve data transfer speeds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17, 24-25, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683