DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 21-35 are currently pending.
Priority
The Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under provisional Application No. 62/445,794, filed on 01/13/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 and 11/11/2025 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 24-33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox (US 4784356 A), in view of Cunius (US 7794132 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Fox teaches (Fig. 1-3): A gate lamp system (Fig. 1), comprising: an electrical cable (cable 72); and a gate lamp (38), including: an upper portion (housing 40) that includes a lamp (38)(Fig. 3); and a lower portion (downward side portions 46, 48) that is configured to be secured to a crossing gate arm (24)(Fig. 1-3).
While Fox further teaches (Fig. 1-3): the upper portion (40) and the lower portion (46, 48) define a cable connector (53), Fox does not teach that the upper portion and the lower portion define a through channel configured to receive the electrical cable such that the electrical cable extends through the gate lamp in the through channel.
However, Cunius teaches an alternate cable and conductor system with a lamp system, wherein (Fig. 1-6): the lamp system has an upper portion (socket top 22) and a lower portion (socket bottom 24) defining a through channel (Fig. 5) configured to receive an electrical cable (12) such that the electrical cable extends through the lamp in the through channel (Fig. 5-6); and piercing prongs (28) that penetrate the cables for conduction (col. 6, lines 46-55; Fig. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Fox to modify the lamp system with a upper portion and a lower portion that define a through channel for the electrical cable to pass through, and use piercing prongs to penetrate the cables for conduction, as disclosed by Cunius, with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying a plug-in cable connection into an insulation-piercing connection would reduce maintenance time and installation costs, through elimination of wire stripping, prevention of cable cutting, and enhancing environmental protection.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Fox and Cunius further teaches: the electrical cable extends through the gate lamp and is positioned in the through channel (lamp system of Fox is modified to have the electrical cable pass through, in such a way as shown in Figs. 5-6 of Cunius).
Regarding claim 24, Fox further teaches (Fig. 1-3): the electrical cable defines a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2), but does teach that the electrical cable includes an outer surface having a flat top portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis and a flat bottom portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis.
However, the secondary reference Cunius teaches an alternate cable and conductor system with a lamp system, wherein (Fig. 1A-1D): an outer surface of the electrical cord (power cable 12) having a flat top portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis and a flat bottom portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1A-1D).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Fox to modify the electrical cord to include a flat top portion and a flat bottom portion, as disclosed by Cunius, with a reasonable expectation of success because cables with a flattened rectangular cross section are exceptionally pliable to facilitate converging in tight spaces (Abstract, lines 4-6). Further, it has been held the modifying the configuration or shape of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Fox and Cunius further teaches: the upper portion includes a conductive spear configured to extend into the channel (Fig. 5 of Cunius shows piercing prongs 28 extending into the channel).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Fox and Cunius further teaches: the upper portion includes a plurality of conductive spears configured to extend into the channel (Fig. 5 of Cunius shows piercing prongs 28 extending into the channel).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Fox and Cunius further teaches: the conductive spear is configured to pierce the electrical cable and make electrical connection with a conductor within the electrical cable (Fig. 5 of Cunius shows piercing prongs 28 extending into the channel and piercing electrical cable 12 for conduction).
Regarding claim 28, Fox further teaches (Fig. 1-8): the electrical cord (72) includes three electrical conductors (60a, 60b, 60c) extending longitudinally between the first end and the second end (Fig. 8), the three electrical conductors (60a, 60b, 60c).
Fox does not explicitly teach that the three electrical conductors are electrically insulated from one another.
However, Cunius teaches an alternate cable and conductor system with a lighting system, wherein (Fig. 2): two parallel electrical conductors (16) are covered in electrical insulation (18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Fox to electrically insulate the electrical conductors from one another, as disclosed by Cunius, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the conductors to resist electrical leakage and protect the material integrity of the wire.
Regarding claim 29, Fox teaches (Fig. 1-3): A crossing gate arm (24), comprising: an electrical cable (72); and a gate lamp (38), including: an upper portion (housing 40) that includes a lamp (38)(Fig. 3); and a lower portion (downward side portions 46, 48) that is configured to be secured to a crossing gate arm (24)(Fig. 1-3).
While Fox further teaches (Fig. 1-3): the upper portion (40) and the lower portion (46, 48) define a cable connector (53), Fox does not teach that the upper portion and the lower portion define a through channel configured to receive the electrical cable such that the electrical cable extends through the gate lamp in the through channel.
However, Cunius teaches an alternate cable and conductor system with a lamp system, wherein (Fig. 1-6): the lamp system has an upper portion (socket top 22) and a lower portion (socket bottom 24) defining a through channel (Fig. 5) configured to receive an electrical cable (12) such that the electrical cable extends through the lamp in the through channel (Fig. 5-6); and piercing prongs (28) that penetrate the cables for conduction (col. 6, lines 46-55; Fig. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Fox to modify the lamp system with a upper portion and a lower portion that define a through channel for the electrical cable to pass through, and use piercing prongs to penetrate the cables for conduction, as disclosed by Cunius, with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying a plug-in cable connection into an insulation-piercing connection would reduce maintenance time and installation costs, through elimination of wire stripping, prevention of cable cutting, and enhancing environmental protection.
Regarding claim 30, Fox further teaches (Fig. 1-3): the electrical cable defines a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2), but does teach that the electrical cable includes an outer surface having a flat top portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis and a flat bottom portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis.
However, the secondary reference Cunius teaches an alternate cable and conductor system with a lamp system, wherein (Fig. 1A-1D): an outer surface of the electrical cord (power cable 12) having a flat top portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis and a flat bottom portion that is elongate parallel to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1A-1D).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Fox to modify the electrical cord to include a flat top portion and a flat bottom portion, as disclosed by Cunius, with a reasonable expectation of success because cables with a flattened rectangular cross section are exceptionally pliable to facilitate converging in tight spaces (Abstract, lines 4-6). Further, it has been held the modifying the configuration or shape of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Fox and Cunius further teaches: the upper portion includes a conductive spear extending into the channel and piercing the electrical cable (Fig. 5 of Cunius shows piercing prongs 28 extending into the channel and piercing the cable 12).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Fox and Cunius further teaches: the upper portion includes a plurality of conductive spears extending into the channel and piercing the electrical cable (Fig. 5 of Cunius shows piercing prongs 28 extending into the channel).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Fox and Cunius further teaches: the plurality of conductive spear makes electrical connection with a plurality of conductors within the electrical cable (Fig. 5 of Cunius shows piercing prongs 28 extending into the channel and piercing electrical cables 12 for conduction).
Regarding claim 35, Fox further teaches (Fig. 1-8): the electrical cord (72) includes three electrical conductors (60a, 60b, 60c) extending longitudinally between the first end and the second end (Fig. 8), the three electrical conductors (60a, 60b, 60c).
Fox does not explicitly teach that the three electrical conductors are electrically insulated from one another.
However, Cunius teaches an alternate cable and conductor system with a lighting system, wherein (Fig. 2): two parallel electrical conductors (16) are covered in electrical insulation (18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Fox to electrically insulate the electrical conductors from one another, as disclosed by Cunius, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the conductors to resist electrical leakage and protect the material integrity of the wire.
Claim(s) 23 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox (US 4784356 A), in view of Cunius (US 7794132 B2), in view of Daily et al. (US 7611376 B2).
Regarding claim 23, Fox does not explicitly teach couplers coupling together the upper portion and the lower portion, wherein the electrical cable extends between the couplers.
However, Daily teaches an alternate LED light system with electrical cable, wherein (Fig. 1-5): the system has an upper portion (14) and a lower portion (30) defining a through channel for an electrical cable (Fig. 1), and couplers (latching arms 62) coupling together the upper portion and the lower portion (Fig. 3-4), wherein the electrical cable extends between the couplers (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Fox to construct an upper portion and a lower portion that can be joined together by couplers for housing an electrical cable, as disclosed by Daily, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the upper portion and the lower portion to securely house the electrical cable, and be detachable from one another, simplifying the maintenance process.
Claim 34 recites the same limitation as claim 23 and is rejected for the same reasons (see the rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of a lighting system with pass-through electrical cable housing: US-2598196-A, US-4655520-A, US-5321593-A, US-6357701-B1, US-6776377-B1, US-6935885-B2, US-8066230-B2, US-9784441-B2, EP1710491A2, DE 10020191 C2, FR 2990263 A1, WO 2008058481 A1, DE 19502211 A1, GB 701030 A.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615