DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the triangular prisms (claims 5 and 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraphs [0004], [0027], [0036], [0043], [0049], [0054], [0057] and [0058] disclose one of “triangular grids”, “an array of triangles”, “a triangular array”, and “triangular prisms” as being shown in the Figures. The Figures however do not show any such “triangular grids”, “an array of triangles”, “a triangular array”, or “triangular prisms”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2018/0305199 (Pearce et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Pearce et al. discloses a pillow (100), comprising:
a core cushion (106, 106A) comprising an outer surface and opposite side edges; and
at least one cushioning grid (102) superimposed with the outer surface of the core cushion (106, 106A) and comprising:
opposite side edges positioned adjacent to the opposite side edges of the core cushion (106, 106A), the opposite side edges of the at least one cushioning grid (102) defining a width (paragraph [0033]);
a central axis extending along the width (paragraph [0033]); and
a plurality of interconnected walls (124) defining a plurality of voids (126) and oriented over the outer surface, the plurality of interconnected walls (124) configured to collapse within the plurality of voids (126) when the opposite side edges of the at least one cushioning grid (102) are forced toward each other in a direction that is substantially parallel to the central axis to collapse the pillow (100).
With regard to claim 2, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, wherein the core cushion (106, 106A) comprises a foam (paragraph [0065]).
With regard to claim 3, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of interconnected walls (124) of the at least one cushioning grid (102) comprise an elastomeric gel (paragraph [0023]).
With regard to claim 4, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, wherein the at least one cushioning grid (102) substantially lacks walls (124) that are parallel to the central axis across the width (paragraph [0033]) of the at least one cushioning grid (102) (Figure 4, wherein the width is left to right on the page).
With regard to claim 5, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 4, wherein the plurality of interconnected walls (124) of the at least one cushioning grid (102) are arranged to form the plurality of voids (126) as at least one of:
an array of hexagonal prisms;
an array of rhomboid prisms.; or
an array of triangular prisms (paragraph [0042]).
With regard to claim 6, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, wherein each wall (124) of the plurality of interconnected walls (124) is oriented along an axis that intersects the central axis.
With regard to claim 7, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of interconnected walls (124) is oriented at an angle less than 90 degrees relative to the central axis (Fig. 7).
With regard to claim 8, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, wherein the outer surface of the core cushion (106, 106A) includes oppositely facing major surfaces.
With regard to claim 9, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 8, wherein the at least one cushioning grid (102) comprises:
a first cushioning grid (102) superimposed with a first major surface of the oppositely facing major surfaces (Fig.’s 11 and 12).
With regard to claim 10, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 9, wherein the at least one cushioning grid (102) further comprises:
a second cushioning grid (102) superimposed with a second major surface of the oppositely facing major surfaces (Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 11, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, wherein the at least one cushioning grid (102) substantially surrounds the outer surface of the core cushion (106, 106A).
With regard to claim 12, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 1, further comprising:
a cover (104) over the core cushion (106, 106A) and carrying the at least one cushioning grid (102).
With regard to claim 17, Pearce et al. discloses a pillow (100), comprising:
a cushioning grid (102) including opposite side edges and a plurality of interconnected walls (124), wherein the plurality of interconnected walls (124) are oriented such that the plurality of interconnected walls (124) collapse without substantially increasing in thickness when at least one of the opposite side edges of the cushioning grid (102) is forced toward another of the opposite side edges to collapse the pillow (100).
With regard to claim 18, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 17, wherein the plurality of interconnected walls (124) comprise an elastomeric gel (paragraph [0023]).
With regard to claim 19, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 17, wherein none of the plurality of interconnected walls (124) are substantially parallel to a central axis across a width (paragraph [0033]) of the cushioning grid (102).
With regard to claim 20, Pearce et al. discloses the pillow (100) of claim 17, wherein the plurality of interconnected walls (124) are arranged to form at least one of:
an array of hexagonal prisms;
an array of rhomboid prisms; or
an array of triangular prisms (paragraph [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPAP’s 2024/0081560, 2020/0390247, 2018/0078062, 2025/0289170, 2025/0151935, 2024/0251962, 2017/0254003 and 2020/0405082 as well as USP’s D991706, D990930, D959176, D917926, D909790, D909092, D1014135 and 10,772,445 each disclose pillows similar to that claimed.
Conclusion
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673